2019
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(316 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CB
CLARKE B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/25/2020
More Practical Than You Think!
Since Hyundai discontinued the Accent hatchback, this is the only small hatchback in their line. The asymmetrical doors are very practical: both good for the driver, yet usable for passengers. The car handles well and the back seat is unexpectedly large despite the cramped entry.

Cons
Poor seat comfort, especially the too flat seat bottoms. Noisier than I'd like, still too much road noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
Kyle K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/25/2020
Veloster N
I was looking for a reasonably priced high performance car and the Veloster N far exceeds my expectations and is very fun to drive. It has customizable performance settings and gets decent gas mileage too. Well worth the price!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VR
Vicentico R.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/21/2020
fast toy
This little puppy rocks. Those guys sure did an impressive job engineering this car. Wicked slick and fast and the comments from people I come across are always about how much they like the looks of it.

Pros
fast, strong very good handling.

Cons
not too good on the snow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Daniel M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/20/2020
Fun to drive!
A sports car thrill especially in N drive! The manual shitting is smooth; the style is classy; the exhaust and engine make you feel that you are in an expensive race car; the price is reasonable for the style and performance.

Pros
Style and performance

Cons
Summer tires seem like running on rims when one first starts out. As the ride continues, pressure on gauges read 39psi plus, and all seems well.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Richard L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/19/2020
Great starter car
The Hyundai Veloster is an extremely fun car to drive. It’s quick when you need it to be, and just sporty enough to make it practical but fun to drive. Whole not the most gas efficient car in the world, I am able to get about 300 miles to the tank. The sound system (if you get the upgraded) is fantastic. Just enough bass to send chills through you and get any passengers shocked on how good it is. The rid quality is decent. Can be very noisy sometimes. But that’s to be expected with such a small, sporty vehicle. It’s a great starter car for someone who is just wanting their first car. The warranties with Hyundai’s are always great and I have yet to have an issue with the vehicle. Had been very reliable thus far.

Pros
Sound system, fun to drive, styling.

Cons
Road noise, hard plastics throughout cabin, seat comfort.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Thomas M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2020
Toms veloster
My last veloster got destroyed by hitting a deer at 70 mph.fogured if i got a new one it'd pretty safe.I'm alive right?!talked to my regular rep and was hooked up that week.happy with my purchase.small glitches,but thats high tech.overall very happy
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Luis M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2020
2019 Hyundai Veloster Turbo
My Veloster is fun to drive. It has excellent handling ability and gets great gas mileage. I also like the Infinity sound system and navigation system. I would recommend Hyundai vehicles to friends and family.

Pros
Great acceleration
Great gas mileage
Great handling ability
Great sound and navigation systems

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DOUGLAS H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/11/2020
The 2019 Veloster N Performance Package is AMAZING!
The 2019 Veloster N Performance Package is amazing!
The performance, quality, power, infotainment and styling is top class. It also comes TRACK READY! It has an outstanding warranty and reputation. I did my research on Hyundsi’s competitors and made my decision on all of the above. You cant find a better performance car for this price. Go buy one!!!

Pros
ELSD, power, no turbo lag, exhaust is amazing, adjustability of N mode, infotainment system, performance blue paint, warranty, quality, durability, 5.2 0-60mph!!!

Cons
Interior trim materials are average. N performance parts and kits coming soon from Hyundai.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
DAVID T.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/08/2020
the best i have driven in 10 years
the Veloster has a great deal of fun factor built in to its design. a very good economy car a good performance factor with the turbo and R-spec and now with the N line you have set the bar in what should be expected . Its not overly hard to make a car go fast corner good , but most manufacturers do this a high price. You have made a highly capable performance car that is a pleasure to drive on a daily basis . This is good as most people cant efford a weekend hot rod to go racing about with. the Veloster is truly the best of two worlds. In my mind you have nade a great car.

Pros
to may to list

Cons
? Well Hummmm

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
ESPERANZA B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/07/2020
Fun
Hyundai sold me a car not based on performance or any metric used to gauge speed but on xhilaration. My Hyundai delivers just that and more. My only request would be slightly more power and all wheel drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jon H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/04/2020
2019 Veloster Feedback
Meets all of my current needs as a cheap reliable and practical daily driver. If I were to purchase another Veloster in the future I’d like to see a version of the Veloster N with AWD or a sporty hybrid.

Pros
Practicality
Handling
MPG
Features

Cons
So so styling
Cheap interior plastics
Lack of AWD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
WILLIAM B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/03/2020
Don't Mess Around, Get An Ultimate!
I've only gotten 9,000 miles so far, but it's been an excellent ride. There have been two recalls which were completed during my service visit. Long distance travel worked great; I easily did 1,000 miles in a day. It gets decent mileage and has a decent range. I've had it up to 145 mph, nice and stable. Good cornering. I'm still getting used to the turbo delay, but once it kicks in it's very nice. I bought the top end model, the Ultimate. If you buy a Veloster, go with it if you can.

Pros
A lot of safety features and things to help drive better. The smart systems really are.

Cons
Front wheel drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Tammy M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/02/2020
Service
Very fast car I enjoyed driving great car enjoy driving it .just like the car.just like the car.my service advisor Mr.Pena is a awesome advisor he explained very well in details about your car and if need it done can you go to next service

Pros
Very nice car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
John M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/02/2020
Nice car and great price
Nice car, great gas mileage and affordable. Looks sporty and drives nice.Great standard features. Came with nice wheels and tires. Easy to change oil and do standard maintenance.This is my fourth brand new Hyundai in 18 years, Not sure about the first one in 2001 but the others are still on the road with 200,000 miles on the 2011 and 145,000 miles on the 2015

Pros
Sporty, Good gas mileage. Good looking car

Cons
Transmission seal went out at 23,000 miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
JENNIFER L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/01/2020
Velosturd
I really love the car. The engine quality could be much better. I expected better from Hyundai. Though I love my Veloster very much, I'll never buy another one nor will I ever buy another Hyundai. My fiancé also won't be buying another Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
CHARITY L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/19/2019
Loving it
Lots of fun to drive....................................................................................................................................................................................

Pros
Fun

Cons
None I have found yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
REX B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2019
It moves out!
It gets me from point A to point B. Gas mileage is good. Adequate storage space for my drums and percussion gear. Has great "pick-up" from a dead stop at entrance ramps and on the highway when you really need to move. I'm not scared to death when I hit the gas.

Pros
It has some power when you need it (not like the Tiburon)

Cons
Needs a BUMPER in the front and back to ward off parking cars.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Ken P.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2019
Pocket Rocket
Purchased the R-Spec just to get to and from work. When it comes to performance this car will run circles around our BMW X5. I might even upgrade to the N as this car is fast and having more power in this slot car would be awesome!

Pros
Sporty fun
Great value
Eye catcher

Cons
So far none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Daniel B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/13/2019
Veloster Ultimate with navigation
Love this car! Hugs the road and gets excellent gas mileage! Really love to drive this on narrow roads/bridges. Has a lot of power for in the mountains! Fun to drive! If you are older, like us, in our 70's, it is a little harder to get in and out of due to it being lower since it is a sports car.

Pros
Fun to drive, Love the sport mode. Has a lot of built in features.

Cons
A little difficult to get into and out since we are in our 70's. Had a bulge on the tire and it took 3 weeks for them to replace it. - Mirrors are wrinkled - Don't know why - are the wires getting too hot and melted the plastic? - Company is giving us a hard time with this since they have never seen it happen before.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KU
KRISTINA U.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/12/2019
When you upgrade your car, and its worse than your old vehicle.
I had a 2016 Veloster (non-turbo) top of the line car. It was perfect and never had a problem, minus a bag getting stuck under. When the new 2019 Veloster R-Spec came out, I was excited to upgrade. I never had an awful experience with Hyundai and was expecting the high customer service as I had when I bought my 2016. Now having owned my 2019, I had a clutch break on me (took over a month to fix and only had a rental for 2 weeks), now having clicking noises when I turn my steering wheel after the clutch was replaced, and a rattling in my passenger door when I drive. I also had extreme difficulty trying to reach the service bay when my car was in the shop. I don't know what has happened but even when I purchased my 2019 Veloster N, it took over 4 months to get my plates and had to get it fixed because they broke the bumper when unloading it and took over 2 months to get it to me. I had great respect for them as a dealership, and with their warranty, as I was treated highly with my 2016, but once upgrading I don't know if I would go back and purchase.

Pros
fuel economic, great for transporting pets, sound system is good.

Cons
Clutch broke within 4 months, recalls needed by 4 months, door rattles now.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/12/2019
Thank you. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch shortly. ^cc
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 316 in total