2017
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(3901 Reviews)
Latest review about 11 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

HB
Heather B.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/05/2020
Love my Tucson!
My Tucson is very sporty and I love it! Even at 3 years old, it looks brand new. Since buying it, a friend and my daughter have bought a Hyundai as well. Very happy with the performance of my car and how it handles. Very pleased to be part of the Hyundai family.

Pros
Great size SUV, stylish design, love the panoramic glass top, top-notch sound system and navigation system. It’s a fun car to drive around town and on a road trip.

Cons
You do hear some road noise and I got a small rock chip in the hood paint shortly after buying the car. Wish it drove a little quieter and the paint was tougher for Houston freeways.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BRENDA M.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/30/2020
Very good for the price
Overall good performance. Interior has space. Like the lay down back seats. I am the only driver, bought bigger vehicle so I could carry
my grandchildren. The only thing, the back seat is not enough room for 1 person and 2 car seats.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
TIERRA L.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/30/2020
Hyundai Tucson
I Love my Tucson. The only thing I hate is where the gas cap release is on the floor. I’m short and it’s hard for me to reach. It drives very well. A little hesitation when starting out after stopped. But overall it’s a Great car for me.

Pros
Comfortable and pottery smooth ride. Descent on gas. Pretty car.

Cons
Gas cap release. Would be better if backup screen was a little larger.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
George B.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/27/2020
2017 Tucson
This is my 2nd Tucson and 4th Hyundai. Love them all. Great value! Just a Excellent product no matter which style you choose. There is something for everyone. Drive one and you will become an owner. ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
Just a Excellent Vehicle to own and drive. This is my 2and Tucson

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GI
Gloria I.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/23/2020
questionable
The car shakes when idle. It makes me wonder how Hyundai sells so many Tucson models without telling the client about the shaking. It scares me when I am driving and it feels like the car is about to shut down. It is a scary situation to jeopardize the safety of my family.

Pros
Size and gas savings

Cons
The shaking after being still

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
Exie L.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/19/2020
Sporty and cute!
Great performance along with a sporty look. Fun to drive. Panoramic sunroof along with the reclining rear seats are amazing. The rear A/C vent help cool the entire vehicle down in record time. The fog light are very helpful while driving down dark highways.

Pros
Alot of extras included in this package!

Cons
I haven't grasp the concept of the manual part of the Transmission without a clutch.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Constance C.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/17/2020
Good on gas...
My Tuscon is 2017. Less than 60,000 miles on it. I've had mine for 7 months and have had to replace 3 tires. Something is wrong with my locking mechanisms on 2 doors. And I am not a fan of how the transmission shifts. It shudders often. I hear that's a common thing for these vehicles.

Pros
Great gas mileage
Seats fold down

Cons
Transmission shudder

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NN
Nyetta N.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/17/2020
My Ideal SUV
I have always wanted a small SUV, but couldn't find one to suit my needs and desires. I fell in love with Tucson when I first saw it! The color and size is perfect for myself and family. It is versatile for hauling my instruments, sports equipment as well as roomy and comfortable when traveling. Since owning it, I am totally happy with its performance while traveling about the neighborhood, city and distances. I can not imagine being without it as my main mode of transportation.

Pros
It is stylist and fun to drive.
The warranty makes it worth the value.
The dealership that services is outstanding in customer satisfaction

Cons
It has a slow pick up for speed compared to other SUV's its size.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Judyth M.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/17/2020
Excellent Vehicles
Hyundai has the best quality vehicles. They have a vehicle that meets whatever your needs are. I wouldn't look at other vehicles because I have leased one since July 2014. I really enjoy the styles they have and the way they perform. You can get your vehicle serviced by professionals who go over and beyond making your driving experience worthwhile.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sheila S.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/15/2020
Tuscon
Love Hyundai because of the warranty, the look of the vehicles, the performance and reliability of them also. I have owned 2 other Hyundai in the past and they always exceeded the 10 year warranty. I will own nothing but a Hyundai from now on.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IG
igor G.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/14/2020
Transmission issue
Just bought 2017 Tucson Eco 1.6T. long story short, Love everything about her except 1st and 2nd gear shifting. It's like she is screaming " I am going to be dead soon". Wish those wonderful car sale places will give you more room to return.

Pros
Everything except transmission

Cons
TRANSMISSION

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
David G.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/09/2020
Hyundai Tucson
Excellent value in a beautiful, reliable dependable vehicle. Thanks to James B Lyons III for being a caring salesman carrying the torch for the company. He was an excellent caring salesman who looked out for the little guy.

Pros
Ride
Comfort
Dependible
Fun
Reliable

Cons
Only 24 hours In a day

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EJ
Emily J.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/09/2020
I love my car!!!
I have a 2017 Hyundai Tuscan night edition. I love the way my car drives. I love my sunroof, the way the music sounds and the backup camera! The trunk opening when the key comes near it comes in handy when grocery shopping. I only wished it could also have 4 wheel drive. But overall this car is amazing!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Susan J.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/08/2020
LOVE my Tucson Ultimate Ltd!
The AWD Tucson Ltd is just the right size for doing errands and week long trips for 1-3 adults and all our stuff (gear, clothes, food), which (being retired) is 99% of my driving. My Hwy gas mileage at 28-32 mpg is better than reported. It handles like a sports car, even in the rain. Dash is well laid out and nice to look at (newer models are uglier). The seats are super-comfy and supportive for long trips. No mechanical issues so far, and the 7 speed shiftable automatic transmission is great in the hills. Safety features are handy. Passengers love the rear heated seat & huge sunroof, since it makes the relatively small SUV seem so big inside.

Only complaint is that those big wide low profile "All-Season" tires that are so nice and quiet & handle great on the Hwy totally suck in the snow, and the fancy 20" wheel rims got scuffed by the cable chains. Full AWD cuts out over 20mph. Also, the wipers kept icing up into baseball bats in a 30°F snowstorm, despite trying 'everything'. It was surprising in an AWD purchased 'fresh off the truck' in the late Fall in ski country. Koreans (who usually think of everything) must not think it gets cold & snowy in the U.S.! Fortunately that is just a small part of my driving, and the issues are fixable.

Pros
Great styling, seats, handling, gas mileage, features. Quiet inside. Nice size and easy to park. Better value than other similar SUVs.

Cons
20" Wheels/Tires on AWD not good for snow.
Wipers iced up in snowstorm at 30°F temps.
2017 Cruise Control does not adjust to maintain distance, even though it has all the distance sensors to do so.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Stanley R.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/04/2020
I am very happy with my Hyundai except for one major problem. read below
I have had this car almost three years, I would have given this car 5 stars but Hyundai really disappointed me in the way they handled the problem with my DCT transmission. Ocasionally when i would put my foot on the gas, the car would not move, very disturbing when I needed power I got nothing. I would take my foot off the gas and have to re apply it to the gas pedal to get moving. Very dangerous in some situations.
Ocasionally the DCT transmission has a problem with slipping, jerkiness and rough shifting. This is an extremely dangerous problem when it happens. Hyundai for the last two and a half years told customer there was no problem with the transmission, they told us, it was the way we drove the car. Not a good answer from Hyundai. Two weeks ago HYundai sent me a notice to bring my car in for a software update. I did that last week, in the next month or so i will find out if this solved my problem.

Pros
Very nice vehicle, if it did not have DCT tansmission problem I would be very proud owner of this vehicle

Cons
Biggest problem ,DCT transmission and the way Hyundai USA denied any problem.
it took Hyundai 2 1/2 yearsfor Hyundai to own up to this problem, the only thing they recently came out with a software update. MY update took place two weeks ago. I still do not know if this update fixed the problem. Transmission problem took place occasionally, so i have to wait a couple of months to see if software update helped.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 07/06/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

MB
MARK B.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/01/2020
Love it
Bought this vehicle wanting an SUV for the winter months, we love it! It handles great and have not had any problems. My daughter loves driving it so much she is thinking of getting one! I would recommend it !

Pros
Good price
Great car overall

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PT
PATTI T.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/01/2020
ENJOYABLE
I enjoyed spacing in drivers seat very much. It made for easier getting in and out and driving position. When I had to drive in snow the car held the road very well. Thank goodness I have not had any performance issues with this car. The model I have does not have an improved phone calling system nor the blue link. That was the one thing I missed the most from my previous car.

Pros
very comfortable seating, especially drivers. Space for storage very good. drove very well in snow for me the past winters.

Cons
the entertainment system was not yet upgraded. Phone calling needs to be more sophisticated. Mileage is not great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Mary A.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/01/2020
2017 Tucson Hyundai
We love our Tucsons. This is the second one we have purchased. Our other Tucson is a 2007 and has been a great vehicle. We are still driving that one also, It has 93,700 miles on it. The 2017 Tucson that we purchased six months ago had around 23,500 miles on it and was in great condition. I love the backup camera feature, also hands free phone use. It is satellite capable. Ask for Kendall Harris, he is a great salesman. ☺

Pros
This is our second Tucson, we like everything about this vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
MONICA F.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/01/2020
Ok
I am overall pleased with Hyundai. We are a Hyundai family. Mother has a Hyundai Elantra 2008, daughter a Hyundai Elantra hatchback 2013 and I enjoy my Tucson. When lease ends I will go for same car. Excellent agent Daniel Moyal.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HW
Holle W.
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/30/2020
Wish I had purchased a Santa Fe
The Hyundai Tuscon was smaller than I realized, and the 4 cylinder engine has been unsafe. When I pull out of a parking lot or make a turn from the center lane, the Tuscon doesn’t have much power. I don’t wait for turns until the last minute, the car just has no power and I have often worried about having a wreck when it hesitates.

Pros
1. Electric system-blue tooth access
2. Back up camera
3. Heated seats
4. Sounds and lights up when cars pass or driving in my blind spot
5. 10 year warranty
6. Reasonable price point
7. Good fuel mileage
8. Extra cup holders throughout the car
9. AWD feature

Cons
1. No power when moving from stopped position (ie. Turning from center lane or pulling into traffic from a parking lot or side road)-safety concern
2. Too small for my needs
3. No side cameras
4. Windshield wipers need another speed. They haven’t worked well in heavy rain
5. Back hatch doesn’t always lock tight. I discover this when I have removed items from back and all other doors are locked.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 07/01/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 3901 in total