Overview

Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5rating 4.77
4.8

(2,054 Reviews)

ReScore Reviews™ (38)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.7894763/5Overall Rating 4.7894763/5Overall Rating 4.7894763/5Overall Rating 4.7894763/5rating 4.7894763
Original
Overall Rating 2.3157882/5Overall Rating 2.3157882/5rating 2.3157882rating 2.3157882rating 2.3157882
96% Would Recommend
100% Business Response
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


Verified Customer
Birmingham, AL
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/20/2019 Category: Service
Service Department
Didn't like service from Service Department
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 10/21/2019
  1. thank you for taking time to respond
    we appreciate your feed back
    service manager will be in touch to discuss
    and resolve this issue

Mary Hamilton
Jim Burke Service
(205) 278-5981
mhamilton@jimburke.com

LW
Larry W.
Birmingham, AL
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/28/2019 Category: Service
Not HAPPY with service
Wrong part installed
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 09/28/2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.We appreciate your business as well as your detailed feedback. I'm very sorry that you have encountered this bad experience with us. However, we are always looking for ways to improve our services. Someone will be in contact with you soon as possible. 

Mary Hamilton
Jim Burke Service
(205) 278-5981
mhamilton@jimburke.com

GM
Gary M.
Moody, AL
2014 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/22/2019 Category: Service
Quality control issues for service
Service to update computer software and an oil change:
The steering wheel was absolutely filthy, required 3 wipe downs to remove all the grime.
The amount of oil in the vehicle was approximately 1 quart more than the Sonata service manual indicates is required.
The oil plug was torqued 12-16 lb-ft over the torque in the service manual.
Access to the oil drain plug is covered by a plastic access panel, the access panel was not replaced.
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 09/23/2019

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey. I do apologize for the inconvenience. However, we are Always looking for ways to improve our services!

Mary Hamilton
Jim Burke Service
(205) 278-5981
mhamilton@jimburke.com

JT
Jessica T.
Pinson, AL
2010 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/06/2019 Category: Service
Someone failed to order the part. It was a waste of time.
Nothing good to say
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 05/07/2019

We are very sorry about your experience.  Someone will be in contact with you shortly.  Have a nice evening.

Thank you,
Mary Hamilton


GR
Gregory R.
Moody, AL
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/03/2019 Category: Service
God awful... They damage your car and refuse to fix it properly
This place is a joke.
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 01/05/2019

We apologize for your experience.  We are currently still waiting on our Hyundai Santa Fe Loaner to be returned to our service department. We will contact you as soon as it is available.  Have a wonderful weekend.

Thank you,
Mary Hamilton


EB
Etungua K B.
Birmingham, AL
2013 Hyundai Genesis
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/13/2018 Category: Service
Very unsatisfied
Unsatisfied customer
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 12/21/2018

my apologies for your experience
we are working hard to correct issues
and getting loaner vehicles in system

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

RT
Rebecca T.
Birmingham, AL
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/25/2018
Still no response
I wrote a review on 9/7/18 regarding my fin(antenna cover) flying off while I was driving. I received an email saying it would be looked into and that someone would contact me. Well I have to say I’m not surprised, NO ONE has contacted to regarding the fin flying off while driving on the interstate and being told on a 2month old car with no scratches or damage I would be responsible for the $400+ repair.
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 09/27/2018

Thank you for taking the time to respond.  We apologize for your experience.  A manager will be in touch with you shortly.

Thank you,
Mary Hamilton

RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 10/30/2018

it was inspected and found broken at mounting screws - if you will drop by at your convenience i will be happy to inspect it myself
if there is any way i can get it covered i will - but please see me when you come in

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

WA
Windy A.
Trussville, AL
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe S
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/28/2018 Category: Service
Poor customer service
Unpleasant experience
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 08/28/2018
  1. sorry to hear about your experience
    someone from  management team will
    be in touch
    thank you for responding

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

Verified Customer
Birmingham, AL
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/08/2018 Category: Service
Service
Poor Customer Service
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 08/09/2018

Thank you for taking the time to respond.
We appreciate your feedback.  We apologize for your bad experience.  A manager will contact you shortly.
Have a wonderful day!

Thank you,
Mary Hamilton


WC
William C.
Birmingham, AL
2003 Hyundai Tiburon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/07/2018 Category: Service
Maintenance performed on car
Pam
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 05/07/2018

Thank you for responding.
We apologize for your service experience not being exceptional. 
A manager will be in touch with you in the morning.  
Have a wonderful evening.

Thank you,
Mary Hamilton


Verified Customer
Birmingham, AL
2011 Hyundai Genesis
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/05/2018 Category: Service
Disappointing
Jim Burke Hyundai's service center assessed my transmission as 'maybe' needing 'just a pan' but that it really wouldn't be worth trying because most likely I needed a new transmission. The numbers quoted for these were so astronomical that I heard laughter on the other end when I called 3 other local mechanics, all of whom said that it would always be worth trying to see if a pan fixed it, and that even the astronomical estimate for a new transmission was unheard of. I had the pan replaced for half of the estimate from the Jim Burke Hyundai service center and the car is running perfectly. Within seconds of examining the car and giving me these estimates, the service center also stated that my insurance company would probably want to total the car...this felt very much as though there were a conflict of interest in a dealership's service center suggesting within moments of to get me into buying a new car.
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 03/05/2018
  1. my apologies for your experience
    i will look into this and be in contact
    thank you for response

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

PM
Pelham M.
Birmingham, AL
2015 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/12/2018 Category: Service
180 Degree Customer Service Experience
Originally, I was upset about our Sonata not getting its free oil change as it is supposed to for life, since I have it serviced there. There was some miscommunication and Jim Burke, especially Mr. Cruse, had my issue resolved within 30 minutes. These are fine people doing a great job...just be sure everyone understands how the 'Free Oil Change For Life' works...thank you once again for the prompt response and resolution!

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/12/2018 Category: Service
Liars.
Don't believe their service department. The free oil changes aren't free.
John C. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 02/12/2018

Spoke with customer and resolved our miscommunication on our part. Thank you for taking the time to listen to me and understand as well as accepting the decision we made in order to make it right! Thank you again and you have our apologies and we look forward to your continued business. Please reach out to me at 205-278-5972 for any other issues.


John L. Cruse

John C. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 02/12/2018

Thank you again for affording us the chance to correct our mistake!


John Cruse

RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 02/14/2018

thank you so much !

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

Verified Customer
Birmingham, AL
2015 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/29/2017 Category: Service
Poor
Very rude
Heath F. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 10/30/2017

thanks for taking the time to respond. Our service manager will contact you for additional details.


JB
Joey B.
Fairfield, AL
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/18/2017 Category: Service
Over charged and not in stock.
Had one tire patched- cost $44. Told the other tire had to be replaced, but they did not have the tires in stock (for one of the best selling cars you make). Took the car somewhere else. They said that the other tire could be easily patched. It did not need to be replaced. The cost for the patch? $10. Wow! That's a big difference.
Heath F. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 10/19/2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. A member of our service management team will contact you to obtain additional details.

RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 10/19/2017

good morning sir
sorry you are having to deal with tire issue
our policy on tire repair is to only do if it is
in an area away from side wall and only do
patch/plug from inside / we do not plug tires
and where the screw stuck in was beyond the
point that we allow repairs (this becomes a safety issue)
we have reached out to you and would like to speak with
you if you choose / again my apologies for tire not being in 
stock and i hope you have a great day

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

Verified Customer
Birmingham, AL
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/05/2017 Category: Service
Horrible customer service
Need more customer service training
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 10/14/2017
  1. thank you for talking with me
    again my apologies for the experience
    you had and it will be addressed and
    wont happen again
    hope you have a great day

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

EB
Evelyn B.
Birmingham, AL
2016 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/26/2017 Category: Service
POOR SERVICE
I don't like feeling forced to recommended maintenance on my vehicle.
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 06/29/2017

i am sorry for your experience,
we can service your vehicle at your
request,however the free oil change for 
life program clearly states the minimal
required maintenance must be performed,
its up to the customer to decide if this program 
fits there need - we provide information to customer and let
them make decision - i apologize if you felt threatened it is not intended to do,again i apologize for your experience and i hope
we can make this work for you,
thank you for responding

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

Verified Customer
Gulfport, MS
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/14/2017 Category: Service
Just trying to get my money
Poor communication, just used a bunch of big words to try to get more of my money
John C. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 02/16/2017

We are sorry to hear of your less than ideal visit here at Jim Burke. We understand, per your conversation with the service advisor and service director, that the recommended services were based on the mileage and age of the vehicle. This Multipoint inspection is performed on every vehicle that enters our shop as a courtesy and protection to our valued customers. During the conversations today we were advised that you took the vehicle to another dealer prior to the service at Jim Burke, you stated you have (since the service) taken the vehicle to another dealer, and now that you will be going to another dealer Friday for a second opinion leaving a little confusion as to when, when will, or if that has occurred!  We are open to that feedback from another source and are also willing to reperform the Multi Point Inspection again and show you in person what services were suggested and why. Most vehicles with over 100K miles have multiple maintenance items that are suggested to be performed and without a history to go off of we can simply only base that in time/mileage. However, none of these, as we agreed, could or would be used as a scare tactic as no repairs were suggested. We simply assist customers to take the best care possible of their vehicles as suggested by the manufacturer.  Thank you for your time today and we wish you the best going forward. 


CH
Cassandra H.
Birmingham, AL
2015 Hyundai Genesis
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/17/2017 Category: Service
Prices are terrible and a ripoff
Free oil change a joke
WALTER E H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 01/17/2017

Thank you for your time. As we discussed the maintenance on your vehicle is a very important lifeline for the longevity of any automobile. We at Jim Burke strive to give the best possible customer service at all times. We look forward to helping you with any and all future needs !!! 


LT
Lashoan T.
Tuscaloosa, AL
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/03/2017 Category: Service
Resolved
Happy Camper

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/03/2017 Category: Service
Bad
Every since i got my car serviced, it burns gas horribly!!! They acted as if they didn't care when i called. I have never had this problem before until i came there for service.
WALTER E H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 01/03/2017

Thanks for taking the time to talk to me about your recent service. I hope your situation with your vehicle is rectified with what was discussed. Hope you have a wonderful and happy new year !!


Verified Customer
New Orleans, LA
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/11/2016 Category: Service
Reimbursement Of Additional Expense
The service department managers: Eddie and Rusty displayed great concern to my complaint and pursued necessary steps to reimburse my expenses for having the oil spillage cleaned.

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/11/2016 Category: Service
Oil Change
I received a dirty oil change and I incurred an additional cost at a different Hyundai shop to have the issue resolved. I wasn't informed by Jim Burke's service department that this oil spillage had occured. I learned of it from the oil-smell permeating the inside of my car when driving.
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 12/12/2016

again i am sorry for the inconvenience this caused,thank you for giving me a chance to resolve this issue and hope you and yours have a great holiday season

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com