2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(303 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


AR
April R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5
06/11/2018
Veloster
This car is awesome! I go back and fourth to California a lot. It gets great gas mileage. My work is 30 min. Away. I can go to work on one tank for the week. Love the way it drives and looks. This is the best car I had.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Aaron H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/11/2019
New transmission at 6,600 miles
This car is a lemon and the dealership wants to do nothing about it. They sent me onto the road in a faulty vehicle that could stop running at anytime and put my life at risk! These cars are mechanically unsound and Hyundai should purchase this car back from me and give me everything that I paid for it 8 months ago!

Pros
Nothing I only rated 2’s because you can’t rate a zero.

Cons
This car is a Lemon and the transmissions do not last in them!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
SHELLEY H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/27/2019
THIS CAR IS A LEMON on many important issues,BUT looks aren't any of them it really does look great too bad it ISN"T a great car!!!!
On looks alone, you'd definitely want this car, but DON"T be FOOLED! Pass it over if you wish to be happy! IT will not perform well, and you won't be comfortable in it. It will cost you a LOT of money on gas, it won't be easy to switch lanes in traffic on the freeway due to blind spots.

Pros
Looks Great It is a SHAME THIS SURVEY DOES NOT ALLOW YOU TO KEEP THE RATING AT A ONE, EVERY TIME I PRESS SUBMIT IT THROWS ME BACK TO CHANGE THE SLIDER RATING!!! WHAT A FARSE YOU ARE TO HAVE THIS SURVEY DO THAT. SHAME SHAME SHAME ON YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cons
Drives badly, is uncomfortable in leg room and seat belt latch height, and gas mileage is horrible.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IS
IVAN S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/08/2020
Bad breaks from the beginning
The breaks are defective and the dealership couldn’t find the issue. I had this issue since the beginning, less than three months from the time I bought it. It was a brand new car. Sometimes it also doesn’t want to run fast.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Ralph L.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/19/2018
The Dual Clutch transmission ruins a really good car.
The car is comfortable, nimble, fun, and attractive. There is so much to enjoy about this car that I'm upset that I dislike it so much. I do all city driving and get all of 17 mpg, no I'm not driving like a maniac, that's 100 percent on the DCT. Acceleration is anemic at best, auto shifting is smooth but comes at terrible times. When it downshifts into first from second, it rev matches so slowly that I think it's waiting for me to change my mind that the throttle position and speed of the car is really a first gear want. My wife has a 2012 Elantra where horsepower, torque, and weight are similar enough to be close in performance but it's nowhere near. I have talked to her about trading cars, legitimately, and she wants no part of driving the Veloster every day (because of the transmission.) Nearly every car I have ever owned, I'm 43, has had lower horsepower than the Veloster so, I'm plenty familiar with the performance I should expect. Now, for those of you that are still skeptical of my credentials as someone to tell you to stay away from any Hyundai DCT, I've driven a manual since I was 19, I deliver pizza and have for 25 years, and have been an avid car guy my whole life. What the DCT does is fully engage the clutches at idle and it has to build up steam from there, no other transmission does this. In a manual transmission you usually slip the clutch until fully engaged at say 1000-1200 rpm for a normal takeoff and a performance take off would have the engine speed higher. A regular automatic transmission would have the torque converter to serve that same function, resulting in the engine using more of the available torque to get going. The DCT could actually do this, it is in fact using clutches to do its job and the computer could be programmed to provide a slight slippage to put it in a better position to putting down the torque it does have. They don't do this because it would cause those items to more of a maintenance item, like a regular clutch is, and removing the whole setup and digging into it would cost thousands of dollars, so they do it the safe way. What this means is that a DCT transmission is so bad that it provides all the terrible traits of both the automatic and manual transmissions, while not really having an upside because speed of shifts isn't even particularly good on these economy cars because the standard public doesn't like that fast and hard shifting. I was positive they would get rid of them in the newer models, because it's so terrible of a transmission that it's not worth even trying to fix, but they have doubled down and put them in even MORE of their lineup. I wasn't aware of all of these downsides when I purchased this car, the test drive doesn't provide a way to see how the car will work in traffic or in an emergency situation where you have to accelerate quicker than you expected (remember that stupid downshift issue, that WILL get you in trouble.)

Buy a Hyundai, stay FAR away from any vehicle with this God awful transmission.

Pros
Wonderfully bolstered seats, auto climate control works well, it's very comfortable for someone used to sporty cars, it's a beautiful car, and for the price it's a really nice interior.

Cons
The only real downside is that transmission, ANY other type of transmission would make this car a 4 out of 5. Seriously, power and torque levels are fine, the transmission is the real problem when it comes to it's performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/20/2018
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

JB
Jason B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
01/09/2019
Great car but have run into more issues than I would like to explain.
Car runs great and most issues I have faced are based on this being my first car from a dealership but am happy I was approved for the car in the first place. As I said most issues I have found with the car come with just the type of car it is. Not to say it's horrible but car sets a little to low for the crappy roads in this state. Also was not the happiest with a handful of things going out rather soon exspcially with this being a brand new car when I obtained it.

Pros
Car is very smooth for the most part and has taken me as far as I could have hoped for and is still going strong.

Cons
A handful of things have gone out in the car and not even O'Brien have been able to help figuring out these issues.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
Kerry L.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
11/13/2019
Engine revs but does not run while driving
While driving, engine revs and does not move. This is a safety hazard and has nearly caused accidents. I have spoken to my dealership about this problem since I have bought the car. None of what they have done has fixed the problem. I will never buy another Hyundai after this experience.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 11/13/2019
Safety is our top priority; we would like to contact you to discuss your concerns further. Please expect a call shortly from our headquarters. Thank you. ^cc

CV
CARLOS V.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/13/2019
Make a Stronger engine
Car was great for the time it lasted. It had many engine problems including carbon build up. Spring valve blew , pistons blew only withing 10k miles. After going to the dealer the refused to honor the warranty.

Pros
Was Great Fun Care

Cons
Engine blew at 10k miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/16/2019
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

RH
ROBERT H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
02/08/2020
Unhappy buyer
Engingine not write! Valve/lifter noice.have been to dealership a few times been blown off.they say cant be duplicated.i have even recorded it.i will never purchase a Hyundai again.i feel i been getting taking advantage of.

Cons
Enginge valve noise !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kendall P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
04/18/2020
Love the car, hate the transmission
Hopefully Hyundai will recall the transmissions in these cars before someone get hurt. I’ve pulled out in traffic a number of times and have almost got hit because the transmission slips and doesn’t go into gear.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mario M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
04/18/2020
Poor transmission performance
Had a few episodes were the performance of the vehicle was beautiful but other times were not what you expected for a turbo vehicle. Reported the problems to my "preferred dealer and they couldn't fix the problem even call coustumer affairs and they didn't help either

Pros
Good driving fast, excellent features

Cons
Not good on gas, dual clutch transmission SUCKS

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 04/22/2020
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member from our corporate office will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

SV
SOFIA V.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/03/2017
IT IS GOOD, BUT NOT THAT I WAS EXPECTED ABOUT
IT IS OK, BUT NEXT TIME I WLL NOT BUY THAT KIND OF CAR

Pros
IT IS NICE

Cons
IT IS UNCOMFORTABLE, AND UNRELIABLE, BECAUSE ONE OF THE GUYS AT THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THE WHEELS COULD BE BROKEN. IT WAS TO SELL AN INSURANCE, BUT HE MADE ME FEEL THAT I MADE A MISTAKE, BUT I WAS ALREADY PAID, AND HAVE TO PAY MORE FOR THE SAME THING.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
TAMINA H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/16/2017
New Veloster
It's s Decent Vehicle

Pros
It's sporty and comfortable

Cons
Road noise is to loud and it needs a CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Josephine S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/13/2018
Not what I expected
I thought when I test drove this car it would be a great investment and a fun car to drive. Visibility is not great. The blind spot when changing lanes makes me feel insecure. Frequent oil changes takes getting used to. Service was less than professional with my second oil change. I would not buy another Veloster. Sorry!

Pros
It is somewhat fuel efficient. Warranty, takes regular fuel, service staff 1st contact are good

Cons
Blind spots, pick up, comfort, frequency of oil changes, some staff are rude and/or condescending

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Robert W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/20/2018
Sporty but not enough power
I purchased this car because of the way it looked. It is very sporty and very well-made. The downside is the 1.6 L engine does not have a lot of power. If I would have known that the non-turbo model was so under powered I probably would not have purchased it. I do a lot of freeway driving and it’s just not practical on the southern California freeways.

Pros
Very good looking car on the exterior and has excellent sound system.

Cons
The non-turbo has poor acceleration performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sabyasachi S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/24/2018
Veloster turbo
nice little car with regards to exterior styling and features and handling. But feels cheap inside with too much plastic all around and poor body quality.
I would not buy this car again or recommend it to someone.

Pros
Nice style and the turbo moves fast

Cons
poor mpg, shoddy build quality (feels cheap with a lot of plastic part inside)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mary D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/09/2018
Unique Sporty Body Style
The Veloster is compact and good in gas mileage. The body style is unique and sporty looking. The paint quality is acceptable but could be better. The turbo will provide a little more zip especially between first and second gear.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Handles well with parking and maneuvering. Great A/C.

Cons
A taller person might want more room. Needs turbo.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WJ
Wayne J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/25/2018
2017 Hyundai Veloster
I love the car it drives good but it doesn't have any power I love the blue tooth and remote start and sun roof plus the style of the car but what really attracted me to the car was the start 3rd door.

Pros
Styling

Cons
No Power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
Mark J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/30/2018
Veloster
Not a fan of the double clutch transmission. Need to replace. It is not very performance geared. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm......m....,..........................,..............................

Pros
Great gas mileage, all the convenience items and all the electronic gadgets it has

Cons
The double clutch and the lack of power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AV
Austin V.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/22/2018
nice car....but
car runs fine ...moon roof does not allow driver easy entry to car.
tight space in back and front........
not as good on gas as they say.
Nice car all in all but its a little tight for me and back surgery doesn't help
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 303 in total