2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5rating 4.6
4.6
(266 Reviews)
Latest review 12 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MW
Mark W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/20/2018
Veloster 2017
I am extremely happy with my Veloster. Since I am 6' tall & 68 yrs old, I hated selling my 2007 Miata convertible, but knee & back issues were taking their toll getting in and out. My mechanic was a head mechanic for Hyundai for over 10 yrs before opening his own shop & thoroughly recommended Hyundai, which has become the affordable Honda. Like my old Honda & my wife's Honda, they will last for many miles as long as you maintain your scheduled services. I didn't want a box car that looks like everyone else's, so when I heard about the Veloster I felt I found my larger size Miata. I can comfortably get in/out & have a modern look with features I never had before, plus the warranties are the best in the industry.

Pros
Able to use the Sports mode for faster pick up and drive ability.

Cons
The view for backing up at an angle is hopeless as you cant see anything from the rear sides, but the rear camera is very helpful as long as you go very slow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
DELMERA A.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/20/2018
EXCELLENT
THE VEHICLE IS GREAT BUT SURVEYS ARE TOO LONG TOO TOO LONG. MAKE YOUR SURVEYS SIMPLE YES OR NO BUT DO NOT MAKE THEM WRITE SOMETHING JUST TO FILL THE 200 WORDS. I NOT BACK AT SCHOOL. THIS IS CRAZY. BIG TIME CRAZY

Pros
GREAT

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LV
Luis V.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2018
I really love my Hyundai Veloster 2017
At first I was not sure about my decision. But a couple of months later I can say was a great decision to choose my car. It’s cute, and sexy! I like it. I enjoy to drive it! I saw reviews on internet, i was reading about this car, but when I saw it in the dealership, I got impressed. Nice design, nice features, very sporty and this car is reliable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CHERYL C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/13/2018
Sporty and Fun!
Love the look of the Veloster, it is a vehicle that does get 2nd looks and questions. I would like to see it offered with 6 cylinders, w/o turbo. I'm not looking to wow anyone, just have a bit of get up and go. I can it my putput mobile. I'm accustomed to large vehicles with 6 cylinders. If you never had that before you most likely will not miss it.

Pros
Looks.

Cons
No get up and go and drives a bit rough.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EA
ESSAM A.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2018
DO IT!
The car is literally great! highly recommend to anyone. It runs smoothly and still runs perfectly even if a lot of mileage is put into the car. It's spacious and all the extra technical features run quickly and efficiently.

Pros
Everything else is literally perfect!

Cons
Sometimes the car randomly stops even when pressing the gas. Randomly happens and when it does it's terrifying. The sport car seats are uncomfortable and sitting for a long period of time messes with my back.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Darlene H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2018
Thumb up!!! Giving back my feed back!!!
I like the car i purchased. Great for me. I Thank my Heavenly Father and Mother for all that was involved of my purchase. The beautiful car i purchased gives me a lot to look forward to when retired. I invite all womens to have or try one very soon!!! Have a fantastic day in a Hyundai car, you will enjoy it.

Pros
Faithfulness and Truthfulness

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Raja K.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2018
Nice little vehicle
In love with this car. We have a fiat and this car. I love the 3 door setup. Sporty but can transport people when needed. Trunk is spacious and lots of window to let in light. I especially Love the backup camera! First hyundai and I would buy again
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ALBERT B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/01/2018
Well made
It has been a year since I purchased my 2017 Veloster. Everything is running well with no problems. I enjoy the handling, good mileage, and my grandsons like it as too. They say it is Papa's race car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
David B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2018
Best car ever
This was my first car that I had then I want to a Jeep and totally missed the veloster so went back to it and love it even more. It’s great in gas mileage and can carry a lot more than you think. It’s a reliable car

Pros
Great in gas mileage

Cons
None I can think of

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WJ
Wayne J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/25/2018
2017 Hyundai Veloster
I love the car it drives good but it doesn't have any power I love the blue tooth and remote start and sun roof plus the style of the car but what really attracted me to the car was the start 3rd door.

Pros
Styling

Cons
No Power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
MARGOT J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/25/2018
Veloster
This is my fourth Hyundai vehicle. Have always received excellent customer service! Thank you!!!
The only item I would make an adjustment to is the seatbelt for driver. It doesn't stay where I like it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Leticia R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/24/2018
Good car
Hey really like the fact that my car is the value addition yet it has all the bells and whistle‘s I need! Would like a little more power but other than that everything is good ..Maybe a little more room in the back

Pros
Comes standard with navigation and backup camera cute design great warranty

Cons
Not enough power would like a little more

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Debra W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2018
2017 modile
I've now has my car a year, nothing but great reviews. She picks up great and enjoy her low riding and most important the way she hugs the road. I feel great and will protected in the car. I would recommend this style you a lot of people. I've gotten great reports from my car to.

Pros
I love the style pack

Cons
No cons as of yet, I'm in the 15,000. Miles and no complaints.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Ralph L.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/19/2018
The Dual Clutch transmission ruins a really good car.
The car is comfortable, nimble, fun, and attractive. There is so much to enjoy about this car that I'm upset that I dislike it so much. I do all city driving and get all of 17 mpg, no I'm not driving like a maniac, that's 100 percent on the DCT. Acceleration is anemic at best, auto shifting is smooth but comes at terrible times. When it downshifts into first from second, it rev matches so slowly that I think it's waiting for me to change my mind that the throttle position and speed of the car is really a first gear want. My wife has a 2012 Elantra where horsepower, torque, and weight are similar enough to be close in performance but it's nowhere near. I have talked to her about trading cars, legitimately, and she wants no part of driving the Veloster every day (because of the transmission.) Nearly every car I have ever owned, I'm 43, has had lower horsepower than the Veloster so, I'm plenty familiar with the performance I should expect. Now, for those of you that are still skeptical of my credentials as someone to tell you to stay away from any Hyundai DCT, I've driven a manual since I was 19, I deliver pizza and have for 25 years, and have been an avid car guy my whole life. What the DCT does is fully engage the clutches at idle and it has to build up steam from there, no other transmission does this. In a manual transmission you usually slip the clutch until fully engaged at say 1000-1200 rpm for a normal takeoff and a performance take off would have the engine speed higher. A regular automatic transmission would have the torque converter to serve that same function, resulting in the engine using more of the available torque to get going. The DCT could actually do this, it is in fact using clutches to do its job and the computer could be programmed to provide a slight slippage to put it in a better position to putting down the torque it does have. They don't do this because it would cause those items to more of a maintenance item, like a regular clutch is, and removing the whole setup and digging into it would cost thousands of dollars, so they do it the safe way. What this means is that a DCT transmission is so bad that it provides all the terrible traits of both the automatic and manual transmissions, while not really having an upside because speed of shifts isn't even particularly good on these economy cars because the standard public doesn't like that fast and hard shifting. I was positive they would get rid of them in the newer models, because it's so terrible of a transmission that it's not worth even trying to fix, but they have doubled down and put them in even MORE of their lineup. I wasn't aware of all of these downsides when I purchased this car, the test drive doesn't provide a way to see how the car will work in traffic or in an emergency situation where you have to accelerate quicker than you expected (remember that stupid downshift issue, that WILL get you in trouble.)

Buy a Hyundai, stay FAR away from any vehicle with this God awful transmission.

Pros
Wonderfully bolstered seats, auto climate control works well, it's very comfortable for someone used to sporty cars, it's a beautiful car, and for the price it's a really nice interior.

Cons
The only real downside is that transmission, ANY other type of transmission would make this car a 4 out of 5. Seriously, power and torque levels are fine, the transmission is the real problem when it comes to it's performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/20/2018
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

JW
Jonathan W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/18/2018
Love it
I did not think I would like a car this size or style. But it has grown on me in the 4 months I have had. It's ease of drive and options are very good. It is great on gas and drives really well and has really nice comfortable seats for long drives.

Pros
Great on gas and seats well. Awesome speaker positions and nav screen. Third door comes in handy and good trunk space for a car it's size.

Cons
Sits low and a little hard to get in and out. Blind spot on the right is bad and could use a side mirror like on the left with the blind spot mirror.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Dini S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2018
Small but powerful
Veloster is my first car I love the design because it's unique and it drives nice too. It's a fun little car to drive and comfortable interior and I love how the fact 3-door car is the one thing making this car unique
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MICHAEL M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/13/2018
2017 Hyundai Veloster
I absoultly love my car, it feels like your driving a go cart. I would defiantly recommend. The third door is nice for having a child/ friends. The trunk has plenty of storage for a weekend outing and you can add alot of aftermarket gear.

Cons
Not a turbo

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Alpha G.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2018
Awesome little car
I have my Veloster for less than 3 months now and the more I drive it, the more I love it. I didn’t think much of small vehicles until I owned a Veloster. I shopped for a vehicle for more than a year and I couldn’t find one that has the convenience that I wanted in a car. I initially shopped for an SUV but Veloster made me changed my mind.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mary D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/09/2018
Unique Sporty Body Style
The Veloster is compact and good in gas mileage. The body style is unique and sporty looking. The paint quality is acceptable but could be better. The turbo will provide a little more zip especially between first and second gear.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Handles well with parking and maneuvering. Great A/C.

Cons
A taller person might want more room. Needs turbo.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GV
GUILLERMO V.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/07/2018
Love Veloster
I love this car for the design appearance and the power of the engine and most of all the interior is so fascinate. Love it definitely I be back for the black color and 2018. I will recommend this car for my family and friends definitely.

Pros
Every thing so good

Cons
No deserve cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 266 in total