2016
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(771 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DW
Don W.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2018
been a good car
So far no complaints with this car. It will be two years old in about 2 months and have 98,000 miles on it. was only in shop one other time and it was a computer glitch and fixed itself. No other complaints but due to high mileage the value has not held up or would consider trading it in for a new car just because still not sure about a hybrid will make it for another 100k miles with out some issues.

Pros
been a good car. good pick up and had good mileage with originally getting 42mpg but now only getting 38mpg

Cons
mileage has dropped since first purchased not sure if due to tires or why. Still get 38mpg

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
William S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2018
Great car
Excellent gas mileage and fun to drive. Interior perfect comfortable stylish and it feels like a class car. I can't wait until my lease is over so i can get the new line of cars at Hyundai Las Vegas. In the past two years i have had no problems with this vehicle. All the tech stuff is great to have even though i am less than tech savvy.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Charles B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2018
Great lines, comforable and fuel efficient, 44 mpg in summer and 38 mpg in winter
Seemless operation between engine and Battery. Ride is comfortable.Also the back seat comfort as reported to me by my passengers. My most favorite item on the car is the Blind spot fgeature. The main reason I purchased the Sonata versus the Accord at the time. Your system is very functional. Love it. Also the leather, heated & AC seats. Nopte the 2018 Accord Hybred does not have leather seat option. It appears to be a standard version Accord/
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Carol W.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2018
AutoNation
I enjoy the car, the gas mileage especially long distance drive. I fill up twice a month and may forget I need to because the milage is that good. My only wish is that GA had lifetime oil changes like VA.

Pros
Excellent gas mileage.

Cons
Windows sounds like air leaking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Melissa C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/13/2018
Warning lights
HEV and check engine lights are on and Hyundai has no clue why. Dealership has contacted Hyundai engineers and have been told the don’t know what’s wrong. Vehicle will not start when the HEV warning light is on.

Cons
Hybrid system

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/14/2018
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

GS
Gina S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2018
I love my sonata
My sonata hybrid is a beautiful, roomy and fun car to drive. I get great gas mileage and we really love the look and design of the car. There is also tons of room in the trunk. It's a great family car and we've gone on a number of trips with the kids having plenty of room to stretch out.... and my son is 6'3", my daughter is 5'5" and my husband is 6'.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WM
William M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2018
Sonata Hybrid
I think the Hyundai Sonata Hybrid is one of the most comfortable cars to drive or ride in. It is so quiet, seats are large enough to be comfortable.
Radio could have better quality but overall is good, Air conditioning is great. Love the car.

Pros
car is so quiet you can't tell the engine is running.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YT
Yan T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2018
Great Mileage and Great Engine Performance
Provide nice acceleration when needed with very good mpg numbers. Overall, the car is quite comfortable and excellent drive-ability. A lot of safety features are included with this hybrid model, providing an excellent value.

Pros
Safety Features, excellent mileage and the value

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
Jason N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2018
Awesome car!
This is been one of the most comfortable and reliable vehicles we have ever owned. Moving forward we will always own a Hyundai Sonata. We love the style of the vehicle along with All the extra features it has.

Pros
Comfort, quality, ride.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Lourdes D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2018
Trouble free vehicle with Great gas mileage
We traded a 2012 Sonata Hybrid for a 2016 because the new model really appealed to us. It is by far a better car than the 2012 and we were really satisfied with that one. Consistently get 38+ per gallon

Pros
Great mileage, consistently 38 mpg +
Limited edition is loaded, air conditioned seats are a plus in Florida
Lifetime warranty on the batteries!!!!!!!!!
Great trunk space and fold down seats.
Awesome gas mileage

Cons
No spare tire, batteries in that space
not a plug in so we couldn't get a tax break

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
JERE J.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2018
Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Outstanding value. Many upgraded features at a great price. I've been very happy with the fuel economy and yet the vehicle does not lack in power. I would definitely purchase again. I have received excellent service at local dealership

Pros
Excellent mileage. Great values

Cons
Lack of spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Peter D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2018
Great Car
I recently drove a Toyota Camry for 3 days. My car is much more user friendly, gets better gas mileage and the hybrid engine is quieter. The interior appointments are better but the radio on the Camry is better. I think the radio in the newer model of my car would be comparable. I prefer the Hyundai.

Pros
Mileage
Comfort
Interior layout
Trunk space

Cons
No HD radio in my model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
Greg H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/03/2018
Sonata hybrid OK but not great
The mileage is good but the inconvenience of no spare tire is not acceptable. Every time you have a flat tire, you have to purchase a sealant canister for $50. Hyundai gouges you for the canister. I went to KIA and purchased it for $15 less than Hyundai quoted.

Pros
Mileage

Cons
Lack of spare tire
Excessive price for tire sealant canister

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Donald W.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2018
HYBRID = No Hassle Fuel Economy
We wondered when we bought our hybrid of we had made a mistake as maybe it would be a hassle to drive and maintain. NOT SO! You dont do anything different than a regular car....except get great gas mileage and do your part for the environment. ALL cars should be hybrid!

Pros
Above 40 mpg....and more in the city!

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Todd M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2018
Hybrid Sonata
I have owned this vehicle for almost 2 years now and it's one of the best vehicle's I have ever owned. I drive a lot and I am constantly impressed with the outstanding fuel economy on the Hybrid Sonata. I am averaging anywhere from 44 mpg to as high as 47 mpg. This vehicle has a ton of legroom as well. I am 6 ft 4 inches tall and I have extra legroom in the vehicle. It's also super comfortable on long drives. I would buy another one in a heartbeat! Overall great vehicle.

Pros
Excellent Fuel Economy, Smooth Ride, Whisper Quiet

Cons
I have the SE model and it's basic on the inside. The cloth seats are a strange color. But overall it's not bad.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
Phyllis G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2018
Best car ever!
I fell in love with this car the moment I saw it. After driving it a few days I loved it even more. It has style and everything under the sun and sun roof in it. I love that I don't have to stop and get gas as often gas mileage is unbelievable!

Pros
Everything is pro in this car.

Cons
In this area gets around very good some days in winter, like most vehicles if it snows a lot you are not going anywhere.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
John C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2018
2016 Sonata Hybrid
Great car, comfortable, good fuel mileage, and overall good features. This car offers a lot for the money. I have traveled on several long trips and I don't feel as fatigued as I do in my SUV. Fuel mileage average is 45mpg. The only other features I would like is brake assist and lane change warning.

Pros
Comfort, Fuel mileage

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Ronald B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2018
EXCELLENT EXCEPT GAS MILEAGE IN THE WINTER. Break and gas peddle are too close together! My size 15D shoes take up both break and gas!
See above. This sayes it all! qwert rtyu iopaa sdf hjkklz 12345 67890 ,./;'[]=- 321654987/==-0987654321` xxxxxxx ;;;;;;; ;;;;;;'''''''' """""""""
TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT! QPOWEI RUTYALSKDJFHG /ZX.C,VMBN 7410258963.+-*

Pros
Great gas mileage in warm weather, however in cold weather the gas mileage drops to about half. My driving does not change. So i drop from about 44MPG to 22MPG in the winter. This is disappointing. Any suggestions? On the interstate at 70MPH I get 57 MPG in warm weather.

Cons
Low gas mileage in cold weather. 22 VS 44MPG

I DO NOT HAVE ENOUGH ROOM FOR MY SIZE FEET WITH THE GAS & BRAKE PEDDLE BEING DO CLOSE TOGETHER> I TAKE UP BOTH PEDDLES WITH MY RIGHT FOOT! I WEAR SIZE 15D SHOES. I MUST USE MY LEFT TO BREAK. I ASK THE SERVICE MANAGER IF THE BREAK COULD BE MOVED ANS HE SAID NO. THIS MAY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I LIKE THE CAR BUT MAY HAVE TO SELL IT BECAUSE THE BREAK PEDDLE CAN NOT BE MOVED. I HAVE MORE ROOM IN A PORSCHE.

Fast depreciation.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VG
Virginia G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2018
I love my 2016 Sonata Hybrid!
I have bought 5 Hyundais at Larry Miller since 2004. I get so many compliments on my 2016 Hybrid. The color is seaport mist. I get stopped on the street by strangers asking about the get color. They love it!

Pros
Just about everything!

Cons
It's low to the ground so I have to watch out for driveways.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOSEPH G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2018
Best car I have ever owned in all my 75 years on this planet
My 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid is almost 3 years old, and has never had a single problem. This is the most fun car I have ever owned. There is a lot of incentive to see how high I can get the miles per gallon. So far I have reached 58 MPG on a 90 mile trip. The overall average is around 43.5 MPG, which is excellent. Before I purchased this vehicle, I researched and test drove the other 3 popular cars, and the Hyundai cars offer the highest quality, absolute best warranty in the industry. These cars are rock solid.
You just cannot go wrong.

Pros
Super economical, fun to drive, and IT NEVER lets our family down. Extremely well engineered.

Cons
Absolutely none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 141 - 160 of 771 in total