2018
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5Overall Rating 4.71/5rating 4.71
4.7
(49 Reviews)
Latest review 4 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LM
LILLIAN M.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2019
????
??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Cons
FRONT LICENSE PLATE LOCATION, REST. AIR FLOW

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JOSEPH F.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2019
Hyundai Sonata hybrid the best
The Hyundai Sonata hybrid is an excellent car great fuel mileage power could be a little bit more
From gas engine. Excellent quality interior and X terrier also very good looking car compared to the competitors. Very comfortable car and trips and short distances, right is excellent. Buying from a dealer like Elgin Hyundai in Elgin Illinois is a pleasure excellent sales people and the best service shop around. I would like Hyundai to bring back to the Senada the heated rear seats and also could use side cameras I think this is a very good safety situation with the side cameras.

Pros
Excellent car.

Cons
Needs heated rear seats. And side cameras

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
Evon W.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/10/2019
Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
The Sonata Hybrid is comfortable and expensive. It is uncomfortable for someone with a bad knee trying to get out of. It would be wonderful if Hyundai had a hybrid SUV or came out with a Hybrid truck.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JOSEPH B.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2019
2018 Sonata Hybrid
Loved pretty much everything about this vehicle. Sadly, vehicle was totaled after being hit from behind in a read end collision. Never even made it to the first oil change! Definitely considering replacing with same model, newer vehicle!

Pros
Very good gas mileage, comfortable, very stylish, fun to drive.

Cons
Drive side blind spot.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
Paula L.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2019
sonata hybrid
I have owned a 2011 and a 2014 Sonata Hybrid. I now own a 2018 Sonata Hybrid. I use this car to go to and from work, which is about 80 miles round trip. The 40-42 miles per gallon I get makes it a great car for commuting to work. I love all the new features on the 2018. All 3 Hybrids handled really well. The ride is very smooth and comfortable. My husband says he likes driving it because he does not get tired after an hour or two of driving. My next car will be either a 2021 or 2022 Sonata Hybrid. I love my car.

Pros
All good

Cons
I would like a better braking system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
ROBERT M.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/29/2019
Our new Sonata Hybrid
We owned a Honda Accord (2001) and drove it 203,000 miles. We replaced it with a used 2009 Nissan Altima and drove it over 200,000 miles. This Hynudai Sonata Hybrid met and exceeded our expectations and continues to be a joy to drive.

Pros
The car meets or exceeds expectations.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
James E.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/15/2019
Hybrind Engine Issues
All is great except the hybrid engine issues comes on about every 6000 miles. Had it for 1 year now and about 6000 miles the hybrid light came on and had to have it towed
to the dealer ship and they fixed it but again same issue at 10200 miles.

Pros
good on gas

Cons
Hybrid Engine light came on at 4,000 miles and again at 10000

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
John R.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/07/2019
Love love love
Excellent quality. Best car around. This is my second one! Love the gas mileage and sporty look! Navigational system is a little less than desirable. Could be better if not reliant on cellphone. Overall, very pleased!

Pros
Excellent gas mileage and looks sporty.

Cons
Could do better with navigational system...one not reliant on cell phone

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Richard L.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/20/2019
Excellent
I have the 2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid and it performs as promised. The Hybrid provides excellent gas mileage and the ride is excellent. With the tire pressure sensors, I next plan to use the tire inflater kit.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Douglas L.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Quiet elegance with outstanding performance.
It is such a pleasure driving a vehicle that starts so quietly, and gets me to where I need to be so efficiently and safely. I am averaging 46 miles per gallon on the highway, and 51 to 57 miles per gallon in the city.

The technology that alerts me to cars passing me on either side is fantastic. Lights appear in my rear view mirror on either side as this occurs. If my turn signal is on, I also receive an audible beep warning, advising me to stay in my lane until the pass is complete. The backup camera is also linked to the audible warning, and has saved me from numerous parking lot collisions, as I watch another car whiz by my rear end instead of colliding with it. The new technology of this vehicle cannot help but make me a more defensive driver. This is what I truly appreciate about this amazing vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mark B.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/10/2019
2018 Hyundia Sonata Hybrid
This is my first hybrid car and it's very nice. Nice size and good gas mileage 45-60 mpg. I love the car just wish I had the heated stewring wheel and auto dimming lights like I had on my limited gas sonata. Otherwise it's a great car and I would recommend it. It also does well in the snow

Pros
Nice car overall

Cons
Wish I had heated steering wheel since it has heated and cooled seat seems odd not to have this option as well and the auto dimming head lights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
David H.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/09/2019
Has mileage is good, but water pump for hybrid system had gone out 2 times.
I have at my sonata hybrid for less than one year. I have less than 17000 miles on the car, and have had to take it into the Hyundai dealership 2 times within 2 months to get the water pumps replace. This is caused a lot of issues as far as trying to get a rental car and trying to make sure that the car that I bought to drive a lot and be reliable has now gone out twice. The gas mileage on the car is fantastic and have gotten almost 700 miles out of a tank gas, but if I have to worry about taking in the car to get a system checked out every 2 months, the gas mileage doesn't matter. Having to take it in for 3rd time, will then cause me to go directly to Hyundai to get the car replaced under the lemon law.

Pros
Gas mileage
Quiet ride
Comfortable
Value
Horsepower when you need it under sport

Cons
Water pump had gone out 2 times for hybrid system
Reliability in question
Only time will tell

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
BRENDA D.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/08/2019
Love my car
I leased one for three years to determine if I would like it before buying. Loved it too. It gets great gas mileage and drives pretty well. People who ride in the rear say that they are comfortable and love the moonroof .

Pros
Love the gas mileage - nearly 50 mpg. I drive about 50 miles a day.

Cons
Needs a rear windshield wiper system. Needs more engine pickup when entering the flow of fast moving traffic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
SUNIL P.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/01/2019
Sonota
It is in very good condition. So far everything works very well, and I had no problems. I did have a problem with the car as a light showed up, but after I took it to the dealer, it was fixed with no problem at all. The service is also very nice.

Pros
Everything so far

Cons
None far none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WM
WILLIAM M.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2019
Best Hybrid on the Road.
Second one. Would still be driving the first one but is was totaled by a "distracted driver" and it had 127000 miles on it with absolutely no issues. The fact that the Hybrid battery has a lifetime warranty/replacement at no cost is/was a major selling point. 0-60 in 7 seconds along with 41 MPG was / is also a major selling point.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
TIMOTHY A.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
excellent and very quiet ride
love car and seat are exceptional ,mileage is not equivalent to camery hybrid, but not enough to offset price difference, very relaxing to drive and lane assist works great on interstate, would love a front bumper alert to keep paint scratches to a minimum

Pros
except for minor problems car is fun and enjoyable to drive

Cons
front bumper hits so many low curbs and parking blocks, need proximity alert, mileage not as good as i would like,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
CHRISTINE J.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2019
Fun snd fuel efficient
The sport mode has surprisingly great pick up. Even in eco mode there is no longer the lag that the 2017 has while in electric mode before the engine kicks in. I love my heated and cooled seats and my heated steering wheel. Great gas milage. However, do not trust the "smart" cruise to see a stopped car at a stoplight. You will need to apply the brake or you will hear the collision warning beeping and possibly crash.

Pros
The sport mode has surprisingly great pick up. Even in eco mode there is no longer the lag that the 2017 has while in electric mode before the engine kicks in. I love my heated and cooled seats and my heated steering wheel. Great gas milage.

Cons
Do not trust the "smart" cruise to see a stopped car at a stoplight. You will need to apply the brake or you will hear the collision warning beeping and possibly crash.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
CAITLIN L.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/26/2019
Cost-Effective Luxury
I absolutely adore this car. I was most impressed with the level of overall quality (in everything) compared to the price. I purchased this with the Limited model for low-mid 30s. A friend of mine who is very knowledgeable about cars commented that they would have expected this level of quality and luxury from something like a Lexus - not a Hyundai. Needless to say everyone I know, including myself, is so pleasantly surprised with this car. I get an average 44mpg, which literally cut my yearly gas bill in half. I can't speak highly enough of this car. It even did well in Western PA winters with the right snow tires, which I was so impressed with. Definitely a good investment, I'll love this car forever!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
John J.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
Fantastic mileage and trouble free car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My Sonata has all the options available and the mileage in town is 44 MPG, The ride is extremely comfortable smooth to drive and it is troublefree!!!!!!!

If you could not love this than you could not lile your own babies!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
Super mileage quiet comfortable dependable

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Lenward G.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2019
Love it
It is a luxury car that is a hybrid as well. It is very comfortable, plus roomy for 4 people. We took it on a 1,000 mile trip and the miles floated by. We also think it is very beautiful to look at. We are very happy with the choice.

Pros
Everything we wanted.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 49 in total