2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65
4.7
(1154 Reviews)
Latest review almost 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


TH
Toni H.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/04/2015
Disappointed in this model
We traded our 2014 Veloster "up" for a 2016 Veloster. After 2 months, we returned the 2016 and traded it for a 2016 Sonata. The differences from the 2014 to the 2016 we very disappointing. The turbo lag was VERY prominent, and I did not want to pull out in any traffic as the car would take 1-3 seconds to actually move after the pedal was depressed. The engine did not allow for downshifting using the paddle shifters or sport mode shifter. (We were told this was a safety feature that was added). The "tweaks" that were made to the transmission - going from 6 spd to 7 spd - were disappointing and actually made the car not fun to drive. We have never been so disappointed in a car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
ELIZABETH S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/10/2016
Terrible purchase
Have owned the car 85 days, has been at the dealership being fixed for 44 days.

Pros
Looks great.

Cons
Not reliable and keeps breaking down

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DIANA G.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/06/2017
its missing a door
Third door being on passenger side annoying. Had to replace entire transmission with less than 2000 miles on it. Rough ride, kinda gutless, very poor visibility in blind spots! Not much cargo room at all!

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
Price

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
AUDREY K.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/11/2017
Love My Veloster
I love this vehicle. It's sharp looking and I enjoy driving it.

Pros
It's comfortable to drive; the interior and exterior are stylish; the sunroof is large and the overall ceiling window is great!

Cons
I have none to comment on.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
ERIN K.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/30/2017
Slug
This vehicle can't get out of it's own way. I nearly got hit several times just trying to merge into traffic. Plus it has a terrible blind spot on the passenger side.

Pros
It came with a back up camera.

Cons
Dangerous to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Joe P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/31/2018
Falling short
These cars were never built for any kind of performance neither were the engines these cars cannot handle any kind of torque and or power as they are falling apart faster than Hyundai can keep it repaired I've had this car in the shop for blown motor leaking windshield extreme rough idling and turbocharger surging this is a 2016 Hyundai Veloster 1.6 L Turbo

Pros
When you first get in this car to buy it it blows your socks off it has every Bell and whistle for a $16,000 car that you could imagine and their performance is not that bad when the car runs correctly

Cons
The car almost never runs correctly it's always at the dealership being worked on and I've spent more time in our rental car than I have in my own car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
STEVEN K.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/02/2018
Not good
Had one year has been in shop 10 times for warranty issues. Everything from oil leaks to electronics. There is enough road and wind noise it is hard to carry on a conversation in the car. The paint is thin and not hard. It easily chips and scratches.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Amy C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/11/2018
Dual clutch nightmare
If it’s a 2016 turbo, don’t do it. Just don’t. Huge issue with transmission and it’s extremely dangerous. The transmission is not right. Car stalls randomly during normal driving conditions. But it does not create any diagnostic errors. It stalled on an incline last week, and I started rolling backwards like it was in neutral and would not shift. It also stalled ramping onto interstate. I nearly caused a pile up. It was close call, too close for comfort. If it wasn’t for the transmission issue, I’d buy another one in a heartbeat.

Pros
Chose this over WRX. Seemed like a good decision at the time.

Cons
Dangerous transmission design. I’m scared to drive it. Love everything else about the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
John L.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/18/2018
Dual clutch sucks
Had a sonata before this veloster, sonata was a great car. Had no problem with that car. But the veloster with the dual clutch sucks. My 23 year old daughter loved the looks of it. But now that she has had it for 2 years, she hates it. Nothing but problems with the clutch on the car. Back to the dealership twice already. Still not fixed. They can't seem to find the problem, but it's there. Would never buy another car with this clutch, transmission set up.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
Keith K.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/22/2018
If I could give it half a star I would
My 2016 Hyundai Veloster has had a new stereo, shift actuator, transmission and now TCM put in it just since April. I bought the car brand new and have had various issues with the transmission and original stereo. Thank god I have recorded them on my phone. It took Hyundai almost the entire month of April to fix the stereo and my car has been back three times to get the transmission to work, and I still don't know if the problem has been fixed. I am afraid to take the car outside of the city of Dayton for fear I won't be able to drive it back home and will be stuck and unable to get a tow truck at night or on Sunday.

Pros
At least it hasn't rusted out, and the seats are still comfortable.

Cons
The quality and reliability of this vehicle in a word is SHIT. Never have I had a car this bad. You could give Chrysler from the 70s a run for their money with this car. I would never recommend a Hyundai to anyone. In fact, I tell people I meet who are looking for a car to not buy a Hyundai as the Hyundai Corporate doesn't care about customers and their customer service reps only repeat these three phrases "Sorry to hear that." "I don't know" "We can't do that", when you can but won't. Try doing the right/ethical thing not just the legal thing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TR
Terri R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/23/2019
Car Owner
My car is a piece of crap it has 30,000 miles on it an has already had transmission, clutch and axle replace. Not to mention that it do not perform like a sport car for 25,000 dollars... Please do not buy this car it garbage. THE TRUTH!

Pros
NONE

Cons
A PIECE OF JUNK

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
Michael E.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/19/2019
Love my Veloster but not it's transmission!
I really enjoy driving my 2016 Veloster. Purchased it brand new with all the bells and whistles. It's the turbo model with the dual clutch system. It drives and handles like a champ. The only issue I'm having is the transmission stalls all the time between 2nd and 3rd gear. Hyundai technicians have told me on 4 occasions that they've been having problems with this transmission from the factory. I'm at a loss here because I have a great warranty but nothing can be done about the transmission. Time to consult an attorney!

Pros
Looks,design, features, and engine.

Cons
Transmission!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jeremy L.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/19/2019
Worse car I have bought
25k miles and has seen the shop more then all of my previous cars before. Hyundai has not answered my emails or calls now for.the last 2 weeks. As a whole company I'm am severely disappointed in the service I have received. I have over 1000 in expenses due to dealership flaws and manufacturers defects. Do your research and make sure this is exactly what you want and need as a car before you jump into one.

Pros
Compact but spacious with the hatch

Cons
3 doors and has been in the shop for over 5 months since I owned it 3 for waranty work on the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Dominic C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/02/2019
Lemon
My Veloster has brought me to rock bottom. After being talked into voluntarily repossessing my 2008 Hyundai Accent to get the new Veloster by the sales person was the worse thing I ever did. Breathing in gas for months. Taking it to dealers to tell me nothing was wrong with it. I was rear ended in it and attacked by the driver. I hit a rabbit. Front and back bumper is what kept you from buying it back because you wouldn’t just repair the car out of the funds you were returning back to me instead of repurchasing it. So thanks for the check to keep the car but still making payments and just picked it up from the dealer for the 13th time since I’ve had it. Third engine. Didn’t have my car for two and half months. People constantly ask me what’s going on with my car. I’m embarrassed. No one can understand why you wouldn’t buy back the lemon from me with the minor cosmetic damage or why you are spending so much to keep fixing this car when it seems like it would’ve been cheaper to buy it back or to give me a new car. After being turned away from two other Hyundai dealers because they could never properly communicate with me or fix the car I found a Hyundai dealer in Henderson that helps with rental and doesn’t tell me nothing is wrong with the car. My Veloster has given me nightmares. After being harassed by the manager at abc Hyundai I checked into the hospital because my blood pressure was so high. I just wanted my car fixed and they were nothing but mean to me. I am disgusted by Hyundai.

Pros
I might be able to drive to where I need to go

Cons
I don’t know if I’m going to be able to get to work
I don’t know if I’m going to be able to get to doctors appointments
People tell me I’m stupid for buying this car like I should’ve been able to predict you were going to sell me lemon
People always ask me personal questions to try to get me out of the car like how much do I owe or why don’t I buy a new car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Christian D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/16/2019
So far not so good!
Certified Pre-owned Hyundai Veloster with 36,000 miles. So far a new transmission, that took way longer to fix than it should and the communication during the process was poor at best. More issues with the transmission after replacing, as well as other issues. Took it back to the dealership to have them look it over and make sure it was all good before my daughter drove it off to college. Less than a 1,000 miles into the trip, my daughter's Veloster had to be towed, because it broke down! What a lemon!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Teri W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/21/2019
The Hyundai Veloster SUCKS
This car Sucks. Bad transmission and bad motor. I would Never recommend this car to anyone Ever! I cant even get a decent trade in at the Hyundai dealership. They know its bad also. I hope to get rid of it

Pros
None. Mine is a Lemon.

Cons
The duel clutch sucks and the motor performance and reliability is Bad!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Sandra W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/12/2016
Veloster
I like the body style and inside appearance of the Veloster. I was disappointed in the lag at take off. I thought it being a Turbo and front wheel drive I would have the take off speed but it's just not there. If the car performed as good as it looked, I would be really happy with it.

Pros
Love the GPS. Has clear information on turns and gives you warnings as well as visual. The back up camera has a very good view. The sensor warnings are also good for things behind you when you are in reverse. Love the body style of 3 doors, that is AWESOME if you only want one front seat passenger. Love the looks of the body style in general. Good looking car.

Cons
Doesn't have a quality sound system - radio sound quality is poor. Take off at point of acceleration isn't good. There is a lag of when you step on the gas VS when the car starts moving faster. You have to watch when you pull into traffic or you will get hit. Back Seat - An adult can fit in the back seat but not comfortable unless they are a very small adult in height and stature. Air conditioner seems to never cool off the inside of the car. You can have it on lowest sitting and it continues to run on high and never Auto Cools the inside. With the scenic roof, there is only a cloth panel between you and the top glass. It is very warm on the inside cabin on a sunny day.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
Rosemarie N.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/01/2017
Where do I start.
I have owned several Hyundais and it's the worst purchase I ever made.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kenneth B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/08/2017
Wouldn't buy a Hyundai again
Just letting anybody know I just buy at Abella star from Westland Hyundai. It's been a nightmare since I got the car I've had it Blow to tires out which they say aren't covered and that cost me $188 for each new tire nobody would help me nobody would warranty it I'm having trouble with the car it doesn't run right but they say it well if it doesn't happen in front of us what can we do this is just been a horrible experience and I wouldn't recommend Hyundai to anybody

Pros
It's a good looking car

Cons
I wouldn't call it Dependable I have less than 5,000 miles on it and I've had to replace two tires at my cost and I'm having trouble with the turbo but they can't fix it unless it happens right there. It's been a nightmare wouldn't buy another one. Just nobody takes pride in selling this car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Gregory G.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/02/2018
Short life on motor
2016 Hyundai veloster with 23746 mils need a new short block and the dealer can't explain y or how this happen my wife only drive 10mils a day she don't race always have the kids when she picks up from school. And she did not feel save driveing the car anymore

Pros
Nice car

Cons
Motor life is no good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1154 in total