2014
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5rating 4.63
4.6
(293 Reviews)
Latest review over 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TT
Timothy T.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/16/2017
Vastly exceeded my expectations!
I am a high mileage driver with over 40,000 miles a year. The car is very comfortable and gas mileage has averaged over 40MPG. No major mechanical issues, even original tires lasted over 78,000 miles!!

Pros
Comfortable and reliable

Cons
No rear seat ventilation available.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
MICHAEL T.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/10/2017
Hyundai
Great car. Decent gas mileage. Very reliable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
Stan T.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/10/2017
Never expected this quality & comfort!
Timing would have it that days after this purchase, I had to drive 2000 miles across the US from Illinois to Seattle. The long drive was surprisingly comfortable! The cabin, the controls, music, heated seats all contributed to an enjoyable trip. The mountains & major snow storm in the Cascades were no match for the handling & safety of this vehicle.
Within 2 months I had to test this car again by driving 1900 miles along the Oregon & California coast in 8 days of continuous rain! Finally, from Scottsdale, AZ it handled superbly back to Illinois for a total of over 8000 miles. This Sonata really surprised us with it's smooth handling & excellent fuel consumption- passing yet another gas station with the gauge far from worry! We love this Hyundai Hybrid!

Pros
Comfort, handling, smooth ride, fuel economy, attractive styling, heated seats, powerful for a smaller engine!

Cons
Blue tooth option difficult to figure out- minor annoyance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Daniel L.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/09/2017
2014 Sonata Hybrid Limited
I've had this car for 3 years now. I normally trade in cars every 12 to 18 months. But I'm hanging on to this one, I love the style, the features and the gas millage. In three years, I have not had 1 issue with it. My husband has had a ford and a Honda during this time and has had computer issues with both, trying to tell him to buy Hyundia .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Richard D.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/08/2017
Blue drive
Great milage underpowered at stop.

Pros
Good sound air ride comfort options.

Cons
Pick up breaking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Danial S.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/28/2017
Love my blue! Hyundai
Nothing bad to say after 2 years of ownership. Love the ride, the fuel mileage and the features. It is fully loaded and fun to drive.

Pros
All the bells and whistles for the price

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Robert P.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/24/2017
Terrific, comfortable, great on gas, and getting up to and over 500 mi to the tank
Love the car, every bit as nice as my wife's Lexus Hybrid
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FH
FRANCES H.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/22/2017
AWESOME
AWESOME

Pros
awesome

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Marjorie B.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/22/2017
I love my Hyundai Sonata! Comfortable to drive,sharp,great gas mileage.
This has been one of my all time favorite cars.And I really love the remote start available with the Hyunday Bluelink app on the phone. You can be anywhere to start your car,which is really a plus in the normal Wisconsin weather,during the winter.I like that if I leave the heated seats,and warm defrosts on,when I come out of work to get in the car,everything is nice and warm and windows can be easily scraped off.

Pros
everything positive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VP
VALERIAN P.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/17/2017
1st foreign auto purchased.
Except for 2 recalls we are very satisfied so far.

Pros
My wife wanted it.

Cons
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ALAN B.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/15/2017
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Overall a very nice low budget car. Great comfort, fuel mileage, nice option package for the money. Just needs to make some of the options work better.

Pros
Comfort, options, sound system, fuel mileage

Cons
Voice command Navigation horrible, Satellite radio reception horrible, back up camera way to slow to come on, blind spot at both door posts, terrible traction in snow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TR
THOMAS R.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/04/2017
All around a good car for the money
The car has one of the best if not the best head and leg room interiors of those I tested (I'm 6' 1"). I have no problem getting comfortable even with the panoramic sun roof (which I love). In late spring through late fall/early winter, it is easy to get the 36/40 mpg the hybrid is rated (I sometimes get higher than 40 on the highway), however, in the winter the mileage does drop and my local mileage is closer to 33 - 34 mpg. The car is comfortable and has everything I need in a car that is used for local driving and trips. I didn't rate the car five stars because there is always room for improvement (even if it is mostly minor). I din't buy the car because it is fun to drive (that's what my old 1972 Z28 Camaro is for). I brought it for comfort and mileage and I have been pleased with it so far after about 2 1/2 years.

Pros
Great head and leg room for big people (I'm 6' 1"). Easier to get in and out of than a 2000 Taurus and easier to put things and and take them out of than a 2000 Taurus. Other than in winter, good fuel mileage. Would love to try the newer plug-in hybrid.

Cons
Mileage drops in winter. Limited color choices (no green).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mark D.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/10/2017
Don't be afraid to buy a Hybrid engine
I am very satisfied with this car. I drive many highway miles, so I need a car I can count on. This Hybrid averages about 46 mpg in the summer and 38mpg in the winter.

Pros
Great gas mileage. Engine is reliable. Comfortable and heated seats. Stereo has a good sound.

Cons
The basic wheel covers are bland. The online gps for directions is slow and often can't find the place you are seeking. However, the online emergency call does work well.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
EUGENE D.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/07/2017
2014 Hyundai Sanata
The Hyundai Sanata was probably the second most satisfying car in my 47 years of marriage. The #1 position went to our 1996 fully loaded Jeep Grand Cherekee dealership show piece. The blue Sanata was beautiful. It had great gas mileage and was comfortable to ride in.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DIANNA S.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/05/2017
Luxurious car
Has look and feel of expensive luxury car. Almost 50 miles per gallon on highway with great pickup. (Climbs mountains and handles curves well)
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
TIMOTHY C.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/05/2017
2014 sonata
2014 sonata hybrid was an great vehicle.

Pros
Loved the vehicle, traded to get safety up grades.

Cons
Loud road noise.
We had two hundred thousand miles warranty on the 2014 sonata. We lost the other hundred miles on the 2017. But we knew that going into the deal.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JULIAN R.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/28/2016
My view
A great car!

Pros
A great car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TD
TERRENCE D.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/22/2016
Good
Good

Cons
No spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
William W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/20/2016
My feelings on the 2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
I love the handling and performance of this vehicle in most weather. it is also very comfortable and responsive. I could not complain about its fuel efficiency. I am however unimpressed with its handling in winter weather. I have lived in very snowy areas and this car would not do. Road handling in snow or ice is terrible and where there is any speakable snowfall it will get stuck over and over. if it wasn't for the handling in winter weather I would give this car a 5 star, but because of it I can only go 4 stars.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
THOMAS A.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2016
Sonata Hybrid 2014
I enjoyed the car. The reason I traded it for the Sonata Plug-in Hybrid 2016 was just to get the plug-in option that was not available in 2014.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 141 - 160 of 293 in total