2008
Hyundai
Tiburon

Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5rating 4.86

21 Reviews

Latest review 26 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TS
Thomas S.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2018
Probably Hyundai's most beautifully stunning car to date
Overall a wonderful sports car with many attractive design features; comparable in style to the $100K Mercedes sports, the $90K Porshe and other luxury cars - frequently stopped by those unfamiliar with this more unique model, always in admiration how beautifully designed the car is especially when viewed from the side. Runs longer than a Toyota (mine broke down at 247K miles), Honda (at 187K miles) and GM (broke down at 95K miles) - still going strong at 280K.

Pros
Design is superb

Cons
mileage, tires/wheels esp. in snow and bad roads

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WH
William H.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/17/2018
My Tiburon
While the Tiburon has been discontinued, the big brother Genesis Coupe is now available. I would have either. I now have 2 Hyundai vehicles and when necessary, the next one will be a Genesis also.

Bill

Pros
I love my Tiburon.

Cons
I don't have any complaints about my Tiburon, it just fits me and my lifestyle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NR
Nancy R.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/26/2018
Retired
This my first Hyundai car. I love my Tiburon which is 10 years old With 73,000 miles on it. I have not had any major problems only minor repairs during that time. Always take it to Cochran Hyundai dealership for any work. I would recommend a Hyundai car to anyone looking for a car new or used. Also recommend Cochran Hyundai dealership.

Pros
Dealer is located nearby. Always get in when I make an appt. workmanship is prompt and reliable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
Eric S.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/03/2018
Very dependable
I have had this vehicle for several years and it has never let me down. It has a cool sporty look and has great fuel economy. I use only genuine Hyundai parts when I get my vehicle serviced. I love my car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
Sue T.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/20/2018
Love my car
I have had my car since it was brand new. I love it!!! It's sporty, cute and fun to drive!! Added a new speaker system so it totally rocks! It's a 4cyl 5-speed, but, even with the
smaller engine it has a lot of "get up and go!"

Pros
Small and stylish.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Mary B.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/27/2017
LOVE this car!
I really wish Hyundai still made the Tiburon. I’ve had mine nearly 10years now and it still runs great. I’d probably buy a new one in the next 3-4 months if they still had the Tiburon.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Not good for people with children

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
Roy N.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/03/2017
Love this car!
bought this car new in 2008 and it has been excellent. Fun to drive, economical and dependable. Closest thing to it is the Genesis Coupe which I would recommend too.

Pros
This car has been great to have. I take it for fun drives and runabouts.

Cons
It's a sports car so you don't expect frills.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Dennies G.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/24/2017
Great car
I've owned my Tiburon since 2008, best most dependable vehicle I've ever owned.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
GWENNA P.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/06/2017
Tiburon 2008
Love the look and leather seats and low maintenance! The stereo is great but the XM Sirius only lasted 3 years.

Pros
All of the above.

Cons
Gas mileage could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kandy P.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2017
2008 tiberon
Just purchased this with 14k last month
Love my car ,
Only drawback is its low, like low to the ground , corvette low
Otherwise absolute loves loves my purchase..

Pros
Everything stylish sporty quick

Cons
Sits so low

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LN
Lilly N.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2017
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
I love this vehicle! I only wish that style hadn't changed so much.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Joanne D.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/12/2017
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
I love my car. I have had no problems with her, she has great pickup, handles well and she is beautiful.

Pros
She is comfortable, great quality, great pickup and she is fun, fun fun to drive.

Cons
None, I have no complains at all.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Steven R.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/02/2017
Nice Car!
This has been one of the best cars I've owned. Very reliable, looks good, and it is fun to drive. I plan to try to keep it up as long as possible because it will be hard to give it up if and when the time comes!

Pros
I have had this car for about 9 years and still enjoy it. It is holding up very well in every way.

Cons
Except for some really minor annoyances, nothing stands out.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Lisa H.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/04/2017
Beautiful sporty car!
I love my Tiburon! People see it and wonder WHAT IT IS! It is beautiful! Its back seat does not have enough headroom, so its really only good for 2 people. The dark metallic blue color is excellent! Hyundai should never have discontinued it. They said the Genesis Coupe replaced it, but I only have eyes for the Tiburon!

Pros
Sporty and VERY CUTE! Love the fold down back seats.

Cons
No room in back for passengers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Jacqueline B.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/10/2016
Great car!
My Tiburon has served me well for several years now.... one recall for a fuse .... only routine maintenance needed.
Comfortable ride, great handling!

Pros
Great styling, extras as standard features, great handling, fun to drive... Wish they would bring back this sportier model......

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Deborah H.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2016
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
I love this little Gem.... It has a sharp look to it. People compliment it all the time. I've never had a problem with it. Performance is out standing. Even after driving it for eight years it not only still looks new, it drives like it's brand new. Love driving it!

Pros
Performance, the look....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Robert M.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/20/2016
Very good
Good and fast
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Joanne D.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2016
The best car
I love this car! She is so much fun to drive and looks great. I have had no problems with her since I purchased it in 2008.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Eric H.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/18/2015
Hyundai, bring back the '08 Tiburon!
This sports car is nearly perfect for the normal, everyday kind of fun ride for folks on a budget. It's sleek, handsome body feels like an expensive sports car without breaking the bank. It handles like a dream and yet provides the functions of a clunky two-door sedan with its roomy trunk, decent back passenger space, and flexibility.

The only improvement the Tiburon needs is to improve its 5-speed transmission so the fifth gear is a true cruising gear. The Mitsubishi transmission is very good, but the difference between 4th and 5th gear is so negligible it seems like it's a waste. The hydraulic clutch is smooth and responsive, and its repair costs are well within reason for its performance.

The Genesis replacement for this model has its purpose, and the Veloster looks awful, but the Tiburon is where the normal driver can go from bland to wow without breaking the bank. Bring the '08 Tiburon back, Hyundai!

Pros
Fun to drive
Affordable sports car
Beautiful to look at
Comfortable
Sporty yet versatile

Cons
Transmission needs a little tweaking to make a better transition from 4th to 5th in terms of RPM

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
George S.
2008 Hyundai Tiburon
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/01/2015
2008 Tiburon
good car for the money when buying used. many mods can be done easily and inexpensively but serious performance parts are scarce or non existent anymore as manufacturers have moved on to other platforms. besides it is handicapped with a cheap timing belt that costs almost as much as the car is worth to have it changed if you cant do it yourself and the V6 version is even worse because the brain dead engineers drive the water pump off the timing belt too! so not the best engine to expect to last if you do a ton of engine performance work on it.

Pros
by rebadging to a Tuscani, you constantly get asked "what kinda car is that?" even from other Hyundai owners. sharp looking car, super quiet ride and really great gas mileage at least on the L4 engine.

Cons
cheap timing belt engine, its a time bomb waiting to explode and if you ask me, its criminal negligence. constant electrical issues. airbag light problems and once the check engine light comes on, its time to rid yourself of the car as you will end up throwing parts and money at the car, often times more than its worth wholesale and never get the light to stay off very long.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 21 in total