2019
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(386 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SS
Scott S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/20/2020
Fan of the Model - maybe too soon for the new 2.0 version
The vehicle was purchased with scratches that I did not see at first. My wife noticed when I first brought the vehicle home, so I either purchased it that way of scratched it on the ride home. The interior features are awesome. Starter just went up almost two years after purchase (bad), but fully covered repair and tow (service department was fantastic). I'm still a fan and may have bought into the 2.0 version too early. Miss the old styling of the sunroof.

Pros
Added features such as driver-assist and heated seats are awesome.

Cons
Miss the old sunroof. Starter went up in the first/second year. The dealer was not helpful in repairing or offering a paint kit to address scratches.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
MICHAEL K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/14/2020
Good little car
Fun car to drive, there are faster ones, but for the price, warranty and fun it would be hard to beat. Have owned 4 KIA’s, 1 Genesis and now 2 Hyundias and never had any issues. 12 years ago I never would have thought I would own one, now look at me 4 of the 6 still in the garage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Joshua M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/12/2020
Fun capable little hatchback
I've had my 2019 Veloster N Performance Package for a year now and it has given me no problems in the 12,000 miles I've driven it.

I wish I could give this car 5 stars because 90% of the car deserves it. The interior might be plastic but nothing you touch feels bad. It might not have lane assist or radar cruise control but it doesn't need any of that stuff to be an amazing driving experience. It's a Hyundai don't expect an Audi.

What really holds the car back is the stock pirelli tires being terrible and the wheels being heavy and ugly. Other than a few minor vibrations that were easily fixed and the tires the car has been amazing.

Pros
Fun, peppy, handles well, sounds amazing, drivers car

Cons
Tires, some vibrations/rattles , stiff suspension

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mona M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/10/2020
Veloster
Great car overall. My husband who is the primary driver loves it. The driving mode is one of his favorite features. He listens to a lot of audio books, so especially appreciates the blue tooth connection.

Pros
Fuel efficient

Cons
Passenger seat not designed well for short people

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
JUSTIN E.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/07/2020
veloster n
Car is very well built and designed. Have not had any issues with the engine or features for over 10k miles now. I am able to squeeze 30mpg highway and still have the power to have fun in the city. Overall would recommend this vehicle.

Pros
Decent gas mileage very fun to drive, price, features, warranty

Cons
Limited trim options available, brake rotors keep warping, won't stay in chosen drive mode

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Marcella C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/02/2020
I love my Veloster
I fell sleep n love with the look and of the car (I looove the exterior color in Sunset Orange), I’ll be honest and I was adamant about having manual transmission. But for the trim level and model, it was well-priced and has good fuel economy (I drive A LOT for work). It also rated high in safety, which was also super important because I do drive a lot. It’s good the looks and the substance. It’s not the quietest car, but it’s sporty, so that’s to be expected. Actually, I’m now in love with the way the car sounds. Overall, I’m super happy with my purchase.

Cons
Seats are manual and not electric.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OT
Oscar T.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/02/2020
Fun Fast Loud
Fun fast and loud I smile every time I start my car I know it’s going to be a good day. I get compliments on the appearance and hot hatches always trying to race which I try not to do which takes restraint the more you push the sweeet it sounds.

Pros
Fun fast loud cool sexy

Cons
Paint Quality not what I’m use to.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ND
NINO D.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/30/2020
Veloster N
If you’re just looking for a fun, nicely equipped coupe without a lot of power, the 2.0 Premium has the right balance of features and pricing to make it our choice. From a performance stance, we’d go with the Turbo Ultimate over the N.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
NICHOLAS M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/29/2020
Great little car
Bought this car new and somehow got it for an amazing price. A lot of fun to drive and surprisingly roomy in the back. Have had the car for a year now, and very happy with my purchase. Would definitely recommend the Veloster.

Pros
Fun to drive and great value for money.

Cons
The 17" wheels that come standard on the base model let down the overall appearance of the car, though that's obviously down to personal taste.
Some of the interior plastics are cheap-looking.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
KATHERINE M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/29/2020
awesome vehicle
I really like this vehicle, tho the pic above shows a veloster turbo model, I have the N version. This is my fist manual and I'm having some good fun driving this car. I really recommend you get the manual version even though there will be an 8 speed dct coming out soon.

Pros
VERY FUN TO DRIVE!!!! I LOVE the pops and crackles while driving in the N mode!!

Cons
one of the few cons would be that when you have it in the N mode, it doesn't stay in that mode after you shut the vehicle off. There should be an option for this ability. Another con, as all the reviews state, it the high use of hard plastics. In my previous veloster, while they still used plastic, it was a "softer" type.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
JOSEPH L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/23/2020
Awesome Car
It’s goes fast and is loud. Hyundai has built an outrageously great car from top to bottom. Ever the infotainment is awesome and easy to use. The driving experience is like no other and drive smooth when you want it too.

Pros
Fun to drive

Cons
Can have some kinks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
CONNOR H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/20/2020
The Perfect Hatch for the Price
The Veloster Turbo is an excellent “Hot Hatch” compared to all of its competitors in the section. You get the performance you expect and the functionality you need to make it a perfect daily driver for everyone’s needs. The only real drawback based on design is rear and side visibility. This, however, is balanced with a good blind spot monitoring system.

Pros
- Apple CarPlay / Android Auto
- Great MPG
- Third door for easy access to rear seats
- Large Cargo area
- Beautiful performance from the 1.6L Turbo engine
- Styling (interior and exterior)
- LED Headlights and Taillights
- Blind spot monitoring
- Lane-keep assist

Cons
- Bolstering on lower portion of the seat is narrow
- Rear and side visibility

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EZ
ELADIA Z.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/18/2020
Speading the feeling
I currently own my amazing 2019 Veloster N performance Pack. I have had my eye on Hyundai since 2012 when I bought a brand new KIA Optima SX turbo. It was then when I had realized how much Hyundai had really upped there game. In fact while most car manufactures were slaking off and selling cars and suv's just based on there names reputation Hyundai was busy really hiring the right people and adding great designers and engineers to there stable. I saw in Hyundai what I saw in Honda in the 90's. The Veloster is such a great car that packs so much fun and technology at an incredible price. The Veloster N 2.0 turbo performance pack designed by albert berimen a 30 year guru that was the head of the M division at BMW. The Veloster is such a grand slam it has won car of the year over many other much more expensive competition. The bottom line is the new Veloster and Veloster N is the kind of car that will put a smile on your face every time you turn the key. I See huge things in Hyundai's future and if your in the market for a truly remarkable car at an affordable price you owe it to yourself to take a good hard look at the Veloster and there whole line up.

Pros
Amazing car that can compete with cars way above its price range. America's best warranty great gas mileage and top notch tech.

Cons
some people cant get over the lack of brand recognition.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
LAURA F.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/15/2020
Love it!
Looking for a cute little car with great gas mileage. This was perfect. Got what I wanted in a color that was a tad bit different. Amazing sound quality with stereo system. And being able to change the sound of the exhaust was a bonus.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
STEVEN/TAMMY M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/10/2020
Fun to own and drive.
Bought this to replace an Accent. I like reliability and small cars and this fit the bill. It's much nicer than my old Accent and easy to drive. I like the features such as the media screen and bluetooth. I like being able to play my own music on a USB. This car is a fun car, peppy and sporty.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FF
Forrest F.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/08/2020
Love This Car!
I purchased the 2019 Veloster Turbo on 10/31/18. I still love this car. Great performance, great style. It has been completely reliable every time I drive it.
The exterior is sleek and stylish, as is the interior.

Cons
There is that "Hyundai hesitation" when you hit the gas... It takes a second or two to respond. But, when it does respond, all the power you need is there.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Michael S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/07/2020
Newish ownership
Pedals need realigning for heel and toeing. I realize it only has three doors, but it seems parsimonious and/or bewildering to eliminate the left rear passenger window.
Overall a comfortable and rewarding drive, a true fcarguy's grocery-getter, a daily driver capable of good luggage/cargo capacity with the split rear-seat back folded.
A bit bewildering the recommended 91 octane fuel is hard to find, but in my neighbourhood Sunoco has the fuel available.

Pros
Excellent bang for the buck, can hardly wait for a track day.

Cons
Nil to date.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
MATTHEW O.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/06/2020
2019 R-Spec
It's a great little car. It's not polish perfect but at it's price point as a driver's car it's the best bang for the buck. After a year of ownership I still really enjoy the car. it's a treat to drive if you like to zip around. It's well planted. It's not brutally fast but quick & that low torque band means you don't have to wait for the power. The 6spd manual transmission with that stock B&M short throw is the cars crowning jewel. It's really good.

Pros
Quick & super fast through the corners (think gocart)
Controls are well thought out & easy to use
Solid quality
Damn the B&M shifter on that 6spd it wonderful to row

Cons
No really option choices in the R-Spec
A little plasticy (it that's a word) on inside

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JAMES H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/02/2020
A good time
I'm having a great time with the car - and the KDM crowd in general. It's a fun daily driver, looks great, handles well. I really enjoy owning this. Also really looks great with a nice ceramic coating and some tinting!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
KENNETH P.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/31/2020
Great Vehicle
This is a great little car. Amazing handling, acceleration and braking. This car is like a slot car and you feel that turbo kick in! The Sunset Orange paint is gorgeous! I prefer driving this car over my wife’s BMW X5.

Pros
The entire vehicle!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 386 in total