2016
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(777 Reviews)
Latest review 10 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CC
Carl C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/19/2019
too much
sorry, working on taxes. too much 8888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/17/2019
Hyundia Sonata Hybrid
The car has exceeded my expectation in all areas. I am pleased with the overall fuel mileage of 45+ mpg and 50+ mpg on trips. I operate the vehicle at the posted speed limits up to 65 mph. Seldom do I cruise at a higher speed.

Pros
The car is the Limited Edition with the Ultimate package. It is the best car I have owned.

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Thomas B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/17/2019
Best car ever
My Sonata Hybrid is a great car. It's more comfortably & has more room than the Lincoln I had. I average 40-43 MPG & it has more power than you think it would have. It's fun to drive & passengers like that it's easy to get in & out of.

Pros
Great millage, Great sound system & interior Comfortable, reliable.

Cons
The front end could sit 2 inches higher so it would clear for parking.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KJ
Keith J.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/15/2019
Eating my words
When the Brand of Hyundai first hit the streets of Los Angeles, my gut opinion was Ugggh!!! After years of personal distain for the Brand, four of my neighbors had our Condo Complex parking lot looking like a Hyundai Dealership. After speaking to them and riding in a Sonata I ventured down to our local Dealer and purchased my very own Sonata Hyundai Hybrid. The gas mileage is good and I plan on holding on to it right years plus. I'm eating my words Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Prajesh S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/13/2019
Very excellent
It's fun to drive. Very good mileage on. The only problem I'm having right now is the charging mileage went down but my vehicle is in repair shop to find out what's going on and it should be done soon.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Eddie R.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/13/2019
Very good car
My hybrid 2016 sonata ultimate limited is a very good car. I would go as far to say is excellent car. I haven’t had any issues. And my gas mileage is about 41 to 43 miles per gallon. The best way to describe the car is is that the sexiest yet it is beautiful and very very reliable. Most of the safety features that are extra one new models my 2016 already has. I would love to trade it in but I haven’t found anything that has moved me yet. I am waiting for the Lexus UX and the Mercedes A Class to test drive. No BMW, Ford, Chevrolet, Honda, Toyota, Mazda have moves me. The only car that almost moved me trade in my car was the Nissan Marano and that was because the seat is so comfortable. The drawback was the mpg. There are two things I don’t like about the car one is the seat is hard. Second, having to pay for Bluelink. Blue link is this is the software that allows you to lock your doors, start your car remotely. Having to pay for that is a bit much. Brand new Hyundai models get 3 years free. But overall it’s a really good car I would rated above a Toyota I have all three Toyotas and still have to two with over 200 thousand miles each.

Pros
Miles per gallon
Reliability
Easy to use controls
Safety Features a lot.
Room in cabin and trunk.
Very Quiet (which is a very big deal for me)

Cons
The seats are very comfortable for a long drive (30 - 45 minutes or more).
The touch screen I wish was a bit closer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Torrey P.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/11/2019
Great Car!
My Sonata is one of the best cars I’ve ever owened! I feel completely safe in it and that’s a bad g must for me. It get great gas mileage and you is hands down amazing in the snow! I would recommend it to my family and friends!!

Pros
Mileage, safety

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Charles G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/10/2019
Nothings perfect
This car is one of my favorites. It rides well, handles very good for a sedan.
I 55k trouble free mikes, so far. The MPG is not what it’s quoted as, but it’s still quite acceptable, and is an extremely good value

Pros
It’s confortable, thus far, reliable.

Cons
Occasionally, it hesitated for a second

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Karen B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/08/2019
Why I like the plug-in electric Sonota
What makes this vehicle a great value is the ability to switch from all electric drive to HIV drive. I average 750 miles between full-ups, and usually get 11 to 12 gallons of gas. Best mileage was 840 miles and still had 100 miles before empty.

Pros
Great gas mileage. Average 750 miles before refueling. Best distance on a tank of gas was 840 miles, and still had a 100 miles left.

Cons
None that o know of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
Toni L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/28/2018
Great fuel economy
Car has great fuel economy. The front seats could be more plush and supportive. It requires oil changes every 3k miles (instead of every 7k miles). Bluelink has been less than useful for navigation and having diagnostic data.

Pros
Fuel Economy

Cons
Improve comfort of seats

requires oil change every 3k miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Arnold R.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/24/2018
Game changer vehicle
This vehicle is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. Super quiet on the freeway amazing gas mileage and the most power of all vehicles I have driven gas or hybrid. I travel 50-80k a year and rented vehicles for many of those drives. That all changed when I was given an Elantra. Mist room of all comparable vehicles I have used and I am no small passenger over 6' and 300+ lbs. I have since upgraded to a hybrid sonata and love it. Does not have the spongy lag at take off and has plenty of power on the freeway. Set the cruise control and it maintains smooth consistent speed and fuel economy on flats and hills.

Pros
Fuel economy power comfort and lack of road noise

Cons
2yr old and paint on factory spoiler fading
Lack of alarm/warning when lights left on

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOSEPH G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/24/2018
High quality, excellent performance, and GREAT on gas
I purchased my first Hyundai automobile in 2016. My wife and I selected the Sonata Hybrid. What a life changer it has become to us. We are both in our mid 70's, and wanted something economical, but also wanted quality, and a good warranty.
We ended up with gas mileage which greatly exceeded all our expectations, as well as the longest and best warranty on the planet. There are many relatives in our family that own the ( other ) brands of cars, and I know the kind of problems they have had. We have had none, nada, zero. Like energizer, it just keeps on ticking. Even the hybrid battery unit came with a LIFETIME warranty.
This car is fun to drive. No need to plug it in. Battery is recharged just by driving, coasting, and stepping on the brakes. Many times I have exceeded 50 mpg. My average is around 44 mpg.
Enough said. Get one for yourself. You will NOT be disappointed.

Pros
All pros from us. Superior quality, and comes with a first class service if needed.

Cons
ZERO

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EC
Eugene C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/18/2018
Cruise Control
We've enjoyed the comfort and economy of this well-equipped automobile. Except for the cruise control (which is an absolute disaster) and the sun visors (which aren't designed to stay where placed) the car is super.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joan M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/17/2018
I Love My Hyundai Sonata Hybrid!
This is my second Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. Every year I review the newest vehicles on the market and have always found my car to be the best choice for the money. There are so many safety and convenience features - all in one great package - on my car. Other vehicles may include those features, but I haven't found one that has all of them in one car, and, often, they aren't as attractively presented. I am looking forward to seeing what Hyundai has to offer in 2019.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Steven R.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/13/2018
THE 2016 Sonata Hybrid Limited Ultimate
We enjoy the outside modern look. Our color is the light Silver which is easy to maintain and keep looking sharp! The interior leather seats and features are exceptional. Seats are very comfortable for our trips. My wife especially likes having the power seat features on her side, not just the drivers seat. With her health issues she enjoys the heated and cooling features along with zone climate control. The dash layout is easy to read while driving and steering wheel audio and drivability features are very helpful also. The panoramic roof is enjoyable in sun and overcast days alike. Everyone always asks what kind of Car is it? We proudly state the Brand and Model along with where we purchased it when local or at their local Hyundai dealer if on a trip. The motor is like we are driving a total electric model. I find myself turning the car on at times even though it is running! My fault for not paying attention to the dash content lights. Only wish it had a heads up display!!!! Maybe on my next trade in time.

Pros
The model we have has all the best features available at the time. We love it.

Cons
Had hoped for a USB ports on passengers rear doors for Grandkids electronics. Only wish they had heads up display when we bought ours (for a very reasonable price!)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Michael P.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/13/2018
Great Car
Comfortable, quiet ride. Great trunk space and back seat leg room! This car rides very smooth. Front bumper is a little low and scrapes on curbs. Gas mileage is a litrle less than average MPG. Overall very happy with tjis car!

Pros
Comfortable, quiet ride

Cons
Not getting average MPG since last year. Cold really seems to affect this car. Also, it is a little low in front and scrapes on curbs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Barry K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/10/2018
3 yrears and still very happy
I have owned other hybrids from another auto manufacturer over the years. None compare with my Sonata Hybrid. Keep building them and we will come. Very, very happy!!! Keep you the great work!!!
I have recommended this vehicle many times to friends and some have bought!

Pros
everything that you asked for on the above lines.

Cons
really NONE!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TD
Tom D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/06/2018
An unusual vehicle
This sedan is a top of the line Sonata Hybrid Plug-in. It is equipped with many features found on more expensive automobiles. It is relatively quiet, has an electric only range of about 25 miles. In city driving, if I go less than 25 miles, my overall mpg is near 100 mpg! However, for a vehicle costing $40,000, there are a number of irritating problems: The gas cap must be put on correctly after filling as the fuel system of this car is pressurized. An engine warning light comes on, but of course, there is no indication of what has gone wrong. This has happened several times over the past two years. The vehicle has a great warranty, but there is no bumper to bumper warranty, so expect to pay $60 to $80 for scheduled inspection and oil change. Driving this vehicle, it never feels solid and steady. I am constantly adjusting with steering input to keep the vehicle straight on course. This apparently is just inherent with the tires and suspension. Too bad, as my previous sedan (VW Passat) was rock solid and a pleasure to drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Clarence D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/03/2018
Outstanding
I love my Sonata hybrid. It consistently gets around 40 mpg, is peppy and well designed. I love the panoramic roof and especially the smart cruise control. The only slight annoyance is thinly padded seats and a little bit of suspension chatter. But I'm not complaining too much since it already has 140,000 miles on it and shows no signs of wear.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Cynthia H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/01/2018
Constant problems
I purchased my car in May of 2016. I had to take it in for a service less than a year later. The Refill Inverter Coolant light has come on at least 3 times. I have had to take it in for service 3 times since August of 2018. In October, a warning light came on telling me turn off the engine immediately while I was on the way to work. I barely made it back home and the car had to be towed to the dealership. It was there for over a week until 10/30/18. Yesterday, one month later I was shopping close to the dealership and the Refill Inverter Coolant light came on again. I took it to the dealership, but they didn't have a loaner car to give me and I live over 30 minutes away. They topped off the coolant and I made ANOTHER appointment for 12/4/18.

Pros
I wanted a hybrid and it is very comfortable. The cruise control has never worked perfectly, but I learned to deal with it.

Cons
I can't rely on it!! I have returned from 2 long road trips BY MYSELF only to have the service lights come on shortly after I returned. In October, it had to be towed. But for the Grace of God I could have been stranded alone hundreds of miles from home or worst yet caused an accident.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 81 - 100 of 777 in total