2018
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(57 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MS
Marla S.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/24/2020
New 2018 Hyundai Sonata Limited Hybrid Review
I love my Sonata Limited Hybrid! My favorite features of many great features is the heated/air-cooled front seats. It is roomy and very comfortable in front and in back. As a hybrid, it doesn’t lose trunk capacity because the batteries are located where the spare tire used to be. I get great mileage. My only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is that the side mirrors aim downward toward the ground along the car when you are in reverse making it difficult to see any car coming from behind or on your side, and it doesn’t have a CD player. I know it has Bluetooth to play from my smartphone, but I have lots of books on disc and lots of music discs that I prefer not to download onto my phone. Otherwise, I really love my Hyundai!

Pros
Mileage, comfort, quality of sound system, HEATED and AIR-COOLED front seats.

Cons
Side mirrors angle groundward when car is in reverse. No CD player.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Rita R.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/24/2020
Sonata Hybrid
We purchased a Sonata Hybrid because it had everything we needed and wanted. The mileage is great (over 40 MPG) Ride is smooth and quiet. We love all the extras. My only complaint is the cruise control (not smooth). Great warranty for hybrid battery.

Pros
quiet, extras were included, great mileage with hybrid

Cons
cruise control not smooth

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
Timothy A.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2020
great, fun to drive
great car , better and with more features than an xle camery and at several thousands less, fun and cheap to drive i get 40 mpg constantly, Hyundai is ahead of other brands in convenience and safety and styling

Pros
little problems,

Cons
be nice to have a front bumper alarm so as not to get too close to park stops, also for elderly and bad backs it can be mildly difficult to get in

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Robert B.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2020
Excellent sedan
Quiet running, smooth shifting, great gas mileage. The fit and finish was very good. I would purchase another if I needed too. Love the style .lots of bells and whistles but really didn’t need them all.

Pros
Hybrid is the greatest Pro. But I think my next will be an all Elect

Cons
The only complaint was the amount of time it took to replace the water pump

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Bert P.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/20/2019
Great overall vehicle
We decided to purchase a hybrid vehicle but wanted something that looked nice as well. The Hyundai Sonata Limited Hybrid is that vehicle for us. It has excellent features such as heated/cooled seats to fit the weather, a nice spacious interior, and a beautiful panoramic roof. The styling on the dashboard is as functional as it is good looking. Lastly the mileage is fantastic, getting over 600 miles on a full tank of gas. Can’t beat that.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
Timothy A.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/13/2019
excellent ride and reliablity
i owned toyotas for the last 30 years, due to pricing and features i decided to try a hyundai sonata hybrid limited, best move i have done in years, the sonata runs perfectly and fuel economy is excellent. The car is very good looking and the features are great. the comfort level is so much better than the toyota.excellent ride and cp

Pros
excellent ride and comfort, fuel economy great

Cons
only two front cup holders, and none in back if you have three people, NO SPARE TIRE only a inadequacte emergency tire repair kit. even a small sidewall cut will totally incapacitate

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
MAURICE D.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/05/2019
My Hyundai
Quality now matches the European badges, great car, once driven you will understand the quality and fun to own. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
Once owned had to change for other models
Now competitive with other major companies
Warranty

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Renee K.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/23/2019
Comfort, quiet & convenience
Love my Hybrid! It is sleek and looks like a luxury car with its beautiful grill. As with past Sonata it is roomy and comfortable. The engine is so quiet you forget it’s even on! My gas mileage is great. I bypass the filling station every other week.

Pros
Sleek
Quiet

Cons
Doesn’t handle well in snow
Some of the interior is not as well crafted/finished as it could be

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lillian M.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/17/2019
????
??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Cons
FRONT LICENSE PLATE LOCATION, REST. AIR FLOW

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JOSEPH F.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/14/2019
Hyundai Sonata hybrid the best
The Hyundai Sonata hybrid is an excellent car great fuel mileage power could be a little bit more
From gas engine. Excellent quality interior and X terrier also very good looking car compared to the competitors. Very comfortable car and trips and short distances, right is excellent. Buying from a dealer like Elgin Hyundai in Elgin Illinois is a pleasure excellent sales people and the best service shop around. I would like Hyundai to bring back to the Senada the heated rear seats and also could use side cameras I think this is a very good safety situation with the side cameras.

Pros
Excellent car.

Cons
Needs heated rear seats. And side cameras

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
Evon W.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/10/2019
Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
The Sonata Hybrid is comfortable and expensive. It is uncomfortable for someone with a bad knee trying to get out of. It would be wonderful if Hyundai had a hybrid SUV or came out with a Hybrid truck.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JOSEPH B.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/07/2019
2018 Sonata Hybrid
Loved pretty much everything about this vehicle. Sadly, vehicle was totaled after being hit from behind in a read end collision. Never even made it to the first oil change! Definitely considering replacing with same model, newer vehicle!

Pros
Very good gas mileage, comfortable, very stylish, fun to drive.

Cons
Drive side blind spot.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
Paula L.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/01/2019
sonata hybrid
I have owned a 2011 and a 2014 Sonata Hybrid. I now own a 2018 Sonata Hybrid. I use this car to go to and from work, which is about 80 miles round trip. The 40-42 miles per gallon I get makes it a great car for commuting to work. I love all the new features on the 2018. All 3 Hybrids handled really well. The ride is very smooth and comfortable. My husband says he likes driving it because he does not get tired after an hour or two of driving. My next car will be either a 2021 or 2022 Sonata Hybrid. I love my car.

Pros
All good

Cons
I would like a better braking system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
ROBERT M.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2019
Our new Sonata Hybrid
We owned a Honda Accord (2001) and drove it 203,000 miles. We replaced it with a used 2009 Nissan Altima and drove it over 200,000 miles. This Hynudai Sonata Hybrid met and exceeded our expectations and continues to be a joy to drive.

Pros
The car meets or exceeds expectations.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
James E.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/15/2019
Hybrind Engine Issues
All is great except the hybrid engine issues comes on about every 6000 miles. Had it for 1 year now and about 6000 miles the hybrid light came on and had to have it towed
to the dealer ship and they fixed it but again same issue at 10200 miles.

Pros
good on gas

Cons
Hybrid Engine light came on at 4,000 miles and again at 10000

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
John R.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/07/2019
Love love love
Excellent quality. Best car around. This is my second one! Love the gas mileage and sporty look! Navigational system is a little less than desirable. Could be better if not reliant on cellphone. Overall, very pleased!

Pros
Excellent gas mileage and looks sporty.

Cons
Could do better with navigational system...one not reliant on cell phone

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Richard L.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/20/2019
Excellent
I have the 2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid and it performs as promised. The Hybrid provides excellent gas mileage and the ride is excellent. With the tire pressure sensors, I next plan to use the tire inflater kit.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Douglas L.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/14/2019
Quiet elegance with outstanding performance.
It is such a pleasure driving a vehicle that starts so quietly, and gets me to where I need to be so efficiently and safely. I am averaging 46 miles per gallon on the highway, and 51 to 57 miles per gallon in the city.

The technology that alerts me to cars passing me on either side is fantastic. Lights appear in my rear view mirror on either side as this occurs. If my turn signal is on, I also receive an audible beep warning, advising me to stay in my lane until the pass is complete. The backup camera is also linked to the audible warning, and has saved me from numerous parking lot collisions, as I watch another car whiz by my rear end instead of colliding with it. The new technology of this vehicle cannot help but make me a more defensive driver. This is what I truly appreciate about this amazing vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mark B.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/10/2019
2018 Hyundia Sonata Hybrid
This is my first hybrid car and it's very nice. Nice size and good gas mileage 45-60 mpg. I love the car just wish I had the heated stewring wheel and auto dimming lights like I had on my limited gas sonata. Otherwise it's a great car and I would recommend it. It also does well in the snow

Pros
Nice car overall

Cons
Wish I had heated steering wheel since it has heated and cooled seat seems odd not to have this option as well and the auto dimming head lights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
David H.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/09/2019
Has mileage is good, but water pump for hybrid system had gone out 2 times.
I have at my sonata hybrid for less than one year. I have less than 17000 miles on the car, and have had to take it into the Hyundai dealership 2 times within 2 months to get the water pumps replace. This is caused a lot of issues as far as trying to get a rental car and trying to make sure that the car that I bought to drive a lot and be reliable has now gone out twice. The gas mileage on the car is fantastic and have gotten almost 700 miles out of a tank gas, but if I have to worry about taking in the car to get a system checked out every 2 months, the gas mileage doesn't matter. Having to take it in for 3rd time, will then cause me to go directly to Hyundai to get the car replaced under the lemon law.

Pros
Gas mileage
Quiet ride
Comfortable
Value
Horsepower when you need it under sport

Cons
Water pump had gone out 2 times for hybrid system
Reliability in question
Only time will tell

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 57 in total