2002
Volkswagen
Jetta Sedan

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78
4.8
(9 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JL
Jaime L.
2002 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/10/2018
Great Little Car
I bought the 2002 VW Jetta for my wife. It was used and was not maintained as it should've been. Still, our Jetta is performing great once it was given proper maintenance. My wife loves it. It's fun to drive and very economical on gas! Truly, a pretty reliable small car.

Pros
Great gas mileage!

Cons
It doesn't have a place for cup holders. I found that strange that it did not.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
JOHN L.
2002 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/10/2018
Great Car
I bought my o2 jetta new and it has cost me little to maintain through the years. Then Bang at 160k all kinds of leaks, turbo went out, high pressure oil cannister, transmission, oil pan and finally mass air sensor. Just about everything except the engine went bad.

Pros
Great fuel economy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JACQUE G.
2002 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/26/2017
Love my Jetta!
I grew up riding in my Mum's VW Rabbit, so it was easy to decide to get a VW when I was looking for a reliable, quality used car. I will always recommend VWs to any person in the market for a new or used car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Alex S.
2002 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/26/2017
2002 VW Jetta
I love this car. It is old and I've experienced some of the problems that go with that. However, the engine is runs fantastic, the car is easy to drive and park, and the milage is great. I've had people tell me parts are too expensive, but really their not much more than my Chevy's.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
SHAWN H.
2002 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/19/2017
VW jetta
Most cost effective vehicle I have ever owned. Fun to drive, looks good. Just an good all around sedan.

Pros
Fun to drive. Gets 50 mpg. Well built. Still going strong at 250,000 miles.

Cons
Could use a little more horse power, but hey 50 mpg.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
John F.
2002 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/28/2016
Great car fr first time driver
Great learning car for new driver. Great on mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Lucas D.
2002 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/01/2016
Solid, Practical Car with High-end touches
I love my Jetta. I bought mine (wagon model) two years ago, and it has been great for me. It's an older vehicle, and had over 100k miles on it, so I've had a few repairs, but the reliability is the same or better than similar vehicles. Yes, parts are a little more expensive because it's a VW, but you're also getting what you pay for.

The handling--steering, braking, acceleration--is very precise, despite the age, as good as a jew Jetta, and better than anything I've driven. This is a car that doea exactly what you tell it to.

I have the basic 2.0 4cyl engine, but it still has some good pickup, even running the a/c full blast. Feels sporty, at least for someone who is used to basic cars. Excellent visibility, and high safety ratings. Very comfortable, even for long trips, and the controls are nicely laid out. VW installs good stereos, and these used Jettas often can include nice bonuses like, in my case, a sunroof.

I've owned 3 other cars and driven several others. The only other I liked as much was a rented Jetta a few years ago.

Pros
Good value for the money
Reliable
Fun to drive
Looks nice
Designed well

Cons
Repairs are expensive
Gas mileage is mediocre

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
JILL N.
2002 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/07/2016
If money were no object...
My husband asked me recently if money were no object, what car would I want? I have had my 2002 Volkswagen Jetta Wagon since 2005. It has become a part of me. When I am driving I feel like I am sitting in my living room. It drives like it knows me as well. Over the years I have done my best to keep it clean, keep it up on oil changes, etc. I have had an accident that caused me to need a new engine which I replaced (with the help of my insurance co). I have put in a new transmission, (which now I need another) new batteries, new tires, etc.. There are cosmetic things, like plastic parts that have broken off (I have not seen the inside of my glove compartment since 2007). In 2012 the sunroof that I adored broke and no one would fix it for me. But, this car, there is something about how it feel when I am driving it. Even now heading slowly towards the end of it's life, I still have a strong connection to it.
They don't make them like this anymore. Even the nice, shiny new Volkswagen's don't have the same feel or look to them.
So, in answer to my husband's question, I responded with I would love my 2002 Jetta in it's original state, with Sunroof working. ;)
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
BARBARA F.
2002 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/05/2015
LOVE MY JETTA!
Although my car is not brand new, my Jetta has made me very happy through the years. I needed a lot of work through the years as my vehicle aged though I have been basically happy with the Jetta. The previous owner never really keep the vehicle up to par, which is the reason why the vehicle needed work after I purchased it... I might have been better off purchasing the vehicle from a dealer though my Jetta did come with a two year bumper to bumper warranty that was transferred to my name so I did luck out in that sense, and that is the only reason I bought this vehicle from a private owner.

Pros
Great features

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 9 reviews