So Maximo came in after he drove from California to here. Before he left he had two front axles replaced. After they were replaced there was an audible noise when making right hand turns. His left rear hub bearing making the noise. Maximo has an AWD 2005 Toyota Matrix and to do one side in rear calls for 3.18hrs, he also needed two tires and a serpentine belt. Altogether all three items came to $1302. Maximo declined everything but belt. He asked for a discount for the hub bearing on the serpentine belt repair and I told him when/if he does the hub and tires I would extend a discount.Hub/bearing was $880.97, tires $246.76 and belt $174.90. He thought the $120 was gonna go away when he purchased the serpentine belt and I explained that the diagnostic of $120 was for our technicians time for diagnosing his noise issue which he authorized up front before write up
Ms. Crowder came to us for a Maryland State Inspection, which we performed. Having the following items fail; control arm bushings, front brake rotors, rear brake drums, battery holddown, crack in windshield and broken motor mount. As stated on her original invoice there is a charge for reinspection. Granted if we can visually reinspect an item, we generally do not charge for that. But in this case, we have to road test vehicle [for braking], remove wheels for measurements of brake rotors and drums. This is all in accordance with Maryland State Police Enforcement Code. None of the employees told her $15. And she was quick to point out that vehicle didn't need to be road tested and we could just look through the wheels. Also the crack in windshield wasn't that big. It was 3/4". We just enforce the laws as written not to fined.
Customer was advised that we could not duplicate their complaint of "white" smoke coming from exhaust. Customer was advised that that no oil was registering on oil dipstick. To quarts of oil was added to engine to get oil to register on dipstick. Customer was also advised that"blue" smoke was coming from exhaust (indicating the burning of oil. At no time was check engine light on. Technician also road tested vehicle (3 miles), but was hesitant to drive too much because of repercussions if stopped by police because of "odor" in vehicle. Customer was also advised that if "white" smoke returned, that we would recheck complaint.
Yes, we were accused of "Breaking" her right front hub bearing. Just from raising and lowering car for oil change. Truth of the matter is this is impossible to do, as we explained, showed, road tested with and offered her a very large discount to correct noise problem.
Sorry that feel your experience with us was less than stellar. But it would be unfair to the other customers that had dropped off their cars prior to yours for repairs if we pushed them back to work on yours. You were given a guestiment as to when we could start on your vehicle. Dropping your car off after hours does not constitute as your vehicle being here for that day. And we can never predict on how long diagnostics can take, especially with the unusual problem that was detected. You were kept in the loop [as you called seemingly every other hour] throughout. You just were not happy with the reasonable time line that we were able to provide. It did not help that the part ordered for you car was damaged in shipping and we had to overnight another. Other than your problem with time, your vehicle is running very well and at a fair price.
According to the mechanic, white's auto repair didn't put the spacer back when they replaced my timing belt. So I went to the shop to ask for a refund of $403.8 I paid for their mistake. Brandon from the store who handled my repair suggested that spacer was not required. But I double checked the Boston Mechanic, and confirmed that part is absolutely required!!!
Brandon said he can give me $100 store credit, but not the refund. Because I was not happy with that, he said he would have his father (store owner) call me, but his father never called even after I paid a second visit to the shop.
As Owner of White's Auto Repair, we take great pride in standing behind all of our work. But Mr. Gu was made aware that there is NO WARRANTY for customer supplied parts as stated in writing on his invoice "White's Auto Repair is not responsible for damages or loss caused by any failed part not supplied by White's Auto Repair. Customer is responsible for any additional labor charges or replacement of any supplied part or product". I liken this to someone walking into a restaurant and asking the chef to cook their supplied food, then be upset with the meal. Point being, we have years of experience in the vast range of quality of parts. Therefore we will not install the "cheapest" part because of high failure rates. This is a perfect example of going against our better judgment of installing customer supplied parts. When something fails....It's our fault. If it were a "missing" part, vehicle would have not driven over 6,000 miles. And yes, we offered a $100 store credit as an act of good will.
Sorry that you felt your visit with our shop was not to your liking.
But let me add that you were told on the phone originally that are base Maryland State Inspection was $88. You were instructed to drop vehicle off at 1:00 do to our work load (you chose to wait, but were still informed that it would be approximately 3 hours). You were also informed upon arrival that you had tint on your windows and that would cause you vehicle to fail and it was an additional $20. (Which Service Manager waived) Upon road test of vehicle when turning steering wheel cover would turn and vehicle would still go straight. This causes a safety issue, hence rejection. The extra charge (which again was waived) is due to additional State approved equipment required to perform testing.
I sincerely apologize that you had a less then stellar experience on your last visit. I was sure you would have wanted to write about that you brought your car in thinking you needed brakes and were amazed at our honesty to tell you that you didn't. But your concerns can always be addressed with myself or our front counter service manager. We can also make notes for any customers car to prevent these issues. But let me explain why they did happen; when vehicles are brought in for an oil change, we always perform a free 30 point inspection. When vehicles are brought into our shop and are on "auto headlights" the lights will stay on because the vehicle is indoors. So we turn them off as to not kill your battery. Part of our 30 point inspection is also to check all your lights including high beams. not putting your lights back in "auto" was an oversight on our part. We serviced your vehicle on a Saturday and parked it for your pickup in front of our office that was in our view the whole time. But we will make sure it is locked for you in the future.
This customer brought his car and own parts to our shop to do a high performance motor rebuild. This is not our core type of work that we perform on a daily basis. Customer was informed at time of drop off that this job would be worked on during down time for technician. Unfortunately we had few times that this occurred. Then there were missing parts that were not supplied to us that we had to locate and special ordered in order to complete work requested. So yes, this turned into more of a project, then a normal auto repair. Most shops would not evan had taken a job of this magnitude in or have technicians skillled enough to do this kind of work.