2016
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(774 Reviews)
Latest review over 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

YG
YVES G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/05/2016
Hyundai Sonata Hybrib
Love it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Russel T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/30/2016
Best plug-in hybrid choice for our needs
After three months with our Hyundai Sonata plug-in we are more than pleased with our purchase. After comparing several hybrids/plug-ins, the Sonata had the best combination of features. We test drove a Fusion Energi (which was our runner up) but the combination of warranty, front seat comfort (Ford headrest is tough on shorter drivers), trunk space, transmission, and rear seat head and leg room made Sonata the better choice.

Pros
Great leg and headroom in rear seat
Comfortable front seat
For plug-in hybrid it has a usable trunk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LA
Linda A.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/24/2016
Ultimate Hybrid
First time in 50 years we ever traded for the same brand and model. The Sonata Hybrid with Ultimate package keeps us comfortable, stylish and safe in all driving conditions.

Pros
Ultimate package with driving/parking assist

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
KIM W.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/23/2016
2016 Sonata Hybrid
Excellent
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AN
Anthony N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/14/2016
Excellent plug in sedan
Even though this is Hyundai's first foray into plug ins, they did a great job. A few things that are minimal issues at best. mostly due to it being so new, android auto not working yet (hopefully they get it working soon)... and they stated 27 electric miles, but even after full charging, I'm only seeing 24 miles on the display as available. so may just be a software issue.. otherwise, it drives like a mercedes, nice and smooth, very quiet interior (unless you put it in charge drive mode!)

great car and nice rebate.

Pros
drives like a mercedes, nice and smooth, very quiet interior (unless you put it in charge drive mode!)

plug in rebate of $4919!

Cons
mostly due to it being so new,
android auto not working yet (hopefully they get it working soon)...
they stated 27 electric miles, but even after full charging, I'm only seeing 24 miles on the display as available. so may just be a software issue..
charge drive mode makes the engine pretty loud

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
JOHN J.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/03/2016
I now have over 6 thousand miles on my 2016 Sonata Hybrid and my around town mileage is consistant at 44 MPG.
I am a very old man and the ONLY complaint is the car sets too low and is hard for my wife and I to get out of.
I will be interested in a 2017 Santa Fe Hybrid.

Pros
Super fuel mileage lots of power
I traded in my 2015 Genesis because it rode like an old time pickup because some idiot engineers called out 45 ratio tires causing the ROUGH ride!!!!!!

Cons
Hard for an old man to get out of because it sits so low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
RONALD K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/26/2016
Sonata Hybrid
This by far the best vehicle I have ever owned, and I have owned a few vehicles in my day..

Cons
Would like a piston operated trunk lid to provide a little more trunk room.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KAYLEE H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/14/2016
Bought September 2015
I really love my car and it was a huge upgrade. I'm extremely dissatisfied in the company promising features that it has gone back on and changed the dates multiple times, as well as having to have press releases over not providing Android Auto after it was originally promised on their website, on verified reviews, on the brochure I was given, etc. The lights and automatic trunk are awesome, I really like the features that WERE on the car that I paid for. Very well built and gas mileage is great, and it definitely feels expensive. Would give the car all 10s if they didn't falsely advertise, I drive over 1,000 miles a week due to my job and android auto was likely the #1-2 feature I was looking forward to, as it would help my safety in my drive to be able to use google maps and not have to hold my phone in my hand. The cars navigation system is okay but the traffic is completely off a majority of the time, not nearly comparable to google maps. I reccomend the car, but not for the system.

Pros
Back up camera, nice leather interior, automatic cruise control, average mileage is good, lane departure is very handy as well as breaking assist.

Cons
They promised Android Auto in the online sales, brochures, and reviews online when I bough the car in September 2915. The dealership did not realize the hybrid did not have Android Auto when I bought the car, after all, it WAS featured online and in the car brochures. I have been promised that it would come in an update by the end of 2015, then promised later by January 2016, then early 2016.. And I still have not gotten the update for one of the main features I bought the car for. Also, I wish it had front facing sensors for parking.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
ELVA M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/06/2016
2016 Sonata Hybrid
We really like the hybrid Sonata we recently leased. The gas consumption is far less than we were expecting. The safety features are very helpful.

Pros
Comfort and safety features were much improved over our 9 year old Sonata.

Cons
More expensive than we expected

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOSEPH G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/04/2016
The absolutely most fun auto I have ever owned
All my previous automobiles in the last 60 years have been Lincoln Town Cars. They have served me well.
My wife and I now wanted a new car that was more energy efficient, would be good for the environment, has great looks, has plenty of power, and gives a nice comfortable ride. We wanted a hybrid.
After testing the OTHER 4 hybrids, we settled on the new 2016 Hyundai Sonata hybrid, and sure are glad we did.
We now have all the things we were looking for, and also received the best warranty in the industry, as well as we have the best place to take it if it needs any service.
I can say no more.
This car exceeds all of our expectations and then some.
WE LOVE IT, and we tell our friends how great it is.

Pros
All pros as far as I am concerned except one detail.

Cons
I really wanted to pay extra for a drivers power seat, but I would have had to spend a lot more for the deluxe package which has features I do not need.
I really don't like mechanical seat adjustments as much, but they work well.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JAMES S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/22/2016
good
recall

Pros
good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Gary B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/01/2016
Sonata Hybrid
Excellent

Pros
I feel the Hyundai Sonata was the best value for the dollar

Cons
nonne

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DARLENE G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/22/2015
Great car
I love my new Sonata Hybrid car. I got the one with the sunroof and all the extras. It has the leg roominess in the back for my sons who are 6'3" and 6'1" along with enough trunk space for road trips over the Sierras from Reno to CA. It handles the road in slick icy conditions well. I would highly recommend this car to families and those that just want to save gas. Gas station visits have decreased and that is wonderful!

Pros
Drive ability and performance of all the extras has made this a fun car to drive.

Cons
I haven't found a con to this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
HERBERT B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/06/2015
Good
Good

Cons
Armrest should be larger and you can,t close the lid if you charge your phone.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Joseph G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2015
Now here is a state of the art example of how to build a real automible that will really help to save our planet.
The 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid is, in my honest opinion, about as close as one can get to being a perpetual motion machine.
Since I have taken ownership of this magnificent piece of quality workmanship, It is virtually paying for itself.
My driving style has allowed over 46 miles per gallon, consistently.
Finally , we have a car with a properly designed control panel, and incredibly comfortable interior for even a 6 foot tall person such as myself.
I love the exterior styling. And inside, there is no wind noise at all in the cabin. I also recommend the 16 inch wheels over the 17 inch wheels.
This vehicle exceeds all my expectations by a long shot, of what a quality automobile should be.
And seeing as all I ever drove all my live was Lincoln Town Cars, this is quite amazing to me for this car to be so well refined. It is an engineering masterpiece.
Also, do not think for a second that the 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid is not powerful. It accelerates amazingly fast because the electric motor and 2.0 direct engine can seamlessly work together to give all the power I would ever need.
I would more than highly recommend this automobile to anyone.
Joe Giannetti

Pros
Everything about this is PRO.
Hyundai has a perfect package here

Cons
Nothing is CON

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
MAUREEN K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/25/2015
Sonata Hybird 2016
Great overall car

Pros
Great car

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DONALD S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2015
2016 Sonata Hybrid is just the best on the road!
Outstanding improvements! just can't say enough about the new Sonata Hybrid!!

Pros
The options on this model are outstanding. Lane departure, auto cruise, backup warning, etc. I can go on and on! You just can't buy another car with these options for the money! We thought that our 2011 Sonata Hybrid was great, but this one blows it away!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
ERNEST H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/09/2015
Sonata Number 3
It's a great car!

Pros
Performance, economy, handling, and styling.

Cons
A little noisy on some roads at high speed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DONALD M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/05/2015
2016 Sonata limited Hybrid
Surprisingly comfortable and really good performance. Big trunk and fold down seats.

Pros
Very pleasant to drive . Great performance.

Cons
No spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
TIMOTHY S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/04/2015
sonata limited hybrid
Great car, mileage as advertised if not a little better. Such a smooth ride. Very impressed by the details.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 741 - 760 of 774 in total