2016
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(771 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RT
Richard T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/29/2018
Sonata hybrid
Having had two major faults in Severn days I am beginning to doubt my choice of a sonata hybrid
Egine stopped on the high said it was a brake problem
Engine shutoff was diagnosed as air in the abs system
I don't understand how air could get in a closed system

Pros
Good mileage

Cons
Two major faults in one week brings me to doubt my choice

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
Bruce F.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2018
Best Car Around
I have had my Hybrid for 2 years now & I have to say that it is hands down the BEST sedan I have EVER owned. Great MPG, plenty of power, & room for 4 adults easily. I have taken a couple of long trips in it and at the end am ready to go to work. Have not had a single problem & I like the complements I get on it style.

Pros
Comfort, MPG is GREAT, stlye

Cons
I can't get another one yet!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Marco M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/22/2018
My Hybrid
This vehicle is great, comfortable, smooth, reliable. and give my good gas mileage.
Everybody who see the car told me it has a Beautiful design. my car has 52,000 miles at the moment I did not have a problem with this car. I hope it lasts a lot.

Pros
Great gas millage.
Smooth.
Reliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Glenda S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2018
Great car
Trouble w sunroof and alarms. Love the look and handle of the car. Especially the gas milage. Even around town I can get between 42 and 44 mpg. Love the extrodinary color of the car and the heated seats front and rear.

Pros
Great gas milage

Cons
Little trouble w sunroof and alarms

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Sean W.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2018
PEP Solar loves our Hyundai Sonata Hybrid vehicles They Rock!
PEP Solar has purchased many Hyundai Sonata Hybrid vehicles. It is a wonderful ride and with all our air conditioned seat & air conditioning running we receive 38 to 45 mile per gallon. PEP Solar has plans to purchase more this year. Drives like a dream!

Pros
Just everything about the vehicle is luxury.

Cons
The sonar on the car does not respond well with auto pilot if a car darts in and out of traffic in front of you. You have to really keep your eyes on the road or the sonar will demand you take control.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Ramon L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2018
Greatest Finest Vehicle in the World!!!
I had many cars before, Mercedes, Infinity and others but the Sonata hybrid is so far the best car I ever own. Great gas mileage smooth driving and everything works perfect. I highly recommend it to all my friends and family; buy one you will be happy!!

Pros
Beautiful car, great gas mileage! has lots of power. Great value for the money!!

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Ruth L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2018
AAA Rating !!!
My Sonata Hybrid is the best car I have ever owned. It has a great turning ratio, making it easier for me to handle. The back-up camera is a great safety feature and very useful!! Gas mileage is better than promised!! I get up to 54 miles per gal. It is roomy in the front and BACK seats. The trunk has lots of space, with lots of mirrors and big windows so there is all around good vision!!!! I rate this car as a 10+

Pros
Too many to list!!!!!!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Robert S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2018
My 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Well, I am writing this review a year and a half after my purchase. I Love my car! It is perhaps the best car both quality and performance-wise which I have owned. It looks great, rides quiet and gets great gas mileage. I am averaging well over 500 miles per tank and around 42 miles per gallon. It is very common for me to go between 3 and 4 weeks between refills on gas. The Sonata I purchased wasn't extra fancy but it is still very nice in both the exterior and the interior (with many "bell and whistles") and I have received many compliments about it. It is very close to being a luxury car but without the price tag! It comfortably seats 4 adults and can seat 5 as needed. I really like the handling, the quiet ride, the sound system and the back-up camera. After a year and a half, the car still looks and behaves like it is new! I expect to have this car for a while and will most likely purchase future Hyundai vehicles based on my ownership of this one.

Pros
The Hyundai Sonata Hybrid I purchased has been excellent. So far, I think it is the best car I have owned. I am averaging well over 500 miles per tank and around 42 miles per gallon. It is very common for me to go between 3 and 4 weeks between refills on gas. The car I purchased wasn't extra fancy but it is still very nice in both the exterior and the interior (with many "bell and whistles") and I have received many compliments about it. It is very close to being a luxury car but without the price tag! It comfortably seats 4 adults and can seat 5 as needed. I really like the handling, the quiet ride, the sound system and the back-up camera. After a year and a half, the car still looks and behaves like it is new! I expect to have this car for a while and will most likely purchase future Hyundai vehicles based on my ownership of this one.

Cons
Not really much to complain about but if I could make two small improvements they would be: 1) Allow for the entire back seat to slide down for the possibility of placing over-sized items which one would possibly wish to put into the trunk. Currently only the central section of the back seat folds down for this usage and limits any item which would be wider than the narrow opening from being place in the trunk. 2) I would reprogram the font/graphics size for the various media/radio/phone interface of the radio screen so that more information could be read. On my car it is about the size of a smart phone's screen. I believe this could (should) be easily done. On newer models, there is no CD player and the display is already larger. However, for the older models I think it would be nice if the engineers did improve the visual interface a little. Again, these are very minor issues. Very minor cons versus many, many significant pros.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Randolph S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/12/2018
Smooth running and beautiful car
I am quite satisfied with almost everything about my Hyundai Sonata hybrid automobile, but there are two things I would like to see them improve.

I would like the cruise control to engage with only one push of one button rather than the truth that I must know press to engage the cruise control.
I would like one of the 12 V output ports to be alive all the time so that I could go to a movie or restaurant and have my iPad or phone charging during my stay away from the car. I realize that Hyundai is concerned that I might run down my battery if I forgot to disconnect the iPad or phone being charged, but that is very unlikely to happen. The voltage strain on the Hyundai battery would be miniscule.
These two criticisms do not take away from my overall satisfaction with the Sonata. I hope Hyundai will continue building hybrids into their new model cars.

Pros
smooth and quiet economical performance

Cons
Two button engagement of cruise control
No 12 volt port is live with ignition off

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Stephen H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2018
Hyundai Sonata Hybrid Limited Edition
Basically a Genesis without paying the big price tag. My Sonata Hybrid is loaded with every option and at a fraction of the price of the Genesis with much better fuel economy. Plus the 10 years / 100,000 miles can't be beat in the Auto Industry. Buying and driving anything else would be getting less.

Pros
Driving this vehicle now for 2 years and I wouldn't have anything else.

Cons
No complaints. Only very pleased with my Sonata Hybrid.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Carol W.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2018
Very good customer service and professionalism.
I am always very satisfied. The employees are professional and considerate....................................?????????????...............................................................................

Pros
Love the gas mileage.

Cons
Seat color and interior too light.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JESSICA B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2018
Awesome vehicle
I love everything about my car and so do my passengers! Smooth ride, great sound, and minimal road noise. It has great gas mileage, I have a hybrid, for short or long trips! So glad I made this purchase.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jim S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2018
My Hybrid
Best car I have ever owned. Better than my 2006 Sonata. WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP.WORD UP!

Pros
All pros.

Cons
no cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JAMES B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2018
2016 Hybrid Limited Sonata
Have owned this car for a little over two years, which was purchased new. Almost no problems. Handles very well. Still looking great. Wish updating navigation maps was easier. Would like to see the ability to save trip routing for future recall. Also set and save multiple music playlists for recall while driving.

Pros
Great warranties. Seems very reliable.

Cons
None come to mind

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
STEPHANIE A.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/01/2018
Great Vehicle
Overall a great vehicle that saves gas and money. Will differently buy again when I decide to trade; however, I expect to have this vehicle for many years. Will recommend Hyundai to friends and family.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michael B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/25/2018
Willnt get another one
Wish they would really look at the cruise control it goes up to 70 to 80 miles an hour and then drops down to 50 to 40 miles an hour and they have seen the video of this I talk to other people that have a Hyundai hybrid same here and there's does not do that

Pros
It's a car that is big for me

Cons
Mechanical issues that they will not fix or look at they just say oh that's the way it goes with the cruise control because it's a hybrid no it's not I've talked to other people and they don't have that problem

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Larry S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2018
Love My Car.
Easy on gas, rides like a more expensive vehicle. Expanded features, and looks like a premium vehicle worth much more than the cost. Would recommend this vehicle to anyone wanting luxury at a lower price.

Pros
great car

Cons
no con except perhaps the maps and directions should be bigger.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
Keefe N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/16/2018
My Sonata Hybrid
Good car no problems.
My three concerns about this vehicle
The seats are very hard and could be improved for comfort. When the passenger window is open all the way the seat belt rattles and flips around. The cabin could overall be more quite.
Other than that all good.

Pros
Problem Free

Cons
Seats too hard.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Renee M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2018
My Hyundai Sonata Hyb
I love my car. Hyundai has come a long way. There was a time I would have ever looked twice or concerned even buying one.I am really grateful my friend took me there to by a car i will be staying with the Hyundai family.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Ricardo H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2018
Love my car
I love Sonata Hybrid. I will definitely purchase more Hyundai cars in the future. This car has a ton of amenities that other cars at this price point do not. It’s a good size vehicle. As the first vehicle that I purchased new, this car has exceeded my expectations. Hyundai’s has definitely up the ante in recent years.

Pros
Great car. Definitely high bang for very little buck.

Cons
I wish they had the limited when I purchased this one. The limited is much more luxurious.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 161 - 180 of 771 in total