Business Solutions

2005 MINI Cooper Hardtop

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5
4.1
(7 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5
4.1
(7 Reviews)

RH
gravatar
Robert H.
2005 MINI Cooper Hardtop
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/29/2020
Verified Review

Love the Mini's!!!

I now have 3 Mini Coopers, all 1st Gen. I picked one up as a commuter for work and fell in love with the way it handled, the fact that it was highly maneuverable and easy to park. I have since added a roof rack to give it more utility and it hasn't let me down. I have taken it on cross-country trips with a bike and roof top storage, and it transports a 17 ft kayak with ease. Another Mini I take to the track when I want to drive aggressive and fast. With Roebling Road and Carolina Motorsports Park not far away, it is pretty easy to get out. I have also taken it to Atlanta Motorsports Park - what a great time! Best of all - it doesn't break the bank. The cost of all 3 is less than my wife's VW Golf!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KK
gravatar
KATE K.
2005 MINI Cooper Hardtop
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/25/2018
Verified Review

A Real Diva

I've never fallen in love with a car, but I did when these Coopers came out. I bought mine in 2005, It's fun as hell to drive, but it's high maintenance for repairs. Like "Brokeback Mountain," however, I just can't quit it. Every time I consider a new car, I see someone driving a Cooper and I realize that I'll get not buyer's remorse but trade-inner's remorse. So I'll keep bringing it to Tom's!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SC
gravatar
SHAWNEE C.
2005 MINI Cooper Hardtop
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/02/2017

Not really worth the money

If I was going to be paying this much for gas and style I should have gone with the S. Also, terrible blind spots. Anyone over 6 ft can't fit in the car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KH
gravatar
KENNETH H.
2005 MINI Cooper Hardtop
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/11/2016

Best Car Ever

Always a blast to drive, I am still driving today after buying it new 11 years ago.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SG
gravatar
Stan G.
2005 MINI Cooper Hardtop
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/12/2016

2005 Electric Blue Go Cart !!

My 2005 Mini Cooper
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AB
gravatar
ANDREW B.
2005 MINI Cooper Hardtop
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/29/2016

German English Hybid Genes not Electric

I've owned German Sedans and English Sports cars that date back to the 60s. This is a true cross breed. A handy commuter though perhaps a little harsh in NYC streets it shines everywhere else. Admittedly difficult to work on and can get expensive to maintain, however only if you think this is an "Econo-box". This is not. This is an old fashioned English Sports Car with German Breeding wrapped in a modern package that makes it usable as a daily driver but most fun if you get it out of town.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AL
gravatar
ARTHUR L.
2005 MINI Cooper Hardtop
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/16/2015

Stylish and fun car but, expensive to maintain!

I've had the Mini Cooper hatchback S since 2007 (bought used with 500 miles). It currently has 52.5K mi (average 5250/yr). The car is very stylish, lots of fun to drive, and practical for parking in San Francisco. This car mechanically needs lots of maintenance in my opinion. Every time I bring it in for service, there would be problems...oil leaks from the valve cover, oil pan gasket (changed twice), replaced motor mount bushing (changed twice), one time I had to replace right front shock (leaking oil), I had to have the clutch replaced after 20K mi, the car interior and moon roof squeaks, passenger side heated seats no long works, and now I need to replace head gaskets ($3.3K). I have friends with Japanese cars that have not had this much problem with their cars with twice the amount of miles than my car. Recently, the SF Mini dealership was nice enough to loan me a 2014 Mini Cooper hatchback to drive while my car was being repaired. I must admit that the newer cars are much improved! Hopefully, the engineering is improved as well!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 7 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Diesel Services
  • Transmission Repair
Mini Sensations Towing And Auto Repair
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(21 Reviews)

  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Towne MINI
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(2348 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Domestic Auto Repair
  • Oil Change
Casiano's Automotive Repair
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(60 Reviews)

  • European Auto Repair
  • Auto Repair
  • Car Maintenance
Kensington Motor Cars
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(95 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Import Auto Repair
  • Tires
Hoffmans Foreign Auto LLC
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(387 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Auto Repair
  • Import Auto Repair
Fairfax Service Center
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(495 Reviews)

  • Car Maintenance
  • European Auto Repair
Ed's Independent BMW Service
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(139 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Car Maintenance
  • Transmission Repair
Triangle Transmission And Auto
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(45 Reviews)

  • Tires
  • Car Maintenance
  • Auto Maintenance
Bella's I5 Motor Sport
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(8 Reviews)

  • Domestic Auto Repair
  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Bogart Automotive & Jeep Independent Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(23 Reviews)