2014
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5rating 4.62
4.6
(292 Reviews)
Latest review 13 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

VM
Vernon M.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/01/2019
My Sonata
I enjoy the size of the car and how it handles. I have been disturbed with the dealer service when the service manager was not helpful prior to the one that dealt with me last week. I feel the issue with radio interference should be corrected at no charge to me because it has been there ever since I purchased the car.

Pros
I don't know much about cars but have enjoyed this one.

Cons
The front of the car is too low! It does not even pass over 90% of the curbs!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
David W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/19/2019
Reliable and very practical
This car has been a great daily commuter. Super-reliable and gets fantastic gas mileage (36-38mpg consistently). While quick and nimble, it is a bit sluggish when weighted down (e.g., with 4 adults on board). Comfortable and quiet ride. Climate control system is irritating, but works. Navigation system is terrible. Hyundai really stands behind their industry-leading 100,000 mile warranty and this has probably been the least expensive car I've ever owned as far as maintenance is concerned.

Pros
Great fuel economy; reliable; comfortable seating for 4 adults; stylish. Wonderful daily commuter!

Cons
Wished it had come with more options (e.g., power seat memory); navigation system is poor; backup camera takes too long to activate; quick and nimble but sluggish when hauling four adults; air dam is very low and always hits parking curbs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Linda B.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/26/2019
Hybrid review
Absolutely amazing vechicle rides like a charm - compliments always received on vechicle - recommend the Hybrid and the Hundai products. Previously owned an Azera but so happy with my Sonata, When changing cars will get another Hyundai.

Pros
excellent gas mileage - quietness of vechicle - super car

Cons
no cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
William D.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/01/2019
Buying a new car
I am over 70 years of age. Bought many cars in my life. Buying the sonata was a better experience than most transactions. The superb warranties and driving the car took care of my fears in buying a hybrid. We have owned it about 4 1/2 years now and it has greatly surpassed our expectations. We could not be prouder of our alabama made 2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. please let the factory know.

Pros
everything

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Peter P.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
Awesome car
Just a great car I have 2 sonata hybrid limited. Aside from some of the creature comforts failing my 2014 has performed excellent for the first 100,000 mi. My 2018 so far has 0 defects. We love everything about it!

Pros
All

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jennifer H.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/05/2019
Not a winter vehicle!
I bought this car due to several promises I was made which none turned out to be true. 1. You will get the tax credits on your federal income tax refund next year. WRONG! The tax credit statute had not only expired but did not even remotely apply to this vehicle. 2. You can turn off the hybrid system and use only the gas engine. WRONG! The hybrid engine is a major part of this vehicle and must be in good working order or the whole drive system will fail. 3. You will get about 28 MPG city and 45 MPG highway. WRONG! If driven properly and according to the manual you should actually get about 35 MPG city and if you are not overloaded and pay attention to how you are driving you should get 25 - 30 MPG in the cooler months (especially winter) and 40 - 50 MPG when it is warmer (in summer when it is between 80 - 100 degrees outside). If you live in a desert or a dry part of this country, you should have awesome gas mileage. If you live near cold weather like the north-east where snow and cold are the norm for about 4 months out of the year, I would NOT buy this vehicle. This is NOT a winter driving car. The hybrid system is designed to allow the electrical drive system to continue to pull forward to keep your momentum up so you get better gas mileage. This is awesome on dry roads but a huge problem on ice and snow. You do not actually slow down when you take your foot off the gas. You must engage your brakes. On slick road conditions, this is hazardous. The ride was good on this car for about 50,000 miles. I am currently at 95,000 miles and the car rides like a horse and buggy, very stiff and jerky. The back seat is horrible. It is super hard and on a long trip, your legs tend to go numb. However, this car has far more actual passenger space than any there 4-door sedan available at the time of purchase. I took an actual measuring tape to different car dealership and checked for myself before purchasing. The driver side headrest forces you to push your head in a weird position if you use the headrest as you are supposed to. In an accident, the design will definitely guarantee a neck injury. The radio forces you to flip through Sirius XM if you hit the wrong button on the radio. Sirius XM has terrible service where I live and I didn't want it to begin with but you are forced to take it when you buy the car. It comes in the radio and you cannot get rid of it. The car does not come with a jack or spare tire. The shape of the trunk opening makes it hard to get luggage in and out of the vehicle. So far the car has only had the rear brakes changed and other standard maintenance done to it. I am holding off getting the wheel bearings and struts replaced even though the car already needs them. These items should not need replacing until about 150,000 miles. I would recommend the standard Sonata instead of the Hybrid overall.

Pros
Higher gas mileage than most other cars with the same engine size.
The largest interior of any car out there, foreign or domestic, by actual passenger space.

Cons
Rough, stiff ride.
Hard to drive on slick road conditions.
Radio has Sirius XM as a standard feature.
Truck is hard to get luggage in and out of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Dominick G.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/11/2019
Owner
I think the car needs to come with a jack and tire iron along with a space saver spare tire, being stranded on the side of the road with a tire off its rim and having a air pump is useless. Towing the vehicle is time consuming and expensive and could easily be avoided?

Pros
Overall good styling and economy

Cons
Lack of jack and spare along with battery issue makes it unreliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Dominick G.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/21/2019
Sonata hybrid
The only problem I have with this vehicle is the primary battery has died on me twice leaving me stranded on the side of the toad and in need of a tow to get back to the dealer for replacement. There is no warning regarding battery life being weak one day it’s fine the next it just stops??? This needs to be addressed and a solution needs to be implemented. The last battery put in by the dealer lasted less than 2 years. This seems like a very short battery life for something which cost over $300? My car has always been serviced at Rosen and they never indicate the battery is becoming weak, so how do I avoid getting stranded on the side of the road in the future?

Pros
Comfortable and great gas milage

Cons
Unreliable battery discharges without warning or any kind of notice

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Robert S.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/10/2019
Sold on Sonata's and sold on my first hybrid!
In 2010, I bought an '09 Sonata as a used car, and it has performed perfectly ever since. So I bought the new 2014 Sonata Hybrid for my wife and it has also performed flawlessly so far. Murdock's free-for-life oil changes and car washes have been cheerfully performed over the last 4+ years. Both cars are the best I've ever owned!

Pros
35-41 MPG in summer, 30-35 MPG in winter; not sure why season makes this difference, but still great mileage. Very smooth coordination between battery and engine power. Elegant design and color. Good leg room both front and back.

Cons
Poor suspension: rides bumpy, and is rougher than my '09 Sonata. Heavy wide swinging doors difficult to reach when closing from the inside. Front passenger seat is too low and not adjustable in height; this was mentioned by several passengers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jorge A.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/05/2019
I love my Sonata Hybrid
The best car I’ve ever owned. 123k practically trouble free miles. As I use my Sonata Hybrid for transportation work the car sells itself. I promote people to own or lease a Hyundai when riding in my Sonata Hybrid. Look forward to owning and or leasing the 2020 Sonata Hybrid plug-in soon!

Cons
No tear AC after market accommodation

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Julie B.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/24/2019
2014 Sonata Hybrid
We bought my Sonata new and currently have 79000 miles. I love it! I have driven all over the country by myself and have never had one moment of concern about its reliability. It gets great gas mileage. I love Hyundai's customer service philosophy. It is obvious corporate culture stresses the importance of the customer.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jorge A.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/07/2019
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid Limited
My first Hyundai and definitely not my last. Always a pleasure to drive and quite the value. I use my Sonata Hybrid Limited for a Chauffeur transport business and passengers constantly compliment my car. Passengers always intrigued surprised to discover Hyundai all its features when driving with me. So much so I have Hyundai car Brochures to give to my curious passengers. Looking forward to the 2020 Sonata Hybrid plug-in fully loaded...plus other alternative propulsion Hyundai Vehicles! Bravo Well Done Hyundai

Pros
Hybrid fuel saving. Excellent trim packaging

Cons
I would love a rear AC. Longer wheel base, more trunk space, longer battery range

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Ramon F.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/05/2019
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid limited
Great car only problem has been the sun roof not wanting to close but that has been resolved great comfort and i have had alot of compliments. Very economical. Performance is great it has alot pick up
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jordan K.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/07/2019
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid 100k miles
Original owner of 2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. Now close to 100k miles and zero mechanical issues. I am VERY pleased with this car for its reliability (never been stranded), durability & overall ride comfort. Note it is hybrid so not the fastest in the world but it maintains great gas mileage (to be expected). Few electrical issues has been noticed: auto sunroof no longer operates with ease i.e. it used to open & fully close with push of a button but that feature no longer works, It now needs you to push & remain pushed until sunroof reaches desire state. GPS on screen keys have erratic responses. Pushing "A" activates other keys not desired. I have also noticed the car looses Alignment quicker than anticipated. Granted this could be poor road condition coupled with driving habits but something worth noting. All in all, if those are the only issues after close to 100k miles than I am a happy camper & a lifelong Hyundai Hybrid fan & customer. I fully expect my next car will also be another Hyundai with its outstanding track record.

Pros
reliable, comfortable, economical

Cons
boring interior design, lack of sound quality, GPS features faulty

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Ralph W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/28/2019
I love my sweet Rooby red Hybrid!
I love my hybrid. Such a luxury vehicle. Every time I get it washed, it still looks brand new. I love the panoramic view with the double moon roof. I have 140k miles on it and I plan to keep her until I croak. Oh and I am only 45 years old!

Pros
So great on gas and a luxury ride.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Steve P.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/23/2019
Terrible car
This is the most uncomfortable car I've ever driven. The lag between depressing the accelerator and actually going is real dangerous. Power windows don't operate properly. It eats up tires for some reason. Buy real good expensive tires and don't get more than 25k miles on them. Head Light bulbs last maybe 8 months. It does not get near the millage that it is supposed to.

Pros
It is peppy

Cons
Most everything about the car is bad.Has been a problem from day 1

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Ricardo R.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/18/2019
Everything Hyundai HORRIBLE
Worst experience ever with Hyundai and I've had other brand new cars. My car at lot waiting for service July 2018, JUST got back Feb 14, 2019 and it's still NOT right. Never had a good experience with Hyundai up to management!!!! Run away and buy better.

Pros
Good sound system.... ONLY good thing

Cons
ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING you can think of.... Service, communication, management, the RUDEST service department

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FG
Francine G.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/13/2019
Didn't like it at first but now I love it
The car is great like the look of the car!!not really the car of the car it is white and I love a red car! But I can alway have it painted the inside look great and I love the leather!on a hold all around it is a good car for me!

Pros
Good car

Cons
None so for

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Aaryn K.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/05/2019
Love the car but poorly crafted
Fit and finish needs improvement but no complaints about the engine and how the vehicle runs. Wish there were vents and USB charging ports in the backseat. Seats don't fold down in the back and trunk space is limited. Sunroof rattles a lot even after multiple services. Ride is smooth. Turns good. Driver side window auto switch fails but still works holding it. Speakers are infinity but went out twice. Subwoofer doesn't improve sound compared to a set of quality speakers. Heated seats are nice but wish they had them in back and heated steering wheel. This year doesn't have park assist or lane change warning indicators but the back up can is nice.

Pros
Stylish

Cons
Cheap plastic parts that only last a few years

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TJ
Triza J.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/31/2019
Transmission failed in 4years
Still giving me a problem. I won't reccomend to go with the hybrid . I don't think it will last for more than 5 years, by the time you will paid off will start to give you the problems.
I would reccomend to go with sonata but not hybrid car. SUV is good but not happy with the hybrid.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 292 in total