2019
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5rating 4.73
4.7
(116 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DT
DAVID T.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/02/2019
N about town
i currently have about 4000 miles on my veloster N i like it more every time i drive it to say it is spirited would not hit the mark it is a very well desighed gar well thought out performs great if i did not know better i would say it was designed for me. fits like a favorite pair of jeans , comfortable like a old friend allways there .

Pros
the car

Cons
i havent found anything i simply don't like well no CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
James L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/31/2019
Great Generation
The new generation of Velosters are great. If you’re looking for a commuter car that can handle its own and get up and go. This car is for you. The sport mode gives it great throttle response for those times you wanna go pedal to the medal, and the car gets great gas mileage when you’re trying to stretch your tank as far as you can. The three doors makes it a stylish unique coupe. I love my 2019 Veloster

Pros
Sporty, fast, good gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jerry M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/28/2019
new hyundai owner. a new believer of the N!
i never owned a hyundai. the cars i’ve owned prior to purchasing this vehicle are the 3000GT VR4, bmw m3, subaru WRX, MB C300 sport and all with manual transmission. i was actually looking to purchase a VW GTI as a daily driver when i came across a youtube video comparing the VW to this new Veloster. i was so intrigued and had to schedule to see the N at Hyundai of South Brunswick NJ as they have 1 available. i’ve test driven the GTi a week prior. before i went to the Hyundai dealership i already know a lot about the N thru internet and watching a lot of youtube videos. the day came to see and test drive the car. i was amazed on how a Hyundai car can perform like that. i had my MB C300 with me and traded it in. i had to take the N home with me that day. the drive felt more like my previous BMW M3. kudos to Hyundai in getting Albert Biermann from BMW. it has been 5 weeks since i bought my red Veloster N and i have been enjoying everysingle minute of daily driving with it. i love the handling, precision turns, holding corners, exhaust sound, acceleration and the auto rev matching ability. not particularly ecstatic with the cheap plastic interior but i understand why. at the price i paid of less than $30k, OMG it is a bargain! thanks Hyundai for building a car so enjoyable! pls make an N model for the new Pallisade or the Santa Fe and i will trade in my X5 for another Hyundai!

Pros
performance bargain

Cons
cheap plastic interior

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
Kevin H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/28/2019
2019 R$pec
I love everything about my Veloster except the noise I get from the tires so I will be changing them. I had to get use to the clutch also and the new car plastic smell but it went away. I love the gas mileage and the performance from such a small engine when I'm used to V8 engines.

Pros
Styling
Gas mileage
Performance
Multimedia system

Cons
No sunroof and navigation for Rspec models
Plastic smell
Tire noise
Clutch takes time to get use to

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
David T.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/28/2019
The great N
I waited patiently for the N to come out I was in Bentley Hyundai having my 2015 R-spec serviced (oil change and upper intake cleaned ) when the N came in on a delivery truck. It was less than expected on MSRP so i traded for the N that day. I have been a Bentley Hyundai customer since 2012 when i had my 2012 Accent se and went to Bentley for servicing. Great people and Great service. I ran with Ford for quite a few years but i was let down by their sales and maintenance departments and the cars qualith was going nowhere not better each year like Hyundai is doing .Keep up the great job you are doing

Pros
as shown above with every new car i have bought from Hyundai they get better.

Cons
better tires maybe (kind of a subjective area as i am sure tire manufacturers could do better )

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Tina P.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/26/2019
Love my 2019 Veloster!
Looking for a fun car? I wasn't sure what I was shopping for but knew it the minute I drove this baby. Love my Veloster- sun roof, turbo and more bells and whistles than I can count. I previously had a Santa Fe for almost 10 years so I knew the Hyundai was a solid manufacturer but I was looking for something different. I found my "different" in the Veloster. Makes me smile every time I drive it. Very pleased with the response, the gas mileage and the overall performance.

Pros
Love this car!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
James F.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/19/2019
Poor man's GTI
I had a GTI and loved it. This car cost thousands less. Yes, the GTI has a few more HP. It is a bit smoother in acceleration and is a more refined driving experience. But when I see the Veloster, it actually makes me smile. I think the styling is cooler. I have the Ultimate Turbo in sunset orange with the 6 speed. (Hyundai deserves HUGE kudos for making this car in cool colors with a stick shift!!!) SO many other car companies are wimping out and making "sports cars" that do not have manual transmissions. Or you CAN get a MT, but only stripped down and in an ugly color. HUGE credit to Hyundai on this.

The car is fun to drive, accelerates nicely and has great technology. If you have never had "rain sensing wipers," this feature alone is a huge bonus. The information on the gauges is not quite as easy to read or get to, as it is in some cars. But it is acceptable.

I bought this car in part because of the quirky door configuration, but I am a tiny bit bummed that it is not easier to access the back seat from the driver's side. A seat that folds forward and slides to allow access without needing to mess up your seat settings would have been nice. I know it can be done, because I have had cars that do it. That is a tiny knock, but it is an annoyance.

In most other respects, the car has given me little to complain about. No, it is not a GTI. But it is a great substitute for thousands of dollars less. And when you see it, it will make you smile.

Pros
Fun to drive, accelerates nicely, good gas mileage. Nice tech features. Styling that makes you smile. Great colors. Manual transmission.

Cons
Hard to access back seat from driver's side. Cup holders are poorly placed for use with a stick shift.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Shanin R.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/13/2019
2019 Veloster
Absolutely love this car! From the body design to the comfort seating, Like the options of having 3 different drive mode. Surround sound awesome. Low noise! Easy to maneuver and get around! Plenty of room!!

Pros
Love everything about it!

Cons
Seatbelt alert too high pitch
Need reverse camera alert sound low deep pitch
Hard for Hearing impaired to hear high pitch
Paint chipped near the foot step ledge driver side, from debris hitting the barely sticking out panel not flesh with the exterior door
Grip on steering is alittle tense, without the in lane mode

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
KIRK G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/09/2019
Verloster 2019 - Great Value with Style
We really enjoy driving our new 2019 Veloster. I didn't even consider this car until I saw it. We test drove it and love it. We purchased the base model which very stylish, feature rich, good pick-up with good gas mileage. My 14 year old son says this is going to be my car when I get my license.

Pros
Stylish. Good gas mileage. Good pick-up in sport mode. Bluetooth and Carplay are great with the touch screen.

Cons
Should be more convenience features in base model, like power seats and position saving, backing up alert when close to object. Doesn't have driving lights below the headlights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2019
I'm in love with my Sunset Orange 2019 Hyundai Veloster Turbo R-Spec
You might think this review is written by someone at Hyundai because I say all the right things... but it's probably because I'm a new fan-boy. This is my 3rd Hyundai product (previous 2 were 2014 Kia Cadenza and 2014 Kia Soul) and I'm very impressed so far. The R-Spec is exactly the car I was looking for and more. I wanted a small, at least decently powered car that was fun. The car comes with sticky sport tires and a short throw 6 speed manual... It's got all the tech I could ever need... it's just what I was looking for and the price was too good to pass on. I would highly recommend this car as it just puts a smile on your face every time you drive it.

Pros
Fun, tech, sporty, design, quirky, color, all the other things.

Cons
Had one wheel that needed to be replaced because the clear coat was coming off badly. Warranty took care of it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
Noreen M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/03/2019
Veloster is Great
This is the second Veloster I have owned, and I love this car. It is sporty, fun to drive and has great styling. My husband and I have taken several long trips and it is very comfortable and there is ample storage for luggage. One major consideration when purchasing the first Veloster was that it has front wheel drive. It handles great in the snow.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Anita M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/03/2019
Love teh Veloster
We bought the 2019 1.6 Turbo model and think it's well worth the extra $$ for all the extra features and power. Rear window visibility is adequate but limited, but you get used to it. The smart features such as driver's assist and blind side warnings are great to have and definitely keep you safer on the road. This car is sporty and well worth the money.

Pros
Safety features

Cons
Limited rear window visibility

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
SITHIDETH K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/02/2019
Veloster N is beyond my expectations
This car's main competitors are the Focus ST, Civic Si and Golf GTi and the performance exceeds all of those cars. I now know why people compare this to the Civic Type-R constantly. Getting behind the wheel of this car pretty much every day, it has put a smile on my face, no matter how bad of a work day I had.

Pros
-Quick car
-Handling exceeds other cars under the $30k price point
-Easy to completely disable traction and stability control

Cons
-Was released during winter and only offered summer tires
-Found a screw on the floor in the back and have no idea how it got there or what's loose

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Anita C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/02/2019
Awesome Car
Awesome car, it is fun to drive and economical even with the turbo and manual transmission.. As previous owner of a Veloster I would definitely recommend them. The safety features of the car was a selling point, along with the overall appearance and style of the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Annette R.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/27/2019
Best bang for the buck sports car
I got the r-spec and it is an amazing first car. Lots of features and fun for the price. Everything works as it should. I couldn't of asked for a better car for the price. I really enjoy it. The styling is also very good.

Pros
Fun to drive
Good MPG
Cheap price
Cool features

Cons
Interior creeks sometimes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
Theodore G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/25/2019
veloster N
originally I was going to purchase the turbo r spec , but was suggested to seriously consider the N model....im glad I did as it exceeded my expectations in all areas, price, engine, handling, appearance etc., but most of all color....the perform blue is incredible and this car can be tuned right in the vehicle while driving and its a blast....

Pros
great value , handles fantastic, color , reliable

Cons
interior sparce,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VM
Vinicius M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/24/2019
2019 Veloster turbo ultimate
Great car, fun to drive, I have my veloster since August 2018, and I'm still excited about the car, the fun factor is amazing, I own a 6 speed manual, ultimate turbo
I find the seats to be very comfortable, and the car have so much technology, the only thing I would ask Hyundai it would be for a better Exhaust system where it would crackle like the veloster N, something you have the option to order, over all I love my car and would recommend, I'm very happy with my choice,
I was always a honda fan in the past, but Hyundai won me over with the veloster.

Pros
All around fun car, it delivers the power when it needs it. It is that simple,
I'm a proud owner

Cons
I hear a small sound inside the dashboard when I drive, Seems like a lose screw

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Renee M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/23/2019
I love my Veloster
This is my second Veloster . I had the 2016 and now I have the 2019 Turbo. Great handling, style and love the new features. It’s styish. I have The moonroof and set sun on my forehead almost every day.

Pros
I get tons of compliments on style. Plus it’s very roomie. I can fit a 6 ft. Christmas tree by just folding Down the seats . Plus it’s so fun to drive.

Cons
Front end is low so I hit a parking pilon day one and bent the under carriage of the bumper.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Terrance C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/23/2019
Everything you want and need
I've owned two 2029 Velosters - a turbo ultimate and now the N. And t need your help. We need to buy more of these N models so they can justify just putting all the stuff that makes the Ultimate even a model into the N - heated seats and will charger would be nice, but I'm thinking big like two tone interior and exterior and more paint options like Sunset Orange. That's really all the car needs.

It's fast, slick 6 speed manual is a delight to operate, it has more cargo space than a Jeep renegade, it sounds fantastic, it's thunderously fun to drive, a laugh on a back road, and you can tune how the car drives on top of the preset modes.

I cannot wait to see what they do next, because I haven't had this much fun driving since the 90's...and I was a bit young to appreciate my dad's "active driving" style then.

Test drive this car and I think you'll fall in love with it too - just remember, in the winter you'll need winter tires if you live in a place that actually has snow or ice or before 40F temps regularly. You'll thank me later.

Pros
Incredibly fun to drive, more cargo space than you expect, great performance and handling, best cloth seats at and above its price point, aggressive MSRP

Cons
Dealers are marking these up like crazy so be careful, no real significant color on the inside, limited exterior colors, no heated seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Michael D.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/20/2019
Veloster Turbo R Spec
Car is super fun to drive and handles incredibly well. Looks awesome and it's fun in a 6 speed manual. Awesome wheels and tires and the interior is nicely layed out and comfortable. Road noise is prevalent and some of the plastics look cheap

Pros
Fun to drive, great on gas, tons of cargo room, comfortable seats

Cons
My Bluelink never has worked and the dealership can't fix it, car is not great in any type of snow, some of the interior plastics are cheap

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 116 in total