Overview

Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5rating 4.77
4.8

( 2049 Reviews )

ReScore Reviews™ (38)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.7894763/5Overall Rating 4.7894763/5Overall Rating 4.7894763/5Overall Rating 4.7894763/5rating 4.7894763
Original
Overall Rating 2.3157882/5Overall Rating 2.3157882/5rating 2.3157882rating 2.3157882rating 2.3157882
96% Would Recommend
100% Business Response
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


ZH
Zabrina H.
Birmingham, AL
2011 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2019 Category: Service
Great Customer Service!
They went beyond regular procedures to make sure I was satisfied with their services.

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/08/2019 Category: Service
Not doing everything promised!
i do not believe an actually inspection was done. i believe they informed me of just a few things noticed and I was given a suggestion for scheduled maintenance work based on miles.
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 07/08/2019

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey. I do apologize for the inconvenience. However, we are Always looking for ways to improve our services!

Mary Hamilton
Jim Burke Service
(205) 278-5981
mhamilton@jimburke.com
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 07/10/2019

Thank you for taking the time to respond. We appreciate your business as well as your feedback. 
Hope you have a Wonderful morning!

Mary Hamilton
Jim Burke Service
(205) 278-5981
mhamilton@jimburke.com

Verified Customer
Pleasant Grove, AL
2011 Hyundai Veracruz
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/11/2019 Category: Service
Downgrade in Service
It is the fine print that matters.
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 06/11/2019
  1. my apologies for your experience
    someone will be in touch

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

RH
Ricky H.
Pinson, AL
2018 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/10/2019 Category: Service
Service at the dealer.
The free oil change ended up being not free. They required I pay $300- $600 dollars to remain getting a free oil change. and Fee wipers. The hook for saling the car was their excellent service Provided.
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 06/11/2019

it is a great program if the vehicle is going to be serviced here
however factory required maintenance must be kept up to date
with us - sorry if this was not explained throughly at time of sale
if any question please contact me direct

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

Verified Customer
Fultondale, AL
2015 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/14/2019 Category: Service
Service
See above note
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 05/15/2019

my apologies for your experience
some one will be in touch soon

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

Verified Customer
Loganville, GA
2012 Hyundai Equus
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/19/2019 Category: Service
Tried to rip me off
Would not recommend at all.
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 04/19/2019
  1. sorry
    we did not try to rip you off - we seen you had a water pump leaking and wanted you to know the possibilities of other damage
    related to overheating - which is common
    should replace leaking pump and then block test for internal leak
    so my apologies for this not being made clear to you
    its not out intent to rip off (over repair) but possibilities should be discussed

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

MC
Marcus C.
Birmingham, AL
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/01/2019 Category: Service
This visit was better than my last but not completely better.
Still not completely sure about bringing my vehicle here
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 04/09/2019

We apologize for your experience.  Someone will be in touch with you soon.
Have a nice evening.

Thank you,
Mary Hamilton


Verified Customer
Pleasant Grove, AL
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/06/2019 Category: Service
Not so good experience
It would be nice if customers were told that their vehicle may or may not be serviced in the same day before they left car at dealership
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 03/10/2019
  1. thank you for responding
    my apologies for your recent service experience
    you are absolutely right and should have been told
    up front on the work load,
    i will address this immediately
    if you would like to schedule a time i would be happy to
    test drive the vehicle with you so we can show the technician
    the issue

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

Verified Customer
Birmingham, AL
2018 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/20/2018 Category: Service
Not as thorough this time
This time I did not have such a great service experience. Once again I was told that bringing my car in well within the manufacturer’s guidelines was not enough and that it should be done every 3000 miles. Also did not receive a written statement of any tests that were done for the service (my fault for not asking). Also tires were inflated improperly during visit and could of created a potentially dangerous situation. I will still get my car serviced here but maybe not on a Saturday where they seem very rushed and not as thorough.
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 11/21/2018

We apologize for your your experience.  A manager will contact you shortly.  
Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

Thank you,
Mary Hamilton


Verified Customer
Jasper, AL
2018 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/02/2018 Category: Service
Oil change free be careful of the recommended service cost
Oil change is free but 7500 mile inspection cost was more than an oil change which does most of the inspection as part of service

Verified Customer
Birmingham, AL
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/27/2018 Category: Service
Well they didn't top off all my fluids but everything else was fine
I'll recommend that if you go make sure you let them know to fill you fluids up.
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 09/27/2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.  We apologize for your experience.  A manager will be in touch with you shortly.
Have a nice day.

Thank you,
Mary Hamilton


BM
Brady M.
Birmingham, AL
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/06/2018 Category: Service
Very poor customer service / service advisor didn't do his job
I went in for a routine service appointment this week that I scheduled online. I showed up on time to find the service advisors were unsure of who had my account.

Next they tried to sell me on service options for mileage that they had already performed as well as service for mileage I hadn't yet reached. Yet they failed to recommend a rotate and balance - which was needed since it was over 10k miles since my last which was when Jim Burke installed the tires I purchased from them.

I specifically asked them to only do three things: direct injection cleaning, the free oil change, and the rotate and balance. They then made some subliminal threats that my free oil change for life deal - that is prominently advertised in the service bay - could be cancelled / non renewed when I mentioned that I only wanted the manufacture's recommend service - not the above and beyond level.

When I returned to pick up the car, the service advisor was playing video games on the phone and said everything was finished.

After I cashed out and paid, I checked my sheet again and realized that the rotate and balance was not on there and had not been completed. I checked back with the service advisor and he said he completely forgot.

This is an unacceptable level of customer and vehicle service, and I do not plan on going back.
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 07/11/2018

Thank you for taking the time to respond.
I apologize for your experience.  A service manager will be in touch with you tomorrow.
Have a nice evening.

Thank you,
Mary Hamilton


SG
Scarlet G.
Birmingham, AL
2015 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2018 Category: Service
Gooden
As always my service needs were completed in a very timely manner. I refer this location because it is near my residence and I have always experienced great service. The technicians are courteous and very knowledgeable.

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/18/2018 Category: Service
Gooden
As always my service needs were completed in a very timely manner. This dealership is located near my residence and convenient for me to reach. The technicians are always courteous and knowledgeable.
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 06/19/2018

thank you so much
so my understanding is there was no issues
with service so thank you for re-scoring 
hope you have a great day

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 06/19/2018

thank you
have a great day

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 06/27/2018

again thank you

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

EB
Eric B.
Birmingham, AL
2013 Hyundai Equus
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2018 Category: Service
Eric Brown
The problem at this time it's been resolved I'm very happy

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/31/2018 Category: Service
Eric Brown
I feel that I should have been compensated some way for having to come back up to Jim Burke or something I didn't cause I missed out on overtime because I had to come back up there because of something not in my control
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 06/01/2018

my apoligies
i have spoke with the advisor and the technician
and they both understand how any detail can cause
issue - from either the problem or the way we get
it resolved - thank you for understanding and i look
forward to seeing you soon

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 06/05/2018

thank you so much

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

Verified Customer
Birmingham, AL
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/26/2018 Category: Service
Needs improvement
Not a pleasant experience. Her inconvenient and financially draining
MARY W H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 03/28/2018

We apologize for your inconvenience.
A manager will be in contact with you shortly.
Have a nice day.

Thank you,
Mary Hamilton


ML
Melody L.
Birmingham, AL
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/11/2018 Category: Service
11 month old car with broken engine mount
I had a horrible squeaking under the hood when I would go over a bump in the car I had owned for 10 months. Over three weeks to identify and repair issue. Ignored Hyundai's recommendation to make repair until the end. Car was in shop for over three weeks.
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 01/11/2018
  1. i am so glad its repaired !
    this was a frustrating issue and we  could not identify cause (we did not ignore any recommendation) we spent many hours trying 
    to find the issue (that at times would not occur) the cause was the engine mount / but even after removal did not display an issue - it unfortunate that happened during holidays and for that i apologize - hope you had a great day
    HAPPY NEW YEAR

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

Verified Customer
Hueytown, AL
2010 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/10/2017 Category: Service
Another Visit
Today’s visit was a return to the Jason m Burke I know. I was phoned about my car and I had asked for the extended limited warranty to be checked and it was. My car was in good shape when I got it back and everything went like it should have.

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/10/2017 Category: Service
Please oblem visit
Worse visit in 7 years
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 11/10/2017
  1. my apologies
    this would have frustrated me as well
    team manager will be in touch
    thanks you for responding

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 11/14/2017
  1. again thank you for responding
    it was the key to getting to and resolving issue
    after this revisit i hope
    we have regained your trust in jba
    and that we can have the opportunity
    in the future to serve your vehicle needs
    if i can be of any assistance please contact
    me - thanks for coming in and speaking with me
    hope you have a great evening

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 11/20/2017

again thank you
so glad we could resolve issue
hope you and yours have
a great holiday season

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

Verified Customer
Birmingham, AL
2015 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/01/2017 Category: Service
Customer care
.
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 10/14/2017
  1. we are sorry about the experience you had
    we will contact you for more information on
    the coupon and the visit
    thank you and hope you have a great day

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com

RM
Rhonda M.
Birmingham, AL
2015 Hyundai Genesis
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2017 Category: Service
Response to Follow Up to Survey
Thanks John for your IMMEDIATE response to the survey and offering a solution to an ongoing issue with my vehicle. As I mentioned to you, I will be honest with my response. I appreciate your feedback. I am not looking for anything free, just want to get the service I deserve. Thanks and have a great weekend as well.

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/08/2017 Category: Service
Service
I am not sure if the service is related to a previous review or not.....but it didn't get any better.
John C. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 06/08/2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide feeback as well as taking the time to have a discussion with me. I am happy that we were able to resolve your issue and continue to provide service to you. We look forward to seeing you next week and hope that our business relationship continues to grow! Have a great weekend

John C. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 06/12/2017

Thank you and we are glad we could resolve everything quickly and efficiently!


Verified Customer
Birmingham, AL
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/18/2017 Category: Service
Want respond to recall was told to come in and but did not receive the service that I came in for. was told I need tires but price and tires was not talked about.
No call back on recall
WALTER E H. from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 04/19/2017

THANKS FOR YOUR TIME THIS MORNING. HAVE A GREAT DAY AND I LOOK FORWARD TO CALLING YOU SOON ABOUT THIS CONCERN.


RM
Rhonda M.
Birmingham, AL
2015 Hyundai Genesis
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/14/2017 Category: Service
When you have employees and mangers who show they are concerned and are willing to make things right for the customer.
I would like to thank Mr. Pickle for contacting me, following up on my concerns AND offering solutions relative to my most recent visit and future visits to the Jim Burke Hyundai Service Center.

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/14/2017 Category: Service
He was not so friendly.
I hope to have someone else assist me.
RUSTY P., service manager from Jim Burke Hyundai responded on 03/17/2017

thank you for sharing your experience with me,
after out conversation i think we have every thing
cleared up,we will be getting more information on Hyundai rewards and pass that on to you as well.
 john says hello and looks forward to taking care of your service needs in the future,
again thank you and hope you have a wonderful day.

rusty pickle
service manager
(205) 278-4946
rpickle@jimburke.com