2018
Hyundai
TUCSON

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65
4.7
(1275 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


BG
Ben G.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/11/2018
Horrible Car
This car is a flaming wreck. Gas mileage is underreported. The transmission spends more time stalling and slipping than it does actually changing gears - the ultimate result is a car that lurches down the street rather than drives. Not at all safe for driving. Hyundai tells me this is the how the car normally operates. It is the cheapest SUV out there for its size for a reason. Driving it is truly an unfortunate experience.

Pros
None spring to mind.

Cons
Transmission is a joke; feels like a go-kart driving on the street. Actual gas mileage is about 22 mph combined.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
David M.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/02/2018
Part Failure on new Tucson
It appears from what I've been told, this part (Keyless Entry button on driver's door) is failing on multiple new Hyundai Tucsons. What is Hyundai America doing to correct this and make it right for new Hyundai owners like me?

Pros
Good gas mileage. Comfortable and nice controls on interior of vehicle.

Cons
Poor build quality if parts are failing after 6-7 weeks of use.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jacquelyn L.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/15/2019
Junk
The car is a lemon! Flat out horrible. It sounds like a semi, the motor mount is apparently loose and almost all to do with the stereo is horrible as well. I drove the car up north and got into 40 degree weather. So I wanted to use the outside air. It would t work. It blew hotter than when the heater is on. For over 300 miles of my drive I had to have the windows open because of it. There’s a lot more. But I want my Santa Fe back. Or even better I would love to have my Chevy back. Forget this. These Hyundai’s have a huge warranty because they are made so cheap you have to fix them all the time. Rather that then make a car worth something. Oh well. Next time not a Hyundai.

Pros
It has a hitch

Cons
Everything

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RZ
Rebekah Z.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/09/2019
Our initial experience with Buerkle Hyundai purchase of a new 2018 Tucson
We purchased a new 2108 Hyundai Tucson from Buerkle for our daughter. The car had 200 miles and was extremely dirty when we first chose it, it just was received recently and it was the color we were looking for. It was sold as new, but we discovered that during the initial service at 2700 miles the brakes were squealing badly. The service writer informed us that it was a Superbowl demo/promotional taxi car and was sitting outside for over 10 months, possibly in water. We were not informed of the situation when we purchased the car, most likely we would have picked an alternative 0 mile car. The initial service event was for a Oil change, Squealing brakes, and a Rattle in the rear. The service writer informed us that we need to go with a mechanic to diagnose the rattle. The Eastern Bloc Mechanic drove extremely aggressive, he nearly blew through a stop sign and struck a semi truck and failed to stop near the dealership and was nearly struck by a driver from the left if I had not informed him, then as we entered the service writing area, the service writer slammed the overhead door on the top of the new car with a horrible crash, this was all within 10 mins. They changed the oil, turned/serviced the brakes and adjusted the rear hatch stop adjusters. This took over 3 hours of waiting. I purchased this car from Buerkle because of the past excellent experiences my father experienced when buying Buicks in the past. Clearly this was not the same dealership, the South Korean Hyundai is not the quality I expected and the car's usage was not disclosed to us. My biggest concern was the human factor, both sales and service, and the risk to me and my daughter on the service test drive, this should never have been allowed. I must now seek an alternative Hyundai Service facility many miles from my home. This experience has left me with a poor impression of Buerkle and the South Korean Hyundai brand. The future of this car is quite the unknown, I am confident that we will purchase an American brand in the future to replace the Hyundai Tucson.

Pros
At first I thought is was a good value. Experience in the first 3 months is proving different. The AWD and the ability to lock the system is good

Cons
Very cheap car that is extremely noisy with rattling rear noises and squealing brakes. The gas mileage for a small 4 cylinder is extremely poor, especially in AWD, less than 20 MPG and quite under powered. The doors do not lock positively, they must be shut hard or they are half closed often, I believe the 2019 models addressed this problem. Rear hatch was not adjusted correctly. The brakes needed to be turned and cleaned. Service experience was very poor, my daughter and I were put at extreme risk during the test drive and the service writer crashed the overhead door on the new car roof. I will most likely not return to Buerkle Service and will NOT purchase another Hyundai car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Tressa S.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/15/2019
Problems problems problems
Has been in the shop 7 times in 2.5 months. Have only owned it 2.5 months. Rear liftgate was clunking. Was fixed with adding 8 washers and some duct tape. Have had rear shocks replaced to fix a differant clunking. Still can't figure out what the burning rubber smell is coming from rear passenger side tire area is. Will just keep taking it in until fixed.

Cons
Always in the shop.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Anthony L.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/25/2019
Engine performance
Don’t buy this car because the engine performance is extremely poor. You have drive the car in sport mode which will help somewhat but the gas mileage will suffer. The 1.6 turbo engine is not adequate for a car of this size. Verr poor!

Cons
Engine performance lacking. Hopfully I can sell the car soon.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
JOHN A.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/02/2019
DON'T RECOMMEND
I HATED THE TUCSON. THE SIZE AND CLOTH INTERIOR. I GOT RID OF THE CAR WITHIN A FEW WEEKS AFTER I WAS TALKED INTO LEASE.....................................................................................
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Ronald F.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/22/2019
My 2018 Tuscon Sucks
The transmission is terrible. The car hesitates when starting out and then surges. It is unsafe. I don't enjoy driving it at all. They say they made them that way and there is no fix. The transmission is also very weak. If I back out onto a slight slope and shift to forward but don't put my foot down hard on the accelerator, the car rolls backward while it's hesitating. They said I would get used to it but I'm not. None of the 20+ GM's I've owned over the years had these kind of issues.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
COLLEEN F.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/21/2019
Great car
The Tucson is our fourth Hyundai vehicle. We like the reliability of the brand, the appearance and handling. The four cylinder engine is fine around town but a tad slow while on the highway. We’ve owned a Sonata, Santa Fe, a third row seat Santa Fe and now the Tucson. We look forward to continued purchases with Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MI
Martin I.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/30/2019
Cheap car, very expensive for repairs.
Stay away from this brand , you can get a good deal to purchase but if you ever need repairs it is extremely expensive.A front end sensor 1,500.00 for a car that had no Impact damage. No complaints on how vehicle looks or handles the road.

Pros
Price

Cons
Repairs if needed

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Diane C.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/09/2019
Beware of Hyundai Tucson with dual clutch transmission!
I previously submitted 2 detailed reports to Hyundai regarding my 2018 Tucson with a turbo charged engine and dual clutch transmission. I included my contact information, but never heard back from Hyundai regarding a serious issue with the dual clutch transmission. The 2017 and 2018 models need to be recalled because of this major safety issue with the dual clutch transmission. When accelerating on three separate occasions, then needing to let up on the gas, the transmission disengaged when reaccelerating (while the engine was revving) in the middle of traffic that was bearing down on me. It scared me to death because the vehicle would not move! I leased the vehicle in May, 2018 and am a nervous wreck wondering when this issue will happen again while driving. In addition, my blood pressure jumped up 20 points this past year. Instead of enjoying my new vehicle, I feel stressed out every time I have to drive it, which is NOT acceptable. Unfortunately, this safety issue has not happened while at the dealer and they are not able to do anything since Hyundai has not issued a recall. Another issue is a strong chemical/plastic odor inside the vehicle when it sits in the sun during the warm weather. I will never lease or buy another Hyundai again, believe me.

Pros
Caribbean blue color and wheels.

Cons
Dual clutch transmission, turbo lag/hesitation and the horrible chemical odor when vehicle is closed up and sitting in the sun for a period of time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
David S.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/26/2019
Poor performance
Since we purchased the 2018 Tucson the acceleration and power have gotten worse by the month. If you want to take off from a stop without rabbit starting be prepared it will take over a mile to get up to highway speed and if you resume the cruise control at 30-35mph to get up to highway speeds plan on more the a mile to get there. Very poor performance. I wish we had our 2014 back.

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
Performance gets worse as you drive it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
Theresa A.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/29/2019
Tucson Acceleration (dual clutch transmission) Issue
We are going to write a letter to the National Highway Safety Board as this transmission is a hazard to drive and can result in serious accident. My husband was almost rear ended when the car would not accelerate. We no longer feel safe driving this vehicle. The sales person who sold us the car, did not explain it to us. My husband would not have purchased this car if he’d known up front. He is extremely knowledgeable about cars as he retired from one of the major auto makers. When we found out what the issue is with acceleration, we googled it and were blown away by all the complaints from other Tucson owners. Why did Hyundai continue to build this transmission? Even the service manager was shaking his head, telling me about all the close calls drivers have when trying to enter a highway and merge in. I’m scared to death now and won’t go on an interstate! This issue has changed our driving lifestyle.

Pros
Pleasing to look at, love the polished black paint.
Interior temp controls are nice, love heated seats.
Plenty of cargo room.
All controls within drivers reach.

Cons
Dual clutch transmission puts this vehicle in the toilet.
When the acceleration issue started, we no longer feel safe driving this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Crystal W.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/10/2019
gave it a 1 star...cause there is no zero
bad car...worse customer support cant wait to trade it off...we were kia buyers before this...going back...can not say enough bad things about the car and the desler and the factory support...do not buy

Pros
gas mileage is pretty good...but its such a terrible vehicle that we dont enjoy it at all...looking forward to trade in time to get rid of this junk

Cons
the turbo lag is so bad the car will not back up a hill...dealer said nothing they can do...i complained about the factory cutting holes in the carpet before they sold it to me so the floor pans will be exposed to bad weather...customer service did nothing...even when i asked to take the problem to arbitraion...hate the car...and hyundai service...was a terrible mistake...wont make it again...and i have told as many people as possible what has happened...my hope is to cost them enough in sales that they start to listen to the people that buy their junk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Michael D.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/03/2019
Unsafe Vehicle
This vehicle isnt safe to drive since the electrical system stops at random, Hyundai isnt getting involved to help resolve the problem
even though others have report the same issue on line, they are aware

Cons
Electrical cuts off while driving at random
Hyundai customer service is horrendous

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Coni S.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/13/2019
Worst car ever owned
Severely under powered engine with lousy gas mileage matched to a Hyperactive Attention Deficit 6 speed transmission which constantly shifts and never seems to stop. Merging onto the interstate at just 70 miles an hour required redlining the engine through 5 gears to move quickly enough not to get hit. Interior fabric for all seats is an incredible dirt magnet. Anytime any door was opened the seats attracted any kind of dirt or dust that may be outside the car. Major blind spots at the rear of the vehicle. Had to be so careful and check 3 or 4 times just to make sure you would not hit someone. Water intrusion at each door and back lift gate after any rain that was greater than a drizzle. Cabin noise while cruising down the interstate is louder than any other vehicle I have ever owned.

Pros
Comfortable ride.

Cons
Engine, Transmission, Interior Fabric, Cabin noise level, Blind Spots, Water Intrusion around all door jams, Lousy Gas Mileage!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
JOSE T.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/12/2019
2018 Tucson
Not worth the money buy a CRV. Styling is great, need to fix the turbo lag, kinda dangerous when trying to merger into traffic. Wind and road noise that comes into the cabin is horrendous makes the whole driving experience miserable.

Pros
Peppy engine once the turbo kicks in.

Cons
Terrible road and wind noise coming into the cabin. Turbo lag is very prevalent

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Marina M.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/15/2019
Tucson 2018
The only reason I buy new cars is because I do not want to deal with repairs

This was a transmission replacement it took a long time more than 4 weeks to get it done. But the problem persist when I shift to D (Drive) I do not press the gas at all and the car moves forward it does not stop even going up with a 20 degree inclination.

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
The double clutch transmission is problematic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Janine G.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/11/2018
Below average
Overall not impressed with the vehicle. Gas mileage is no where near what is advertised. After months of having comparability between my phone and the maps option In the entertainment system it no longer works. Im also suddenly find that the Air conditioning is not as cold as it was. There are times that I travel 1 mile and the vehicle will record 5 or 7 miles.

Pros
I like the panoramic roof.

Cons
Too many to list

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

C.
2018 Hyundai TUCSON
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/04/2018
A Picture is Worth 25K
The Tuscon looks great in a picture or parked in the driveway. The interior design is exceptional and the comfort level is more than appropriate. However, the engine is terrible when it comes to power, and with the lack of power, it gets less than stellar gas mileage. It is the perfect vehicle if you are going from home to work, provided work is next door to your home. Additionally, if the geography around your house has ANY hill, forget it. Either stay home, leave with 45 minutes extra time, or use Uber.

Pros
Looks great. Feels great inside. Great sound.

Cons
The engine was apparently designed to power a go cart and might actually be a Briggs and Stratton 3.5 HP. The gas mileage is less than expected.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1275 in total