2018
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(40 Reviews)
Latest review 6 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DL
Douglas L.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Quiet elegance with outstanding performance.
It is such a pleasure driving a vehicle that starts so quietly, and gets me to where I need to be so efficiently and safely. I am averaging 46 miles per gallon on the highway, and 51 to 57 miles per gallon in the city.

The technology that alerts me to cars passing me on either side is fantastic. Lights appear in my rear view mirror on either side as this occurs. If my turn signal is on, I also receive an audible beep warning, advising me to stay in my lane until the pass is complete. The backup camera is also linked to the audible warning, and has saved me from numerous parking lot collisions, as I watch another car whiz by my rear end instead of colliding with it. The new technology of this vehicle cannot help but make me a more defensive driver. This is what I truly appreciate about this amazing vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mark B.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/10/2019
2018 Hyundia Sonata Hybrid
This is my first hybrid car and it's very nice. Nice size and good gas mileage 45-60 mpg. I love the car just wish I had the heated stewring wheel and auto dimming lights like I had on my limited gas sonata. Otherwise it's a great car and I would recommend it. It also does well in the snow

Pros
Nice car overall

Cons
Wish I had heated steering wheel since it has heated and cooled seat seems odd not to have this option as well and the auto dimming head lights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
David H.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/09/2019
Has mileage is good, but water pump for hybrid system had gone out 2 times.
I have at my sonata hybrid for less than one year. I have less than 17000 miles on the car, and have had to take it into the Hyundai dealership 2 times within 2 months to get the water pumps replace. This is caused a lot of issues as far as trying to get a rental car and trying to make sure that the car that I bought to drive a lot and be reliable has now gone out twice. The gas mileage on the car is fantastic and have gotten almost 700 miles out of a tank gas, but if I have to worry about taking in the car to get a system checked out every 2 months, the gas mileage doesn't matter. Having to take it in for 3rd time, will then cause me to go directly to Hyundai to get the car replaced under the lemon law.

Pros
Gas mileage
Quiet ride
Comfortable
Value
Horsepower when you need it under sport

Cons
Water pump had gone out 2 times for hybrid system
Reliability in question
Only time will tell

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
BRENDA D.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/08/2019
Love my car
I leased one for three years to determine if I would like it before buying. Loved it too. It gets great gas mileage and drives pretty well. People who ride in the rear say that they are comfortable and love the moonroof .

Pros
Love the gas mileage - nearly 50 mpg. I drive about 50 miles a day.

Cons
Needs a rear windshield wiper system. Needs more engine pickup when entering the flow of fast moving traffic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
SUNIL P.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/01/2019
Sonota
It is in very good condition. So far everything works very well, and I had no problems. I did have a problem with the car as a light showed up, but after I took it to the dealer, it was fixed with no problem at all. The service is also very nice.

Pros
Everything so far

Cons
None far none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WM
WILLIAM M.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2019
Best Hybrid on the Road.
Second one. Would still be driving the first one but is was totaled by a "distracted driver" and it had 127000 miles on it with absolutely no issues. The fact that the Hybrid battery has a lifetime warranty/replacement at no cost is/was a major selling point. 0-60 in 7 seconds along with 41 MPG was / is also a major selling point.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
TIMOTHY A.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
excellent and very quiet ride
love car and seat are exceptional ,mileage is not equivalent to camery hybrid, but not enough to offset price difference, very relaxing to drive and lane assist works great on interstate, would love a front bumper alert to keep paint scratches to a minimum

Pros
except for minor problems car is fun and enjoyable to drive

Cons
front bumper hits so many low curbs and parking blocks, need proximity alert, mileage not as good as i would like,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
CHRISTINE J.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2019
Fun snd fuel efficient
The sport mode has surprisingly great pick up. Even in eco mode there is no longer the lag that the 2017 has while in electric mode before the engine kicks in. I love my heated and cooled seats and my heated steering wheel. Great gas milage. However, do not trust the "smart" cruise to see a stopped car at a stoplight. You will need to apply the brake or you will hear the collision warning beeping and possibly crash.

Pros
The sport mode has surprisingly great pick up. Even in eco mode there is no longer the lag that the 2017 has while in electric mode before the engine kicks in. I love my heated and cooled seats and my heated steering wheel. Great gas milage.

Cons
Do not trust the "smart" cruise to see a stopped car at a stoplight. You will need to apply the brake or you will hear the collision warning beeping and possibly crash.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
CAITLIN L.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/26/2019
Cost-Effective Luxury
I absolutely adore this car. I was most impressed with the level of overall quality (in everything) compared to the price. I purchased this with the Limited model for low-mid 30s. A friend of mine who is very knowledgeable about cars commented that they would have expected this level of quality and luxury from something like a Lexus - not a Hyundai. Needless to say everyone I know, including myself, is so pleasantly surprised with this car. I get an average 44mpg, which literally cut my yearly gas bill in half. I can't speak highly enough of this car. It even did well in Western PA winters with the right snow tires, which I was so impressed with. Definitely a good investment, I'll love this car forever!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
John J.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
Fantastic mileage and trouble free car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My Sonata has all the options available and the mileage in town is 44 MPG, The ride is extremely comfortable smooth to drive and it is troublefree!!!!!!!

If you could not love this than you could not lile your own babies!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
Super mileage quiet comfortable dependable

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Lenward G.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2019
Love it
It is a luxury car that is a hybrid as well. It is very comfortable, plus roomy for 4 people. We took it on a 1,000 mile trip and the miles floated by. We also think it is very beautiful to look at. We are very happy with the choice.

Pros
Everything we wanted.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CHAUNCEY M.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/18/2019
Nice Sporty Hybrid!
Great commuter car with decent gas mileage, although I was hoping for a little more. Lots of features and gadgets for media and apps, comfortable and stylish interior. I absolutely love the panoramic moor roof and extremely adjustable seats.

Pros
Stylish
Smooth Ride
Bluetooth
Lots of Media/App Features
Limited Edition Features

Cons
No trunk lock
No CD Player
No trunk mat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
GALE S.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2019
Best hybrid on the road.
I'm a full time Lyft driver. This is our 3rd sonate hybrid. I drive about 1500 miles per week. Performance, economy, and comfort are superior. I have over 10,000 Lyft rides. Overwhelming, my passengers rave about the car for its size, comfort, and performance. All of this and 40 to 44 mpg. Great, thanks.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JORGE G.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
Happy
Great job Emily, very honest and easy to work with. I will recommend to all of my family and friends. The whole staff at this dealership is amazing and if your looking to buy a great vehicle this is the place to go.

Pros
Great car, great warranty

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JIMMY S.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/10/2019
Five Star Rating.
Great comfortable and stylish car with amazing fuel economy for a very good price. The Hyundai Sonata Hybrid is a very roomy and comfortable vehicle, filled with amenities and luxuries found in more expensive vehicles. It provides a smooth ride and responsive handling while keeping the advertised fuel economy.

Pros
Beautiful interior
Responsive handling
smooth ride
Technologically advanced, lots of safety features.
Comfortable and roomy.

Cons
The USB connections have no power when car is not running.
This is convenient when you park for a few minutes and would want to leave your cell phone charging in the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
Lee F.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/08/2019
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
This vehicle, our 2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid, is only the second absolutely new car that we have ever owned. Previously we would only buy cars with two years or more previous ownership. We liked the benefits offered by the dealership for buy new. We have only taken a couple short trips but the ride has been amazing. Driving locally with friends in the back seat we have received a lot of complements on how much leg room this particular car gives to the passengers. We have driven it for one complete year and have been very impressed with the dependability of the car itself. Our previous new car was from another brand and we had issues immediately. Not so with our Sonata. We are very pleased to own and drive this wonderful car!

Pros
Great gas mileage - it's a hybrid, safety features have saved me from accidents several times, easy to drive and keep clean. It runs very quiet.

Cons
I have been asked to jump start another vehicle by a friend only once - the battery is in the trunk and this was odd for me to do. When parking it is so quiet that I forget to shut off the engine before leaving the car (66 times so far), but I have gotten the hang of it now!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
David L.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2019
Love this car!
Love everything about it. Really!!! great mileage, wonderful to drive and quality os good. the seats put us up tall. leather is beautiful and we get about 650 miles to the gallon. Lots of extras in the premium pkg.

Pros
So womderful

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MICHAEL L.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/29/2019
2018 Sonata Hybrid Limited
After 1 year, the Sonata Hybrid has provided comfortable transportation with excellent mileage (40-50 mpg) and range (550-650 miles) between fill-ups.
Our only problems were working with a local dealer to find the model we wanted. We traveled 100 miles to find a dealer willing to work with us. However, that dealership overfilled the oil on our first maintenance visit resulting in an engine shut down and tow to the local dealer. There was no charge, but troubleshooting and repair required a loaner for several days.

Pros
mpg and range

Cons
local dealership support

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JACQUELINE S.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/26/2019
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST CARS I HAVE OWNED.
I HAVE OWNED SEVERAL LEXUS AND THEREFORE RIDE COMFORT IS IMPORTANT TO ME. THIS CAR IS COMFORTABLE AND STYLISH AND HAS FUEL ECONOMY. PLUS, PLUS AND AGAIN PLUS. THIS IS THE 2ND HYUNDAI I HAVE PURCHASED AND THAT'S WHY I WENT BACK TO THIS MANUFACTURER.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WR
WILLIAM R.
2018 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/23/2019
Hybrid Effeciency
I really like the button for Auto Stop. I miss the CVT. The transmission shifts when going slow and stays in the lower gear too long. The brakes are too sensitive for stopping without jerking the passenger.

Pros
Button for Auto Stop is a definite pro.

Cons
Not use of a CVT is a definite con.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 40 in total