2017
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5rating 4.73
4.7
(568 Reviews)
Latest review 9 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JH
James H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/28/2019
Don't buy
Needed new engine after 30,000 miles and less than two years. After new engine installed, performance is worse, making more noise, and not as fuel efficient. I would not recommend this vehicle for anyone

Pros
Nice features for the money. Good car at first

Cons
Needed brand new engine after 30,000 miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Lee T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/28/2019
I am happy with the fuel ratings and the actual.mileage. just a little too low to the ground.
I have owned four or five of these sonnata hybrids brand new. I don't think I get very good trade in value for the new car. Otherwise I am in love with the hybrid technology. I believe we could do a better job of tweaking the run times between the battery and the gas engine. With a stronger battery this car should easily get 55- 60 mpg.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
Kelly H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/28/2019
GREAT CAR!!!!
This is a great car I have recommended to several people. I have recommended this to my corporation as great company vehicle to use in the field. We have recently purchased a Hyundai elantra for our sales rep.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joanne S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/25/2019
Hyundai Sonata hybrid
I love love love my Hybrid
and I love every one of the Hyundai's that I have purchased from Murdock Hyundai in Linden
Very good performance on the road lots of power My friends that are very large love that the back seat is so roomy and that their heads do not hit the roof. love the total sun roof

Pros
roomy and comfortable

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Joseph J.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/22/2019
Great Car
Since I purchase this car 2 years ago, I haven’t had any problems, great driving car, great handling, great gas mileage, get a lot of compliments from other about appearance, and has the best warranty of any car

Cons
Interior the emergency brake is not in a comfortable place, the exterior dirt and black marks accumulate around the back door opening for some reason

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Ronald D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/22/2019
Amazing car
I cannot say enough about how I love this car. It is everything I want in a car and more. I had no idea i could save so much money in gas and not give up any luxury. Its by far the best car in its class.

Pros
Great looks and great on gas

Cons
Not all wheel drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
ROGER G.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/20/2019
A comfortable, reliable and economical retirement toad trip car
Purchased for my retirement road trips, a larger comfortable car that gets great gas mileage. I drove, but didn't feel I was ready to downsize to an Ioniq. After shorter trips, I had the initial 5k oil change and just got back from a 6.5k trip through the southwest and was very happy with my choice of car.

Pros
Technology/phone pairing and general ease of use.
Size/space (although I do miss a fold down rear seat.
Fuel economy.

Cons
I miss my spare tire (although, let's be honest, I can't remember the last time I ever used a spare).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Linda S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/19/2019
Plug I. Hybrid
I enjoy my PI hybrid sonata. Comfort luxury and peace of mind that when the electric mode is finished I’m still getting 42 miles per gallon. Many times .I don’t need to fill up my tank and I have gone over 800 miles The car handles well has plenty of pip and have always been satisfied with the Hyndai brand as this is the 4 th Hyndai I have bought or leased
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Linda G.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/19/2019
Good on gas. One problem, the seat belts don't retract properly as they should. This could cause chipped in paint when the door is closed on the buckle
Again, the car is good on gas. The only problem I have had is with the seat belts on both of the front seats.They simply don't retract as they should. It is an annoying problem, plus the buckle on the belt can drag on the ground and/or chip paint from on or around the car door.

Pros
Good on gas.

Cons
Seat belts don't retract.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NH
Nansi H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/19/2019
Love it!
Definitely love my Bluelink! Car very comfortable, rides well, good interior! Im more into reliability and dependability more than horsepower. Lol. Overall, good company...Earnhardt Hyundai! Happy driver!

Pros
Comfort and realiabilty!

Cons
Omg! Usb...ugh.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
Brenda R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/16/2019
My 2017 Sonata
There is no need to beat a dead horse! I have previously indicated that I am very happy with my Sonata. This is the second Sonata that I have owned, and it has proven to be excellent car, as was my previous Sonata
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Roger B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/16/2019
Excellent car
Excellent car, we tried to buy a new car but there was no red options. We will wait for 2020 new cars. Sleek styling beautiful handling a joy to drive you need to assemble more red cars Black and white are not colors

Pros
I love red

Cons
No red on the lot

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
David B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/14/2019
Easy Rider
I have been driving my 2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid Limited for a little over a year, and I love everything about the car. The car's lines are clean; it's very well appointed and provides a quite, comfortable ride. The Infinity premium sound system robustly shakes the rear view mirror when circumstances demand it, and I sometimes feel like I'm getting away with something by getting 40mpg from a car this large and refined. The adaptive cruise control, auto hold, and numerous safety features round out what has been the best car I have ever driven.

Pros
Long list of safety, convenience, and entertainment features
Great gas mileage for a large car
Quiet, comfortable ride
Spacious cabin and trunk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
JOHN T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/12/2019
Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
My husband bought this model a year previous. I was having trouble with the maintenance department of Ford, and went across the street to purchase the Sonata Hybrid, equal to my husband's, due to the performance, and maintenance excellence of his car. I have been very pleased with everything about this new car, except for the blind spots when backing out of parking spaces. The rear camera is helpful, but side views of on coming traffic is limited.

Pros
Overall comfort allows me to make extended road trips. Before, I was limited to six hours maximum. I recently made a trip of up to and longer than eleven hours without feeling fatigue in either my back or brain!

Cons
Nighttime driving - the back up lights are not very bright. The camera is okay, but I prefer to see out of the mirrors for backing into my garage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Bret K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/09/2019
Mixed
The fuel mileage is great, but transmission seems to have some issues that the dealership can’t seem to figure out. Eco mode is great for saving fuel, but if you need to get up and go it has a bad delay. It will sometimes down or upshift for what seems to be no reason.

Pros
Fuel mileage, sport mode, trunk space,

Cons
Transmission, rims, back seat space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
Lauren K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2019
We love this car....
When we were looking for a plug-in vehicle, we needed to be able to fit three car seats across the back seat, so we needed a car big enough to accommodate a family of five. The existing fully electric vehicles were too small to meet our needs. The Hyundai Sonata plug-in hybrid goes 27 miles on a full charge in full-electric mode. This covers most of our local travel chauffeuring the kids everywhere. If we run out of charge, we don't have to worry because it gets great gas mileage too! There are a few minor electrical issues that we've noticed...like the radio all of a sudden not working. This happens sporadically so we have no idea what causes it or even how to fix it. Occasionally, the engine "revs"...when we are slowing down...not sure if this is an issue or just the car's design. We would love a fully electric vehicle, but it needs to be able to go more miles before we can purchase one. Until then, our Hyundai Sonata Plug-in Hybrid Electric is the best car for us!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
Timothy T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/07/2019
Key
the only real complaint I have about my 2017 Hyundai Sonata is the key fob. The internal key stem becomes unattached from the actual fob so easily. And at about $350 to replace one, it is a real detriment. I just assume I am going to lose it at some point because it comes apart from the fob so easily. Small item that can easily be a big headache...and an expensive one.

Pros
Hybrid mileage on the freeway tops 52-53 MPG all the time. Not as good in town on short trips. But nice to have almost a full-sized sedan that gets that kind of mileage.

Cons
I should have opted for additional safety features that I hope will someday be standard...especially the lane change indicator and the automatic emergency stopping. I was planning on this being my last car. But I may want something newer now with those specific features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
Joy T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/07/2019
Good, but not great
Not my favorite but not the worst I've driven either - see the pros and cons
Good lights, easy to use controls, decent sound system, good visibility, good tires
A bit jerky after a full stop and mushy brakes were not my fave

Pros
not too low to the ground
easy to maneuver
fill up 2-3 times per month vs once a week in a standard vehicle

Cons
mushy brakes
hybrid engine didn't come on / stay on when idling
jerky start after a full stop

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
ANTHONY S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/06/2019
Design Issues
The 2017 hybrid Sonata has a design flaw. The grill doesn’t cover the inverter radiator and leaves it wide open to road debris. A simple pebble can cause enough damage to take it out. Each repair is over a $1000.00. The 2018 has been redesigned to cover the issue, but 2017 and below, drive at your own risk.

Seats are uncomfortable after long drives

Pros
Great gas mileage when the hybrid system is working.

Overall look is nice

Cons
No protection of the inverter radiator. Seats are uncomfortable feels like there is a lump and the dealer “couldn’t feel it”

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WT
William T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/04/2019
Best of both worlds
Higher fuel mileage with traffic - 40mpg is typical. Longer road trips I get about same if speed is around 65. For speeds about 75-80 mileage drops to 37mpg. Performance is good, electric motors provided nice torque if you want it. Very quiet. Better ride than many cars in its class. Ventilated seats are awesome. I am waiting to see how driver assist features progress over next few years.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 568 in total