Style image original

2012
Subaru
Outback

Overall Rating 4.89/5Overall Rating 4.89/5Overall Rating 4.89/5Overall Rating 4.89/5rating 4.89

26 Reviews

Latest review 3 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 11/17/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2012 Subaru Outback"

Love the car.

Pros
great gas mileage good dependable car

Cons
lots of warning lights came on. Googled it. all i needed was a gas cap quick fix. This should be mentioned in the trouble shooting instead of having to find the solution on GOogle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/01/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I love this car."

I have always owned Subarus and will always continue to do so. This is a reliable vehicle and super dog friendly. This matters to us.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/24/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Fantastic Car"

My family has always had Subaru’s and this is my second. They are tough, reliable and fantastic in the snow. I would recommend a Subaru to anyone wanting a car!

Pros
Everything about the car is a pro. It’s comfortable, reliable, great on gas, all-wheel drive....I just love this car!

Cons
It can get a bit expensive when fixing the car, but then again, all cars can.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/27/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2012 Subaru Outback Premium"

Purchased used in 2015, had only 14,500 miles. Trouble free, has only needed oil changes and brakes (38,000 miles). Replaced tires (original) at 38,000 miles also.

Pros
Totally reliable. Great AWD traction in rain, snow. Amazing cargo capability.

Cons
Cheap sound system for radio. Rear seatbacks go down to extend hatch, but actual seats don't flip down (as on my old 2001 Outback Limited) to give even more cargo room. Front passenger seat is manual, kind of like a cheap rental car (driver seat is power).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/17/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Total LOVE"

1st Subaru & will always have one going forward. No issues, excellent service dept. staff & always prompt to answer questions or concerns. Keep up the great work. LOVE our Outback!!!

Pros
Completely dependable

Cons
None that I can think of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/07/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Subaru Outback 2012"

I have owned my Outback going on 6 years since I bought it new. It's been a great purchase and has not given me any issues. It's been durable and dependable. I highly recommend Outbacks to anyone.

Pros
Durable Reliable High performing Fuel efficient

Cons
Not as many features as luxury cars Comfort is average

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/16/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I love my outback"

Perfect size, super safe and comfortable.

Pros
Awd, good on gas, good for hauling kids and dogs, reliable, company stands by the product

Cons
Um...eventually it will have to be replaced

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/01/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I love it. "

I love it. It takes care of me.

Pros
Everything does what it should.

Cons
Blue Tooth for Sound system is not great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/17/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best vehicle ever!"

I am in love with my 2012 Subaru Outback! Such a reliable, long lasting vehicle. I highly recommend it to everyone. Great gas mileage too! I actually just recommended it to someone two days ago who was trying to decide between an Outback or a BMW and next thing I know, they purchased an Outback yesterday and told me they love it already! If you're thinking about buying an Outback just do it, you won't regret it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love love love"

1st Subaru. Had 5 yrs now and can only give it exceptional reviews. Never stuck in the snow, always a comfortable ride on long trips. Best car ever!

Pros
All areas are PROS. Comfort, quality, maneuvering, etc., etc., etc.

Cons
None that aims can think of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/21/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Car"

This is all around the best car I've ever owned. It gets great gas mileage, is very low maintenance, has good space for family of four and luggage, handles great in all types of weather and looks great too.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/31/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2012 Outback"

Best car ever!! Love my Subaru Be

Pros
Best car ever

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/22/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery"

Ever notice how many look-alikes are out in the market now to Subarus? Ford Focus, Mitsubishi Endeavor, Honda H-RV, Kia - finally carmakers are figuring out that there's a demand for all-wheel drive and cargo space. There's a reason every 4th car in the mountains is an Outback. This is our 2nd, previously had a 2001, many comfort improvements in the interior since then but still an agile and able car. Can't go wrong with an Outback unless you need to haul a lot of people or tow heavy stuff.

Pros
Comfortable seats, heated seats, getting through deep snow or any slippery roads. Legroom, ease of folding rear seats,

Cons
4-banger with CVT trans is a little slow on the takeoff

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/12/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"The go everywhere sewing machine "

I have a 3.6R. Sewing machine sound but it reallyruns well, rides well, everything works, very quiet. Utility is high. Quality of build high. Sound system good. Seats great. Weakness, silly lack of all door opening option. Silly at this level, a Limited, no passenger 8 to 10 way seat adjustment. Head lamps difficult to change and frequently burn out in about 12-18 months.

Pros
Quality, reliable,comfort, powerful 3.6 roomy. Fun to drive materials high. Ride is comfort tuned Features are high. Lots of storage Roof rack is smartly designed. Paint is done well.

Cons
Sloppy emergency handling due to softer ride tuning. Lack of global opening of doors Lack of passenger seat 8-10 way adjustable in a Limited top model..down right a miss for American drivers. A serious lacking compared to competition.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/29/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Top in class"

1st Subaru but, would definitely purchase another. Classy ride! Very comfortable, smooth riding & quick when passing is needed.

Pros
All aspects are top notch.

Cons
None that I can think of quickly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/23/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Very nice car to drive "

Happy with the car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/11/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Great Cars Except The Marketing People Must Have Corrupted The Designers!"

Subaru changes things for no apparent reason with each redesign. For example, on my 2008, one turns the wiper knob forward to increase the frequency of the intermittent wipers but on the 2012 is is just the opposite (took me two years to get used to it and now I dread what they are going to do to the new ones!). They now have that absurdly designed roof rack that does not give one ANY external hooks to tie down something that is too wide to get at the hooks inside the rack. Their promotions keep highlighting the outdoors value of the Outback but they continue to make the Outback less outdoor sports friendly by eliminating the solid frame hooks underneath each corner of the bumper that are safety-critical for the recommended "4-point" tie down of a kayak (i.e., two ropes around the belly of the boat then one bow and one stern to hooks below the bumper)! They put that useless manual shift option on an automatic transmission that when used on the steep hills crossing the mountains to Grand Teton Nat. Park, the car went into a wild shimmy as very slow speeds and the dealer says nothing is wrong with the car. Worst of all, they put cheap tires on the new models. The continental tires that came with my 2012 were so bad that my new Outback drove like a truck and the road noise of those tires outdid all of the quiet ride of the Outback. The tires and some persistent rattles in the tailgate and rear quarter-panel caused me to almost trade the care after just one year to cut my losses. Thanks to my wonderful salesman passing on a replacement tip, I was able to get Micheline "Defender" tires and then the car actually rode like a car instead of a truck and did so quietly! Why o why put a great big tachometer in the dash that is absolutely unnecessary for ANY competent driving either for fun or for serious?! The driver experience for most of us (who do not have the fantasy of being a NASCAR driver wannabe) would be much better served with a larger speedometer that is well lit under all driving conditions (my 2008 speedometer was unreadable on a sunny day!). Instead of something on the dash that is at least marginally useful like an AMP charging meter, they put a meter that says you are using gasoline when you depress the gas pedal and and not using gas when you do not do so and are going down a hill!!! Finally, they give us more headroom that is only useful for maybe folks who stand about 6 feet 5, making the car just tall enough to make it difficult to get kayaks on top of that useless roof rack!

Pros
CVT and AWD the best

Cons
Cheap Tires, Roof Rack, no under car tie downs, useless gauges, tailgate rattle, no matching color for bumpers and door moldings, suboptimal sound system for classical music lovers, CD player that does not stop at the end of a CD but repeats to track 1.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/30/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Outback"

Excellence all around.it drives well, is comfortable, and a great family vehicle. Love love love my Subaru...

Pros
Spacious and luxurious

Cons
None yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/18/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"well rounded"

It does nearly everything very well. The 3.6 engine is very powerful and gets good mileage. Mountain passes, hills, and passing are so easy.

Cons
The outside temperature etc. readouts are small and not very bright. The automatic indoor heat/cooling readouts and controls are also small and hard to see requiring too much attention to adjust.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/13/2015
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I love my Subaru Outback!"

I have always wanted a Subaru. I know people that have driven the same Subaru for decades. I hope to own this one for a long time.

Pros
gas mileage and expanded size in later models.

Cons
As it is with all late model cars, it is expensive to get something simple fixed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 26 in total