2014
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5rating 4.62
4.6
(292 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


RN
ROSA N.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/05/2015
Happiness 😀
I really love the fuel efficiency and the roominess of my new Sonata Hybrid. The only issue I've had so far is the air conditioner, it throws out ice and doesn't stay cold for long. It is being addressed at the service department this week. Other than that I'm in love with my new car!!!!

Pros
Very fuel efficient, comfortable ride, dependable and smooth on the road.

Cons
The front end skirt on the car is too low and you have to be extra careful not to scrape it or hit anything. Another issue is the air conditioning I'm guessing it freezes up because it throws ice out through the vent. Then, it quits working. Hopefully the issue will be taken care of this week at the dealership.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
Barbara G.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/22/2018
Does not get miles per gallon like it should
I have been disappointed with this car since I bought it. It does not get the mileage that it should get. My son has the same year same brand Hyundai Sonata, but not a hybrid and gets the same exact mileage that I dress and I paid way more for that car because it was a hybrid.

Cons
The passenger seats in that vehicle are so low and not adjustable in height. The car was made skimpy when I bought that car they told me it was top of the line. I didn't realize that the passenger seat did not have that adjustment. If that's supposed to be top of the line I'd hate to see what the bottom of the line is.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Ricardo R.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/18/2019
Everything Hyundai HORRIBLE
Worst experience ever with Hyundai and I've had other brand new cars. My car at lot waiting for service July 2018, JUST got back Feb 14, 2019 and it's still NOT right. Never had a good experience with Hyundai up to management!!!! Run away and buy better.

Pros
Good sound system.... ONLY good thing

Cons
ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING you can think of.... Service, communication, management, the RUDEST service department

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Steve P.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/23/2019
Terrible car
This is the most uncomfortable car I've ever driven. The lag between depressing the accelerator and actually going is real dangerous. Power windows don't operate properly. It eats up tires for some reason. Buy real good expensive tires and don't get more than 25k miles on them. Head Light bulbs last maybe 8 months. It does not get near the millage that it is supposed to.

Pros
It is peppy

Cons
Most everything about the car is bad.Has been a problem from day 1

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WF
WILLIAM F.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/03/2015
Hybrid Technology Problem-filled
I had a great 2011 Sonata and moved up to a 2014 Hybrid for the hybrid experience. It has been extremely disappointing. Problems with the charging system have led to multiple sets of multi-day repairs which have not solved the problem. Either the technology is unproven or the dealership's technicians are not properly trained to remedy hybrid-related problems. At this point, I cannot recommend this vehicle to anyone.

Pros
Great ride - very solid feel

Cons
Hybrid charging system is unreliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MV
MICHAEL V.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/17/2017
Low mpg for a hybrid car
Extremely low average mpg for a hybrid car. I only get 18 mpg in city driving, about 20 mpg in free way driving. Far away as advertised mpg

Cons
Extremely low mpg. Not up to the advertised mpg, only 50% efficiency. Definitely not recommended to friends to buy a Hyundai hybrid car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
Harry S.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/27/2018
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Gas mileage is not close to what was advertised. Not the first time Hyundai has had that problem. Car can be really sluggish and that can be a problem when you need power in traffic. Overall quality is far below what was expected. Car seat material came apart within a couple of months and when it was replaced we were informed that they would cover that again. Again 32 MPG for a hybrid is terrible and costly; I could have got that from almost gas car in the same size. Overall this is a sorry experience.

Pros
See above

Cons
The car...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Anita D.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/20/2018
Miles per gallon not a s much as you would think
it is a work horse-mine has 162500 miles on it and never gave me too much problems - the car engages the gas kind of rough it jerks the whole car when it moves from electric to gas a couple of faulty expensive parts over the years too

Pros
nice looking car

Cons
hybrid not as much savings in gas as you may think

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Bopha W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/29/2018
Disappointed
I am disappointed in the mileage I get with my Sonata Hybrid. I am averaging less than 30 miles per gallon, and this is with a 4 cylinder engine! The rest is filler because comment box should be a minimum of 200 characters.

Pros
Good acceleration with the electric motor assist.

Cons
Poor mileage for a hybrid. Quirky GPS, hard to update. Battery takes up space where a spare tire should be. Poor resale

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jennifer H.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/05/2019
Not a winter vehicle!
I bought this car due to several promises I was made which none turned out to be true. 1. You will get the tax credits on your federal income tax refund next year. WRONG! The tax credit statute had not only expired but did not even remotely apply to this vehicle. 2. You can turn off the hybrid system and use only the gas engine. WRONG! The hybrid engine is a major part of this vehicle and must be in good working order or the whole drive system will fail. 3. You will get about 28 MPG city and 45 MPG highway. WRONG! If driven properly and according to the manual you should actually get about 35 MPG city and if you are not overloaded and pay attention to how you are driving you should get 25 - 30 MPG in the cooler months (especially winter) and 40 - 50 MPG when it is warmer (in summer when it is between 80 - 100 degrees outside). If you live in a desert or a dry part of this country, you should have awesome gas mileage. If you live near cold weather like the north-east where snow and cold are the norm for about 4 months out of the year, I would NOT buy this vehicle. This is NOT a winter driving car. The hybrid system is designed to allow the electrical drive system to continue to pull forward to keep your momentum up so you get better gas mileage. This is awesome on dry roads but a huge problem on ice and snow. You do not actually slow down when you take your foot off the gas. You must engage your brakes. On slick road conditions, this is hazardous. The ride was good on this car for about 50,000 miles. I am currently at 95,000 miles and the car rides like a horse and buggy, very stiff and jerky. The back seat is horrible. It is super hard and on a long trip, your legs tend to go numb. However, this car has far more actual passenger space than any there 4-door sedan available at the time of purchase. I took an actual measuring tape to different car dealership and checked for myself before purchasing. The driver side headrest forces you to push your head in a weird position if you use the headrest as you are supposed to. In an accident, the design will definitely guarantee a neck injury. The radio forces you to flip through Sirius XM if you hit the wrong button on the radio. Sirius XM has terrible service where I live and I didn't want it to begin with but you are forced to take it when you buy the car. It comes in the radio and you cannot get rid of it. The car does not come with a jack or spare tire. The shape of the trunk opening makes it hard to get luggage in and out of the vehicle. So far the car has only had the rear brakes changed and other standard maintenance done to it. I am holding off getting the wheel bearings and struts replaced even though the car already needs them. These items should not need replacing until about 150,000 miles. I would recommend the standard Sonata instead of the Hybrid overall.

Pros
Higher gas mileage than most other cars with the same engine size.
The largest interior of any car out there, foreign or domestic, by actual passenger space.

Cons
Rough, stiff ride.
Hard to drive on slick road conditions.
Radio has Sirius XM as a standard feature.
Truck is hard to get luggage in and out of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
BEN C.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/16/2015
2014 Sonata Hybrid is a good vehicle but not a good as the 2012
The 2014 Sonata Hybrid is a good vehicle but if I knew when I traded in my 2012 Sonata Hybrid what I know now I would not have traded. I feel like I traded down instead of trading up. The 2012 did have some flaws and problems but I believe it was a better vehicle. The biggest problem with the 2012 was the front bumper/skirt should have been redesigned so the replacements were a little higher off the ground. The 2014 doesn't drive as good and it's cornering isn't even close to the 2012. I don't believe I get as good of service with the 2014 as I did with the 2012 but I do get good service. The sunroof on the 2014 Sonata Hybrid has a problem, the front part of the sunroof will wait until the main glass has opened all the way and then it will pop open very suddenly and fast with a loud pop, good thing I got the extended warranty because one day it will break because of this and maybe then Hyundai will fix it. The bright light indicator should be in a different place because it is hidden by the steering wheel and you don't know your lights are on bright until oncoming vehicles start giving you the bright lights. Something needs to be changed with the wiper control arm because I am always accidentally knocking them on. The 2014 Sonata Hybrid is a good vehicle, I just feel it should perform better than it does and maybe the next one will be better. We don't use the voice functions because voice recognition is not good. We do love the nav system even though sometimes it is off just a little on the final destination.

Pros
Good gas millage
Fun to drive
Great get up and go when you need it

Cons
Sunroof needs to be improved
Doesn't corner as good as the 2012
Bright light indicator needs to be relocated
Voice recognition not very good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/29/2015
2014 Sonata Hybrid Limited, loaded with panaramic sunroof
Owned for a year to the month now. Has had it's share of quirks and later-noticed design hiccups.
* Heated seats too easy bump on by accident
* No way to have fog lights on alone without full headlights. Point of foglights is to see BELOW the fog without illuminating the fog itself. By forces headlights on the same time defeats the purpose. When foglights are on, aimed down too far and unusable. Leave 'em off and save the electric.
* No way to have the sexy LED portion of teh headlamps on alone without the half power DRL's on at the same time. Look out on the road and see all the pretty LED's that are very visible WITHOUT the wasteful incandescent DRL's? -Especially on a hybrid where every conserved amp/volt translates to gas and money out of your pocket.
* Very erratic MPG range throughout the year. I expect that MPG will shift with the seasons, but not this far... The wife can nurse it to as high at 54mpg in mild summer months, yet falls to mid 20's in the cold of winter. It's like paying an unbudgeted gas bill for your house.
* Fuel door latch broken, replaced by dealer, no charge. Problem not discovered until time of need thus leaving car without enough fuel to make it to dealer for service. Had to force it open myself to get gas in it to move it. Fortunately still had our prior vehicle, but other families wouldn't be so lucky.
* Had issues with nav system/screen jumbles and freezeups and failed telematics notifications. Dealer replaced primary head unit. 99% fixed. Only one or 2 minor glitches since.
* Had erractic door lock issues where trunk would allow smart-key access, yet still alarm the system. Sometimes only two of the four doors would unlock (not a possible configuration, only driver, or all four). Dealer located a service bulletin on a similar lock on another vehicle. Kudos to the dealer for treating our car under the same service bulletin that it didn't qualify for, yet fixed the problem. Individual dealer: 1, Hyundai Corporate: 0

Performance, acceleration, torque, design and appearance, comfort for our family of four..... anything mentioned since the word "performance" just rocks. You've gotten this far and read about all our quirks. If it isn't mentioned, then there isn't anything wrong with it. I wish we shopped around and pitted dealers against each other to get the deal and a better price, but not dissappointed and in this for the long run.

Money saver: Hyundai warranties their hybrid batteries for lifetime of original owner when purchased new from a dealer. They won't if it's used or leased.

Money sucker: check current rates of all three BLUELINK plans and what they include and will cost you per month. (subject to change as years pass) We weren't aware of the commitments invovled such as: If you want remote start, it's not on your remote control and you have to subscribe at $20/month, etc.

Others to consider:
Kia Optima Hybrid Loaded: gains some features (hotspot), loses others
Ford Fusion Hybrid (Energi!!!) Titanium: Extra cost on Energi model pays for itself on a purchase if you're in it for the long haul. More luxury and driver-assist features.

Pros
See lower portion of review above.

Cons
See upper portion of review above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
RUSSELL M.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/17/2015
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
It's ok

Cons
Published gas mileage didn't live up to the hype.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
LEO K.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/26/2015
Mirror & Window
Mirror & Window should close automatically at time you lock the car. I used Hyundai i40 before. This is the best car.

Cons
Hyundai Sonata has a lot of cons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
CHRIS P.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/30/2015
sonata hybrid limited
nice car. traded in prius v to get more features. Gas mileage HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT! Probably would not get your hybrid next time.

Cons
no powwer passenger seat. seat. seat way too low feel like sitting in a hole. power sun roof rubber gaskets keep sliding out of position causing air leaks. Gas mileage very disappointing compared to Prius V we traded in.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VA
VENKATA A.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/11/2015
Sonata Hybrid
Low Mileage

Cons
low mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
MATHEW K.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/15/2015
Extremely beautiful exterior
Beautiful car

Cons
Lags pickup after first service. Noisy engine, other noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Donald P.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/22/2016
2014 Sonata Hybrid
Comfortable seating. Difficult to enter (6' tall). Dash displays (speed control, headlight high/low beam, gas gauge) difficult to locate. Driver seat belt anchor difficult to car. Front approach angle is too low, designed for flat roads with only very small irregularities. NOTE: You may think I am overly critical, but we also have an Accent and an engage, made for tiny hands. Electronic hybrid dash displays are like a video game and serve no useful purpose other than distract the driver. Disappointed that the front passenger seat is not more adjustable, was not available as a power option. Fuel consumption is good, ranges from 32-40 mpg. Surprisingly powerful and fast. It is a cute Elantra in the family. They are all generally trouble-free, reliable and fun to drive.

Pros
Fuel economy, powerful, quick, comfort, looks

Cons
Ergonomics

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Robert H.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/31/2016
Routine visit
compared to other vehicles I've driven, this one is more upscale

Pros
gas mileage is great, sound system is decent,

Cons
No compass, wish outside mirrors would fold remotely, need phone charging outlet for rear passengers, cabin could be quieter, trunk should have power opening capability, cabin space is less than non-hybrid version, wish emergency tire kit w/tire was included, ride could be softer, steering wheel could have heating capability, wish rear seats could be designed to fold for additional space, the dash should have an open storage spot for cell phone, radar detector, small loose items, etc., screen for radio/back up camera could be a little larger (some folks have vision issues, and need things enlarged to see easier), pillars that house air bags hinder sight when looking left/right for on coming vehicles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Robert H.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/16/2018
2014 Sonata Hybrid Review
Wish the interior block road noise better, suspension more cushier, seats need lumbar support, increase selection of add-on accessories. Should have lane avoidance built in. Wish it was the same size as the regular Sonata.

Pros
Great gas mileage.

Cons
Wish the interior block road noise better, suspension more cushier, seats need lumbar support, increase selection of add-on accessories. Should have lane avoidance built in. Wish it were the same size as the regular Sonata.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 292 in total