2012
Kia
Soul

Overall Rating 4.36/5Overall Rating 4.36/5Overall Rating 4.36/5Overall Rating 4.36/5rating 4.36
4.4
(28 Reviews)
Latest review 17 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DC
Dave C.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2019
Kia Soul
As a retired couple, it meets our needs well & is reliable. We have it serviced regularly and the only major problem is that the A/C system has developed a leak that is too costly to repair...we refill with refrigerant in June or July to provide cooling during the summer heat.

Pros
It is economical & meets our needs as a retired couple well.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sharon C.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/15/2018
Reliable gas saver
Bought used and have only needed normal maintenance such as oil changes and filters, and rotating tires the sunroof leaks in a heavy rain. The power windows act up. Hard to drive in the wind, but otherwise she is great!

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
Wind blows the car easily
Easy to flip
Not a sport car, tiny 4 cylinder so you need to know her limitations before trying to pass or gain highway access

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DEBORAH H.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/07/2018
2012 KIA Soul
Comfortable, reliable and easy to drive.

Pros
Very comfortable, love having Bluetooth and Sirius Radio.

Cons
Blind spots.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Michael D.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/31/2018
Roomy
My spouse, David, and I tested many cars before purchasing the Kia Soul. We were both big guys and the Soul provided ample room in both front and rear seating areas. The price was right and we loved the Alien Green color. When split rear seat is folded down there is plenty of room for luggage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Matthew H.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/21/2018
Love it!
Best car I’ve owned! Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
LISA/BILL B.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/18/2018
Kia Soul small car with a MONSTER heart
What a fantastic small car! I’m 6’2” and it fits me great! Very safe vehicle. Will buy another one this year! The reliability is superb! The dependability is excellent! It is truly a monster of a car in a small package.

Pros
Had car for seven years and NEVER has been in shop!

Cons
My girlfriend wants me to get a newer model!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
Peter H.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2017
Kia Soul Standard 2012
I highly recommend Kia Soul cars! Very fun to drive and plenty of room for passengers and other items.

Pros
I have a standard 2012 and it’s really fun to drive. I can fit a ton of things in the car when I lower the back seats. I often refer to it as my red sports car because it has great pickup!

Cons
The plastic bumper is easily damaged if your not careful. If it has a large crack near the hood or you get into a head on accident you will most likely have to replace it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
CATHY P.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/05/2017
2012 Soul!
I'd buy another....

Pros
Good gas mileage
..easy to get in and out...good storage room

Cons
18 in tires give very rough ride....2012 soul has very cheap front speakers., literally peeled off. Just spent $100 for coil on #3 cylinder, but that's only fix in 30k miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
CHRISTIAN T.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/17/2017
Kia soul
Good car

Pros
Good gas mileage. Reliable

Cons
Loud interior noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MIKE P.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/12/2017
Rate my soul
Surprisingly good ride handles better-than-expected

Pros
Surprisingly smooth ride spaceships interior good handling good features

Cons
Engine can be sluggish probably a little too small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Lou C.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/26/2017
2012 Kia soul
My only concern is that at almost 120K miles I'm using about 2qts. Of oil between oil changes and this is after a $2000 cylinder head work.

Pros
Drive great good sound system love the stick.

Cons
Using oil

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
COLLEEN M.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2017
Love my Soul Exclaim
Great little car. Lots of pick up. Good cargo space. Easy to get in and out of. Perfect for me.

Pros
Easy to drive. Comfortable in the front seats. Lots of options if you want to upgrade. Excellent turning radius. Kia is a customer-focused company. They want you to be satisfied.

Cons
Stiff ride. Passengers in the back complain that it's like a truck.
Gas mileage isn't great, but okay. Original tires didn't make it to 40K.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
PAMELA W.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/19/2017
Love my Soul
My Soul is amazing!
At first I was not so sure that it would give me the "get up and go" that I enjoy, but my Brave Little Toaster has got some pep!!! I love it!!! I was very surprised by the amount of cabin space they have. I haul some tall folks (6'4:" and above). My tall ones fit as comfortably in the back seat as they do in the front.

Pros
lots of pep
lots of leg room

Cons
seats are somewhat hard

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
TERESA T.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/08/2016
AWESOME
I absolutely LOVE my Kia Soul. This 6 speed 4 cylinder is so easy on gas and have tremendous power unlike any I have ever owned. I will continue to buy them from now on.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SUSAN or JEFF B.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/14/2016
Kia Soul
The Soul is really fun to drive, gas mileage, not great. Seats very comfortable. Sets up high.

Pros
Looks good, fun to drive, has a lot of get up and go. Pretty roomy for a small car

Cons
Not good on gas. U can feel every bump

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
ROSALIE K.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/16/2016
Greay Car
I love my KIA SOUL..It drives great..I feel safe in my car, and it is perfect size, lots of room even for my 6'4" Son. Lots of leg and head room, fold the back seats down and you can carry anything..

Cons
I wish there was a roof rack or a way to attach one..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jeff W.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/19/2016
Kia Soul overall review,
Good not exceptional gas mileage, lots of room, comfortable and goes down the road straight. I love the sound system and have zero complaints on this car. 60000 miles before my first brake job and only front required, other then that the battery also just stopped holding a charge not bad for 4 Wisconsin winters again at 60000 miles. I currently received a notice for a recall for a possible under-body corrosion issue, and Kia is adding additional protection under this campaign. I would buy this car avian and recommend it to my friends and family. Jeffrey W-R

Pros
Gas reimbursement card from Kia 850.00 back so far AR 45000 MILES.

Cons
gas mileage was understated by manufacturer, see pros.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JV
JEFFREY V.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/01/2016
Love my Soul!
I'm partially disabled, and needed a vehicle that was easy to get into/out of and had room for me to store my wheelchair. I didn't want a full size SUV, so the Soul is perfect. With one seat down in the back I can fit my wheelchair/scooter for easy access, and it's small enough that I can park it anywhere and it's a joy to drive. I've also had several other people drive it and they've all enjoyed it as well. When the time comes for a replacement, I'm definitely looking at the EV (electric) Soul.

Pros
- Has room for a scooter/wheelchair
- Easy to drive
- Connects to my iPod
- Bluetooth for hands free operation of phone

Cons
- 2012 model doesn't have built in GPS (though it was added to later models)
- UVO (the OS that drives the stereo) can be flakey, and regularly crashes outright

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
COLLEEN M.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/25/2015
Love my 2012 Kia
Just the right size. Premium package with the Exclaim makes it practically a luxury car!

Pros
Easy to get in and out of. Comfortable in all seats. Lots of room in back for whatever you are hauling. Fun to drive.

Cons
Stiff ride. Road noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JOSEPH H.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/03/2015
The soul car
Fun car a lot of space works wonderful for a new family. Enjoy driving it

Pros
Value for the money

Cons
Resale value

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 28 in total