Style image original

2016
Subaru
Outback

Overall Rating 4.93/5Overall Rating 4.93/5Overall Rating 4.93/5Overall Rating 4.93/5rating 4.93

61 Reviews

Latest review 6 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 08/16/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2016 Outback"

I cannot say enough about how happy I am with this car. From Daily commute, as I live half way up a ski hill, to road trips, this car has been excellent. Pile the dogs in, kayak, bike on top, let's go! My next purchase will be another Outback from Parker Subaru.

Pros
Safety features, not are terrific

Cons
I should have gone with leather interior...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/06/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Everything I had hoped for"

I bought my outback in Jan 2016 then drove it from Idaho to Rugby, ND that same month, the dead of winter. I was hesitant to go alone but a few people reminded me that I have a Subaru, trust it! So I did and felt confident that me and my Outback would deal with whatever conditions we encountered. I returned in Feb safely. The cargo space is impressive and often there are five people in my car and they assure me the backseat is comfortable with 3 persons. I think I will always be a Subaru fan for life.

Pros
I feel safe Love the cruise control Love the eyesight features

Cons
Only thing I can think of is I wish it had more pocket space in the doors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/07/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great car"

I love my Subaru Outback. The car is reliable, roomy, great in snow. The outback looks good and works better. Highly recommend this car to anyone

Pros
Great features that make us easy to drive.

Cons
None so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/06/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Excellent vehicle except.. battery dies in a week if not driven unless plugged into a maintainer."

2016, new Nov. 2015. Has been great with no issues, drives well,great mileage, quiet, comfortable seats and adult leg room front and back, good Navigation system, EyeSight system good, good size for active couple. But .. Original battery died once at about 2000 miles after being parked in garage for several days, dead as a door-nail. Jump started OK, dealer tested, said no problems, just needs to be driven more often to maintain battery. Didn't think much about it until I was out of town, wife had her dependable new Outback with only 4300 miles. Had not been driven and in garage for a little over a week when she went to start it. Dead as a door-nail, again. I got home, discovered battery was really gone, just enough to start after 3 days on charger, bad cell. Dealer replaced with better, up graded battery. However ... We are still concerned that we will come out to our Outback at a trail head or in some other location after leaving the car sit for a few days and find we don't have power! We are among (apparently) many Outback owners whose battery died unexpectedly. The 'standard' factory battery is junk and in all cases is replaced with a much better, higher grade/amperage battery (as was ours). All because the new design (2015 +) Outback is apparently DESIGNED with a fairly large (70mA) constant parasitic draw for the computer! Why aren't all customers apprised of this drawback when they purchase their vehicles? Only other complaint thus far is that the standard sound system is lousy, if you like good sound. While the non- Harmon system supposedly has an equalizer function, it is factory equalized to prevent to user from actually contouring the sound. The bass is set so that no matter what you do, it is going to be excessively 'boomy' and 'thumpy', and there is very little real contouring allowed for the upper bass and mid-ranges, despite what the graphics show in the screen.

Pros
Mechanical Reliability, Comfort, Mileage, Size, Clearance, Style, reasonable power for size vehicle, as long as you're not looking for a sports car!

Cons
Battery drain from constant parasitic draw for computer of at least 70mA. Needs a means to shut that off if not being driven for a day or two! Standard sound system lousy, set up with a factory equalization that cannot be adjusted.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/26/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2016 Subaru Outback"

Very safe and reliable vehicle and a joy to drive!

Pros
Handles very well in all weather conditions, Runs well on regular gas. Well appointed interior. Great sound system.

Cons
Minor road noise only noticeable when sound system off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/13/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"At Last!"

A vehicle meeting every expectation!!!!!

Pros
All the above

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/16/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Outback Subaru"

I love my Subaru. Now that winter is really here driving is so much easier. I feel more confident traveling these slick, icy roads.

Pros
Too many to list

Cons
None that I have found

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/13/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Is as good as it gets "

Our third Subaru in the family and my wife and I love this '16 loaded Outback. Comfort, style, space, interior design, even the mileage in this six is fine with me. The safety features built into every vehicle is what sold me, we haul grand kids around a bit and it just feels good inside. Solid, safe.

Pros
Safety.

Cons
Price?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/29/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Very nice surprise"

We were looking at midsize suv to replace our 2001 Lincoln LS. High on our list was the Lexus 300 and Audi Q5. We look at both and really liked the Audi. My wife thought we should look at the Subaru Outback. After a test drive and research we decided to order a new Outback fully loaded with the 3.6 engine. Why? In our opinion, it is a better car for lot less money. A nice luxury car with plenty of power.

Pros
Great power and plenty of room. I am over 6 feet, great front comfort and I can set in the back seat without turning sideways.

Cons
None so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/24/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Visual Enhancements Appreciated"

I have a minimal right eye visual deficiency and the visual enhancements are a tremendous aid, especially with lane changing, backing up and monitoring activities on the right side. Also, my wife feels much more comfortable and confident with my driving. Cheers...

Pros
Love it...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/26/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Subaru vs. 25 years of Audi's"

Drove Audi's 25 years. Due to retirement and fixed income needed car not as expensive to fix. Bought 2014 Subaru....OK rating. Upgraded to 2016 to get new "creature comforts" such as power hatchback lift, rear heated seats, better visiability. Love the decreased wind noise vs the 2014--handling tighter. Better visability on passenger side with dash somewhat lower than 2014. What would make this a 5 star car is passenger seat having position changes of up and down, not just forward and backward since sometimes I'm not the primary driver.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/26/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Our first Subaru"

I would recommend Nick and the whole Subaru people to all my friends and family. I was sent there by a fellow co-worker that loves her Subaru

Pros
Since this is my first Subaru I am not sure what to say yet. It is great so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/22/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Initial Review"

Completely satisfied

Pros
Safety features are great, and even with the new car added to our insurance, the rates went down.

Cons
None that we have experienced

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/08/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Amazing versatility"

I just purchased my third new Subaru. Each time I strayed from them, I wished I hadn't. The reason I went back this time had to do with wanting the security I felt while driving in the snow. During one particular snowstorm, there was a very deep bank of snow from the plow upon reaching my driveway. I figured I would get stuck right there, but I backed up, gave the gas pedal some power and went right threw the bank and into the middle of my driveway. I was very surprised that I was still moving despite the deep snow everywhere. Most cars would be stuck in the snowbank without a doubt and most drivers in other cars would not attempt my maneuver that day! I stopped while my garage door was opening and surely figured I would be stuck because of losing my momentum, but nope, the car climbed up and continued to plow snow into the garage, with snow coming up over the hood the entire time! Subarus are just unbeatable in those situations. I love the adjustability of the seat and how the vehicle sits up high. Subaru did an excellent job with making the customer feel safe while driving their vehicles. My kayaks fit nicely on top of the vehicle and there is plenty of space to stow my gear in the back of my Outback. I'm looking forward to a long relationship with my new car.

Pros
1. Amazing vehicle in the snow 2. I love that I can transport so many things in the back on with racks. 3. It climbs like a mountain goat!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/01/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2016 Subaru outback primium."

This is my second Subaru and with all new updates and safety equipment this car just can not be beat.

Pros
High reliability, Had a 2009 Outback for 7 years without a problem. Would still have it except for an accident witch totaled it but came through it with no injuries

Cons
28 MPG city and hwy millage is good would like to see better

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/23/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Time to read this vehicle's manual."

This is an outstanding vehicle. And, it has a lot of bells, whistles, toys, and tricks. Very recently Consumer Reports ranked Subaru #2 overall. You can see, feel, and hear that in their '16 Outback. Great ride, great acceleration, great mileage, best safety in the country. All time all wheel, it just keeps on going. Too much going on to list it all, take a test ride. Think Subaru. Feel the ride.

Pros
Head room, road clearance, audio, navigation, mileage, safety, the ride.

Cons
? Price? But you get what you pay for. Not sure, little things only.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/23/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"LOVE my Outback. "

Owned a Legacy in the past. This vehicle drives so NICE! The safety features are AMAZING. I didn't think I needed or wanted them, but after the test drive I was sold! My Father, who thinks Subaru owners are part of a 'cult', when on the test drive with me and we might just have a convert. I will be back for another Subaru in the future. SO happy with this car!!

Pros
Comfort, reliability, safety, all wheel drive

Cons
Just getting used to all the bells and whistles, touch screen, etc

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/20/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Review of 2016 Outback"

We absolutely love the safety features on the 2016 Outback. We find the steering and general handling of the vehicle so smooth...... Love it !

Pros
Smooth handling as well as riding. It is a very comfortable to get in and out of. I so appreciate the trunk lift with the automatic button to raise and lower it.

Cons
Because I am quite short, I find I would l appreciate the driver's seat to adjust to a bit higher in order to increase my vision over the hood of the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/11/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My Subaru"

This is a great car. I bought a new Legacy Outback in 1999. I really liked it; and I could always depend on it for comfort of driving, road stability, and amenities. But after 175,000 miles, parts started to need replacements and the like. I had almost bought new two years ago, so it was time. Also, my wife was really interested in the new safety features. I'm waaaaay past my prime, and the extra features for safety and navigation were a lure. I'm very happy with every thing about my new Legacy Outback, and looking forward to my next extended drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/29/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2016 Outback"

We have driven the Outback for about 6 months. Great car with lots power, We have the 3.6 engine. Gas mileage is better than advertise. We are averaging about 25 mpg. Lots of nice features.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 61 in total