2016
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(777 Reviews)
Latest review 8 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DB
David B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/30/2019
Best car
This is the best car I have ever owned. Great ride, very quiet. Outstanding gas mileage. Plenty of room for three and a large dog when traveling. I have never had any mechanical issues with this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOSEPH G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2019
What a fun, fantastic work of engineering
Well, we purchased this excellent vehicle 3-1/2 years ago, and absolutely love it. So much so, that we just got ourselves a second Sonata. We have never experienced a better car than this hybrid. It charges itself, which means we don't have to ever plug it in. We get around 43-45 MPG most all the time.
We highly recommend Hyundai automobiles. They are extremely well engineered.

Pros
Great looking, very high quality, solid, quiet, efficient, and lots of fun to drive.

Cons
Absolutely no cons at all.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MICHAEL B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/24/2019
Wouldn't buy a hybrid again
Wouldn't buy a hybrid again it doesn't get the fas mileage like the book says the hev light comes on up to 5-6 times a day the cruise control sucks and the shop just doesn't now what they are doing ir just don't care just put in a new battery and cruise control
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
Michael J.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/22/2019
Hyundai has no respect for their customers
I love the car now, but it took two years and many wasted hours to get a factory defect corrected. The car drives well. the safety features are great, the milage is excellent for a realativly large sedan.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
RICHARD M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/22/2019
a
I am very happy with my car. There are only a couple minor issues I would like to see addressed, Driver seat could be a bit wider for greater comfort and I would like the My Hyundai app to be ab;e to adjust the climate control system.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Sadona W.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/20/2019
Love my Hyundai Sonata Hybrid!
My family and I love our Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. Our first car was totaled so we bought the exact same vehicle. We enjoy having a hybrid and saving money on gas. Beautiful car and fun to drive especially in sport mode.

Pros
Great Gas Mileage
Comfort
Extremely Safe
Beautiful Car

Cons
A little road noise going over 70 mph

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Joe L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/05/2019
2016 Sonata Hybrid
I loved this car. I met every single service milestone with Hyundai dealership service, and now I just don't trust it. I had every intention of keeping it after the lease, but I will be going Toyota.

Pros
Thought it was a great car, heated seats, steering wheel, good radio/speaker system, quiet smooth ride.

Cons
I've hit every service milestone, have low mileage, and now I have problems nobody can figure out 6 months before 4-year lease was up. Now I know why Hyundai pushes the 3 year lease. Really bummed out.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
Lynda K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/04/2019
Sonata Hybrid Not Worthwhile!
The Sonata Hybrid started out fine. I was getting 45+ MPG. Lately, the car really seems to be struggling going thru the gears while driving on the highway, and the MPG has fallen to the mid 30's at best. After taking the car in to be checked, was told that it is all fine. Nothing to be done to it because there is nothing wrong with it. Really??? So much for going with a Hybrid - it doesn't last (the vehicle is less than 3 years old) The trade in value right now is also very pitiful. In addition, this vehicle has always been TERRIBLE driving in the snow. The worst car I've ever driven on snowy or even just wet roads - terrible traction! This is my 3rd Hyundai Sonata - This will now be my last.

Pros
Looks nice. Drives well in nice (dry) weather.

Cons
Terrible traction in snow, or wet roads.
No longer gets the good gas mileage that it initially did.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Peter D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/01/2019
Excellent Vehicle
Had the car for 2.5 years and have driven 44000 miles. There have been 2 complaints, both fixed under warranty, and otherwise the car is a pleasure to drive Used extensively for trips to and from Atlanta and S Florida

Pros
Hyundai warranty. Ride is smooth and quiet. Luggage space is ample

Cons
Mileage could be a little better. Radio could have had Apple Car Play which became standard with 2017 model Trunk hinges could be designed like previous model so they do do intrude into the trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Leonard W.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/01/2019
Good car but had piles of little things that appear
Although the car is dependable, things like the suspension creaks and makes noises, The steering makes a weird grinding noise while turning, especially when cold Tires worn out at 35,000 primarily due to poor service of car. Service just wanted me to go away and was not willing to listen, the service managers typical response was "I can't remember". The safety features that I paid for, do not work as stated.

Pros
Rides nice, nice looking car

Cons
Things do not work as told, collision warning comes on when there is nothing around vehicle to collide with (falsely working)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Joseph L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/28/2019
2016 hybrid
Purchase the car in May of 2016 did work very well on Highway trips with mileage as high as 60 miles per gallon since then I've gone to the winters of 2016 2017 and 2018 and each time in September when the weather began to get cold the gas mileage went down for some strange unknown reason recently the engine light came on when it was analyzed they found what they said was a defective crankshaft position sensor, that makes me wonder if the problems in the winter with bad gas mileage might have been related to that defective component, other than that it's been a great car wished I had a little more battery though I think that would have helped if i I had the ability to plug it in and charge the EV battery.

Pros
EV milage

Cons
This is a bad question, I was spoiled with my Pontiac Bonneville, it had a very smooth quiet ride, this car does not

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Mary T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/26/2019
2016 Sonata Hybrid Review
I used to recommend this car to everyone. I've brought it in for service 5 times, including twice less than 6 months after I bought it. The last time was because it shut down on me on a busy road during rush hour. I don't feel safe driving long distances, in case it does it again. Nothing was found wrong with it, so nothing was fixed.

Pros
I love everything about it except for the most recent problem.

Cons
In the Hyundai Forum site, I found many other owners who had the same Hybrid System error and problem with car shutting off. The biggest Con I see is that I can't rely on this car. It appears to be a problem that persists.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DONALD S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/23/2019
I don't do reviews
I don't do reviews. This is why I don't do reviews or questionnaires. If I want to give you information I will contact you. I consider this an invasion of my privacy. therefore, Mary had a little lamb.

Pros
I don't do reviews

Cons
I don't do reviews

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Gerald G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/20/2019
Sonata Hybrid
Great gas mileage and fantastic ride. I recommend this car and dealer to anyone looking for a hybrid. Have had no problems whatsoever with engine or transmission. Air conditioner is ample for front and back seats.

Pros
Gas mileage. Comfort.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Lynne H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/20/2019
Nice
My had my precious car for 10 years. Now that I was moving into the modern age with all the newer safety features and gadgets I was concerned there would be too much to break down. After 3 1/2 years of ownership I am pleased everything has been great so far. I do need to let you know I am a low mileage driver so I have not put much mileage on the car. My goal is to have it 10 years. This will make it reasonably economic to own this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Beverly B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/15/2019
My Sonata Hybrid Review
I purchased this car over 2 years ago from salesman named Miguel, who is still there. It was a used vehicle, driven 500 miles from California to South Florida. It was used as a show car as it went from one side of the USA to another. It was love at first site for me. It gives me signals or noises if something is wrong. I talk back to it. The ride is VERY smooth and comfortable. I get excellent mileage. I save money on purchasing gasoline. I'm getting about 35 miles to the gallon, maybe more. It is FUN to drive.

Pros
Save money by buying less gasoline, VERY comfortable, dashboard not difficult to understand, rides smoothly, seats move easily.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Richard W.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/12/2019
Great car all around
This is our second sonata hybird and love it. Very comfortable to drive on long trips and plenty of storage space for traveling. Our first one was a 2011 model and had 80k plus on and the only trouble we had was we lost the belts on the way home from Florida. The second one has more options an still is near perfect with 38k in two years going coast to coast on trips.

Pros
Great fuel mileage and great comfort.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Leslie S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/09/2019
Awesome car
The car is awesome... Plenty of git up and go and good gas mileage as well. Very luxurious and comfortable for both front seat and back seat passenger. AC & Heated front seats and lots of room and heated seats in the rear. The first summer we had it we took 3 week 5,000 mile road trip and my mother in-law said it was the most comfortable back seat riding she had ever done. Great car, Love it.

Pros
Great Value with great features.

Cons
Recall on coil pack. Faulty coil pack caused rough running of the gas engine when first purchased. The coil pack was replaced and the car has been awesome since.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Douglas J.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/03/2019
My luck getting the one Sonata with the rare issue
I don't know why, but I am having this issue where my car is currently getting mid 30s mpg on the highway when it usually gets around 44. My local hyundai replaced a bunch of parts, but I am still having poor mpg for my hybrid. It's been difficult researching my problem because few people experience this. My car is only slightly over 2 years old too. Goodness, it was so promising and I wanted to keep this car for a long time.

Pros
IMO, the best look of so many hybrids available.

Cons
Don't know where to start

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Doris P.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/01/2019
Great comfortable vehicle
Great gas mileage with a smooth ride. We really love the safety features such as when cruise control is on it slows down to avoid tailgating the car in front. Also the auto dimming of the headlights at night.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 777 in total