2019
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(46 Reviews)
Latest review 7 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


NS
Nisha S.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/20/2019
Engine shut off
My engine shut off on the freeway. I was terrified!! My car is not even 6 months old. They said it was the water pump. I don’t believe it but I’m not a mechanic. I never had a hybrid so I am just taking the service departments word hoping if it breaks down again I don’t get rear ended because I drive with 2 toddles 90% of the time.

Pros
It’s beautiful, and spacious

Cons
Broke down after 5 months less than 10,000 miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/20/2019
Safety is our top priority; we would like to contact you to discuss your concerns further. Thank you. ^cc

NS
Nisha S.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/31/2020
I have a lemon
First my car completely stops on the Irvine toll road in the middle of the night. Then my car breaks down to weeks later on the 210 freeway near San Dimas. About a month later, My car jerks now when it changes from hybrid to gas. It was explained to me the problem was fixed because they re-set something. Then I was told a few other things that I can’t remember of other problems the car was having but the service guy told me these are the reasons this is happening... if I would have new the hybrid was this much of a pain I would have purchased something else. I don’t feel like the car is reliable. I want to ignore the noises I hear and hard jerks it does because I hate going back and forth to the service department, Taking my two car seats out, putting them in a rental, to take them out in a day and put them back in my car. If anyone owns car seats, it is difficult because they have to be placed in side the vehicle a certain way and secure. Ontario Hyundai is professional, and nice. I wouldn’t recommend this business because of the vehicle Not due to the service. The only negative, is when the reasons for my car acting the way it was, was explained I didn’t understand because I don’t speak car lingo. It was like a different language. Then I asked if what he was explaining to me was in the manual and he replied no.I felt like he was implying I was driving the vehicle a certain way to cause the problem, so if it was in the manual I could read it and try to avoid what I was doing. But it wasn’t.

Pros
The vehicle is beautiful and you can’t hear it when I start the engine. This is important because I leave so early in the morning and my kids can’t hear me when I leave.

Cons
It’s unreliable. There is nothing worse.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
HOLLIS B.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
02/13/2020
2009 Sonata hybrid
Current vehicle has 600 miles. Have already had to take it in because the check engine light came on. Because this was a reoccurring problem with our previous Sonata, now I'm wondering if this will occur again with our current vehicle.

Pros
Dealership

Cons
Check engine light seems to be a concern

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Ange C.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/04/2019
Hybrid
I like the sonatas because I had one before. However, this hybrid is very "jerky" when accelerating and the voice recognition doesn't work. I have contacted bluelink support twice and now must take it into the dealership regarding the voice recognition which is very inconvenient.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NV
NOREEN V.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/20/2019
stylish car
stylish car. not a lot of trunk space. really should have taken more time looked and compare and bought an suv. can hear all the noise of the wind when driving. the unlocking of the car is very unsafe.

Pros
stylish

Cons
the 2019 does not have storage space like the 2015. can hear all the noise of the wind when driving.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JAMES K.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/29/2019
Hyundai Sonata
Very smooth, very quite car, love the gas mileage, handling the AC is great music system is awsome the interior room is very good on a car this size. It is a very nice looking car with a fine paint job.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
ROSALYN R.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/30/2019
Hybrid sonata
Great high performance hybrid . It’s fun to drive but still gives you great gas mileage. It looks like a luxury car but you know it’s a great value . I am getting close to 50 pmg highway and 46 highway and city driving

Pros
great value

Cons
Seats not very comfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
Rachel E.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/06/2020
Hyundai Sonata Hybrid.
The Sonata hybrid is a great ride, fairly comfortable,great climate control and is great on gas. It has a nice exterior. Make sure that accounting has approved any checks that the finance specialists and sales persons promise you. I didn't receive $450 I was promised but then again, it wasn't in writing.

Pros
Great drive and enjoyable.

Cons
Previous car had an automatic seat adjuster. This one is manual. A little harder for my age. Also the previous had an adjustable cushioning for my back. I miss it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Ralph M.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/19/2020
2019 Sonata Hybrid Review
No Additional Comments....survey it too long....No Additional Comments....survey it too long............No Additional Comments....survey it too long..........No Additional Comments....survey it too long
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kenneth S.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/23/2020
Satisfied Sonata Hybrid Ownr
The vehicle is a good vehicle for my daily commute to work and a good value. It is a much improved version compared to my 2016 version I traded in. Not a great family vehicle with no rear seat air. No XM radio and no blue link. Price was low but lost some features the 2016 model I owned had.

Pros
Decent gas mileage. A good value for work commute vehicle

Cons
No air vents to rear seats. No XM radio. No blue link access.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
Connie L.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/19/2019
Love the 2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid!
I'm thrilled with the look , feel, ride of my new Sonata. It has so many features for the money. This is my second Sonata Hybrid and third Hyundai. I have had great service from the first two and feel my new Sonata will perform equally well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
DAVID N.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/20/2019
Love my Hyundai Sonata Hybrid for it dependability, styling, gas mileage and comfort.
Love my Hyundai Sonata Hybrid for it dependability, styling, gas mileage and comfort. Also, my experience with the sales staff at my Hyundai dealership was superb. The maintenance department always gets me in and out in the minimum amount of time.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
Rachel E.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/20/2019
My Hundai Sonata Hybrid
My Hundai Sonata Hybrid is beautiful. It looks Sporty and Sleek. It is roomy, cool, comfortable and has a smooth ride.

The gas mileage is great! I get 34 to 52 miles per gallon of gas!

The Safety features are great. My fav is the EV sensor and also the camera for reverse.

I am also very happy with the entertainment system.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
RONALD G.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/21/2019
Love My Sonata
I am a previous Sonata owner, so I did not consider any other manufactures or models. This is my first Hybrid and I love it. I have found very few items that I dis like and they are minor. All around nice car.

Pros
Handles very well. Driving features are nice. Cruise control is excellent.

Cons
GPS has problems with locations. No spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Ralph M.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2019
Why I traded my 2018 Toyota Camry Hybrid for a 2019 Sonata Hybrid
The type and number of features in the Sonata Hybrid, especially the navigation and radio system far outweigh the Toyota Camry. The Camry did get better MPG. The Toyota Entune Radio system is a very bad design.

Pros
I like the car very much!

Cons
Lack of forward parking sensors. Lack of heads-up display. Lack of cargo net to hold watermelons. Mileage could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
LOURDES W.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/12/2019
2019 Hyundai Sonata
This is the first Hyundai I've ever purchased. I was a loyal Toyota owner (I've owned 5), however, I was very disappointed with the durability of my 2015 Toyota Camry. It started falling apart as soon as the warranty expired.
I am hoping this Sonata provides me many years of great driving.

Pros
Great MPG, convenient features, good visibility, awesome safety features, ie blind spot vehicle detector, hands free and voice command, navigation and beautiful, sleek, design.

Cons
Limited driver seat controls, driver seat not very comfortable, trunk space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
CHARLES B.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/05/2019
Good Car
This is a great car, except for a weird noise it makes and the dealer doesn't seem interested in it, but other than that, it's a great car so far. I love how easy the steering is and the overall sound.

Pros
Comfortable
Quiet
Power
Sound
Smooth

Cons
Weird noise when accelerating
Dealers seem uninterested in helping after purchase

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joan M.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/16/2019
A Committed Fan
I recently purchased my 3rd Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. I love the many safety, comfort, and communication features. Because I spend many hours in my vehicle, the car I drive is really important to me. My only wish is that there was a dealership that wasn't an hour's drive away from my home!

Pros
Pretty much everything.

Cons
The distance to my nearest dealership! (1 hr. away)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
Viken S.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/21/2019
AS ADVERTISED
The car has a smooth drive and no noise except for tire noise.I am averaging 42.3 MPG and that is great for a car with all these features and size. Very roomy and great instrumentation that is user friendly.
Just a great car and less expensive then competition.

Pros
Economical Luxury mid size that is fun to drive . Does everything well.
Great interior design. very user friendly. looks good from the outside as well.

Cons
Wish we had the option for all black rims. would be a great contrast with my white color.
I wouldn't have minded spending a couple of thousand more to get less plastic on the door panels and throughout the interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JOICE F.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/23/2019
Great car.
The learning curve of all the bells and whistle will take a while. I love the color of the car. The front grille is a great bug catcher. It takes a little effort to clean. My husband has issue in getting into the car because of the lower ceiling.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 46 in total