2016
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(777 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GR
Gregg R.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
Best car ever
The best car ever. Lots of room in this sedan and handles great. Always gets between 45 to 55 mpg this is my second sonata hybrid and can hardly wait for the next one. Not enough changes yet to switch

Pros
Great. mpg

Cons
Cruise assist vehicles need a warning sticker on back because car adjusts to vehicles surroundings and reacts to them. Vehicles behind you are unaware to some of the automatic maneuvers

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Charles G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/21/2019
A great idea - without any backup
Great ride
On highway-cruise control on sunroof open- great satellite stereo balanced- car moves with no sound like a cat eating up the miles- map screen showing you where u are-going to-been
Seats adjust to weather, size and comfort
BUT
Trunk space sucks
No room for a family of 3
Barely enough for two
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Charles S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
Awesome Car
I’ve now owned a 2016 Sonata Hybrid for 45 months and with the exception of a couple of brief visits to the service department it has been a perfect sedan. My miles per gallon is running over 44 Measured and comfort and performance are excellent. I tried to locate a 2019 comparable replacement and none was available within 500 miles.
Disappointed in Hyundai’s poor product availability.

Pros
Comfort
Performance
Features
Warranty

Cons
Disappointing corporate decision on maintaining product availability may eventually drive me to another brand for a replacement.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Carolyn S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
Sonata Hybrid
So far, I have no complaints with the hybrid. The seat beat connector should be a littler higher, windows lightly tinted. This is my first experience with a hybrid vehicle, it is a gas saver, love it.

Pros
Nice quiet ride.

Cons
I don't like the idea of not having a spare tire. I had a tire go flat on me, when I was offered help to change the tire, I had to refuse and explain why. I had to be towed into a dealership. I have never owned a car without a spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JESUS S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/20/2019
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid SE
Overall a Great hybrid for the money!!!
Overall a Great hybrid for the money!!!
Overall a Great hybrid for the money!!!
Overall a Great hybrid for the money!!!
Overall a Great hybrid for the money!!!
Overall a Great hybrid for the money!!!
Overall a Great hybrid for the money!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
David E.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/20/2019
More then I expected!
Really like my 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid! So many safety & creature features I wouldn't want to drive anything else. Great value for a great price. A lot of thought went into the design and comfort quality of this model Hyundai. Luxury car feel throughout!

Pros
Economy & Value! Great gas mileage (45 local & 49 longer trips)

Cons
The only thing I would like is more trunk space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Dee R.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/20/2019
Great car
I enjoy the comfort, smooth ride, dependability and classy appearance of my Sonata.
The Sonata is great for fuel economy and I often get 38-42 mpg which makes daily commuting and long trips tolerable and more enjoyable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
EARL H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2019
2016 Hyundai Sonata Ltd Hybrid
I love my Sonata Hybrid Ltd. It has the most usable accessories of any car I ever owned. The mileage is excellent, about 45-48 on trips to the moutains, around 38-39 in town driving. I love the glass top, but am somewhat concered about the fact that it can catastrophiclly fail at any time. I thought it interesting that you did not ask for any comments on the glass top.

Pros
Excellent car for a reasonable price. Excellent mileage, Seems to be durable and safe.

Cons
No spare tire, ugliest grill of any Hyundai I have ever seen.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
KATHRYN F.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/10/2019
Good vehicle
would give it 5 stars, but it is not a smooth operating vehicle.the 2011 snd 2013 were much smoother.It's also too hard to get in and out of for older people. Don't like SUV's but a sedan doesn't work for older people.Too low.

Pros
Very good mileage and reliability

Cons
Too hard to get in and out of.Doesn't perform smoothly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
LAMONT G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/07/2019
My Second Sonata Hybrid
These are by far the best value in the automotive industry. It takes regular gas, gets over 40 miles per gallon on the highway, and costs less than 25k. And it comes with a 10 year warranty. What more do you need to know?

Pros
Home Run.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mark B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2019
My 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid Limited
It's hard to believe that I've been driving my 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid Limited for almost three years now. Time goes by when you are having fun I guess. I pretty much decided that I was going to have a Sonata Hybrid when they first came out back in 2011 I believe. I liked everything about them and then, in 2016 when things were going well for me I decided to take the plunge and purchase the latest model on the market. My only regret is that I did not get the blue, "Hyundai" or "H" logo emblem on the rear of the car! It was just a "clear" emblem with no sign of the blue background indicating that I was driving a hybrid! I've wondered about that ever since but, I did notice that my hybrid was not the only one to have that blue emblem missing. Anyway, the car has been wonderful to drive. It is quiet and smooth and I've yet to tap into all of the features that it offers me. Sometimes, I don't like the "smart cruise" feature because folks cut in front of me when I'm on the highway and using the cruise control feature and they mess up my, "safe assured clear distance". I usually set the smart feature to the closest distance for the vehicle in front of me which, you would think is sort of, "counter-intuitive" but at least Hyundai gives you that option and it is the one that works best for me. I also liked the fact that the lithium battery has a lifetime warranty and so, I don't need to worry about ever replacing it. I've owned my 2004 Santa Fe for almost 15 years now and my 2010 Elantra Touring for almost 10 years. I hope to keep my 2016 Sonata Hybrid for a long, long time.

Pros
Too many to list here!

Cons
None that I can think of!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jimmy S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/26/2019
Would buy again!
More comfortable than my previous hybrid, being 6 ft and 250, I needed more room. Over 60,000 and still like driving the car. Price was right over competition, though would have liked the 2 year service coverage by competitor.

Pros
Comfort for 5, hybrid active even at 80 mph, trunk space, styling, 40 to 60 miles per gallon depending on my driving and hills. Feel of driving not light or heavy, power in sport mode.

Cons
Front too low for cement parking stops, seat belts retract too slow when unbuckle, where Male part has been slammed in the doors numerous times, resulting in dented inner doors. Trunk lid opening too small for large coolers. No spare.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Pamela S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2019
In love
I am totally in love with with my Sonata hybrid. It’s comfortable, easy to drive and reliable. The mileage is a great, and when you are inside the vehicle it is very quiet, even on the highway. And just the right size.

Pros
Great gas mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Charles G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/25/2019
So far, so good
This vehicle is equipped with all the features I enjoy. To date-63,000 miles, it has been reliable. There has been 2 warranty repairs, which were handled right the first time, without interrupting my work schedule. The dealer service is the big Key here.

Pros
Fuel efficient. Comfortable. Easy to drive

Cons
None come to mind

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Mark T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/23/2019
Sonata Hybrid Limited
Best car I've ever owned! Unbelievable value for the features this car has. Somehow I get 47 mpg combined for approximately 6 mos out of the year and 43 mpg when it gets colder. Aside from driving and parking itself this car does just about everthing else I can think of.

Pros
Panoramic roof, LED interior lighting, Android Auto / Apple Car Play, electric parking brake, auto hold feature when stopped, auto high beams, dynamic cruise control, big trunk, huge back seat, rear heated seats, cooled front seats, memory seat/ mirror setting.

Cons
No fog lights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Robert G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/12/2019
My Hyundai
This Hybrid is all I could have ask for. It is Great and a must consider. It has styling and features that come in much more pricier cars. It also has the BEST warranty of any manufacturer and includes a lifetime battery warranty!

Pros
Gas mileage, comfort and overall conveniences of style and controls

Cons
It could some more horsepower or a bigger electric motor.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
MALCOLM T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/05/2019
Base Hybrid need upgrades
Base Sonata Hybrid are nice vehicles. But they need major upgrades in the braking system and audio that the vehicle is equipped with. Braking is major with stopping distance that can exceed 50 feet on good road and weather conditions.

Pros
Engine performance, instrument location, on dash board info center, auxiliary Plug, USB plugs, and transmission

Cons
Braking system, audio system, space is less than advertised, fuel is less than advertised, fuel tank is smaller, trunk space is slightly less than a regular Sonata

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Charles G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/05/2019
Wow
Great car, only draw back is the lack of room for a family of 3/4 going on a trip, but I would assume because if the amount of space needed for the battery -you cant allow more space.
Road trips all the bells and whistle work. And allow the driver to have the time fly by

Pros
All functions flow through driver/ front seats

Cons
No extra storage spaces in cabin. Or trunk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Bobby B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/04/2019
water pump problems
HEV warning light. Changed primary water pump. Still had the light. New software installed. Still had the light. New secondary water pump. Two weeks to get the part. Have my fingers crossed. Good news is that Hyundai stood behind their product---so far.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
TRACI M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/28/2019
Betrayal
The vehicle betrayed us in the worst possible way a machine can betray a human being. It was so good to us to the moment it wouldn't start again. People told us that it will get better, but it didn't. We had to get a replacement while our Hyundai was in your hands. You couldn't fix it, so we got another vehicle. We love it now and cherish it. But we can not forgive you for the hopes and dreams you destroyed with being false with us. I am so sorry to inform you that we are not buying a Hyundai again. Ever.

Pros
It was all we dreamt of from the car.

Cons
It stopped doing its job- DRIVING.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 777 in total