Business Solutions

2012 Subaru Outback

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(60 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(60 Reviews)

ML
gravatar
MIKE L.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/19/2022
Verified Review

11years and 92,000 miles

My wife and I had high hopes when we purchased our 2012 Subaru Outback Limited 3.6 R. One thing we did not consider was that there are no Subaru Dealerships in inland North San Diego County. Our choices are Carlsbad, Temecula, El Cajon, Kearny Mesa and National City. This unexpectedly added to our inconvenience when time for services. We were also quite shocked when we were told the cost for the major services. The car is not very DIY friendly. One only has to look online to see what it takes to change the headlight bulbs (which should always be done in pairs). Perhaps the designer should perform this work themselves before designing this system again. The interior is subpar for the cost of the car. It is rather on the “cheap” side. The seats are not very supportive but perhaps this is expected for this car type (although that was not the case with our 2000 Explorer). The car is great when the need for an off-road excursion is required. The AWD is outstanding as is the ground clearance. The paint quality is not uniform. Despite our car being garaged or covered with a cover when at work the paint on the rear hatch has gone bad, in particular on the top edge next to the rear window wiper. We do like the 3.6 R boxer motor which unfortunately is now discontinued. It is strong yet yields very good MPG on the highway commutes. The automatic transmission works very well and we really like the paddle shifters using those often to slow the car down before applying full braking pressure. Another apparent design flaw which surfaced two weeks into the car ownership was the design of the upper sheet metal of the front fender up near the windshield. Somehow, by accident or someone intentionally “showing off or just being a jerk” the sheet metal was bent up and out away from the hood/window. I could speculate that someone might have stooped a fall by grabbing hold of something and that would have been a convenient spot. But I speculate. To fix it of course requires removing the fender from the car. This area should not be that prone to such damage. Recently we were advised that the control module the motors fans had malfunctioned which was also affecting the AC. Thankfully the intermittent operation of the AC was the tip off of what could have become a catastrophic failure of the engine cooling system. I had taken car for a front brake job at a local independent shop who analyzed the problem. The part was apparently on national back order but I was able to purchase a new in the box OEM replacement module and because I have a pretty good tool set along with some creative imagination I was able to replace this myself. The Subaru Dealership that we purchased the car at and where 100% of the service has been performed at until this front brake job is less than stellar in our opinion. When scheduling service online the requested service apparently does not transfer through to the work order (this is a pretty substantial dealership). The wrong oil was put in despite my having labels placed right right next to the fill neck stating “full synthetic only”. I suspect the service techs are so overwhelmed with quotas that they could not even wait to confirm with the service advisor who was busy with a customer. No harm done but…. Then there was the time when the service advisor informed me that one the the wheel lugs was stripped and it would cost North of $400 to fix. I pointed out to him that only 2 firms performed work with the tires. Discount Tire for a new set of tires and the Dealership who did regular tire rotation. They fixed the lug on their dime. We have decided we will not be purchasing another Subaru despite their commercials claiming X percent still on the road today. We have not been pleased with the overall quality of the vehicle and the surprise service expenses we have experienced. The plastic trim that is prevalent on these models is prone to discoloration and requires continuous experimentation with products in an attempt to keep up its looks and durability. And of course we do not like the appearance of our vehicles degrading through no fault of our own.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CJ
gravatar
CAROLINE J.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/12/2022
Verified Review

Once a Subaru owner, always a Subaru owner

I love the way my Subaru handles and I cannot convey strong enough how impressed I am, (and everyone who has seen my driveway). It is around the lake, and our driveway is about a block long, with a 90 degree turn about half way down. We have owned many other 4 wheel drive vehicles, Suburbans, Blazers, Dodge and nothing comes near the performance of my outback. On the road I admit it is not a luxury ride in that it isn't especially quiet and "cushy", but it makes up for that those winter days when I am able to drive up and out to carry on my day. On the plus side regarding our driveway, it is an amazing sledding hill, and the corner adds to the thrill!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DM
gravatar
DONNA M.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/26/2021
Verified Review

This is my 3rd Subaru

I won't buy anything else love my Subarus go where you need to go great in snow, it always takes me home. Comfortable and safe. I have bought a fourth Subaru since I got this one this is used as a spare
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GW
gravatar
GARY W.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/07/2021
Verified Review

Great

Great car
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DP
gravatar
DAVID P.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/13/2021
Verified Review

Too darned good!

We would have recently bought another new Forester. This Outback is getting a little old, but we have not reason to trade it, as it is an excellent vehicle still.. Excellent auto. Best one we’ve owned..
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GR
gravatar
GLORIA R.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/14/2021
Verified Review

2012 Subaru Outback Premium 2.5 l

Excellent reliability and durability. Lots of cargo room. Adequate, but not superior acceleration. Good handling on highway. Average ease of parking. Color does NOT show dirt. Wheels are well designed to not be damaged by curbs.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DS
gravatar
David S.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/24/2021
Verified Review

Excellent car

Solid car. Great excelleration for a 4 cylinder. As a retired police officer, I can be very hard on cars. The Subaru has held up & is still going strong at 9 yrs old. I will buy another Subaru once my puppy gets over her motion sickness.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BP
gravatar
BILL P.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/05/2020
Verified Review

2012 Subi Outback.

Great crossover vehicle. Handling, reliability and all weather performance 2nd to none. Routine maintenance is all we have been required to do. We bought maintenance plan when Subi was purchased new. Have not had to use it for anything major.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BP
gravatar
BILL P.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/01/2020
Verified Review

Subaru Outback is a great car!

2012 Subaru Outback handles beautifully, peppy and efficient 4 cylinder Drives like a 6 cylinder but better mileage. My good friend an engineer told us to buy this Subaru. When I pranged my 2005 Mazda Tribute we bought another 2014 Subaru Outback. They are both great cars (we have owned Mustangs, Mountaineers, Mazda Tribute, Jeep Grand Cherokee) Subaru Outback most reliable and drives the best.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TW
gravatar
Thomas W.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/27/2020
Verified Review

Just had first major repair at 108,000 miles

Most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. Only issue in first 8 years of ownership was one bad tire sensor and a hub assembly. Even the battery lasted 7 years. Only minor complaints are engine noise when climbing hills on cruise.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MM
gravatar
MARCIA M.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/24/2020
Verified Review

reliability and dependability

This is my 3rd subi. I service it regularly through Tonkin of the Dalles. There are no surprises. The outback gets excellent service and has never had a problem. at nearly 200,000 miles. My previous outback went to 300,000 miles with no problem but just wanted to update it because of the interior condition due to dogs, kids, bales of hay, ....I used it like a truck. I commuted to work from North Bonneville Wa to Clackamas 5 days a week, as an RN at Kaiser Sunnyside Hospital...often being the only car on the road in driving ice and snowstorms. But I always knew my Subi would get me there and back. That late at night confidence, knowing that I wouldn't break down on the road was a safety issue that has kept me with Subaru. My third Subi is a 1994 imprezia.....still running at 95,000 miles, outdated, no fancy electronics...but, a work horse for hauling trash to the dump, the occasional farm pick up of grains, hay, manure, chickens....its my reliable back up. Forget the fancy sports car of my youth. At 75 I need reliability, something to both take my friends to lunch, and goodwilling, haul my electric bike to the Banks Vernonia bike trail, with room to put my martini sectional kayak in the back, plus play a good sound track of Bruce Springstein's Dancing in the Dark. AND...its so comfortable. The only thing was, I got a tricked out outback with all the maps, whats around me apps..etc. and that was just as i-phones were becoming more than just a phone. Now I use my cell for all the apps and never use my subaru navigation system. Could have save a few thousand ....but Oh Well. The sun roof is an absolute must if your a convertible girl, leather heater seats a blessing in the gorge...cant tell you the cups of coffee I've spilled on them at 5 am...and they still work!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GR
gravatar
GLORIA R.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/12/2020
Verified Review

First Class

Robust, reliable, never gets stuck in mud or snow. Great cargo space, too. Excellent ground clearance, never gets hung up on curbs, rocks, etc. Plenty of legroom for rear seat passengers. Easy to fold down rear seats for extra cargo room.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WH
gravatar
WAYNE H.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/31/2020
Verified Review

Outback 6 cylinder

I LOVE my Subaru! It’s the best car Ive ever had. Drives incredible well, quick, agile and very well built. Backroads are no problem and it just sticks to the road regardless of rain, sleet, ice or snow. Very highly recommended.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JL
gravatar
JOYCE L.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/15/2020
Verified Review

My 1993 was better

This car doesn't have near the traction of my 1993 Loyale. Climbing my hill in the winter, this Outback isn't much better than a standard front wheel drive car and you can't put chains on.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JG
gravatar
JOHN G.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2020
Verified Review

This car is bulletproof rain snow it goes to everything

The single best vehicle I have ever owned and the only vehicle I will own is a Subaru. It's efficient on gas low maintenance cost Very comfortable and ergonomically designed Pairs easily with cell Phone I love this car
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RM
gravatar
RICHARD M.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/16/2020
Verified Review

timing belt replacement

Excellent vehicle
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JW
gravatar
JACQUELINE J W.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/19/2019
Verified Review

Love My Subaru

Our Subaru Outback Limited is nearly 8 yrs old & still as happy as the day we drove it home.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GR
gravatar
GLORIA R.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/19/2019
Verified Review

2012 Outback Premium

Bought used, 14,000 Miles, 3 1/2 years old, Certified Pre-Owned in 2015. Now late 2019, 50,000+ trouble-free miles. Follow scheduled maintenance requirements to the letter! Best used car ever owned by me!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SW
gravatar
SHAWN W.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/29/2019
Verified Review

The car with out soul or charactor

Very safe, Very capable and Very boring to drive. I do not love my Subaru. Maybe I should let my dog drive the car. Might add a-little joy to the experiance
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TP
gravatar
THADDEUS P.
2012 Subaru Outback
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/28/2019
Verified Review

I don't know when I will get a new car, but I DO know it will be a SUBARU!

In the past forty years, I have owned three Subarus. I have loved all of them. DEPENDABILITY. dependability. Dependability. Any way you spell it! Safety. High resale value. Good mileage. Great style. Comfortable ride. All are important. But dependability is what I am most interested in and that is why my next car will be a Subaru.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 60 in total

Businesses Near You


  • BMW Dealer
  • Subaru Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Integrity Autowerks Inc
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(117 Reviews)

  • Subaru Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Parker Subaru
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(18566 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(31) ReScores