2008
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78
4.8
(74 Reviews)
Latest review 19 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GB
George B.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2019
Our 2008 Tucson
We picked this vehicle up with 1100 miles on it - it was the dealership loan car. It has proven to be a very dependable vehicle. It has been in the shop for repair a total of three times. Once for a faulty gas cap that kept leaking air and causing the check engine light to come on. Then the cruise control brake pedal switch failed. The last time was to replace the driver switch panel when a rear window switch would not raise the window back up - but that door's switch worked so no trash bag was needed to cover the window. The V6 has plenty of power to get up and go. And the space inside is very comfortable for four people - regardless of size.

Pros
Still looks good even being almost eleven years old. It has fared very well here in Iowa winters - only got stuck once in deep snow with the all season radial tires. At least the radio has a jack to hook your phone up for continuous music.

Cons
V6 takes a bit more gas then the 4 cylinder. It would be nice to have a Bluetooth enabled radio or at least a USB connection to it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
Terri F.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2019
Always dependable
This vehicle has been so reliable and easy to drive for all 116000 miles. I love the height I am at when I am behind the wheel, especially in winter to see around snow piles. Even the newer versions of this model do not seem to ride quite so high and that is a let down. I will keep this one for as long as I can because it is such a pleasure behind the wheel.

Pros
Gets me where I want to go
Does not show its age
Has many little added nice features, like the extra compartment for little items in the wheel well

Cons
Hard to think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
William W.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/24/2019
Love it except for miles/gallon
Love the color “ Desert Sage “ ... does not show dust and dirt. I don’t think they offer that color now. Everyone comments how clean the car looks. My biggest disappointment is gas mileage .... on a trip, if I get 20 I am surprised. Around town I get around 17.
Handles well, quiet, I have almost 60,000 mikes and all seem well.

Pros
Handles well

Cons
Poor gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
Joseph T.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2019
A Great Vehicle on All Accounts
I am 86 years old. Of all the cars I have owned including major US and foreign manufacturers this the best. Always reliable and easy to operate and drive with no major mechanical or functional problems. Fits me fine.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sharon S.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2019
My car
Best car ever. Goes through anything, even a blizzard. Love my car. I recommend this car to anyone who has to go through the day in a car. Very comfortable and quick. Maneuvers in traffic great. Has plenty of room for the driver and passenger. Controls are very accessible.

Pros
Lots of leg room front and back. Reliable and quick. All over built with the driver in mind.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
KAREN K.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/13/2019
2008 and going strong
I love my Hyundai Tucson. It's been reliable, it's comfortable, fun. With a 10 year, 100,000 warranty, Hyundai builds a quality product.
When I bought my Tucson, I wanted a SUV for the height and carrying capabilities, but didn't want a "tank." I can easily get into my Tucson (I'm only 5'3"), but still can see more than the rear bumper of the SUV in front if me. I can carry 5 comfortably plus plenty of everyday carrying capacity.
I'm not ready to purchase a new car yet, but when I do, the Tucson will be at the top of my list (especially since all the newest safety features are standard!).

Pros
Size, reliability, value

Cons
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
William W.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/01/2019
The little machine does what’s needed
I love my Tucson ...1998.... it is in excellent condition and has around 55,000 miles. The color, Dessert Sage ( which I believe is no longer offered ) is an awesome color. My Tucson ALWAYS looks clean ... because of the color. I would encourage Hyundai to bring this color back. I have always been given VERY GOOD to EXCELLENT service. I must say ....( my only criticism) too many times I have received an offer to buy my Tucson back..... in due time I will decide my future auto... as well, I understand marketing.....
Regarding the auto itself ... I love the entire machine BUT am very disappointed in the gas mileage I obtain. Around 20 mpg on a trip !!
In town I obtain around 17 mpg.
The auto is a feisty little thing with an excellent ride and handling.

Pros
Color, handling.

Cons
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Liidia W.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/13/2019
Great, comfortable car.
Love this car. I've taken it across the country 3 times and impressed with its performance and comfort. Hatch holds a lot if stuff and is easy to access.Around town it is nimble, quiet and comfy. With 215,000+ miles it still runs great. I'm going to be hard to please when I have to replace it.

Cons
Too bad the new Tucsons don't come with a 6 cylinder engine anymore.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Mamerto L.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/27/2019
Reliability
Altough my Tucson was already 10 y/o, it is still my reliable and dependable commute. The engine still great. Overall performace.....still 100%. I would advice future buyers of cars to buy Hyundai cars because of dependability, sporty, economy and reliability.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
KAREN K.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/29/2019
I love my Tucson!
I bought my Hyundai Tucson in 2008. My prior car had been a 1996 Ford Escort which I drove for 22 years. I wanted a small SUV so I could see over the traffic (I like to drive "3-4 cars" ahead, if possible). On the other hand, because I wear a brace, I needed a car I could get in and out of without "hopping" into the driver's seat. This Tucson met all my needs and I was able to get it in the color and trim I wanted. Not the best gas mileage, but if I need to/decide to replace this car (mostly to get some of the new defensive driving technology), I'll probably get another Tucson.

Pros
Driver height
Easy to get in and out of
Easy to understand controls
Good horsepower to tackle hills and pass other vehicles
Nice color and style

Cons
Doesn't have the latest safety features (it's a 2008, after all)
Rear visibility could be better
Gas mileage good be better (18/23)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Betty S.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/15/2019
2008 Hyundai Tucson 11 years later.
I prefer to drive a manual transmission and at the time the only SUV available within my price range was the Tucson. I liked it from day one. I still like it very much 11 years later. It is fun to drive, very reliable and handles well in snowy and icy conditions.

Pros
Manual transmission
Front wheel drive
Compact size yet surprisingly roomy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Diana P.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/08/2019
Still my Forever Car
Perfect size for my tall frame and great warranty. My forever car! I researched this vehicle prior to purchase and compared it to other brands. The warranty and great customer service reviews put it at the top of my list.

Pros
Size and performance

Cons
Darn driver door piece has fallen off twice and I have just surrendered!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RY
Ronda Y.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/16/2018
It keeps going
I bought my 2008 Tucson as a dealer demo with just 3000 miles on it. It now has over 240,000 miles and keeps going strong. Other than the normal maintenance , I haven’t put to much into it. I’m hoping to see it through that 300,000 mark before buying something else. Thumbs up Hyundai on a great vehicle!!!!

Cons
The head rest! I turned them around to prevent a neck ache.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sharon B.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2018
Ten years old!’
I have driven this Tucson for ten years and I love
it! I would continue another 10 if I could. I need to move on to something newer! We drive a lot and put on many miles. Continues to be a very reliable car for its years!!

Pros
Great car for its time. 2008.

Cons
Needs updating!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Deborah B.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2018
100,000 miles!
I purchased this vehicle for use as an itinerant speech pathologist as well as for scuba diving. I found it to meet the criteria of being reliable and convenient for both needs. I especially liked the heated seats and all-around defrosters.

Pros
Overhead hatch "reachable" (I am only 5' tall), good gas mileage, reliable, large cargo area with back seats down

Cons
Not enough power, would prefer 4-wheel drive rather than all-wheel drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VK
Victoria K.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2018
Best bang for your buck!!
This my second Hyundai. I gave my first to my son when I bought my Tuscon. I luv everything about this vehicle. It is just perfect for me and I will buy another Hyundai Tucson and give this one to my son as he is pretty much of the same opinion of this vehicle... I am just starting to look because there just don't seem to be many available...we never buy new only certified pre-owned so hopefully there will be a newer one soon!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cathy S.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2018
My 2008 Torrington Hyundai
I have had my Hyundai for 10 years and LOVE it. It has been totally reliable and I plan on having it for many more years. I love the all wheel/4 wheel drive combo. I currently have 134,000 miles. Torrington Hyundai has done most of the maintenance on this car and are great at checking everything.

Pros
Dependable and long lasting. The car sticks to the road when sudden turns occur. That feature has saved me a few collisions from bad drivers

Cons
I have a bad back so wish they had a plush or luxury seat option. The seats are great seats for the normal back

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VK
Victoria K.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2018
Just luv my little big performance car!
When I am ready to get a newer vehicle Hyundai Tuscon will be mine...I luv the vehicle and service that I get from Moon Twp Hyundai. I have my last one to my son and when I am ready to get another he will get this one...BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK EVER!!!

Pros
Everything

Cons
None!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Charles W.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2018
Outstanding car
I have owned by Tucson for 10 years now. I have always maintained it according to manual. I have had almost no problems that the standard maintenance didn't cover. It's now starting to show its age and with 135,000 miles on it, it will soon be time to buy another Tucson.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
BARBARA C.
2008 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/12/2018
10 years later I still love my Tucson
I just recently hit the 100,000 mile mark on my Tucson. While the 10 year 100,000 mile warranty is great and I am sure most people hit 100,000 miles well before 10 years, I did experience an issue with the water pump at 101,548 miles that stranded me on 95 S. I was surprised to learn that the water pump was not replaced nor recommended to be replaced when I had the timing belt replaced at 69,000 miles because it is covered under the 100,000 mile warranty. Other than regular routine maintenance, this car has been excellent and always very reliable. I have taken good care of it and my new mechanic (done with the dealer and their overpriced services) reports the car is still in excellent condition and I would be a fool to trade it in yet. I agree, it sure does feel good not to have that monthly car payment for another couple years!

Pros
I love a company confident enough to back up their vehicles with the 10 year 100,000 miles warranty. Well worth it for the peace of mind I felt as a single woman living alone.

Cons
Be careful and have the water pump replaced when you have the timing belt replaced if your car still has a timing belt. If I had to do it again, I would wait until 90,000 miles to change the timing belt (Hyundai recommendation is every 60,000) and replace the water pump at the same time as most other car manufacturers recommend.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 74 in total