2000 Lexus RX 300

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(23 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(23 Reviews)

PB
gravatar
Patrick B.
2000 Lexus RX 300
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/06/2023
Verified Review

Most reliable and consistent vehicle I have owned.

Major service on my 2000 Lexus. From timing belt/water pump service to full Struts and most everything in between. Francisco is always attentive to what needs to be done and the repair bill is always fair and reasonable Now, for way less than even a down payment on a cheap used car, I expect to get another 100,000 miles with regular oil changes and the great help from the whole team at AAA. This car has been the best overall car I have owned. She just turned 300,000 miles and had her third timing belt/water pump service along with all new hoses and belts, new struts/springs and tires all the way around. I bought the car with 85,000 miles on her in 2009 for $9000. I have had the oil changed with full synthetic oil every 3500 miles and a full service such as above at each 100,000 mile mark. I have not had to spend much for unforseen repairs (a/c evaporater, brake pads, power steering rack, and a few other wear and tear items) in between major services. Everything works on the car all 4 power windows, cruise control, great fm sound with a multi disc cd player and a cassette player! Even the power antenna still goes up and down automatically when radio is selected. Paint is still great but front seats could use new leather seat covers ($50 ea from ebay). This car has been to school, work, shopping, etc. It has also pulled a camper, a sailboat, in all kinds of weather and has always started and never left me on the side of the road. It has even hauled 4 x 8 building materials, and lumber up to 10'. A car is not an investment or a status symbol to impress others, as an extension of your ego, but rather a tool for accomplishing certain tasks. You have to accept that a car is to transport yourself, other people and "the stuff of life", this car has given incredible service and value and still has many more good years and miles to keep on keeping on!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JL
gravatar
Jerry & Wayneen L.
2000 Lexus RX 300
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/15/2020
Verified Review

After the Engine Recall it was great!

After we had the engine recall completed. The engine stopped blowing clouds of smoke. After that it has been joy to own and a pleasure to drive. It is so quiet, I can hear my soda sloshing in the can while driving down the highway. I can hear my fleece jacket sleeve rub on my side.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LN
gravatar
LOUISE N.
2000 Lexus RX 300
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/31/2019
Verified Review

I love my car

I have driven cross country a couple of times and also to many of my vacation locations throughout the US and Canada with no problems. My Lexus is a 2000 and I have had a minimum amount of issues through the years. I think I've replaced the transmission but have not had problems with the water pump or electrical system. I'm very happy with "Pearlie Mae".
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SS
gravatar
SALLY S.
2000 Lexus RX 300
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/26/2019
Verified Review

Reliable she sharp looking at 19 years old!

I love my Lexus SUV. I bought it from a friend 9 years ago it is a 2000 RX300 white and looks almost new still it only has 113,000 miles on it which is very good for this kind of car. I've never had a car so reliable the winter in every review I see about the variety of cars and their propensity to be broken or need repair the Lexus is the best compared to all of the rest of the cars listed that's really saying something and I do believe it. New lexus's are very expensive and I probably could never afford one brand new. However I will continue if need be to buy a used Lexus probably from a private party.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RS
gravatar
RONALD S.
2000 Lexus RX 300
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/21/2018
Verified Review

Lexus RX 300 year 2000

Best of the best. I have 235K miles on it and it looks great and drives like new. Always serviced and garaged I owned a RX 2010 350 and missed my first RX 300 year 2000 so I searched and bought one.. love it!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TH
gravatar
TAMMY H.
2000 Lexus RX 300
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/23/2018
Verified Review

Lexus rx 300

I love my car. I like to drive it and love the body still. I would purchase another one. I just wished my had blue tooth. I purchased this vehicle used I had to put a little money in to it and. It runs perfect
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AR
gravatar
ANNA R.
2000 Lexus RX 300
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/22/2018
Verified Review

Lexus

I love the way it drives and rides. I would never have anything else. It’s good in the snow. Has enough pep to get me out of a jam. Long trips are easy. It’s easy to get out of. Same way of getting in. Sound system is a joy and the convenience of 6 disks is great
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TK
gravatar
TONI K.
2000 Lexus RX 300
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/30/2017
Verified Review

YAY Rx300!

My 18-year old SUV is often mistaken for a car ten years newer!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TR
gravatar
Toni R.
2000 Lexus RX 300
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/25/2017
Verified Review

Great vehicle

I bought this vehicle after the August flood here in Louisiana. I have had a couple of issues but so far I like the vehicle. It has saved me from having to pay for a Uhaul. I will keep as a second vehicle
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KR
gravatar
KEN R.
2000 Lexus RX 300
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/23/2017

Good car now 17 years old. Main reason for purschase was the air bag equipment for teenage drivers.

This car has gone though 4 teen age drivers and been in the family for almost 10 years.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MR
gravatar
MINDY R.
2000 Lexus RX 300
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/05/2017

Love my RX300 with just one tiny issue

This is the best car I've ever had. I bought it new in 2000, and 17 years later it's still running smooth at 166,0000 miles. It's solid, and good in bad weather. The only issue it has, for the last five years, is the engine light comes on. Diagnostics say oxygen leak, but several mechanics could find anything wrong. The conclusion was that it must be a glitch in the computer module.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AC
gravatar
ANITA C.
2000 Lexus RX 300
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/19/2017

Anita Chow

Very dependable, easy to park, comfortable ride, Good looking
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MR
gravatar
MINDY R.
2000 Lexus RX 300
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/21/2016

Love my car!

I brought my RX300 new and it's still running great at 158,00 miles. The ride is smooth, and it feels solid. The only issue has been the engine light that pops on I've had it checked, and there's no problem with the car, it's only in the computer that makes the light go on. It seems to be an issue with the older RX models. Other than that, I love my car. It's like an old friend that never lets me down.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KH
gravatar
KATHY H.
2000 Lexus RX 300
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/30/2016

Performance

The Lexus RX 300 us a great car. It rides great and I love it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LP
gravatar
Laura P.
2000 Lexus RX 300
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/18/2016

My Lexus 300 RX is been the most reliable and dependable car I've ever had in my whole dang life!

I love my car so much that I'm gonna buy another one it has over 248,000 miles on it and it still runs like a charm ! The interior is just getting really ratty!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DT
gravatar
DAVE T.
2000 Lexus RX 300
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/11/2016

I may have bought a budding lemon!

At 84k from a Newport Beach Lexus dealer for 10k I bought a one owner (Newport Beach female) Lexus Rx that had every indication of being a 'cream puff'. New tires, battery, detailed, always dealer serviced, etc. I've had to replace the trans, (2) fuel injector modules, water pump plus minor repairs. Lexus, like Toyotas are quality cars but expensive to repair. My wife loves it and is great on trips. One important item - Do not buy a Lexus Rx that has "All Wheel Drive" on demand. It reduces mileage, can cause excessive tire wear (mis-alignment) and must be expensive to repair although I've not had a problem - yet!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KT
gravatar
KEN T.
2000 Lexus RX 300
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/25/2016

Service

Good advice ... good service.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TU
gravatar
Tom U.
2000 Lexus RX 300
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/25/2016

A great SUV, with a few very expensive weaknesses

The 2000 year model has a known auto transmission failure issue. Some seem to run forever, but many trannies fail and Lexus has never admitted this issue. It appears that some planetary gear cases (aluminum) fail and grind out shavings, total failure. Dealer price for rebuilt unit runs around $4,500. Year model 2001 on replaced this part with steel, ending the problem. Auto door locks and power window systems fail for repair costs of $500 or more per door. My belief is plastic electric plug connector failures, common on many makes, but drivers usually replace electro mechanical components instead of checking this item. I fixed my cruise control with a bit of electrolytic grease in the under-hood plug. $1.95 instead of hundreds. A great vehicle, I have 173,000 miles on mine and love it. Huge recall for early model oil channels too small. Many short blocks replaced free by Lexus due to engine oil sludge total engine failure. Do not neglect checking fan belts, timing belt and water pump, hoses, proper lubes.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RB
gravatar
ROBERT B.
2000 Lexus RX 300
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/04/2016

It's a good car.

It's a good car. It handles well. It is reliable. The gas mileage is average.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WP
gravatar
Waymon P.
2000 Lexus RX 300
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/28/2015

Lexus reliability

Very reliable vehicle... Purchased it used about two years ago. Had about 200K miles then. Still running like a dream.. Love it
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 23 in total

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Import Auto Repair
  • Tires
Hoffman's Foreign Auto
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(537 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Import Auto Repair
  • Car Maintenance
Synergy Auto Lab
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1113 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Car Dealer
Ron's Toy Shop Inc
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1709 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Import Auto Repair
  • European Auto Repair
Baxter's Automotive
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(434 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Transmission Repair
  • Auto Repair
Cabena's Japanese Auto Care
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(895 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Auto Repair
  • Tire Sales and Repair
Ray's Automotive Center
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(634 Reviews)

  • Import Auto Repair
  • Car Maintenance
  • Auto Repair
Hudson's Import Service
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1125 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Car Maintenance
Ian's Auto Service Honda & Acura Specialist
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(557 Reviews)

  • European Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Import Auto Repair
Driven Import Auto Care
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1314 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Auto Repair
  • Car Maintenance
Accurate Auto Service
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1063 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1) ReScores