Business Solutions

2017 Subaru Outback

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(123 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(123 Reviews)

MT
gravatar
MICHAEL T.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/06/2022
Verified Review

Best all around car

We have owned 2 Foresters, this Outback is the best, we plan to keep it for at least another 10 years. Great performance, economy, roomy, and super in snow, ice, mud with the symmetrical all wheel drive.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JW
gravatar
JANIS W.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/23/2021
Verified Review

Love

Favorite SUB I have ever owned
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RC
gravatar
RICHARD C.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/18/2021
Verified Review

2 year ownership Review

I purchased my Outback As a certified pre-owned vehicle from Parker Subaru in 2019. The car drives great in the snow, is comfortable, and reliable.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CO
gravatar
CHERYL O.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/22/2021
Verified Review

2017 outback

The most safest car I ever driven. Very comfotable
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JC
JIM C.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/19/2021
Verified Review

Bad PCM Design

Powertrain Control Module is a poor design. PCM turns off alternator if load is not sufficient. It’s counter-intuitive to tell owners that you have to keep your lights on or run the A/C at max to allow the alternator to charge the battery. It doesn’t make sense to shut off the alternator and save 0.5 mpg and run the A/C and lose 1 mpg. Despite a TSB that provides a memory flash to fix it, some dealers like Kearney Mesa Subaru in San Diego say they know nothing about the problem and can’t find any service bulletins.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SD
Sandi D.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/14/2021
Verified Review

My favorite car ever, great comfort, maneuverability and reliability. Love is a strong word but I love this car!

As I said before great comfort, maneuverability and reliability. Even the backseat is comfortable. This would be my first choice in a second purchase or a new purchase. Just a few minor changes and it would be perfect.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SH
gravatar
Scott H.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2021
Verified Review

My Outback

This is the perfect car for me! This is a base model but has all the feature that I need. The cargo room is excellent and great for musicians transporting instruments. Easy to park and good gas mileage. I love it!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GR
gravatar
GARY R.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/10/2021
Verified Review

Own two Outback’s.

It handles well all year round in any weather conditions.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JK
gravatar
JEFFREY K.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/22/2021
Verified Review

3.6 H6

Car is now three years old and running strong!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BD
gravatar
BILL D.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/04/2021
Verified Review

2017 Subaru; 60,000 miles.

The Outback incorporates many features especially safety items. The "eyesight" system works well and gives one a high feeling of security. Little items such as a mute button for the audio, integrated cross bars for the roof rails, rear seatback flip down levers in the hatch area, 4 different locations for control of the hatchback, remote start, dual zone climate control, reclining reat seats, and "on and on" provides thoughtful, useful design features. Gas mileage is excellent; 24 mpg in winter, 30+ mpg in warmer weather and 32 mpg on trips. All wheel drive is a welcome feaure in the winter. Two criticisms: 1. The ride is not as good as I would like, though it is not bad. 2. The battery capacity is barely adequate. Overall, this is an economical vehicle that is quite spacious and well suited for most any vehicle needs.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TD
gravatar
TOM D.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/01/2021
Verified Review

Disappointed

The six cylinder engine burns oil and needs oil added before the oil change. Subaru dealer performed oil consumption test to try and isolate the issue. The test did not show an issue. This leaves me worried the problem will increase and the maintenance cost will increase.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CS
gravatar
CHAD S.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/08/2021
Verified Review

Great performance wagon/crossover vehicle! One of the better vehicles we have ever owned.

This is our first new Subaru - a 2017 Subaru Outback 3.6R Limited. It's a "sleeper" of a vehicle - lol. The 3.6R version with the flat six is amazing performance-wise. It's surprisingly fast and nimble for the type of vehicle it is and the 6 cylinder motor is both fuel efficient and performs well in all situations. This is our first CVT transmission and it works VERY well - it accelerates extremely fast from a stopped position and it always keeps the vehicle in the power band. The seats are a bit firm and sporty, but very comfortable, and the side-view mirrors are a bit small and lack enough adjustment range, but those are the only complaints - everything else has been perfect. The AWD system is amazing in winter and slippery situations - it works seamlessly. It would be nice to be able to get body-color painted plastic
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MK
gravatar
MATT K.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/23/2021
Verified Review

2017 Subaru Outback

My first Subaru. Things that would to see change would be more comfortable seats and instead of the factory roof rack I would rather have roof rails like the Forester. The Outback rack is ugly and the cross bars are too flexible for 2 sea kayaks and other heavier items. The older Outbacks came with roof rails , not sure why they got away from them? This car does handle as well as my previous Jetta wagon. I do like the extra ground clearance which is handy for our Vermont road conditions
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JH
gravatar
JAMES H.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/03/2021
Verified Review

Subaru Outback is the only care I would own

I love the way this care handles. I feel very secure driving in all kinds of inclement weather. This is the third Subaru Outback that we have owned. The first one was damaged when hit by a pick up truck running a red light but my wife walked away from the accident unhurt. Needless to say we bought a second Outback.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SD
gravatar
SUSAN D.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/20/2021
Verified Review

Love my Outback

Comfort, quality, great gas mileage. I feel very secure in my Outback.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RO
gravatar
ROBERT O.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/08/2021
Verified Review

Love it!!

Love it!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BS
gravatar
BEVERLY S.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/18/2020
Verified Review

Love my Subaru!!

Just love everything about my beautiful car!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JF
gravatar
JOHN F.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/10/2020
Verified Review

Almost perfect

Only issues have been a dead battery and brake pad replacement at 60k miles.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RC
gravatar
RICHARD C.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/06/2020
Verified Review

One year review with a certified pre-owned

No problems, No complaints. I purchased my Outback in Oct. 2019 and have had a great ownership experience. Great AWD system for North Idaho.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KB
gravatar
KIBERLY B.
2017 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/23/2020
Verified Review

Loved my Outback

Got a 2017 2.5 as my first new car. Very comfortable inside and out. Big car that doesn't feel like a big car when youre driving it. Super roomy inside, great for road tripping and camping trips. My only issue is the false advertising when you see pictures of it driving through water that goes halfway up the car. I attempted to go through 1.5ft of water and sustained flood damage, sustaining irreparable damage and having to get it totalled out by insurance. Other than that I loved this car, hopefully I'll be able to get another one in the future.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 123 in total

Businesses Near You


  • BMW Dealer
  • Subaru Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Integrity Autowerks Inc
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(117 Reviews)

  • Subaru Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Parker Subaru
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(18572 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(31) ReScores