2014
Kia
Soul

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(72 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

BG
BARBARA G.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/27/2020
My first SVU
Have enjoyed this vehicle very much
I bought it to deal with some family problems and this vehivv resolved the issues we were having with our sedan.
Up until the other day I have not had any problems with
This car.

Pros
The pros out weigh any cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MARGARET P.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/22/2020
Love my KIA Soul!
Couldn't be happier with performance!

Pros
Pleasure to drive. The folding back seats are very helpful when loading with large items.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FE
FRANCES E.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/05/2020
The best vehicle on the market.
This is my second Kia. Never a problem, just regular maintenance. The Chevy Silverado truck that I owned prior to choosing a Kia was a lemon, especially the transmission. Still I kept it in perfect condition, which was incredibly expensive, until it had 300,000 miles on it. Great about Kia is the 100,000 mile warranty. It gives peace of mind, but I have never needed it. Just waiting for Kia trucks to be available in the U.S.

Pros
Best vehicle I ever had. I'm bucks ahead.

Cons
Can't think of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
MADISON F.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/12/2020
2014 Kia Soul
Absolutely in love with my 2014 soul! Everything runs efficiently, modern updates throughout the entire car, gas is great each time I fill up, don’t have to fill up that often either! Totally worth it!

Pros
Love mine but it is definitely a style preference depending on the person!

Cons
Not everyone’s style of vehicle from what I hear from others!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
CARL D.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/21/2020
Kia
Love the car. Service and sales are horrible. They need to fix that problem. They try to up sell all kinds of add ons that are not needed. I bought the car and had the worst time. It took six months to get plates. Just horrible.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
GREGORY S.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/23/2019
I Got Soul Power and I am Super Bad.
Great on gas, Outstanding sound system, and cost friendly for maintenance and it makes sing the song: I Got a Soul and I'm Super Bad.
Great gas mileage, affordable to maintain.
Stylish, easy to drive.

Pros
None

Cons
No spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CAROLYN S.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2019
Love it
My Kia Soul is a very reliable car. The only problem it has ever had was caused by squirrels. I was actually thinking to myself the other day that I love my Kia. I would definitely purchase another one if I needed one.

Pros
Comfortable, dependable, enough power for me.

Cons
I should have purchased the one with the back up viewer. I also would like the blind spot warning.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
KENNETH M.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/07/2019
Don’t pass up an opportunity to own one!
This is without a doubt, the best vehicle I have ever purchased. After my wife drove it, we went back and purchased her a 2015. Both our 2014 and 2015 are
Fully loaded, heated and cooled seats, heated steering wheel, rally wheels, tinted glass, all leather, gps, even mood lighting. Roomy, great mileage and just plain fun to drive. My Daughter drove it and went down to purchase one for herself! Did I mention they are affordable!

Pros
I listed all the Pros above.
Most importantly it has never cost me any money other than a brake job.

Cons
it comes with a patch kit for your tires should you get a flat rather than an actual tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jeff K.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/02/2019
Expensive Repair Costs - Typical of Foreign-built Vehicles
$400 for a remanufactured starter? This car was cheap to buy and cheaply made. Reman starters are plentiful on the market - apparently failed Kia starters are plentiful. This does not make them inexpensive. I have two vehicles from the turn of the century that both have over 150,000 miles on them, and are easy and inexpensive to maintain. Not so the Kia. I like the fact that the Soul has room for a tall driver, and it's pretty zippy, even with the base engine. I don't like the sound that the suspension makes at low speeds. My wife is on her second Odyssey in 13 years, and at 110,000 miles, it drives like it just came off the showroom floor.

Pros
Zippy little engine, roomy for a tall driver, fun to drive.

Cons
Expensive repair costs for items that should not need replacement at any age or mileage. It is definitely not in the same league with a Honda product.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Teri M.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/05/2019
I Just Love My Kia Soul????
Wish I Could Buy A Brand New Kia Soul?I Really Really Love My Pretty Fabulous Fantastic Light Brownish Kia Soul.I Should Have Purchased The Brand New Kia Soul Instead Of A Two a Year Old Model. Happy With The 2014 It’s Still Awesome,Gas Mileage,Oil Changes And Color I Just Love??‍♀️???‍♂️

Pros
Awesome,Lovely ❤️Wonderful, No Mechanical Vehicle Problems,Get Compliments,The Pretty Light Brown Color & The Inside Of The Kia Is Outstanding???It Drives Smooth,Quietly,The Heat,Air Conditioner,Windshield Wipers,The Trunk Is Nice And Enough Space And Room For Me?Thank You So Very Very Much,Thanks Be To God For The Fabulous Glorious Things He Has Does For All Of Us??I’ve Brought My Car To Marathon A Few Times Years Ago But The Staff Wasn’t Pleasant At All And The Manager Wasn’t Friendly Either. I Had To Take It Somewhere else. Sincerely Teri Mack

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
SHERYL F.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/24/2019
Wonderful car.
One of the best cars I've ever owned.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
CARL D.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/28/2019
Kia Soul
This is the best vehicle I have ever owned. It is fun to drive. It has never given me a problem. The only problem are the untrusting dealers who try to rob you on things you don't need when you purchased.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CN
CRAIG N.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/15/2019
2014 soul
great car. very roomy. a little under powered. wish it had all wheel drive,

Pros
fun, lots of room

Cons
no all wheel drive available, slow

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JIMMY F.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2019
I love my Soul
We have been together now five years and it is as good as new. Key is to keep up with your maintenance schedule and keep it clean. It does 35 and it does 75 just as easy. Second time Kia owner will remain one for the next car.

Cons
Need more color choices

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jay K.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/03/2019
Good car, but some electrical issues
I bought my car new in 2014, it has 107,000 miles on it now. There have been some electrical issues: alternator, battery, voltage regulator, and headlight assembly connectors. Some was covered under warranty. I like the car overall, but not sure if I would purchase another Kia, since the corporation is difficult to deal with (warranty issues).

Pros
Head room, seating, climate control, traction control

Cons
Electrical, cargo space, no spare tire, dealing with Kia

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jeff K.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/30/2019
A Fun Little Car With Plenty of Room
I searched high and low for a used Kia Soul that I could afford to help my daughter get over a few rough spots in life. I was looking at 2012s; the paint on the plastic armrests is always worn off (can we say "cheap?"), and they just looked a bit half baked. I was getting ready to travel to Texas to find a good one, when I was blessed to find a 2014 Base model a few miles away from home with 124,000 miles on it. Most of the vehicles in my family have over 100,000 miles. We take very good care of them, and they provide very good service. I am well aware that I have to pay for maintenance to bring a used car up to my high standards, but I have little doubt that the payback will be at least 100,000 miles of good service. That 2014 Kia was obviously well cared for and mostly dealer maintained (the dealer's phone number was on the license-plate holder - I called them). This little car is just simply fun to drive. It revs nicely, and the 6-speed automatic makes the best of 130 horsepower. I'm tall, and I fit pretty comfortably. You sit somewhat high, which makes the car feel larger than it is. I put four new tires in the back of it (with the seats down) and still had plenty of room to spare. Speaking of spares, the Base model of the car does not come with one, but parts are pretty easy to find, and you can shop around plenty of online Kia dealers who are willing to undercut each other's prices. Mine has alloy wheels, cruise control, and keyless entry, so the car isn't missing anything that I find necessary. All in all, I am very happy with my purchase, and my daughter loves it! She will love it even more once I have completed all of the maintenance tasks and the catalytic converter / firmware recall. The only flaws that my mechanic could find were a broken inner tie rod, a "seeping" transmission cooling oil line (not a crisis), and worn rear brakes (a wear item). I already knew about a small leak at the oil drain plug, and of course, the recent recall. The car feels great, including the suspension. The car looks and feels almost new, which says a lot for the quality of materials and workmanship that Kia put into it 6 years and 124,000 miles ago.

Pros
Plenty of space for cargo and a tall driver, everything we need (even in a base model), great value as a used car (depreciates pretty rapidly), demonstrated good reliability, Kia's reputation for standing behind their product. Fun to drive!

Cons
Doesn't hold its value, especially in light of recent recalls. No spare tire in the Base model. A bit under-powered in the modern age. Gas mileage is good, but about the same as my V-6 Impala that has cylinder deactivation. Kia needs to lean on dealers in small markets who charge stupid-high prices for parts and service.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
KERRY W.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/07/2019
Kia Soul
Nice gas mileage saver with plenty of space for our family. We as a family have taken it on many trips outside of Ohio with zero issues. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone. It's great to drive and has plenty of space for our family of 4.

Pros
Great for day to day driving

Cons
Not a V6

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Mike G.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/27/2019
Vehicle problems
My Kia Soul plus is a 14 bought it new I'm in my sixties do not hot rod drive like an elderly gentleman I have 74500 miles on it just now had to put my first set of tires on it I'm on my 3rd battery second starter only had to have the front brakes replaced so far one license plate light the fuel tank sending unit the worst thing I could say about the car it was in the shop for over 3 months waiting for a new motor at 68000 miles Raymond Kia in Antioch very friendly Place very nice to deal with have all my work done there service department is top-notch they did give me a loaner for the entire time

Pros
Excellent driver in the snow and ice

Cons
I believe it should get a little bit better mileage I think with a 6 cylinder it would

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JIMMY F.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/23/2019
Love my Hampster car.
Love it Love it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KE
KAREN E.
2014 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/01/2019
M little box
Did not think I would have to buy another car in my lifetime. Purchase the Soul based on size, mileage at time of purchase, ratings, and design. My only complaint is that it doesn't get as good mpg as I hoped for but I don't drive long distances like I used to do.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 72 in total