Business Solutions

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(21 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(21 Reviews)

JC
gravatar
Jason C.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/19/2021
Verified Review

It’s fun quirky little car

For a 23 year old utility vehicle It’s fun to drive.It may not be all plush like the newer vehicles of today but after all it is a Jeep and back then you bought a Jeep because it was a Jeep not a Cadillac
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AP
gravatar
ALAN P.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/08/2021
Verified Review

330000 miles and still everything works

This car still runs great, every thing still works, cruise, window washers front and back, heat and air. Sure can't complain after all these years and miles. Mileage is good, holds road, 4WD is excellent, goes anywhere.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AR
Alexander R.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/04/2021
Verified Review

Awesome Job

Took care of the problems my jee was having . Now just have to wait 50 miles to go back and get an inspection which they also do there. Also before he does any work to you’re vehicle he always double checks and asks if that’s what you want to do . Great service great dude.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TW
gravatar
TRUDY W.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/14/2020
Verified Review

Love it!

My Jeep is nearing 62,000 actual miles. I purchased it new and am very happy with its performance. I had a offer of $2,000.00 for it once, but I told them I wouldn't take $10,000.00. Its a 2 door with a 4 speed. Love love love it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SB
gravatar
Stephen B.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/14/2020
Verified Review

22yrs Strong

I've heard all kinds of ideas about transmission and other things going out prematurely. Never had an issue that wasn't due to age or my own driving. Great compact design for urban driving, rugged for foul weather and trails.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DP
gravatar
DEREK P.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/19/2020
Verified Review

Versatile

This jeep is good for anything and anyone 10/10 would recommend. They make anything you want after market for these things. Any motor upgrade any interior exterior or suspension. They make it all for these beasts
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TC
gravatar
TOMMY C.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/23/2019
Verified Review

340,000 miles and going strong!

Great vehicle twenty year car that will go anywhere. Red 4.0 liter 6 cylinder. 1234567890111213141516171819202122232425262728293031323334353637383040414243444546474849505152535455665758596061626364
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TH
gravatar
Terry H.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/12/2019
Verified Review

1998 Jeep Cherokee

I waited for a long time to find just the right 1998-2001 Cherokee. In 2004 I found just what I was looking for. Low mileage, like mew condition, and previously owned by a young mother, whom also loved it, took great care of it, but needed get something a little bigger because of a growing family. Lucky me. Eat your heart out 4-wheelers, i have not seen one in this good condition since I bought it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DW
gravatar
DAN W.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/22/2018
Verified Review

Love this automobile!!!!!!

The 4.0L in this Cherokee Sport is hands down unbelievably reliable. I have a 1998 I purched new and still runs like this he day I drove it away from the dealership. Jeep Engineering nailed it with this engine based on a 65’ Rambler flathead 6.... gas and oil and general maintenance, period! Going on 21 years of daily use with over 289,000 miles. Outstanding!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BJ
gravatar
Burnett J.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2018
Verified Review

The Jeep Cherokee is a great vehicle.

The Jeep Cherokee is an outstanding vehicle. It is dependable, great on gas, and very durable.The vehicle is easy to operate, stylish, fun to drive and easy to park.The Cherokee is a vary practical vehicle for an individual and a family.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BK
gravatar
BEVERLY K.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/09/2018
Verified Review

Loved all my Jeep Cherokees

Loved my 1988Jeep which lead me to purchase my 1994 Jeep Cherokee. Put a snow plow on that Cherokee, which was able to be transferred to my 1998 Cherokee. The engine of these Jeeps go on and on and on and on. After X number of years the under carriage, brake lines, etc. rust out which is the only thing that seems to stop them. Would get another in a hot minute.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RR
gravatar
Richard R.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/13/2017
Verified Review

Most reliable veichle I ever owned AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA+=

I am the original owner of this 1998 jeep Cherokee classic and it's the most reliable veichle I have ever owned It is almost 20 years old and may outlast it's owner! AAA+++
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SS
gravatar
SYLVIA S.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/12/2017

RELIABLE, STYLISH, DURABLE

If normal common-sense servicing and repairs are done to the 1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 ltr. 6-cyl 2WD then this car will continue to be a reliable transportation vehicle. We experience leaking from the undercarriage and they get fixed but then another leak in another area springs so I recommend using a garage drip pan when parking this Jeep. Keep up the repairs as needed and this vehicle will last several years. My next vehicle will be a new Jeep vehicle again while we keep this 1998 Jeep in the family as well. The front seating is comfortable and not cramped. I like a split rear cargo seat which this model doesn't have but the rear seat does drop down but not until the front driver and passenger seats are moved forward first. This very inconvenient use of the drop-down rear seat is why I did not rate a full 5 stars.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HA
gravatar
Hector A.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/13/2016

Jeep Cherokee

It's a great vehicle specially for as old as it is, wouldn't trade it for anything else.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DW
gravatar
DON W.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/01/2016

Jeep 1998

It's a tank , I've got more that I ever expected
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RP
gravatar
Robert P.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/27/2016

Jeeps are not for the routine driver

1st, we LOVE our near-vintage Cherokee 2 DR Sport (1997). We've taken impeccable care of it and recently 'renovated' it. New Paint, Interior, Custom Body work, Power Windows, Power Door Locks, Stereo, etc. It's very comfortable and drives like a dream. Most people actually think it's new and "classic reboot" of some sort. We love it. However, it is a 4WD. It's not cheap to operate. Repairs are not frequent but when they occur they're noteworthy. Mechanically, it's essentially a rock. The real issue is Chrysler electrical. Generally, if there's a problem, it's electrical. It's normally somewhat illusive and always a minor financial whammy. The upside is that we drive very short distances as we live and work in a tight area. The truck gets minimal city wear-n-tear and it's easy to park and maneuver in the city. You really appreciate it when the need for a 4WD arises.....and it does. We understand the cost of owning and operating a true 4WD vehicle with the ups and downs. Overall, we'll always own a Jeep. Nothing like it. It's just not for the average consumer.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TH
gravatar
TAYLOR H.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/13/2016

98 Jeep Cherokee Sport

At 18 years old this vehicle is a classic.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RP
gravatar
Robert P.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/19/2016

Our baby

We love our 2-door sport. It looks good, drives well and is tough as nails. Has it's issues with electrical. Chrysler; who knew!? Otherwise, a great vehicle. We've dressed ours up somewhat with custom wheel well modifications and fender flairs and body armor. Also, we invested in power windows and door locks and satellite radio. New interior throughout. It was worth it. Not two weeks go by without an offer to buy it. Had some friends actually think it was new! Just a tough, classic vehicle with a great drivetrain. Crappy mileage. Duh, it's a true 4-wheel drive. You don't get one for efficiency. You get one so you can turn right....any time you want. Love Jeeps. We must. We've had 5.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CL
gravatar
CATHY L.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/01/2016

Cathy's Jeep

I have owned my Jeep for 14 years and get compliments all the time. She is in great shape, has a powerful engine and is definitely a keeper!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JJ
gravatar
Joel J.
1998 Jeep Cherokee
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2016

It's just an old reluable

Meets its promised performance.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 21 in total

Businesses Near You


  • Domestic Auto Repair
  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Bogart Automotive & Jeep Independent Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(23 Reviews)

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Towne Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2415 Reviews)
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
2.0
(1) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Used Car Dealer
Don Wood Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(217 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5Overall Rating 3.8/5
3.8
(4) ReScores

  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Tacoma Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(12393 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1) ReScores