2006
Dodge
Charger

Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5rating 4.0

13 Reviews

Latest review 18 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DG
David G.
2006 Dodge Charger
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/04/2018
My take on the 2006 Dodge Charger
At a hundred and eighteen thousand miles I bought a used Charger. Needed Wheel Bearings right away.
Cat. Converter caused it to fail Emission Inspection. Got that replaced.
Changed all oils with synthetic. Then had to replace the other Bank Converter. The car seems to be in excellant shape. Have put 1800 miles on it. Engine and Transmission running great. Love the ride and power. Got my fingers crossed as these cars have low dependability track record.

Converted

Pros
Ride, style, engine, fearures

Cons
Interior Dash and Door panels are cheap compared to other cars at this price point.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Myles G.
2006 Dodge Charger
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/15/2018
2006 Charger RT
Over 192000 miles and still going. The paint still looks great except for the front and rear body parts. The clear coat has come off or is cracked. It could use a major tune up but it still runs like a bat out of hell.

Pros
Reliable and fast

Cons
The plastic front and rear body parts

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SARAH/AMANDA B.
2006 Dodge Charger
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/10/2018
Charger
The charger is not a bad car, if you want speed this is definitely where you will find it. It’s a nice looking, fast car that is still decent for a family car. Gas mileage is not the best, but I do not think many people purchase this car for the supreme gas mileage. Some designs in the windows do block the ability to see out of the car easily, but you get used to it. It’s more difficult that the typical car to see what’s around the car when changing lanes. Also, 2006 was the first year the charger was built so I would think they have worked on this issue.

We have had a few things fixed and the steering wheel still shakes when slowing down, ours is a 2006 and has under 55,000. So it’s not an everyday driver for us.

Pros
Nice smooth ride, has the pickup needed for anything, large trunk, roomy back seat.

Cons
We have had the computer replaced which is not cheap. Time tires were recalled when we bought the car, then replaced with the same brand (continental).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
David G.
2006 Dodge Charger
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/07/2018
Time will Tell
I have or am in the process of completing my purchase of a 2006 Dodge Charger R/t with 130000 miles. I can't much about the car in general but for mine it has been a great car except for some issues with Power Steering Pump and the Wheel bearings. Also the Check Engine Light came on today. I have an appointment with the Dealership service Department to go over these problems. My car is in wonderful condition; the leather seats the carpets, the body work is spotless and the engine the Hemi V8 scoots like no other. The car is big and heavy and delivers a very smooth ride yet the transmission and engine brings the entire car to life. Everyone who sees it thinks it;s new or just a few years old not eleven years old. I hope repairs and conditions work out for me as I hope to have this car for years.

Pros
Engine and Drive line
Paint
Drive ability, fun and comfortable to drive

Cons
Reliability is in question
Some cabin materials could have been better quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
ABLE G.
2006 Dodge Charger
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/18/2016
Dodge charger SRT 8
I rate my charger a big 10! Crazy that it's a 4 door vehicle with a 6.1 HEMI fuel is fair as long as you don't put your foot into it. Get away power, Yeah Buddy! No worries.

Pros
You take care of your car..... it will take care of you!

Cons
I've had no problems with my charger srt 8

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
ABLE G.
2006 Dodge Charger
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/17/2016
Keeps on running
The Honda civic belongs to my grandson. He drives it Monday through Friday from wa.to or. It takes a licken, and keeps on ticking.

Pros
No worries!

Cons
No worries!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DEMETRIUS B.
2006 Dodge Charger
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/28/2015
Issues
Something goes wrong with this car every week it seems. The engine light turns on all of the time. I've spent thousands of dollars this year alone to keep this car running

Pros
Fun to drive

Cons
Once the engine light comes on, it's hard to keep off...snowball effect after the first engine issue

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MADISON W.
2006 Dodge Charger
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2015
Love it!
Runs great. Nice leather seats in great condition. Great speakers. Sexy rims. Love everything about it. Only thing negative is the headlights aren't automatic but that's not a big deal at all.

Pros
Runs great. Steers nice. Speakers are great.

Cons
Headlights aren't automatic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DEMETRIUS B.
2006 Dodge Charger
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/27/2015
Love the performance
But unfortunately I have the 2.7 liter engine and it's known to cause many issues once that engine light turns on. I'm experiencing those issues now. Seems like my car is in the shop every other week and it's killing my bank account. I'm just may junk it and go to Chevy or ford.

Pros
Good power and nice performance

Cons
Snowball effect after the 1st engine light sighting. Lots of maintenance issues...Seems like my car is in the shop every month for something. I was told that the 2.7 liter engine is garbage and causes too many problems and that I should get rid of it asap before it drains my bank account. May have to go to Chevy or someone with more reliable cars

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MADISON W.
2006 Dodge Charger
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2015
Love it!
Runs great, good mileage, great festures, no issues so far.

Pros
Features, exterior design, interior design, accelerates great, breaks work amazingly, great speakers.

Cons
Cops will follow you and just wait for you to speed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NR
NORM R.
2006 Dodge Charger
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/30/2015
Good car but could have been great
The Charger is related mechanically to previous generation of MB E-series but Dodge made compromises to meet Chargers price point. The engine is all Dodge Hemi. Powerful in mid to upper revs but not so much off the bottom. Fuel mileage is acceptable at 19mpg combined. Can squeeze 23mpg out of it on hwy. 5-speed auto Transmission needs to go. Nice auto-manual but gets easily confused in moderate driving. Handling is decent but overall ride is harsh and uncontrolled for a car this size. This is a big compromise in suspension component such as rubber bushings that quickly deteriorate and steel vs aluminum hardware. Tires are too small for a car this size. Seats are supportive but I find them a bit narrow in the seat/hip area. I Love the car and it will treat you well if you keep it maintained. I would definitely consider a new Dodge product.

Pros
Engine is strong
Styling
Reliability
Lots of aftermarket styling and performance parts

Cons
Fuel economy
Ride and handling
Seats bottoms can be narrow even for thin to medium size guys

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
TERRI M.
2006 Dodge Charger
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/27/2015
electrical mess
Purchased from Used car area . Problems are monthly.

Pros
Very pretty car

Cons
electrical nightmare

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
BOBBY L.
2006 Dodge Charger
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/18/2015
2006 Dodge Charger SE SXT
I have always been a Dodge Charger fan! I want a sporty look, the power of a sport vehicle and I also want a smooth luxury ride. With my 2006 Dodge Charger, I get it all. I purchased my Dodge Charger from Chrysler Jeep Dodge out of Porterville, Ca. back in 2012. Two days after I purchased it, I took it down to a local car wash. The paint across the entire front bumper began peeling off when I began spraying the bumper. I was in shock! I immediately took it back to the dealership and was accused of "hitting" my bumper on something. My car was still dripping wet from the car wash. I was accused of something I did not do, and asked if the dealership would honor the paint peeling off and possibly shoot a coat on it, and I was told, "for $300.00 we will shoot it for you"! I love my Charger, but will NEVER purchase one again from this particular dealership that basically insulted me and called me a liar. So, I drive my Charger around with paint peeled off the entire front bumper.

Pros
Luxury, style, speed, comfort, sporty.

Cons
Paint peels off from the bumper. Dealership would not honor the fact that they did not properly primer the bumper prior to spraying paint on it first. The major con is not the car itself, but the dealership I purchased it from.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 13 Review