2002
Jeep
Liberty

Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5rating 4.62
4.6
(26 Reviews)
Latest review 5 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JR
Jason R.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2019
Solid car but has needed a lot of work over the years
Comfortable ride with decent off road performance. I have had extensive work done over the year on my 02 Renegade, and it is essentially a new car at this point. I passed the point of no return in repairs that I intend on keeping it for years to come. Engine power is decent but lower mpg is a major downside.

Pros
Comfortable. Good off road performance. If well-maintained it can be dependable. Decent engine power

Cons
Extensive repairs on 02 Renegade. Low mpg.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
PAUL G.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/07/2019
DIDN'T buy A vehicle
didn't buy a vehicle

Pros
N/A

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
Rand A.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/18/2019
Hey, It's a Real Jeep!
Doesn't look as tough as a Wrangler but this Jeep can go just about anywhere a Wrangle can... with more comfort. Wish Chrysler had continued making them. With reasonable maintenance there is no reason not to get 300,000+ miles.

Pros
Tough, comfortable, very drive-able.

Cons
Stopped making them.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Art G.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/11/2019
Not too bad a vehicle
Too many little things failing at 100,000 miles...window motors, fan blower, hydraulic support cylinders, brake light circuits, transmission faults, torque converter circuitry ...other than that.. pretty reliable and almost unstoppable in the snow.

Pros
tough little vehicle

Cons
pretty spartan unit

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JERRY C.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/21/2018
Almost Perfect
Very dependable. Love the ride - smooth most of the time unless in the outback. The only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars is the problem I had with the power windows not working, having to be fixed repeatedly.

Pros
Reliability, ease of driving.

Cons
Gas mileage in town. Power windows problem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VR
Verna R.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/20/2018
Best buy I've ever made
When we bought our Liberty we spent a lot of time on the Muleshoe, Az 4WD roads. We know she went through hell with us restoring two cabins in 10 years for the Nature Conservancy. Sadly the cabins had to be destroyed due to a squatter that vandalized them. We rescued many people stuck in floods, lost, or after they totaled their cars on those roads. We also hunted there. Very little mechanical problems.

Pros
Couldn't ask for more

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
STEVE H.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/05/2018
Dependable
Been most dependable vehicle I have ever owned. Easy to drive and park. Comfortable on long drives. Would recommend car as had almost no maintainince since I have owned the car. Wife likes the viability.

Pros
Dependable and performs as well as expected

Cons
Gas mileage only fair

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
CHRIS B.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2018
Surpassed my expectations
I own a 2002 Jeep Liberty. I purchased it early 2005. It has served me well. Replaced the transmission in 2009 and brakes recently. Minimal other repairs. I am thankful. Good 8n town and on the highway. Definitely needs studded tires in the Alaska winters or it is like bitter in a hot skillet. I have no complaints.

Pros
Reliable as long as studded snow tires are used in the winter.

Cons
Short wheel base makes it slippery on Alaska winter roads. Studded snow tires are a must.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Jim G.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2018
2002 Jeep Liberty
This has been a great vehicle for the two of us for 17 years. It is too bad Jeep discontinued the model because down the road we might have purchased a new one. There were a number of recalls early on but the Jeep dealership handled them eventually.

Pros
Easy to drive and is a good looking vehicle even as old as it is.

Cons
The window washer bottle has developed a crack ant the part is over $300 and to install it costs even more. We are going without a window washer for now.
We would recommend the vehicle and maybe buy a new one sometime but they are no longer manufactured.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TD
Theo D.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2018
jeep liberty
Love my little Liberty tho' I wish it used less oil. Do I really have to write two hundred characters when I have nothing else to say? I said all I have to say. The car is a 2002. What more is there to say about it? Ta da 200 and twenty some odd words

Cons
Uses too much oil

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
CHARLES D.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2018
Excellents
218,000 miles plus, 14 years, I have been to Canada to Florida, only problem is some wear and tear that’s was easily manageable, I’m not a mechanic but can replace just about anything on my Jeep, thanks Chrysler , she has never have let me down, because I maintain service on her, she has always brought me back home, even though she was limping, she is the famous Jeep Wrangler customerize, that cause today revolution SUV...

Pros
Very dependable

Cons
Chrysler killing it because of cheap parts made in China, come on now American made is Quality period...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAMES M.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/28/2017
Love our Liberty Jeep
I loved our first Liberty Jeep for its comfort of driving. My Jeep made me feel secure on the road for it's capabilities during rain and snow like no other car I have owned. I purchased another Jeep because of the qualities in our Liberty.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JACK H.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/05/2017
My Jeep Liberty
My Jeep Liberty is the best car I have ever owned. Its 15 years old and still runs great. I have had only two major two problems and one wasn't a failure on the part of the car, we hit a dear.

Pros
every thing

Cons
rear seat does not fold down flat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Jim G.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2017
We Love It!
We have had our Jeep Liberty for 16 years and it is the best vehicle we have ever had. It is easy to drive and comfortable for the passengers.

Cons
They don't make them anymore.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JILL K.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/13/2017
Love My Jeep
My jeep is wonderful! Just needs some work on it.

Pros
Jeeps are a good brand of cars. Stable as long as you take care of it.

Cons
Buying an older jeep with issues that the seller didn't fix and never told me as a single lady who doesn't know anything about cars isn't right!!! The big cons are... Jeeps are expensive to fix. At least for me. Lol

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LARRY M.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/13/2017
2002 Jeep liberty
2002 Jeep Liberty
Very nice and handy, wish they still made them.

Pros
Fun to drive, very usable.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Doris H.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2017
I love my JEEP
I have had my Liberty for 17 years. I got it gently used after it was a turned in rental. Still under warranty, I was impressed and fed my Jeep hunger. I've not regretted it. I keep it maintained and it works to pay its keep. Cheaper to maintain than replace with something newer. And FAR LESS EXPENSIVE THAN NEW. And guess what? I know the maintenance history -- taken care of properly, she will see 300k miles.

Pros
Comfortable for 4. Decent mileage for an older SUV. STARTS LIKE A CHARM ON A COLD WINTER DAY.

Cons
Not very roomy. Window control design was no the best (in center console). Expensive to do refular maintenance on.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KA
Kay A.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/12/2017
excelent
all repaired

Pros
lasted long time

Cons
no cruise control

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Ann G.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/23/2016
Jeep liberty
Good car.Love at first frive I am short so i sit high. love the ride Room ..Had air conditioner issues. Some other experiences...Have to imorive the Liberty for me to buy one again..
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
RANDY M.
2002 Jeep Liberty
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2016
Owned it for 14 years. Don't want to replace it.
Served us well. Used it in good weather, in snow and on ice. Used for a daily vehicle, to vacation, to haul building and landscaping supplies. Used to tow trailer hauling washer, dryer and lawnmower. Our kids, grandkids and our dogs love going for rides in our 'lil red jeep!

Pros
Great ovrall for work and play

Cons
After driving a couple hundred miles on a long trip, gets uncomfortable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 26 in total