2016
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(771 Reviews)
Latest review 5 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MG
Mariana G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/10/2019
Worst car experience ever
I purchased a Hybrid 4 years ago, as a single mom, I though a brand new car will bring me peace of mind... well... this car brought me so much stress, time taken off from work, frustration and bad experience with the dealership.
I already had transmition changed, injectors, battery, and now they want me to pay 13 hundred dollar for 2 parts that “burned” when the low voltage battery discharged. The same parts were changed 20k miles ago.
I had a claim with Hyundai Corporate and they pretty much told me they cant do anything for me.
All I asked was for assistance with the repair since it’s part of the high voltage battery which should have life time warranty.
They say the battery does, but the parts dont. That’s pretty interesting.. I wonder if I continue driving the car with the “burned” parts of the battery if the high voltage battery will die and then they will need to replace it.
I got no help from either the deakership, or corporate. And here I am so disappointed and Ill never ever ever again buy a Hyndai.
It’s sad that I have to pay 3ks in repairs in less than a year.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Latasha B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/27/2019
Great family car
I love my car. It’s nicely styled, rides great, and very comfortable for my family of 4. I would definitely recommend this car to everyone. The dealer can be pricey to get your maintenance done, but the quality of the work is so worth it.

Pros
Love the car overall

Cons
I believe the leather on the inside could be a little more sturdy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Lourdes D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2019
Can't find a better car for the money
This vehicle has been problem free for almost 4 years and 45,000 miles. The only thing we have had to do is routine maintenance. The car is a pleasure to drive and long trips are a breeze. It can hold itself in traffic, accelerates well, easily holds 5.

Pros
Gas mileage, comfort, bells and whistles, LIFETIME warranty on batteries
Never had any maintenance or quality issues

Cons
Didn't have the plug in model when I purchased so I couldn't get my tax incentive.
front brakes a little noisy
No space for a spare tire, because the batteries are there, That is my biggest beef!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Sukumar K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
Awesome
Wonderful and comfortable to drive around.Nice technology and liability. Easy to move around in short time.Nice family time while driving on long distances. Really appreciate all the support with Blue link.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Bob K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
85,000 Miles and No Problems
I bought this car in December 2016 with 2 miles on it. Now I have driven 85,000 miles with no problems. Typical maintenance items have been replaced such as hoses, belt, and tires which would be normal on any car. I get 39 to 44 MPH, it depends on how I drive it.

Pros
A lot of room
Good sound system
Very reliable car
Big trunk for a hybrid

Cons
No spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Albert R.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
Love This Vehicle
I purchsed a hybrid Sonata two years ago. The style and interior room motivated me to test ride. I was really impressed.
Now, it is still the car of my dreams. And the hybrid powertrain is fiving me an average of 43 mph. Love that too.

Pros
Style
Interior comfort
Gas mileage

Cons
Havent found anything I consider negative

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Peter D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/02/2019
Definitely Work The Money
Car has 50000 miles in 35 months. I drive to Atlanta from Central Florida monthly and the trips are comfortable and trouble free. Wish I had Car Play but everything else is terrific. Hybrid could get better gas mileage since it does not approach what is advertised.

Pros
Mechanical reliability

Cons
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOSEPH G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/02/2019
Absolutely and incredibly amazing car and lots of fun to drive, and it has almost paid for itself.
My 2016 Hyundai Sonata is an extremely well engineered automobile. It is almost 4 years old, and has 65,000 miles on it. I take it to Balise Hyundai for all my recommend service. And so far, there has never been any repairs needed, as no replacement parts needed, other than routine maintenance. I never ever owned anything as precision as this car. Plus it's the kind of care that gives me the incentive to drive carefully, and not aggresive, because the more sensibly I drive, the more I am rewarded by effieient performance and economy. How about 43-49 MPG for 4 years so far. And this car recharges itself. No plugging it in.
5 Stars for Hyundai

Pros
All pro's on this car

Cons
No con's at all

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Marguerite A.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2019
Good auto.
I enjoy the Hybrids fuel economy and quiet drive. Gas mileage is important to me. I am bothered by the lack of a spare tire or a doughnut for my safety on the road. There are problems when a tire goes flat

Pros
Nice looking car.

Cons
No spare tire. Limited seat adjustment

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Blaine P.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/27/2019
Rating of hybrid
Rating of 2016 hybrid. This is 2nd hybrid and 3rd Sonata since 2006
Love all of them, but the 2016 is the best. We just made a 900 mile round trip to Portland and averaged 43 miles per gallon. We never have averaged below 40 mpg in town and that is at speeds of up to 80 miles per hour (Idaho speed limit) on the freeway.

Pros
All positive!!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jose A.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/23/2019
Terrible overpriced vehicle!
Constant visits to service and maintenance, overpriced lease cant rely ón charging. Gets damage frequently. Just take a look at your own service records to see the overpriced and piece of garbage this vehicle is.

Pros
First vehicles I driven with no pros!

Cons
Everything! Overpriced constant visits for recalls and issues, 3k maintenance requirements, no capacity of service to fix the vechile.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gary S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/13/2019
Poorly made vehicle
I will never buy a Hyundai vehicle again. I just spent $2500 fixing it after barely tapping the front corner of the car on the garage. My garage doesn't have a mark on it, but my Hyundai was a mess. It caused a leak inside the car. How cheap is the plastic Hyundai uses on the body? No, I will never buy a Hyundai again!

Pros
Nice ride

Cons
Exterior is cheap plastic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Deanna C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2019
2016 HYBRID
I have owned my Hyundai Sonata hybrid for 3 years and still love it. All I ask is that Hyundai continue to make them and not switch off to one of those plug-in electric cars which I will not buy. Unless Hyundai doses something strange to the design, my new car will be a Hyundai Sonata.

Cons
Didn't come with a GPS system.; otherwise, you would have gotten a 10 for features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
Meghshyam J.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
Good comfortable vehicle
I like my Hyundai. Generally runs well. Other than the recent coolant pump issue which was addressed by warranty, car seems to be running ok in the past 3 years. Look forward to future Hyundai models.

Pros
Value for money. Decent mileage

Cons
Disappointed that the coolant pump broke in under 2 years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IL
Improta L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2019
So Economical and Quiet!
I love my Hybrid Hyundai Sonata. I average 45-50 mpg on the highway and about 35-38 mpg in the city. It runs quietly and has great leg room front and back. Good sized, roomy trunk.
I would buy it again without hesitation!

Pros
Gas mileage
Roominess
Stylish good looks
Good service department at Skagit Hyundai
Visual Screen for backing up
Roomy trunk

Cons
Buttons /Controls for air, etc., radio, etc. could be higher.
Though I like automatic trunk opening if you’re standing there, it sometimes opens when I walk by it. If I don’t know it, the trunk will open while I’m driving.
There is a blind spot where the passenger door and door behind it meet when I am taking a left turn. It is hard to see traffic coming on the right.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
Jacob N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/23/2019
Car is 9/10 of the way to being great
The Hyundai Sonata plug in is so close to being a really good car. It just seems like Hyundai gave up after 9/10 and left some easy things off that would have been fantastic. Unable to tell if it is just because it is the plug in or all sonatas.

Pros
Great Mileage
Good value for cost
Quiet

Cons
No sunroof
Many features missing on the plug in hybrid
Many small quirks that seem like easy fixes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
Jon O.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/19/2019
Certified pre-owned Sonata is a fantastic car
Our 2016 Sonata is a fantastic car. But the dealership we bought from told us lies and did not properly inspect the car before delivery. Our first maintenance experience at a local dealer wasn't so good either. Fantastic car but very disappointing dealership experienced.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TK
Timothy K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Great vehicle
Fantastic vehicle at MPG that is hard to beat. Very environmentally friendly vehicle as well. Warranty is best in the automobile industry. Both the interior and exterior design of the vehicle is wonderful.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Mavy R.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2019
2016 Sonata Hybrid
I bought by 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid 3 years ago new. I love my car. It’s great on gas. I love the fact that I fill my tank every 3 weeks and save so much money on gas. 💕 it’s extremely comfortable too!

Pros
Extremely comfortable and great in gas

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Susan C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
Best car on the road
This has got to be one of my best buys the car performs beautifully gas mileage is above and beyond what my expectations were . I can drive for a week without having to fill the car . Hyundai equip the car with some of the most advanced technology providing me with safety at all times .

Pros
If you’re looking for a car that performs and gives you the gas mileage this is the one to purchase .

Cons
Would like to have shaded windows

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 771 in total