2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.61/5Overall Rating 4.61/5Overall Rating 4.61/5Overall Rating 4.61/5rating 4.61
4.6
(261 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SB
Sherril B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/23/2019
Clock
The clock in my Velostar quit working about a week ago. I was told when I went in for an oil change that Hyundai was aware of the problem. I really hope they rectify this soon. It is very aggravating not to have a working clock in my car.

Cons
Wish the clock would work and was hoping for better gas mileage in the city.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
BRIAN B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/17/2019
A good overall vehicle
The car has a surprising amount of room for it's size. I am 6'4" and I actually have leg room and my legs also aren't hitting the steering wheel. The seats are also surprisingly comfortable. The rear seats fold down and there is a rubber mat that folds out to cover them which is nice when you need extra space. The car does lack in acceleration considering that it is advertised as being more sporty. I do wish the seat had an adjustable Lumbar support.

Pros
Great mileage. Long trips average 43+ mpg
Comfortable seating
Back seat has enough room for people to actually sit there, plus the third door makes it much easier to get in

Cons
Lacks acceleration. You really have to get on the pedal to accelerate
Climate control system still changes to defrost even when not in auto.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MARY W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/14/2019
,,,,,,
...................................................

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
PATRICK R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/12/2019
Wanted To Give Five Stars
Great looking vehicle, nice 4 cylinder engine with dual clutch system that provides Sport Shift and manual paddle shifting. Excellent sound system with subwoofer with separate amplifier. The only reason I didn't give the 5 stars is because it broke down on me and had to have a $2000 warranty repair. Both catalytic converters were replaced and the exhaust system and muffler. Not sure why this happened but it was a major inconvenience.

Pros
Nice looking, decent gas mileage, great warranty, proximity key sensor

Cons
No separate control of subwoofer volume

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WP
WILLIAM P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2019
My Veloster
This is simply a great vehicle. My wife loves the appearance and in city handling. I would highly recommend this vehicle for its overall value and quality. The sound system is awesome and blue tooth compatibility works great. Fuel economy is also a positive. And simply fun to drive.

Pros
overall quality

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mary D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/05/2019
2017 Veloster
Good on gas. Would prefer a turbo for acceleration especially from 1st to 2nd gear. Love the body design. Wouldn't hurt to provide more room inside for future models. Better suspension for a smoother ride over bumps. Automatic back hatch would be better than the manual lift (must have key in hand). Hatch button on key would be better.

Pros
Good mileage.

Cons
Could use turbo for acceleration 1st to 2nd gear.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Suzanne S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2019
Small and fun
Very happy with my choice to buy the Hyundai Veloster. It's a small unique looking car. Easy to drive and easy to park in small spots in urban areas. Very nice features and fun style, plus 1excellent gas mileage! It does have a small engine compared to Elantra (it's the same as the ascent actually), but on freeway it goes, and around town you'll love the MPG! I'm so happy I chose the Veloster.

Pros
Style. Features. Reliable. Economic. Fun.

Cons
Seats aren't great for taller people. Smaller engine and slower torque takes some getting used to, but fine on freeways.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
SHELLEY H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/27/2019
THIS CAR IS A LEMON on many important issues,BUT looks aren't any of them it really does look great too bad it ISN"T a great car!!!!
On looks alone, you'd definitely want this car, but DON"T be FOOLED! Pass it over if you wish to be happy! IT will not perform well, and you won't be comfortable in it. It will cost you a LOT of money on gas, it won't be easy to switch lanes in traffic on the freeway due to blind spots.

Pros
Looks Great It is a SHAME THIS SURVEY DOES NOT ALLOW YOU TO KEEP THE RATING AT A ONE, EVERY TIME I PRESS SUBMIT IT THROWS ME BACK TO CHANGE THE SLIDER RATING!!! WHAT A FARSE YOU ARE TO HAVE THIS SURVEY DO THAT. SHAME SHAME SHAME ON YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cons
Drives badly, is uncomfortable in leg room and seat belt latch height, and gas mileage is horrible.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
David F.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
Hot Hatch Veloster
Love this car!! Reliable and responsive. Well built 32 miles per gallon at 80 mph on highway 5
Comfortable ride back seat not usable fo accommodate passengers. Check engine light comes on when fuel tank gets to half full and goes out when fill up. What is with that?

Pros
Little go cart

Cons
Engine light on when tank goes half full

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Terrie S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/19/2019
Reliable automobile
Fuel efficiency, great reliability!! I would definitely recommend any hyundai to my friends. This is the third hyundai I've owned and neither car has ever left me stranded. Hyundai has come a long way. Keep up the good work Hyundai!!

Pros
Great fuel mileage, reliable!!

Cons
Road noise, no spare tire, some interior squeaks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
PATRICK R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/08/2019
2017 Volester
the car is fun to drive, and fits the use I intended it for a second car for the wife and kids. shopping, school, kids camp. Looks sharp, handles well, the only issue we have is the slight hesitation at full acceleration. I plan to bring it to the dealer for this soon. Lee in Florence, sc.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Maria D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/05/2019
Sport looking sedan
Clean looking sedan. Runs ok in automatic. Jerks a bit if you try to go fast. But just switch over to paddle shift and it will run great. I like all the smart electronic panel. Nice loud radio. Over all it's ok. For a single person. For a family of 4 not so much. The back is super small. The 3 door feature horrible. It's not made for tall people, or someone on the hefty side.

I have also noticed that the seatbelts in the back get caught on it's guide. Not letting the seatbelt retract properly. I will call customer service and complain because that's a safety issue.

Pros
Sporty looking sedan

Cons
3 door feature. Rear seat belts get caught on it's guide.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Katherine C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2019
Enjoy immensely!
I like everything about the Veloster. Have had many compliments on the sporty looks. Specially like the availability of service and their excellent care with the maintenance. Being a widow it is a comfort.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
STEPHANIE L.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/29/2019
Great car
I receive many compliments (appearance, performance, features)on my 2017 Hyundai Veloster. This is my second Veloster which is a upgrade from the first one. I worked with the same car dealer because he was friendly, accommodating, and professional.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Robert D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2019
Service Department
Cydney P. was very helpful when serving my daughter car for a oil change. She made sure that i was very satisfy with my service.She slso made sure that i was taking care at speedy service. I would her recommend my friend to come visit you guys for serbices.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
RYAN N.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/06/2019
2017 hyundai veloster
love the car, I knew the car's engine was smaller than my older car.
took me awhile to adjust to the slow acceleration, but there is a sports mode that helps out.
the design of the car and the comfort for this car for the money is amazing.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WL
WANDA L.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
Fun To Drive
The Veloster is very fun to drive. It looks very sporty and handles well. It does have a bad blind spot on the front passenger side that you will have to constantly be aware of. The only improvements I would suggest is bigger wheels, more options in the mid-level model (i.e. remote start), and a convertible model.

Pros
Lots of bang for your buck. Very fun to drive. Great looking car.

Cons
Bad blind spot. Moderate engine pick up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Ann S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/04/2019
Just average
I like noting about this car except the look of the car, should have done more research before I bought the car. there is no acceleration, the gas miles are not great. I actually spend more money in gas in this car than I did my 2013 Sonata.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tony B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2019
Sporty! Economical! Great features!
This is the second to last her that I’ve actually owned. I currently have a 2017. The first was a 2012. Good price range for what you get. It’s economical. Great look. Awesome features for the value addition.

Cons
Standard engine could use a little more power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joyce M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2019
JoyJam
Great Vehicle he’ll holder needs work gets good mileage cold AC nice radio works well with Roko Alexa three door entry presents a little bit of a problem for older riders you should include at least a bubble tire in case of a flat tire

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
Hill Holder needs work

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 261 in total