2019
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(298 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DB
Daniel B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/13/2019
Veloster Ultimate with navigation
Love this car! Hugs the road and gets excellent gas mileage! Really love to drive this on narrow roads/bridges. Has a lot of power for in the mountains! Fun to drive! If you are older, like us, in our 70's, it is a little harder to get in and out of due to it being lower since it is a sports car.

Pros
Fun to drive, Love the sport mode. Has a lot of built in features.

Cons
A little difficult to get into and out since we are in our 70's. Had a bulge on the tire and it took 3 weeks for them to replace it. - Mirrors are wrinkled - Don't know why - are the wires getting too hot and melted the plastic? - Company is giving us a hard time with this since they have never seen it happen before.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KU
KRISTINA U.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/12/2019
When you upgrade your car, and its worse than your old vehicle.
I had a 2016 Veloster (non-turbo) top of the line car. It was perfect and never had a problem, minus a bag getting stuck under. When the new 2019 Veloster R-Spec came out, I was excited to upgrade. I never had an awful experience with Hyundai and was expecting the high customer service as I had when I bought my 2016. Now having owned my 2019, I had a clutch break on me (took over a month to fix and only had a rental for 2 weeks), now having clicking noises when I turn my steering wheel after the clutch was replaced, and a rattling in my passenger door when I drive. I also had extreme difficulty trying to reach the service bay when my car was in the shop. I don't know what has happened but even when I purchased my 2019 Veloster N, it took over 4 months to get my plates and had to get it fixed because they broke the bumper when unloading it and took over 2 months to get it to me. I had great respect for them as a dealership, and with their warranty, as I was treated highly with my 2016, but once upgrading I don't know if I would go back and purchase.

Pros
fuel economic, great for transporting pets, sound system is good.

Cons
Clutch broke within 4 months, recalls needed by 4 months, door rattles now.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/12/2019
Thank you. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch shortly. ^cc

LE
Laurence E.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/10/2019
The Red Bomb
For the price, The Bomb can't be beat. Just wish the ride and road noise was not so irritating. The Bomb is really fun to drive. I enjoy the being able to manually shift the transmission if I want. This bomb is a real road hugger. I guess you can tell I purchased it for the handling.

Pros
Handling, style, performance, and features.

Cons
Ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Robert S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/10/2019
I'm Kind of annoyed I had to come up with a title for a survey I am doing you as a courtesy
I'm Kind of annoyed I had to come up with a summary for a survey I am doing you as a courtesy, I don't work for you or your ding-dong survey team and whatever they think they are going to get out of forcing people to do essays.

Pros
Price/performance with regular gas and early/flat torque is magnificent. Trunk space ended up being just right and not a problem for hauling and groceries. Small chassis is ridiculously versatile in street maneuver and park situations over a normal sedan. Gives feel of the road and car, other options particularly Jetta GLI has too much computer between car and driver. Surprised at precision of lower gears for maintaining gas mileage on highly variable speed commutes, struck me as unnecessary rowing through gears until I had that experience. Safety features already paid off in avoiding an accident, major reason I wanted to buy new.

Cons
Camera/entertainment display screen is intrusive and ugly. Shocker on the 3700 mile maintenance cycle, modern vehicles aspiring to compete with VW & Honda & Mazda in this affordable sport commuter segment should be higher. Ceiling and seat issues make this less a 3-person car and more a 2.5-person car. The hatch should be more hatchback for hauling backseat down loads.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
James G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2019
Great!
I really enjoy my Veloster R Spec! It handles great, terrific style, easy to navigate all the instruments and tools in the vehicle. Very easy phone integration and the voice commands are excellent for hands free use.

Pros
Excellent power, style and reliability!

Cons
Would love to have a faster clutch but not a real issue!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
STEVEN G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/03/2019
Veloster Ultimate Turbo 2019
This is my second Veloster - I previously owned a 2014. This car has about a dozen improvements over the previous car; things such as a better engine sound; better radio sound; more safety features, etc. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a car this size.

Pros
Available in a stick; spare tire (not an inflation kit); Good gas milage and fuel tank size; Several safety features and more.

Cons
Interior seat color (grey). Limited exterior color options

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JOSEPH P.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2019
veloster r spec
veloster rpsec is great to drive sporty great gas mileage, cant say enough good things about it. BANG for the buck! shifter is great and very easy to use. sport mode really opens the car up!

would love to trade up to the N
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DALE D.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/27/2019
Veloster
Veloster is fun to drive, gets much better fuel economy than expected. A little hard to get into and out of but that’s probably due more to my age and being used to a vehicle that sat higher. After one year’s ownership it has been reliable. I’ve been very happy with my choice.

Pros
Mileage, fun to drive

Cons
The wheels get snow and ice packed in them in winter and make tires feel like they are out of balance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
MARK T.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/25/2019
2019 Veloster Turbo R-Spec Review
Review of the 2019 Veloster Turbo R-Spec. The Veloster Turbo R-Spec is a unique and driver-oriented hatchback that maintains a perfect balance between performance driving characteristics and daily usability.

Pros
Extremely fun to drive, while remaining economical and practical.

Cons
Minor manufacturing defects/reliability issues.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jennifer L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/21/2019
Good car
The car is pretty good. I've had better. Overall it's super fun to drive, definitely the best looking car I've had. It's comfy and I love my heated seats especially right now with winter coming in so soon.

Pros
Looks good
Fun to drive

Cons
Could be faster

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GK
Gerald K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/19/2019
AFun Huge Value
Our 2019 Veloster is a fun car to drive. It is sporty, sound quality and the value is amazing.
We are are also impressed with the fuel mileage.
The other big winning point is the fact it has all the up to date safety features. We love our Veloster
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
M B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/15/2019
Disappointed with the quality of the 2019
I'm disappointed with the quality of the 2019 Veloster. First of all, they changed the body style too much. Not as unique as the 2016. Then the bad censors & door latch problems started. I never had any of those problems with my 2016. They did however, address the interior air-flow issues, and redesigned the dashboard. Those changes I love! It also does not lose power with the AC on like the 2016 did. This model gets up & goes when you need it!

Pros
Great gas mileage, picks up & goes when you need it. More power than the 2016.

Cons
Hard to get in & out of, especially on the passenger side.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Susan K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2019
my turbo
really fun Hyundai needs to not cut corners on passenger seats.I love the compliments and high gas millage on a turbo that uses regular gasoline.the navigation has a avoid highway feature I love so we can stop at all the fun places along the way.

Pros
10 yr warrenty turbo runs on regular gasoline

Cons
hard to get in and out.passenger seat is horrid I ride on a pillow when my husband drives

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KATHLEEN C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2019
Kate's 2019 Veloster Raptor
Great car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bravo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
Love this car and the way it drives!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DIANE G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/08/2019
Likes/Dislikes
Looks are nice. I really wanted a hybrid--a sporty hybrid, which I could not find. I do not like all the "techiness". It is distracting and why do I have to spend a whole day trying to figure it all out!!!!!!!! Why can't you put a cd player in the car???

Pros
Looks are nice

Cons
I hate all the stupid technology

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
TED G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2019
Love my 2019 Base 2.0 Auto Veloster!!
This car is a delight to drive! It makes my daily driving (over 100 miles a day, over 40,000 miles a year) a whole lot of fun. It’s very sporty when I want it to be, and it’s a long haul grand tourer when it needs to be. And then there is the VALUE on top of that. With the average new car price at >$36,000, I got this brand new for exactly HALF that price. Unbelievable car even not counting the value. And the styling plus utility make this THE CAR for me! And as far as quality and reliability, IT IS BULLET PROOF!

Pros
Everything!!!

Cons
Nothing!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Laura M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2019
Love my car
My car is just what I wanted. Having fun with it. The car is great on gas I have gotten up to 40 miles per gallon. Only one thing that could use some improvements is the pocket where you put phone would like to have a little door to close it.

Pros
It's a fun car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DAVID C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
R Spec
Awesome car fun to drive, very fast light weight great on gas. Great looking car definitely a bang for your buck. I have been very pleased and impressed I would recommend this car to everyone I know and don’t know.

Cons
Blind spot

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Robert R.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
Perfect sporty car for performance and economy
This car is not for everyone but if your looking for an affordable and unique looking vehicle this may be for you. Lots of performance and tech improvements in the 2019 Turbo models that make this car a blast to drive

Pros
Priced well
Head turning design
Well equipped
Decent backseat room for size of car
Quick and nimble performance
32 mph highway

Cons
Small sized if you’re a large human
Hard interior surfaces look plastic-y

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
ROBERTO P.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/01/2019
Excellent Value
Soon after purchasing a 2019 Hyundai Accent Premium and driving it for a week, I made the mistake of vising the dealer for a few questions I had with the purchase papers and then...I noticed the new Veloster available at the show room. My sales consultant asked If I wished to test drive one and I said YES!. Soon after the test drive and completely impressed with the car, I signed the papers for the Veloster.

Pros
Design and style. Well appointed entertainment features. Vehicle overall performance including very good and as advertised fuel economy. Very good and flexible cargo area. Excellent Hyundai overall vehicle warranty.

Cons
Driver's seat lacks lumbar support and door exit handle. Passenger seat lacks height adjustments and lumbar support. Rear passenger door lacks exit handle.
Cabin interior noise could be improved if the chassis was better insulated to minimize road noise. Better tires offered with the vehicle could also help minimize the road noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 298 in total