2016
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(804 Reviews)
Latest review 28 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

NB
Nathan B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/07/2020
2016 & 2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrids
We own both a 2016 and a 2017 Sonata hybrid and we love them both. We are getting better than 42 MPG driving around town! These are full size, seat 5 adults cars. They are quiet, comfortable and have plenty of "off the line" power! We have had no problems with either one of them. We will be upgrading to newer models in the near future.

Pros
quiet, comfortable, great gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Charles K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/08/2020
Happy surprise
I am a cynic. I always look for the angles and shortcomings. Test drives of other makes left me cold. But I have nothing but two thumbs up on my Blue drive Sonata. Great ride, quiet, handles well and excellent gas mileage. I really love my hybrid and it has been such a nice surprise.

Cons
Wish the system was "car play" compatible and had a bigger screen.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HI
Hussain I.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/02/2020
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid SE
A little bit overpriced but the car warranty took care of a major problem and other minor issues were resolved. Good value for the money. Trade in and book value is horrendously low. Dealer servicing outstanding and Keith up their promise of free oil changes for the life of the car.

Pros
Smooth driving and comfortable car with lots of room

Cons
Acceleration and handling average.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Thomas B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/15/2020
Best car ever
My Sonata Hybrid is so much fun to drive. It handles great, has a great stereo & gets good gas millage. Everyone who has ridden with me loves the car, it's comfortable & easy to get in & out of & it's quite.

Pros
It is one of the best looking cars out there.

Cons
The back seat does not fold down.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KJ
Keith J.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/08/2020
Best Vehicle I’ve ever Owned
Being a consumer of vehicles for over a half a century, the Hyundai Hybrid Sonata has exceeded my expectations. The maintenance is minimal, warranty is best by far of ALL previous vehicles, value of initial purchased price was unbelievable. All positives can be applied to MY 2016 Hyundai Hybrid “Seamist” Sonata.

Pros
This vehicle was conceptualized designed put into production from PRO in all aspects!

Cons
Couldn’t give any for the four years of ownership

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GT
Gregory T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/05/2020
Sonata Plug In
Comfortable and fun car with a need for gasoline only for long trips. 25 miles battery range is plenty to get me back and forth to work on a nightly charge. Use more gas in winter (for the heater) but still as advertised.

Pros
Plug In
Safety features
Comfortable
CarPlay
Climate control is quiet and effective

Cons
No automatic braking with collision warning
Probably more road noise than some cars but if you listen to music most the time anyway...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Ralph W.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/16/2020
2016 Sonata Hybrid.
We’ve had our car for just over 3 years and 56,500 miles. LOVE IT! Great gas mileage and a good car to travel in. We haven’t had any problems. Have had all our service maintenance completed at the dealer where we purchased it.

Pros
Looks good, Rides good and great mirage.

Cons
Wish I could keep it in EV mode longer. EV stall speed seems set a bit low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Margaret P.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/10/2020
Sonata Hybrid 2016
We love this car. The mileage is outstanding. We bought the car used, and as it is now the only car we have, have quickly racked up the miles over the last few months. We had a few issues, that were covered by warranty, the plays switch for the ignition and the air flow system but other than that we love the car. Hopefully all issues have been found and addressed and now the car will cruise along for many years ahead. This is our first Hyundai and our first Hybrid!

Pros
Just had the two problems, noted above between 40K and 60 K so, at this point very pleased.
Mileage! is wonderful.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Lourdes D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/09/2020
Best Car we have owned
We cannot say enough good about this Hybrid. What a great car! Outside of normal maintenance, we have had only one issue and that was covered under warranty. I only wish a plug-in would have been available when we purchased it. My wife loves this car!

Pros
Comfortable, great to drive, good gas mileage.

Cons
No spare, batteries are there.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Steven R.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/26/2020
THE 2016 Sonata Hybrid Limited Ultimate
We, my wife and I have owned 3 Sonata's since 2007. The 2007 was a V6 model with all features We were looking for at the time. Then traded for a new 2014 Hybrid model for the economy. It was a wonderful vehicle with excellent features and economy we were looking for. Then Mario called to advise the 2016 model was available with all the features we had hoped for in the 2014. We traded for the new 2016 Hybrid Ultimate and have never been so pleased with vehicle in our life (72 year old customers) unless I could have our 1972 Buick Convertible back! Ha Ha!

Pros
Everything in the vehicle is as advertised and more. We have taken a few trips with it and enjoyed the ride in this model. Never have to worry about car issues as a Hyundai is one of the most reliable vehicles we have driven in our 53 years plus of driving. Thanks Mario...

Cons
Never have had any problems with this model.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZK
Zita K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/15/2020
LUV my car
I really like my Sonata hybrid. Have had it for four years now and no complaints. Mileage is great especially in town. I have only had one issue with it and Van Horn took care of that as soon as I mentioned it to them.

Cons
I wish these cars had all wheel drive for winter driving

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Deborah P.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/07/2020
I Love My Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
I really enjoy driving my Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. The interior is spacious and so comfortable. I have had so may complements on the exterior. I have taken a few road trips and found it to be comfortable to travel long distances. The trunk is very spacious and holds our luggage as well as items that we buy on our trips. The gas mileage is super great!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOSEPH G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/30/2020
More fun to drive and own than any other car I have ever owned, except for my other Hyundai Sonata.
Please do not wonder if you should buy a Hyundai. Myself and my wife both own one and are 100 percent happy and satisfied with our purchases. They never seem to break.
I feel Hyundai is the finest engineered vichicle on the planet.

Way to go

Pros
All pros. This car is a joy to own and drive. 72,000 miles and not even a hiccup of trouble.

Cons
ZERO

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mehrdad M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
01/21/2020
Unreliable
Hyundai has deteriorated in the last few years. Their electronics and engine keeps failing and many recurring issues. The bumper to bumper is only 60k warranty and many issues happen after the warranty. Power train warrenty does not cover many of the critical issues and one should not be fooled when they say 100k warrenty as that's only for power train where most cars will not have an issue with these days anyway. The electronics is the issue these days with Hyundai and that's outside of the power train. This will be my last Hyundai.

Pros
Attractive, lots of features

Cons
Reliability is low recurring issues, only 60k warrenty on the bumper to bumper

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 01/22/2020
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

KC
Karren C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/01/2020
Hybrid Value
I have to say I love my car. The comfort, style, quiet ride, and reliability are superior. I bought a 2003 Sonata new and then upgraded to 2016 Hybrid Sonata. I get compliments on the exterior color, graphite pearl blue.

Cons
I wish the Blue Link was still complimentary.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Donald C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2019
A dream to drive
The joy of saving money on fuel while still having a large enough car that handles better than many higher priced luxury models. The hybrid series offers high performance when needed and super fuel economy for normal everyday driving. Who knew that a mid-sized hybrid could be fun to drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
Timothy T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/11/2019
Love love love!!!
I absolutely love my hybrid. The drive is smooth like floating in a pool. The engine is so quiet sometimes I have to double check to make sure the car is still running when idle. I get excellent gas mileage. I have gotten as much as 55 mpg on the highway.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GL
George L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/10/2019
Marvelous Vehicle
Gas saving, extraordinary performance, smooth, well built. Specially this Hybrid 2016 assembled in Korea has the most quality from 5 more
Hyundai Sonata I have bought. Silent, economic, comfortable and roomy.

Pros
Almost Zero maintenance ( the basic oil and filters change every 3.500 miles). Very but very long lasting brake pads ( 127.000 miles) and still the original ones. Never happened with any other car.

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
Scott E.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/02/2019
Repairs expensive
I've had the transmission, spark plugs, power relay and battery replaced on 2016 car. Not impressed with costs and need for repairs. A car like this should not need such extreme replacements so soon. It is upsetting.

Pros
Drives smooth and good gas mileage

Cons
Expensive repairs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Mishal R.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/29/2019
Very bad made car
Since i bought thebcar it has been giving me problems . In three years i gotnit fixed 4 times already. 3 were covered in warranty. 1 i had to pay from my pocket. The problem was in different parts . So its not just 1 bad part. Its many bad components. Do not buy hybrid . Do not buy hyundai . I am not happy with my car at all.

Pros
Cheaper than others

Cons
Bad hybrid system
Bad engine
And bad many other parts that i dont know the name of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 804 in total