2012
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(322 Reviews)
Latest review 9 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

EJ
Evelyn J.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/26/2020
E.J.
I started on this journey the year 2012. I have been so bless to have a very reliable car. I keep my oil changes like clock work. No extreme major problems. My Veloster starts so quietly. The gas mileage is awsome. I have retired, but my travel experience going to and from my job has put my mileage with this car at approximately 100,000 miles. This car is still traveling strong
I would honestly say you will never go wrong with a VELOSTER.

Pros
Smooth driving. Great on gas. Interior and exterior easy to upkeep. Oil changes are very good with the timeframe. The promise given are always followed through. This car is the best one I've had

Cons
None!!!!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
STEPHANIE M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
05/21/2020
Horrible
I would advise not to buy this car. I have owned my car for 4 years and I've had nothing but problems. Worst car I have ever had. It needs constant repairs, from software updates to tires and shocks. Not worth the money.

Pros
The interior of the car and all the extras are the best thing about this car.

Cons
Low to the ground. Tires pop when you hit a bump. Struts and shocks need constant replacement. Check engine light is always coming on for no reason. Burns oil, had to update software every 6 months or radio or navigation won't work. Fuses are always needing replacement.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VN
Vernon N.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/17/2020
Azera! The best car ever built and I am so sorry they do not make it anymore. I will be forced to look else where for my next famiy car! Love the sporty style and the 3.3 engine best handle and ride and very quick!
read above for the review On the Azera I could right 2000 words do not have the time Best damn car ever! I am sorry you won"t sell it here any more' So thank you for it when you sold it here. Guess I will look else where for a new family car when I am ready to trade will hope to get 250.000 miles on my Azera

Pros
None I haved owned 4 over the years

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
Angie T.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/01/2020
2012 Veloster
This is a great car. I've had it about 6 years now, and I've replaced the starter and ac controls(all years had a recall for this, except my year, but it's the exact same part!). Other than that, this car has never let me down...until now. It's hard to put gas in it. It will take a dollar or 2 then cut off, then 60 cents, long story short..it takes about 10 MINUTES to put 15.00 of gas in the car!! And in the last 6 months the paint has started to flake off!! First the hood, and then bottom of driver door. And guess what?? Paint warranty runs out at 60,000 miles!! And getting just the hood painted is about 1,000 bucks just the hood!! My heart is broken!! I use to get complemnts daily on the color (marathon blue) and how clean my car was ALWAYS! But now I'm afraid to wash it, everytime I do I lose MORE PAINT!!

Pros
Great on gas, fun to drive, use to get complemented daily on the color of my car(marathon blue) until the paint started coming off.

Cons
Paint is chipping off of hood and driver side door. Unfortunately the paint is only warranted upto 60,000 miles. I have several friends who have this same issue with their veloster. All years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PI
Phyllis I.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/31/2020
I love my Veloster
I bought my Veloster as soon as they took it from the tractor trailer truck and I have enjoyed driving it for it's gas mileage and style. I'm still asked about it from people in parking lots. I would buy it again and again!

Pros
I love everything about it except the seats are not that comfortable

Cons
comfort

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Richard T.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/29/2020
still love this car
i would buy one just like it again, it has been a good car to travel in and good for going back and forth to work love the sound system ,and the guys at Cochran always make easy to buy a new car in fact i have bought 2 cars since my veloster

Pros
hyundai stands behind there cars

Cons
needed to use warranty a little more than i like

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
Tina F.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/27/2020
I love my car!
Best car I've owned and fits perfectly for my lifestyle. I've had larger cars before and they were not the sporty type. Once I saw the Veloster, I decided to take a test drive. In short, I was hooked! I bought mine when it was first introduced to the public.

Pros
Sporty and love the 3-door design

Cons
None except if people hate smaller cars.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
Pamela H.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/10/2020
A fantastic car!
My veloster is a great running car. Stylish, fast and super fun to drive. I have had no mechanical issues since I bought the car in 2013. The veloster is a reasonably priced car that performs very well. I expect that the Veloster N will be my next car. The veloster N is not as inexpensive but has all the bells and whistles and many upgrades from the basic original.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Dan B.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/06/2020
Might Be My Fave
This car might be the favorite I’ve owned. From the get-go, and maybe because it’s the only car I’ve ordered from the dealer with all the stock options, I feel like I made the car (1) that would serve as a daily driver, (2) would be a fun car to drive, and (3) be reasonably priced. Some may think the car is under-powered. But when You get the manual version, you can make it do substantially more with less. Easy and fun, it does everything I need.

Pros
Good quality for the money
Unusually good styling
Reliable build
Hyundai Warranty
Sports car feel

Cons
Maybe a little loud on road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Dennis D.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/22/2020
2012 Hyundai Veloster
I bought this car new in September of 2011. It was the 1st model year for the Veloster and I needed something to get good gas mileage as I traveled from Detroit to Chicago quite often. I quickly fell in love with this car. Wide, sporty, and so much fun to drive.....I have 90k on it and have had no problems with it. I considered buying another but this one has been keeping me happy so maybe in a few more years. I started buying Hyundai back in 2001 and I am amazed at how well built these cars are. I just wish Hyundai made a truck equivalent to F150 or Silverado......
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VK
Vincent K.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/20/2019
As a hatchback.
I bought the Veloster because I like hatchbacks. They give me the flexability for all my driving needs including skiing with two friends and all our gear, including taking my trash to the drop-off place, including traveling to visit family hundreds of miles away.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mary S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/19/2019
I love my car
It would be nice if the dealership when I bring my car in for service that they would let me know if there's been any recalls on my car so that I can get that set up for an appointment and take care of it thank you.

Pros
It stands out in this beautiful.

Cons
Four people in the back but kind of have a head Room problem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Sara H.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/07/2019
3 door coupe
I like My car... but I’m having twins soon. I do Not believe the kids will be safe in this car . I need Something much bigger , safe , & spacious . I need Something affordable & worth the change for the veloster

Pros
Last long

Cons
Small & tight

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FS
Frank S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/22/2019
My Veloster
Loved it from the moment I saw it. Fun to drive and comfortable to be in. I don’t see very many other Velosters and certainly very few in my green metallic color. I understand that that color was only offered once.

Pros
Stylish, timeless and great color!

Cons
Too low for some.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Theresa B.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/24/2019
Best car I have ever bought!
My veloster is a 2012, manual 6 speed shift on floor. Yellow in color. I made her my own and..gets great gas milage too... I just love my car..wouldn't trade her in for the world....can't make improvements to something that's already been done....

Pros
Style, performance, reliability can't ask for a better mid size car..

Cons
A bit small for tall people and only kids fit in back seat ..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
Jeanette T.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/31/2019
I love this car!!!!!
This car is so much fun to drive and super easy to handle on the road ! I’m so happy I have my Hyundai !!!!!! I always feel like I’m driving a little race car ! Plus everyone at Hyundai is friendly I guess that’s why I’m on my 5th Hyundai vehicle !

Pros
Great on gas mileage , fun to drive , Reliable !!!!

Cons
There are none!!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mary S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/30/2019
It a fun car to drive and reliable. There's nothing like my Three door sports/ small family car.
I've enjoyed the 4 years I've had with this car. I go everywhere in it. From Alabama to Tennessee, to Florida and to New York. It's better than any rental and it very good on gas. I feel good driving it and just sitting in it. We get so may likes with this car. This is my toy to keep even when it get old. I truly like this car.

Pros
It's pretty. And paid for.

Cons
I am the only person in my area with this color valoster.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Robert D.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/28/2019
great car, poor service department
I own a Veloster 2012 and am very pleased with the purchase. Perfect vehicle for a work commute but would not recommend for a long distance drive. The low profile tires make it a noisy ride. It seats 4 comfortably and has adequate cargo room.

Pros
great gas mileage
stylish

Cons
very poor vehicle service department.
walk-ins allowed, but you will suffer by waiting.
noisy ride d/t low profile tires

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Bob B.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/09/2019
Veloster
Love the sporty look and the bold colors. Mine is electralight green. Very sporty and fun to drive. 7 years no trouble except for one hickup with creep mode. Gets lots of people coming up and saying they like the car and wanting to know what it is.

Pros
Sporty love the electralight green

Cons
Blind spots on corners in the back for seeing and backing up for short people because of placement of headrest.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Patricia S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/12/2019
My Veloster
Love my Veloster! It's sporty and cool! Very happy with it. It's a 2012 , has less than 70,000 miles and still going! Bought it brand new off the show room floor 7yrs ago! I will probably never get rid of it. If I do it will be another Hyundai ?
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 322 in total