2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1158 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JS
Joe S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/16/2020
2016 Veloster
The transmission went out at 2 years .The rear hatch lock broke .
The car was not painted properly
Under the hood and under the rear hatch was white but the car is silver.
The rear spoiler is very loose especially in hot weather like it was not glued in properly .

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
Rough ride stiff suspension

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Lloyd P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/08/2020
2016 Veloster Turbo
I love my Veloster Turbo. My car is equipped with the dual clutch transmission which took some getting used to, but I love the car. I have an artificial left knee, but originally wanted a stick, but at the end of the year when I purchased the car the dealership did not have any. The transmission has come into its own especially in rush hour bumper to bumper traffic. Not having to shift is great. I love the paddle shifters! I ride a Honda 1300 motorcycle, so having a responsive car is a necessity. The Veloster does just that. when not driving my car, and enjoy the responsiveness. The car does quite well taking myself and two teenage grandsons and myself to school in the morning. I am impressed with the amount of cargo space, not quite the amount of room that I had in my '07 Ford Ranger, but more comfortable, and an absolute blast to drive!

Pros
Handles very well, on highways.
Great Gas mileage in town and highways.
Lots of room, 3rd door helps!
Great styling, Pacific Blue. Disappointed it is no longer offered.

Cons
Stiff suspension, with low profile tires.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Everett B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/16/2019
ERB
Great overall performance. Very good acceleration, while getting excellent fuel economy. Great panoramic roof, comfortable seats. Love the dual clutch transmission and paddle shifters. The 3rd door is great for the grandkids.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Robert W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/22/2019
What a great sports car.
My Veloster is very sporty looking. It has a great design and is what I call Tangerine/Orange in color Hyundai calls it Vitamin C.. When I show people this car it surprises them when I ask if they saw anything different in the car besides the great design and color? They always say no but when I show them there is only one door on the drivers side, they are really surprised. Way to go Hyundai, you have your act together.

Pros
If someone wants a car that is different from all the others, check out the Veloster.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Pete B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/18/2019
Great sports car
I had a 2013 Veloster and drove into the All Star dealership in Antioch, CA in 2016. I really liked the vehicle and had not once broke a skid while taking any turns at twisty roads, ever. The only time I heard a peel out was at 45 MPH up hill and needed to pass someone. I heard the turbo kick in and peeled rubber for a couple feet while passing a slow vehicle. Look at the great write up on the 2020 Hyundai N Veloster, MSN sports cars on Sunday 11/17/2019. I agree with it whole heartedly since I own and drive one. the best buy for a true turbo charged sports car under $30K. I have had mine up to 125 on I 40 across the states and not even floored when I first purchased it. It just floated quietly

Pros
Price, style and looks, handle, response, gas at 33 mpg,

Cons
low profile looks great but you feel every bump for the trade off

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Brenda P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/14/2019
I have a 2016 Hyundai Veloster and I wouldn't trade it for the world!!
I own a black metallic with a back splash(the only one in this area that I have seen) I truly love my Veloster and wouldn't trade it for anything. Just a fun ride I have a fully loaded package and I enjoy every day in my baby! Great gas mileage as well !!!

Pros
Love everything about my Veloster, my is the only one in the area that I have seen, it's metallic black with the silver splash (stripes) Very unique and I wouldn't give it up for anything!!

Cons
(Just wish it was paid off) no other issues at all.Very happy Veloster owner

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Brian B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/11/2019
veloster turbo
I like everything about the car as far as the way it runs, rides, comfort. Only issue is the way it handles in the snow. Spins out frequently from a stop, slides a bit on turns, and stopping can be difficult, nerve racking

Pros
comfort, style, mileage

Cons
handling in the snow

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Craig G.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/08/2019
Fun, Peppy, eye catching!
So much fun to drive, fits like a favorite pair of shoes. Butter smooth shifting, sure footed suspension and peppy acceleration make drives in the mountain twistys an absolute blast.
It gets an amazing 30 mpg even when you’re pushing it hard but 40 mpg and even higher numbers are attainable if your driving to save fuel.
The sound system plays all my favorite songs accurately and I’ve never felt any need to upgrade anything.
Comfortable and roomy interior, my mountain bike fits in the back with the front wheel off, and I fit a 65” tv in the back once. Still love the look of the matte blue paint with carbon fiber accents rolling on a set of Rays matte black Gram Lites! Fitted with Continental Extreme Contact tires that are a far superior to the stock Kumho tires. The Continentals really unleashed it’s cornering prowess to the level of confidence inspiring. I love my Rally edition Veloster and am completely satisfied!!!

Pros
Great styling at a very fair price!
Fun, roomy, fuel efficient.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Joan J.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/30/2019
veloster
I love my car. My husband nicknamed it my "pocket rocket". It is sporty and quick. It rides a little rougher than a luxury car, but that is some of the fun and to be expected. It takes the corners like a champ.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
PHYLLIS S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2019
Sporty car
I’ve been driving the Veloster for 3 years and enjoy the ride. Took a few road trips from Florida to NY and love the gas mileage. Haven’t had any issues and keep up with my maintenance through the Hyundai dealership. Would recommend this car to all age groups who like a sporty, fun to drive car without a high expense.

Pros
Mpg, look and feel

Cons
3 doors

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
Elizabeth W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/25/2019
My pretty blue Veloster
I was looking for a sporty car and I found one! My Veloster is fun to drive and super comfortable. Sometimes I get in to go somewhere and I take the long way cause it's so fun to drive. Windows down and music blasting.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Teri W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/23/2019
My Ride.....
I absolutely love my car. Great for fun and for day to day activities. I'm getting 25 to 30 mpg in town. Which to me is great in itself. I haven't gone on a road trip looking forward to seeing my mpg then. The turbo on this car is sweet. Get ready and go...

Pros
Has what I was looking for in a sports car. Which is speed and mpg..

Cons
Hard for my mother 74yrs and grandma 94yrs to get in and out no hand rail for them at door.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
Jean T.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/23/2019
2016 Hyundai Veloster
I love this car. Great gas mileage. Lots of fun to drive. Perfect around town or on the highway. Mine happens to be a bright orange turbo, 6 speed. Spunky little car without breaking the bank. Highly recommend the Veloster.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Teri W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/21/2019
The Hyundai Veloster SUCKS
This car Sucks. Bad transmission and bad motor. I would Never recommend this car to anyone Ever! I cant even get a decent trade in at the Hyundai dealership. They know its bad also. I hope to get rid of it

Pros
None. Mine is a Lemon.

Cons
The duel clutch sucks and the motor performance and reliability is Bad!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Lloyd P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/19/2019
Great Car!
I have just turned 32, 000 miles. Have had no issues with the car. Drives very well in town, and on the highway. I have a serious back injury and sure enjoy the heated seats, help ease the sciatica while driving. Car can carry an amazing amount of stuff. It has helped me move!

Cons
Stiff suspension on bumpy highways, I knew this when I purchased the car, it has been an excellent choice!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Railer C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/18/2019
2016 Hyundai Veloster Turbo
This car has been fun since day 1 of owning. Currently just went over 28k miles have had no problems. Has plenty of power to get up and go but the fun comes from curvy roads. This car is like a go cart, nimble. I like the manual 6 speed except during heavy traffic.

Pros
Some say it’s quirky design but all I know is it looks great from any angle.

Cons
Let’s see...
Honestly haven’t had any problems and can’t think of anything against the Veloster

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AN
ARTHUR N.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/15/2019
Excellent buy
I love just about everything when it comes to this car. From the amount of space it has to all the features including the navigation. However, there are a few down sides. There seems to be a lack of power when shifting gears in acceleration in my manual, the car in a sense shutters. Also the plastic fin on the roof of the car just came off one day while I was driving. Made it seem like poor quality.

Pros
It had been a great car that fits all my need as far as space, style, and comfort. Super reliable car.

Cons
Sometimes it's hard to see out of the back passenger corner when trying to turn. The plastic fin seemed cheap and came off. And there is rattling when I drive the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
Michael E.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/04/2019
Love at first sitting.
I knew I wanted this car the moment I sat in the seat. After driving it I wanted it even more. Going on 3 years and still in love with my Veloster Turbo. It always gets attention wherever I go.in it. It is a head Turner

Pros
Fun to drive. Good gas mileage. Great styling, nice interior.

Cons
None as far as I am concerned.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Cheryl T.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/24/2019
2016 Velostar
I love my car and have treated this car with great care, when I did have a issue with the wrap around warranty, I was given the run around, given several different answers and every time the answer or solution would change. I believe that the dealership could use a different approach to offering different products for their vehicle that they sell. I had in the past recommended my car and this dealership with the utmost praise, other than the service department, my opinion has changed. It's not the customer fault if the dealership changes financial employees like revolving doors and no one want to take responsibility for what the previous employee had done and/or said to the customer. They need to explain and make positive that the consumer understands completely what the dealership is selling to them. Then when a issue comes up and they need to use this products that they are not lied to and mislead down the rabbit hole by whoever they talking to at the present.

Again Wayne and his service department is the 5 star of this dealership. Which is why I will continue to use them to service my vehicle

Pros
Service Department - Wayne

Cons
The general manger - don't care to deal with him at all.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Cruz D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/22/2019
My 2016 Hyundai Veloster
It is economical in gas. Drives great. I get many compliments from my co-workers every week. just love it. Love the color I chose for the car. The color Orange Pearl. I plan to take it on long trips out of state too.

Pros
It is a great car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1158 in total