2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65
4.7
(1138 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KV
Kevin V.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/05/2019
It's almost there.
Let me preference by saying that I have the RSpec, so it does without some features that the standard turbo has such as heated seats, sunroof, and navigation. Of those features, heated seats and a sunroof are the only things I find myself missing, but I forewent them for the sake of a lower payment. The touch screen works well, and the stereo is adequate for all but the most bass intensive music. This is my first car with a back up cam, and I am so glad these are becoming mandated equipment. Backing up through the tiny rear window would be a little stressful I think. The camera projects a distance overlay to help with parking, but it does not project trajectory which would have been a nice feature, but for the price point, its nice just to have a back up cam.

If you want to talk performance, this is where the Veloster's price point holds it back the most. Having come from a car that had both an independent rear suspension, and a limited slip differential, I find myself missing both every time I take a tight turn at speed, or accelerate out of one. The aftermarket provides some remedies for these problems, but I am glad to see the Gen2 Velosters fix both these short comings properly. The 1.6L GDI Turbo engine is a marvel for what it is. 201 hp and 197 lbft is a lot for such a little car with so little displacement. Is it enough? Hell no, but is it ever? What you do get from such a small engine is 33mpg as long as you don't let the boost rise too much, and the real icing on that cake is that you get it on 87 octane pump gas. Premium is unnecessary which is amazing considering most turbocharged cars require at least 91 out of the box. All these figures compare favorably imo to the only other vehicle operating in the same space as the Veloster Turbo, the Ford Fiesta ST. The Fiesta ST gives up a little bit of power to the VT at only 197 hp keeping it technically out of the 200 club. Whats more is that the Fiesta requires 93 octane to get all of its ponies while the VT is happy sipping 87. Another symptom of the Veloster's price point is the lack of a boost gauge, an unforgivable sin imo for any performance minded vehicle with forced induction. Again this seems to be a matter of price point since neither the Fiesta ST nor the 500 Abarth have one either. The performance of the Veloster Turbo/RSpec is competitive for its segment, but I can't help but feel another 20 hp in addition to a LSD would really help the car earn a reputation as a legitimate hot hatch. I have no complaints about the slick 6 speed. My RSpec came with a crisp short throw B&M shifter, a feature that has since become standard on all manual turbo models. Is the automatic any good? No idea, but in my opinion your doing it wrong if you're getting your sporty car fitted with a slush box. As it stands, the Velsoter is widely seen as more style than substance, a criticism I don't entirely disagree with.

Speaking of style, there is no arguing that the Veloster is a beautiful car. It has more style than cars costing twice as much. Its loud exterior may put off some people, but for anyone who wants a sporty looking car at an economy price, you really can't do better. The large open mouthed grill, the muscular bulging rear fenders, and the over-sized center mounted exhaust outlets are particular favorites of mine. I wish the outlets were actual tailpipes, but that again is a problem the aftermarket can solve. RSpec's like my own also come with a loud cherry red and black upholstery that adds a cherry (no pun intended) on top of the loud styling. Bonus points if you get your Veloster in black like I did. The contrast is preferable to the white and blues colors which comprise the only 2 alternative colors for the RSpec.

All in all the Veloster Turbo / RSpec is a neat little car that splits the difference between hot hatch and sports coupe. It manages to look several thousand dollars more expensive than it is with unique and aggressive styling, and also manages to hide its cheap price point from anyone not looking for it. I wish it had four doors instead of 3, but if that is a deal breaker for you, there is always the aforementioned Fiesta ST. you'll give up some power, a back up cam, and a boat load of styling... but you'll get that 4th door. A car like this would have been a 16 year old me's dream, and even at 30 I am grateful for how much I get for comparatively so little. I see this car as a great daily driver for a young professional who has little to no kids, or as fun little 3rd car to complement the minivan and the crossover already parked in the driveway.

Pros
200+ horsepower
turbo torque curve
runs safely on 87 octane
handy back up cam
exotic aggressive styling

Cons
looks like a 40k car, but performs like a 25k car
sunroof, heated seats, and nav are expensive package only options
you can find the cheapness if you go looking for it.
only 3 doors
smaller trunk than a lot of other hatch backs.
rear seats do not fold flat
lack of limited slip differential and independent rear suspension hold it back when the road gets curvy.
resells like a lead balloon

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cris S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2019
Love my Veloster!
I love the way if handles, the way it looks, the quick responsiveness when I step on the accelerator, and the nice leather interior. I frequently get many compliments from people when they see my car on how nice and sporty it looks. It is very fun to drive! I have had a few friends and family members drive it and they are always super impressed and wished they had one themselves.

Pros
Beautiful inside and out. Fast, tight steering, and just an overall fun car to drive.

Cons
Low to the ground so a little hard to get in and out off. My wife recently had a double knee replacement so it has been hard to her to get and out of but she loves driving the car anyway. I wish it had four door rather than only 3 but this was not a deal breaker when we purchased the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Ryan S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/04/2019
Transmission
I don't like the transmission that they put in my car they call it a double clutch transmission I would call it a confused transmission. It doesn't shift very well upon acceleration. Also, the seats are not very comfortable for a larger people.

Pros
It's a very fun car to drive

Cons
The transmission seems to get confused sometimes and doesn't shift properly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Susan S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2019
I love my car bought it in Connecticut
I love the dealership. The computer maintenance and the professional people. My salesman had my custom heated seats put in, in a timely manner . I will never purchase a vehicle from the North Charleston dealership after I was lied to.

Pros
It fits me since I’m a small person. I love the third door as it is hidden. It’s very room, and fits in my garage with plenty of room for me to to move around to get in and out.

Cons
It doesn’t fit all people.. My husband doesn’t find it as comfortable as I do.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Staycia D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/03/2019
Great car
I have no complaints regarding my vehicle. I love my Hyundai Veloster I haven’t had any problems , low maintenance and good on gas. I’m a commuter , so I do about 150 miles a day. I need something reliable. I would purchase another one.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Regina C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2019
2016 Veloster Turbo
So I am nearing the 3 year mark with my VT. I just had the oil and filter done for my 23k mileage. This has been a fun sporty car. I get asked a lot about the car and where I bought it, especially after I have detailed the car.
I use a certain wax on it and it makes the color just pop to life.
The vehicle has held up well and even the tires are still good. If you want a car that has plenty of style this is it.

Pros
Fun to drive. Gets very good mileage.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Don C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/26/2019
Fun car, unless you're really tall.
It's my car and I love it. My girlfriend, not so much. She's 6'2" and the driver's seat doesn't go back far enough for her to comfortably fit. The passenger seat is fine for her. If you and yours are in the taller 25% of the population, you might want to get a test fit before you take a test drive.

Apart from that, I've found the car very fun to drive. Sport mode makes it accelerate like a motorcycle (I have the non-turbo model). It runs flat and smooth at speed. The paddle shifters I don't use much.

Pros
Fun. Reliable. Handles well. Good looking. Easy to convert the back area for hauling things.

Cons
1. Driver seat could accommodate longer legged drivers
2. Back seat best for short people

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Daniel P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/21/2019
Fun Car
I bought this car, a 2016 Turbo Voloster for my wife. I've asked her many times if she had any complaints at all. Only one. She's five foot five. She doesn't like the passenger seat. It sits too low with no verticle adjustment. That's her only complaint. That is also my only complaint. What I do like about the Voloster are several things. First is that it is fun to drive! Especially on the freeways. It's geared for higher speeds and on the interstate it shines. It's the best use I know of for a 1.6 liter engine. I would prefer a 2.0 liter, but the turbo'd 1.6 liter gets great mpg on regular gas and does quite well. All in all, the dual clutch is nice, the ride is very nice, the power is good, the Interior is very nice. I test drove a non turbo'd model. It was so gutless I was saddened that Hyundai would even put it on the market.

Pros
Interior, fun to drive, styling

Cons
Passenger seat, tight back seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jeremy L.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/19/2019
Worse car I have bought
25k miles and has seen the shop more then all of my previous cars before. Hyundai has not answered my emails or calls now for.the last 2 weeks. As a whole company I'm am severely disappointed in the service I have received. I have over 1000 in expenses due to dealership flaws and manufacturers defects. Do your research and make sure this is exactly what you want and need as a car before you jump into one.

Pros
Compact but spacious with the hatch

Cons
3 doors and has been in the shop for over 5 months since I owned it 3 for waranty work on the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
Michael E.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/19/2019
Love my Veloster but not it's transmission!
I really enjoy driving my 2016 Veloster. Purchased it brand new with all the bells and whistles. It's the turbo model with the dual clutch system. It drives and handles like a champ. The only issue I'm having is the transmission stalls all the time between 2nd and 3rd gear. Hyundai technicians have told me on 4 occasions that they've been having problems with this transmission from the factory. I'm at a loss here because I have a great warranty but nothing can be done about the transmission. Time to consult an attorney!

Pros
Looks,design, features, and engine.

Cons
Transmission!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BJ
Barbara J.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/17/2019
LOVE IT!!
Absolutely love my car!! I like that I can switch it from automatic to standard shift being in that the majority of my cars in my lifetime had been a stick shift. I get a lot of compliments and the fact that the car only has three drawers is really a conversation piece .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Andrew D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/14/2019
Very crashworthy, however 35k on a new motor is not acceptable
Car had new motor installed at 35k and not warranteed. The manufactures tires lasted only 18k. Replacement inexpensive ones lasted 40k. No other serious issues except lights and turn signals replaced annually. Decent gas mileage.

Pros
quick, fun to drive, controls are good, easy to understand gauges, no GPS for a 2016. Stands up well under auto accidents (i've had many)

Cons
Tire wear poor. Alignment never good, motor blew at 35k no warrantee.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Lauren R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/14/2019
Fun to drive!
I needed a car and was in a pinch...there was a veloster available. I didn't have a specific vehicle in mind, but I realized that it was what I was looking for once I got behind the wheel. Fun car to drive!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
Kelly F.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/13/2019
Enjoying my Veloster but...
I like most everything about my Veloster except the dual clutch surges and when I depress the accelerator it may or may not take off right away. I'm told that this is one of the not so good features of the dual clutch. Will think twice before purchasing another vehicle with a dual clutch. For the most part, my Veloster is great to drive. More passing power than any one would ever need. Very comfortable ride.

Pros
Reliable and fun to drive

Cons
Dual Clutch surges

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IS
Ismael S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2019
Fun to drive
This car is amazing, runs good and very fun to drive. I like the style, Miles per galon, color and has all the features that everyone needs. I truly recommend this car. I bought it non turbo but next one will be turbo.

Pros
Price and style

Cons
Not to much space inside

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Mark G.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/03/2019
I like my veloster
If i don't get the same lease deal ill look around other wise I might go 6 years of leasing another of the same VELOSTER and if that's the way i feel then Im sure i'm feeling the value v/s a little less up front super exceleration i might get with an electric or hybrid that will brake the bank monthly now and then cost thousands at 100k .Miles like my last hybrid i threw away at 120k when it was worth 5k and 3k to fix.

Pros
reliable inexpensive fare on gas 20 -25 prefect acceleration if i need it and only fare when i just horse around

Cons
pick up and bumps

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Dawn D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/03/2019
2016 Veloster R Spec
I bought this vehicle new in 2016. I have loved driving this car. It is a sporty model, with 6 speed, Turbo. It does a good job with quick acceleration and is fun to drive. I have made several long distance trips in the car and my only complaint is it is not designed for long trips.

Pros
Looks good, runs good, lot's accelerated when needed.

Cons
Even though there is a back seat, it is small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Stefanie S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/02/2019
I love it. It has so much power and it gets me where I need to go which is the important thing
I love this car I would recommend it to everyone I know and I already have Arias this car runs great it’s still under warranty so any problems it automatically gets fixed. Got a very nice interior and the X ternal flaring is perfect as though

Pros
Small and compact hey can you give me an amount to places that most of the cars can’t and it’s a lot of fun to drive

Cons
Nominee come on there’s no navigation but other than that it’s a good all-around car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PN
Pam N.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/01/2019
Review of my Veloster
I love my car. Only problem for me is I like to sit higher in the seat. I have a hard time seeing the curb to my right side. Its a little hard getting in and out but I am an older person, other than this I love this car.

Pros
I love it

Cons
Sometimes I feel like its going to stall when I start out, but I am not a heavy foot on the gas pedal. Sort of like driving a stick and not applying enough gas and less clutch.
I would like to sit higher, but other than these 2 complaints I love my car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DEBORAH M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/26/2019
Awesome car
This car is so fast and so smooth to ride. I absolutely love it! They interior is very spacious and there is a ton of trunk space. Ilove the touch screen radio and the heated seats. The car warms up very fast so perfect for winter time. I'm in love with this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 1138 in total