2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5rating 4.6
4.6
(266 Reviews)
Latest review 10 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

FA
Frank A.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/29/2018
Happy with everything but the dual clutch drive
My summery of my 2017 Hyundai VelosterTurbo I am kinda of disappointed with the automatic transmission because of the dual clutch system. I wish I would have purchased a manual transmission instead. Other than that I love what I have done to my cars aesthetic look and wish you could see it. I give my car an 8 for performance due to dual clutch transmission. I believe it should be a smoother take off.

Pros
Love the looks of my car even with all the modification done for appearance.

Cons
I have a big problem with the dual clutch transmission. If I knew about the performance on take off with the automatic dual clutch I would have gone with the manual transmission. That by far is my only thing that bothers me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DINI S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2018
Cute small cars
Veloster is a cute small car that is easy to drive, its good to drive long distance, it have a great exterior and interior look, it have a good sound systems and good gas mileage especially when you drive far
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DANNY B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/26/2018
Mr Sapphire rocks
By the Lauster is fun to drive. My only complaint is about the difficulty in securing and releasing the seatbelts. I've been told I can buy extenders To bring them closer forward. However when I pay this much for a vehicle I expect the seatbelts to be easy to use!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
George W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/25/2018
Sweet ride
It's a great looking car and drives sweet! It's fun to drive and easy to use and the controls are at your command! It is a Sharp dressed car. The hatchback works wonderful and holds just enough groceries!

Pros
Good quality! Good styling!

Cons
Seats aren't comfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AV
Austin V.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/22/2018
nice car....but
car runs fine ...moon roof does not allow driver easy entry to car.
tight space in back and front........
not as good on gas as they say.
Nice car all in all but its a little tight for me and back surgery doesn't help
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Ricardo T.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/16/2018
Esmeralda
Esmeralda isd the hottest car when she is out cruising down the highway. She tends to want to go faster, so I really need to pay attention to her on the road. Talk about high maintenance! She is great in the looks department. She goes, as fast as she needs to go. If you know Texans driving habits, you better be ready to cruise at 70 mph when you get out on the road. And that’s on first! All the electronics are easy to use. I have been truly blessed with this car! I thank JESUS CHRIST for that!

Pros
I can drive on automatic when I want to drive easy. When I want the motor to rev up a little I drive with the stick shift mode. Then the car really performs.

Cons
Whenever I have groceries it is a little more effort to have to go to the opposite end of the car, because there is no driver side door. But it’s a good thing that I always have plenty of time to do my shopping! Otherwise there is no other ting that I find detrimental.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
James O.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2018
veloster
the car handles great...a lot of pep....but too much tech for me...it was my husbands car but he has a stroke and is on hospice care now...but getting kinda used to it now....love the fat tires and the panoramic veiw....
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Gregory B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/08/2018
my 2017 veloster is a great car
The Veloster is a great car it rides good and gets great gas mileage and i like the body style and have gotten many compliments about this car.It handles well on the road, has a great sound system notto mention many other options such as back up screen and bluetooth and other electronic options

Pros
loks great good gas mileage greatradio and electronic package,backup camera and the panaramic sunroof is wonderful

Cons
back seat area kind of small Does have some blind spots as for driving

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
Mark J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/30/2018
Veloster
Not a fan of the double clutch transmission. Need to replace. It is not very performance geared. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm......m....,..........................,..............................

Pros
Great gas mileage, all the convenience items and all the electronic gadgets it has

Cons
The double clutch and the lack of power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
David R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/30/2018
2017 Veloster 1 model up from the bottom.
This is an upgrade from the 2016 I had previously, though I specifically requested a manual shift in the 2016, I grew not tired per se, but desired an automatic in the next adventure. The automatic in the 2017 is iffy at the initial takeoff, to the point of almost being scary; once the vehicle is rolling past say 1st gear everything is peaches and cream it responds well and is very nimble. After I had the heated seats (I run those year-round) installed it became very desirable to drive I get an average of 34 mpg which is OK for a small car automatic better than my other two vehicles. The auto Temp Control was surprising in such a "basic" model, the constant Land navigation was at first annoying but I like it now over my much more expensive Nissan. The Sound system is adequate, I much miss a CD/DVD player; I've not changed to the "new" memory stick MP3 player mentality and I love my satellite radio! More (driver accessible) storage would be nice. The center console is too small or is not mounted forward enough, though it's alright for me, I usually drive with the seat pretty far from the steering wheel and thus my elbow comfortably rests on the console but if the seat were more forward like a "normal" driver that would not be the case.

Pros
In description above.

Cons
In description above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DIANE C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2018
Great Car
The Veloster is my favorite car of all that we have owned. I had a Santa Fe for 14 years. I loved the car but not the color (light blue) but needed a car at the time. I was looking for another mini SUV but when we saw the Veloster I fell in love with it. Hyundai makes great cars and I expect we will have this one for quite a while.I love everything about this car: the color, the styling, and the way it feels when driving.

Pros
The styling is great. We have received many compliments on the car when parked.
Love the color (school bus yellow). It is easy to find in a parking lot. The car is fun to drive. We get good gas mileage on long trips.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
GUILLERMO S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/25/2018
Sexy Blu veloster
Love my car but has little hiccups love interior space love the 3 doors love the color blue tooth connection very convenient little problem with a/c -Heater fan and I take it to the shop and they can’t find anything. It also trembles or vibrates after 20 min driving and when I take it to the shop they can’t find an issue. It is fast

Pros
Looks great

Cons
For it being torbo performance is lacking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Luis S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2018
I love my car the only thing I don’t like is little to slow in the being
Very good car the only really problem is too slow for be sport car I wish can be more faster but the rest is comfy like the gps sunroof
One more thing I not like is I can find headlights LED for this car is very difficult

Pros
Economic in Gas

Cons
To slow

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Carolyn H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2018
Our recent Hyundai purchase
We are very pleased with the recent purchase of our 2017 Hyundai Veloster. It’s such a great riding car. This is our second Veloster and we are working our way toward the Hyundai Genesis.
Thank you Healey Hyundai !!

Pros
Such a great car for the most ney

Cons
None right now

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Terrie S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2018
Fun car
Dependable, reliability and sporty, the veloster has never left me stranded!!!! Hyundai has come a long way and they're doing an awesome job!!!!! GO HYUNDAI!!!!! I"'ve owned 2 other hyundai and the veloster is my favorite!!!!

Pros
Engine and transmission, dependable and reliable.

Cons
Road noise, audio from the radio and navigation stop working at 40, 000 miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Debra D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2018
Velosters are fun!
I love my little red Veloster. It has really cool hubcaps with red accents. The sun roof almost opens the whole length of the car and the third door on the passenger side is genius. The gas mileage is great. Sometimes I average 34 mpg! I also love that it is small and easy to maneuver and easy to wash!
It’s a really cute fun and reliable car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Greg E.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/27/2018
Overall very happy
This is my second one. Couple of issues, paint on hood chips easy, cover on top of radio needs to cover glare on screen better. I do feel black rims would look better on the vehicle. Blue link should not cost as much as you charge
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Donald G.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/25/2018
I love this car
This car just fits me. I like being in it. driving position is very good. like the feel of the steering wheel. There is a very large amount of space considering the size of the car. value added pkg. has a lot of features making for a good value.

Pros
Style

Cons
Front pillars block view at times. 18" tires seem a bit much

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sacha S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/21/2018
Not a bad car.
I am a longtime Mitsubishi driver (2007 Eclipse and 2011 Outlander Sport) after a deer destroyed the Outlander I needed a new vehicle ASAP. The Veloster looked great, and I know people who have owned a few with no issues.
The price was right so I bought the Veloster... a few months in I can say I'm a little disappointed in the overall power, but everything else is great.

Pros
Great looks.
Great gas mileage.
Great reliability.
Good comfort for the size.

Cons
Power... I feel like it should be measured in gerbil power, not hose power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Steven S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/21/2018
What a car
Probably not the perfect car for everyone, but for me, it is the perfect car, from ride to features, to just plain driving fun. I could go on but, at 65, I've bought a lot of cars and this has been the best car I've ever owned. I have always owned BMW's and Saab's, but I would not trade my Veloster for any other car I've driven and the service experience was just as professional and enjoyable as buying the car, driving the car and enjoying the car. Thank you for making such a well built and enjoyable car.

Pros
Everything

Cons
I wish, when driving in manual mode, that the gear you are in appeared on the screen. In the dash the gear display is often obscured by the steering wheel and with 7 forward gears I like to see what gear I'm in.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 81 - 100 of 266 in total