2019
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(396 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DH
Donnalyn H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/17/2020
Love it, but lose the front camera!
I love my car, but when it questioned my skills at a time when I didn't need it to; I had to spray paint the front camera! I don't need a 'drivers ed teacher brake' slamming on the brakes and practically make me do a 'stoppie' (1 wheel motorcycle manuever) when I'm shooting 'the gap' to get out of a situation. Other than that, for a 4 cylinder, it's pretty perky in the "sport" mode.

Pros
Sport mode performance is awesome, I love to leave the pack in the dust at a traffic light!

Cons
#1----NOT MADE IN AMERICA! (Wasn't an issue before but it is NOW)
Hate the front camera? Spray paint it: Not a "con" anymore!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZM
ZHICONG M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/13/2020
The goodness keeps going after one year
Car runs strong after 6800 miles. Exterior is as good as day one with ceramic coating, drawing lots of attention on the street. Exhaust note is beautiful and always reminds you are driving a special car.

Pros
Money to performance ratio is really good.

Cons
Some interior parts show wear even with care.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CHRISTIAN S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/11/2020
Ehhh not worth it...
If want a fun Veloster just get the N.... (Thats if you can afford it) The car is cute and thats about it. Doesn't accelerate fast, sounds like its dying when at high speeds, and really only likes cruising around. I was in the market for the turbo manual but my dealership had only 1 2.0 left automatic that I was stuck with getting so don't do what I did. Or go to a dealership that will help you locate the one you want because now I'm stuck in a 2 year lease.

Pros
Stereo

Cons
All other things

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 06/11/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

JH
JOHN H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/07/2020
Serious Fun
A great car to drive on short and long trips. It is a pleasure to drive on small country roads with a lot of curves and hills. The engine/automatic transmission combination is very responsive, with little turbo lag. All the safety features work as promised. One reason we purchased the Ultimate model was for the heads up display. We became accustomed to this feature with the Genesis we owned and it became an important part of oir purchase decision. We were disappointed that it did not offer the HomeLink mirror, the driver’s side seat adjusts manually so no seat memory feature is available and the passenger seat does not have height adjustment. These should be available in an Ultimate model, as they are in our 2018 Elantra, but their absence did not stop us fro buying this 'fun-mobile'.

Pros
An overall fun driving experience

Cons
Too many features found in other high end Hyundai cars, including the Elantra, are not available in the high English Veloster. Disappointed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kelly P.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2020
Veloster is a HOT HATCH!!
I love my Veloster! It's super sporty and the fuel mileage is superb! It's a very comfortable ride and so much fun to drive!! It's third door is a very convenient feature. It has a wide sunroof, one of my favorite features about this car. The power is amazing, it's a great hatchback!! I highly recommend purchasing a Veloster!!

Pros
Fun to drive and it has a lot of power. The wide sunroof is one of the best features!! The fuel mileage is amazing!!

Cons
No cons! Buy one!!! You'll love it!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
JEREMY A.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/05/2020
great car
great car to have. Gas mileage is wonderful, fill up every 2 weeks driving about 15 miles to and from work. Trunk space is great. Does great in the snow. Not made for tall people. My son is almost six foot he can sit in the passenger seat but not the back without being scrunched up. Overall I love car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
BRENT H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/03/2020
Funnest car I’ve ever had!
If you haven’t test drive one, do it. You’ll be hooked. This the most fun car I’ve had since my first car. It’s quick, the handling is superb with excellent turn-in response while always being completely planted. Nothing seems to unsettle this little beast. Great car and it doesn’t even cost much as they invested cost vs amenities perfectly!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
FRED M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/30/2020
Veloster N
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Pros
fun to drive

Cons
Noisy cabin on interstae

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
GWENZON S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
bang for your buck
i bought my veloster N below $30K. this car kicks ass especially when i put it on my N custom mode. i smoked a lot of posers on the freeway when they try to pass me. the handling is tight, corners have become a breeze coz it is so responsive. i value the N's handling ability , the speed is just a bonus.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JOSHUA S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/24/2020
Even better than the old one!
R-Spec: Fast! Not expensive. Mileage is incredible; regularly get above 40mpg. Comfortable. Audio is great. Hard to get in/out. Rear visibility is barely existent, but Im used to that from the old one

Pros
engine efficiency
engine performance/power
android auto
mileage
looks

Cons
getting in/out
a lot of plastic inside
rear visibility

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Scott S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/20/2020
Fan of the Model - maybe too soon for the new 2.0 version
The vehicle was purchased with scratches that I did not see at first. My wife noticed when I first brought the vehicle home, so I either purchased it that way of scratched it on the ride home. The interior features are awesome. Starter just went up almost two years after purchase (bad), but fully covered repair and tow (service department was fantastic). I'm still a fan and may have bought into the 2.0 version too early. Miss the old styling of the sunroof.

Pros
Added features such as driver-assist and heated seats are awesome.

Cons
Miss the old sunroof. Starter went up in the first/second year. The dealer was not helpful in repairing or offering a paint kit to address scratches.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
MICHAEL K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/14/2020
Good little car
Fun car to drive, there are faster ones, but for the price, warranty and fun it would be hard to beat. Have owned 4 KIA’s, 1 Genesis and now 2 Hyundias and never had any issues. 12 years ago I never would have thought I would own one, now look at me 4 of the 6 still in the garage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joshua M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/12/2020
Fun capable little hatchback
I've had my 2019 Veloster N Performance Package for a year now and it has given me no problems in the 12,000 miles I've driven it.

I wish I could give this car 5 stars because 90% of the car deserves it. The interior might be plastic but nothing you touch feels bad. It might not have lane assist or radar cruise control but it doesn't need any of that stuff to be an amazing driving experience. It's a Hyundai don't expect an Audi.

What really holds the car back is the stock pirelli tires being terrible and the wheels being heavy and ugly. Other than a few minor vibrations that were easily fixed and the tires the car has been amazing.

Pros
Fun, peppy, handles well, sounds amazing, drivers car

Cons
Tires, some vibrations/rattles , stiff suspension

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mona M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/10/2020
Veloster
Great car overall. My husband who is the primary driver loves it. The driving mode is one of his favorite features. He listens to a lot of audio books, so especially appreciates the blue tooth connection.

Pros
Fuel efficient

Cons
Passenger seat not designed well for short people

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
JUSTIN E.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/07/2020
veloster n
Car is very well built and designed. Have not had any issues with the engine or features for over 10k miles now. I am able to squeeze 30mpg highway and still have the power to have fun in the city. Overall would recommend this vehicle.

Pros
Decent gas mileage very fun to drive, price, features, warranty

Cons
Limited trim options available, brake rotors keep warping, won't stay in chosen drive mode

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Marcella C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/02/2020
I love my Veloster
I fell sleep n love with the look and of the car (I looove the exterior color in Sunset Orange), I’ll be honest and I was adamant about having manual transmission. But for the trim level and model, it was well-priced and has good fuel economy (I drive A LOT for work). It also rated high in safety, which was also super important because I do drive a lot. It’s good the looks and the substance. It’s not the quietest car, but it’s sporty, so that’s to be expected. Actually, I’m now in love with the way the car sounds. Overall, I’m super happy with my purchase.

Cons
Seats are manual and not electric.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OT
Oscar T.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/02/2020
Fun Fast Loud
Fun fast and loud I smile every time I start my car I know it’s going to be a good day. I get compliments on the appearance and hot hatches always trying to race which I try not to do which takes restraint the more you push the sweeet it sounds.

Pros
Fun fast loud cool sexy

Cons
Paint Quality not what I’m use to.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ND
NINO D.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/30/2020
Veloster N
If you’re just looking for a fun, nicely equipped coupe without a lot of power, the 2.0 Premium has the right balance of features and pricing to make it our choice. From a performance stance, we’d go with the Turbo Ultimate over the N.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
NICHOLAS M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/29/2020
Great little car
Bought this car new and somehow got it for an amazing price. A lot of fun to drive and surprisingly roomy in the back. Have had the car for a year now, and very happy with my purchase. Would definitely recommend the Veloster.

Pros
Fun to drive and great value for money.

Cons
The 17" wheels that come standard on the base model let down the overall appearance of the car, though that's obviously down to personal taste.
Some of the interior plastics are cheap-looking.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
KATHERINE M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/29/2020
awesome vehicle
I really like this vehicle, tho the pic above shows a veloster turbo model, I have the N version. This is my fist manual and I'm having some good fun driving this car. I really recommend you get the manual version even though there will be an 8 speed dct coming out soon.

Pros
VERY FUN TO DRIVE!!!! I LOVE the pops and crackles while driving in the N mode!!

Cons
one of the few cons would be that when you have it in the N mode, it doesn't stay in that mode after you shut the vehicle off. There should be an option for this ability. Another con, as all the reviews state, it the high use of hard plastics. In my previous veloster, while they still used plastic, it was a "softer" type.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 396 in total