2019
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(116 Reviews)
Latest review 11 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


RW
Ronald W.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2018
Wonderful car
This is our 3rd veloster and love them. Our son and daughter in law fell in love with our cars and now want one. Comfort and lots of room. 3 doors make it sporty. Great gas mileage. Fantastic warranty.

Pros
To many ro list. Great car

Cons
Low to ground for getting out if disabled

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CE
CECILIA E.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/21/2018
The Second Time Around
I loved my first Veloster in 2015 that I leased my second one, a 2019, this past June 22nd and I love it because it reminds me of a mini woody that surfers would drive in the sixties, love the sounds and the looks, so happy!

Pros
Love it all

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LZ
LINDA Z.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2018
Awesome fun car to drive
I just bought a 2019 Hyundai Veloster and I love it! It is so much fun to drive that I have to think of places to go just to drive it! It just hums along! I bought it because of the gas mileage savings from my SUV, the hatchback to carry large things if I buy something large and I wanted to be able to make it through more lights while they are yellow and not red so I love the turbo for just that reason! It is a great fun to drive little car at a great price with great gas mileage and all the safety features saved me money on my car insurance! A win win!

Pros
Gas mileage Cargo capacity
Lower insurance. Great value
Fun to drive
Cool tech features. Great and decent price

Cons
Little bumpy due to small thin tires

Maybe not as good in the winter as an SUV 4 wheel drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Terrance C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2018
Refined and much improved
I came from a Nissan Juke, so I understand quirky. The old Veloster was quirky, but lacking in feel and performance. This Veloster is very much not, and everything from the driving experience to the cargo capacity to the surprising amount of headroom makes this car a win.

Do yourself a favor: Find it in a manual. If you don't know how to drive one, have them teach you. The automatic is fine, the dual clutch better, but the manual completes the experience when it comes to driver engagement (though if you live in stop and go traffic, I understand if you skip the manual). The manual comes with performance tires that allow you to stick into a corner in ways that beggar belief, and it's incredibly thrilling to experience.

There's more cargo capacity in here than a Jeep renegade! Facts. You can fit most adults in all seats. Facts. This car does only seat 4, so maybe not the family sedan if that's your style, but if you're looking for style and substance, this is a car I recommend.

For those who want a more stylish interior over a more engaging driver experience, the hard touch plastics won't please you but it is more tastefully grained. The turbo ultimate comes with a two tone that helps a lot.

Oh, if you can afford it, skip the base models and snag a turbo trim model. That's where the fun is.

Pros
Engaging, fun to drive
Filled with a lot of good tech/driver assistance features - all of which you can turn off
Stylish with performance and handling to match
More cargo space than a Jeep renegade

Cons
If you're over 6' tall, you might struggle in the cabin
Style is not for everyone
Only the trims with a 6-speed manual come with the performance tires
A lot of mostly well handled hard touch plastics - you will not confuse this interior with a Volkswagen GTI

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WV
Walter V.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2018
Veloster of my dreams
Great all around. I can't believe how many features this vehicle carries, I love the wireless phone connection. The infinity sound system is to die for (clear and loud). The best thing about this vehicle is the price and Warranty, I highly recommend buying a 2019 Hyundai Veloster.

Pros
Sound system - Safety features - long sunroof - Comfortable - nice wheels - 3 doors

Cons
Slightly low - small back window - manual seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DEBORAH M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/14/2018
2019 Veloster Worth a Test-Drive
Traded in a 2013 Veloster Turbo for a 2019 Veloster Turbo. Impressed with the things they changed. Disappointment with some of the things they didn't change. But, overall, the car is fun to drive with additional safety features not offered back in 2013.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
TODD W.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/01/2018
From the ashes came a Pheonix
Hi. I just bought my brand new 2019 Veloster after my beloved Ford Focus was totaled. I had actually had interest in the new Veloster because is what described as being far more buttoned down and able to provide larger interior space then the outgoing model. As long as I had to buy a vehicle I was going to get as close to the Focus in pure form as possible. Unfortunately, through out its life my Focus had lots of recall notices sent to me. I hate those as much as I hate getting my internet bill. Anyhow's, this vehicle is fast, it is really smooth for its price...and better then some pricier merchandise I looked at. It also gets better mileage then on the sticker. I'm getting a strong 37 mpg in all highway driving. This was found thru miles driven divided by gallons to replace method. So, if you drive it normal, which you can because it doesn't need to be floored to get anywhere, you will get great mileage. Here's another great aspect of this car. It actually has good leg room for the back. I'm 6'2" tall and I still have two inches of knee room if I set the driver's seat to my forward seat position. Also, the rear trunk is one you stack. I had four roll aboard bags on top of each other two by two back there with two over nighter bags and still had room for two sets of scuba fins and masks. Actually, I also tried getting scuba tanks back there. You can get eight in there up right. Blew my mind away that it could do this without them rumbling around back there. Other, great aspects are the cubbies to place things. The one under the HVAC controls will almost void out the necessity of the one in the arm rest. It will hold something the size of a square nacho bell grande box...if you have to ask...lol. As for styling...I was always a fan of the Renault R5 turbo...this car has all the same charm...the styling is great for a car adding a fourth door just for utility. One last honest review. After losing my Focus I thought I would be rather unhappy I would have to spend more money on another car. My Veloster hasn't kept that feeling. I'm happy I got it and think I would have been missing out if I didn't get it. Hyundai really did a good job on this one. Hope you think so too.

Pros
Acceleration doesn't require flooring it to get anywhere or pass anyone.

That fourth door is great for helping get bulky scuba equipment, large scale RC aircraft parts or three cat kennels safely in place.

The A/C can actually hold its own against 105 degree Florida heat (big plus plus).

The screen for the audio and HVAC options is at the right size for everything. It also doesn't have a gimmicky font ruining the experience.

Want to go some where cheap with the performance of Genesis turbo? The sticker is conservative...this car will get 37 mpg on long drives if you drive it normal.

Also, the engine really is quiet in the cabin. This will make the long journey listening to the Infinity sound system quite relaxing.

Cons
Rear seat head room is short...it is what it is with the hot hatch design.

Hyundai needs voice command audio controls for music....are you listening Hyundai?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
ALFONSO F.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/02/2018
Valoster
From the first time I saw this car I wanted to buy it. Had to wait till a white turbo was in stock. This car is so much fun to drive. It has a great sound system. I love this car. I am glad I bought it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
POLK L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/08/2018
2019 Ultimate Turbo Veloster
The design of this car will turn heads. It’s a very unique yet handsome car. The two-tone color on the Ultimate Turbo trim is particularly sexy. The back is redesigned and the lights and diffuser look very attractive. Overall this is a very fun car to drive. If you are looking for a car that looks unique and not like anything else on the market, this is your car.

Pros
Qi Wireless Charging mat, wired Apple CarPlay , extra wide moonroof.

Cons
No wireless Apple CarPlay

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CO
Christian O.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/24/2018
Perfect sporty car for me and my family loves it !!
The price for the 2019 Veloster was right for the value of the car and most importantly the safety features, such as driver assist. The car has comfortable seating and there fits perfectly in my garage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MARK G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2018
Excellent Quality Products from Excellent People who know their vehicles.
Quality service. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Pros
Design and drive

Cons
n/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
ROSALIE S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/26/2018
my 2019 hyundai veloster
my experience at this dealership was extra fine. The salesman was very kind soft spoken and knowledgeable. The staff at the dealership were very helpful. All in all my experience there was extremely enjoyable and I would definitely bring the car in to service there and would consider buying another car from them in the future. The salesman I had and the management do a very good job.

Pros
styling

Cons
manual front seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Carol S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/14/2018
My review is excellent.
I love the small, yet sportiness of the car. I am 52 years old, and I just traded in a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The Impala had 285,000 plus miles on it. I had inherited the car back in 2015 from my dad, since my Nissan Sentra had died. I realized I did not want another Impala, since I am 5 feet tall, and I really wanted something that fits my personality, which is jazzy, cute, trendy, yet stylish. It is a really fun car, I feel like "brand new," each time I ride in it. I enjoy the normal, sport and smart drives, that I can alternate with. My 5 year old Grandson was with me when I was approved for the car. I had just gone to test drive the Veloster, since I had seen it a week prior on the highway, and was like, hmm, I like that car, God. When driving of the parking lot, my Grandson said, "Grandma, you have a fast car!" I chuckled, but did not realize how fast the car really can be. I am very satisfied.

Pros
Everything is Excellent!

Cons
The problem is the defroster, is real slow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
BERND L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/17/2018
Fun Little Car with lots of Extras and Horsepowers
The exterior looks absolutely amazing. The Ultimate Edition has nice red accents and rims to fall in love with. The interior is also matches the look and feel of the car. Yes, it's small and you can't expect huge comfort on it (especially not on the back row) but for a small car, the trunk is very roomy (2 big tennis bags are no problem to accommodate). The power what the engine provides is absolutely breath taking. 200+ hp which can press you into the seat still make me smile. Also the way it just sticks on the ground on curvy roads makes me feel safe and connected to the street.
Since I got the Ultimate edition, all the extras like moon roof, blind spot detection, lane keeping assistant, heads-up display are the icing of the cake.
In my opinion, you get way more for the price you pay. Very happy with that choice!

Pros
1.6l Turbo
SPORT Mode
Manual transmission
Blind Spot Detection
Moon roof
Heads Up Display
Style (interior and exterior)

Cons
Height of the car. For 6'3 person right at the edge

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
RICHARD L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/20/2018
Veloster
Very satisfied with the Veloster. Styling and features of the R-Spec model are great. Performance in sport mode or when turbo kicks in is amazing. Setting of the custom engine sound is very well done. All the controls for climate and audio are easy to use.

Cons
Media tone controls cannot be set for sufficient highs. My treble is set to +10 and still no highs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VA
Vernessa A.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2018
Love this car
Great value for the money and fun to drive daily or for work. Great on gas and turns heads. I bought this after a terrible accident totalled my prior car and was looking for a lower payment and great gas mileage. Im done leasing and this wound up being a great solution

Pros
Quick and responsive drive
Fun to Drive

Cons
Size is small but you get used to it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DEBORAH C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2018
Fabulous Car!
This is my third Veloster. I have owned a 2014, 2016, and now a 2019! The 2019 is the best one so far. I absolutely love the Veloster Turbo. It’s handling, look, third door, and gas mileage are all truly wonderful! Thank you Hyundai!

Pros
Everything!

Cons
Nothing!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Alma L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2018
It fits my needs
I am please with my car. I looked around and honestly I was looking for the Elantra GT Buy because of the space but because I was always thinking of my two step kids but my husband made a good pout 90% of the time is me in the car. So when I saw this one it was perfect! I love it!

Pros
Even is a sport car is very spacious

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Janice M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/10/2018
slvr1fx
I had a ride in my nieces Veloster and fell in love with it about a couple weeks later I traded my tuscon in on the Veloster couldn't wait to get behind the wheel I decided to moveout to Arizona but I didn't want to drive alone so me and my niece drove out at the end of September and then I flew her back home to Myrtle Beach so I am now an Arisonian and a proud owner of a beautiful Veloster this will be my last car so I will enjoy it as long as I can thank you again for your service
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
SARAH R.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2018
2019 Veloster Premium edition
This is my first new car. I’ve owned numerous brands before. This takes the cake. It’s as beautiful on the inside as it is on the outside. It’s practical, sporty, sexy, and efficient all in one package.

I feel like I’m able to drive a nice sports car, without having to pay top tier money. It’s not as fast as other sports cars, but oddly I’m fine with that. I’m very comfortable in the car. Some people might not like the hard plastic surface of the interior, but it works nice for me. I don’t have to worry about my dogs paws accidentally messing with leather.

I’m very happy and satisfied with this car!

Pros
Comfy seats
Sleek exterior
Quick pick up
Nice speaker system
Good backseat space
Trunk space

Cons
Bumpy ride occasionally
Small back window

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 116 in total