2016
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(774 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MR
Mavy R.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2019
2016 Sonata Hybrid
I bought by 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid 3 years ago new. I love my car. It’s great on gas. I love the fact that I fill my tank every 3 weeks and save so much money on gas. 💕 it’s extremely comfortable too!

Pros
Extremely comfortable and great in gas

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Susan C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
Best car on the road
This has got to be one of my best buys the car performs beautifully gas mileage is above and beyond what my expectations were . I can drive for a week without having to fill the car . Hyundai equip the car with some of the most advanced technology providing me with safety at all times .

Pros
If you’re looking for a car that performs and gives you the gas mileage this is the one to purchase .

Cons
Would like to have shaded windows

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Richard M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/11/2019
Good car
the car gets great gas mileage.the ride is not as quiet as the VW we had but still have driven it for fourteen hour with out a back ache.The spare tire (and there ain't one )is a concern. We would buy it again.

Pros
See above

Cons
see above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Terry H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
MY SONATA HYBRYD
IS AWESOME. I HAD BETWEEN 44 TO 45 MPG ON RECENT VACATION. LOVE THIS CAR. THE DESIGN IS SLEEK AND SPORTY. TRUNK SPACE IS GREAT. QUIETNESS OF RIDE FAIR. MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN MINAMAL. NO MAJOR PROBLEMS.

Pros
STYLE;ECONOMY;COMFORT

Cons
NA

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
CAROL D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/06/2019
Great experience
I was not planning to purchase a vehicle but my car was totaled in an accident right before Christmas. The dealer ship was very patient with me in this stressful time My sonata looks great handles well and the fuel economy is awesome. I could not have asked for a better experience.

Pros
Love the car

Cons
Wish the accident had not caused the emergency purchase

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Richard F.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2019
Sharp Ride
This was a fantastic find! I was using 1/4 tank of gas round trip to work every day. With this hybrid, 1/4 tank lasts me 3 days! I’m averaging 48 mpg.
I think the styling of this car is eye catching! Smooth ride. Great sound system. No spare tire. (AAA)
I can’t say enough good about this car. I love it!

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JENNIFER B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/26/2019
Looks good! But it isn't that good.
This car is beautiful and it rides smooth and makes very little noise when running. But the engine is not responsive all the time and usually not when you need it. I was recently asked if I liked my car. I said yes, but not enough to suggest you buy one. There is also a problem with the driver side window that sometimes doesn't go up all the way. Oh, my car was a dealer show vehicle before I got it. I think it was still considered new tho.

Pros
Beautiful smooth ride. Fairly good gas mileage. I get about 30 mpg.

Cons
Engine is not that responsive. The driver's side window doesn't always go all the way up. You have to lower it a little and then keep pulling on the switch to get it to go up. All of my Hyundai vehicles have had issues with the windows.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TK
Tonette Renee K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2019
Best drive
This car is simply the best in its class. Smooth and comfortable, easy to maintain and love the safety features.
It’s so easy to plug in my phone to connect to the navigation system.
Everything is at your fingertips

Pros
Comfort
Safety features
Well designed with access to everything, and easy to reach

Cons
Acceleration could do with a bit of improvement

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Arthur S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2019
Great car
Besides the great gas mileage, my Hyundai Sonata hybrid is comfortable and spacious; plenty of leg room in the back seat and the trunk holds a lot of cargo. It is a quiet, smooth ride and easy to handle.

Pros
Gas mileage, comfort, dependability.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jennifer C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/21/2019
2016 Sonata Failure
I'm very disappointed in the maintenance record of my Sonata Hybrid. There have been 3 major Hybrid related issues in the last 6 months, all rendering the car undrivable. I'm afraid to drive it far from home, for fear of getting stuck.

Pros
Great Gas mileage, smooth ride. Love the air-conditioned seats.

Cons
Three hybrid related failures in 6 months. Seats too firm, like a rock.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EY
EDWARD Y.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
Hyundai Hybrid
My Hyundai is very reliable, I have had no problems with it. I recommend Hyundai to anyone who wants a good car at a fair price. I wish Hyundai would make a small pickup truck Hybrid. for the US market
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Andrea A.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2019
I love my Hybrid!
The Hyundai Sonata Hybrid is comfortable, gets very good gas mileage around town and great mileage on the highway. I have taken my Hyundai on 2 trips across country-from Massachusetts to California and all around the southwest and found it a great car for a long trip in terms of comfort and mileage. It is vey reliable. I also travel every few months to Tennessee and Alabama to visit my grandchildren and find I have enough room to bring them gifts, as well as my suitcases for 2-3 weeks, a cooler etc. In summary, the Hyundai Sonata is great on gas, reliable, comfortable and it is a good looking car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RY
Randall Y.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2019
Sonata Hybrid
This is an awesome car with enough power, comfort, leg room and not to mention the exceptional gas mileage. The covered warrantees are also great for this car. There is one problem that I have encountered is the black plastic piece under the rear bumper that has left white streaks running down. The material they said is not defective so I will have to live with the white streaks. They said I can have it painted or continue to use a black plastic polish. This is the only thing that sucks about this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOSEPH G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2019
Really smooth and fun to drive
Now that I have driven this amazing Hyundai Sonata for almost 4 years, it still is exactly as good as it was when I bought it. Awesome. I love the incentive I get from it . I can consistently get over 40 mpg. Who could ask for more??

Pros
All pro's. This car is fun to drive, efficient, and never breaks. Love it

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Dennis R.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid.....Great Car, Great Milers, and is one of the most comfortable models I have ever driven.
We've had excellent outcomes since I bought the Hybrid several years ago. Service Personal were available, worked effectively, and provided information to us to better understand the car's conditions and any future issues. Next car could also be a Hyundai!!!

Pros
Fantastic driving experience, comfort traveling, Hyundai's system is very smooth whether in Hybrid or regular gas is currently being used.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
Donald K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/27/2019
Love the vehicle. EWas unhappy to find out they will no longer make the hybrid.
Have enjoyed the vehicle since buying new. Looking at buying again but probably a Tucson. Was very sad when in for last service appointment was informed that the Sonata Hybrid was not made anymore. Hybrid is great as even at three years of age still getting forty to forty-two miles per gallon.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TN
Thanh N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/23/2019
Lots of issue with hybrid system
I own this car for about 2 years now, bought it brand new. When you drive it in eco mode, the car doesnt have the horsepower to move but it will have speed if driven in sport mode. However, the mpg will not be so great. I couldn't start the engine around 36k. The hybrid alarm came on. I took it to the dealer and it was some electrical issue. At 60k the water pump fail. Good thing it was still under warranty. Also, 1 recall on the start/ stop button. I don't know what other issue will arise at around 100k.

Pros
Good mpg

Cons
Lots of issues.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
BRIAN B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
Best combo of range/mpg and spacious interior on the market (2016)
This car has the best range and mpg for any sedan I looked into and is still going strong after 75k miles. It’s brakes work well and has safely driven on trips over 200 miles. Definitely recommend it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
Gregg R.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
Best car ever
The best car ever. Lots of room in this sedan and handles great. Always gets between 45 to 55 mpg this is my second sonata hybrid and can hardly wait for the next one. Not enough changes yet to switch

Pros
Great. mpg

Cons
Cruise assist vehicles need a warning sticker on back because car adjusts to vehicles surroundings and reacts to them. Vehicles behind you are unaware to some of the automatic maneuvers

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Charles G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/21/2019
A great idea - without any backup
Great ride
On highway-cruise control on sunroof open- great satellite stereo balanced- car moves with no sound like a cat eating up the miles- map screen showing you where u are-going to-been
Seats adjust to weather, size and comfort
BUT
Trunk space sucks
No room for a family of 3
Barely enough for two
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 774 in total