Business Solutions

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5
4.3
(17 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5
4.3
(17 Reviews)

JF
gravatar
John F.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/30/2020
Verified Review

Great for first car

Its a good car just make sure its in good condition before you buy it. Alot of teenagers destroy these vehicles, quick fix them cheap, and re sell them for more than what their worth. As long as the cars not a lemon when you buy it and you maintain it well it should treat you great!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SJ
gravatar
SALLY J.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/08/2020
Verified Review

Great driving small car.

I bought this car second hand. I was very lucky. Actually, I think my son bought the car at an auction.It was in excellent condition, inside and outside. light silver finish, exterior,medium gray interior.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MJ
gravatar
Myisha J.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/06/2019
Verified Review

My Precious O3 VW Jetta

My 03 Jetta is my precious baby. She was non-operational for over (2)years but Edgar and Comtires have brought her back to life. I expected major repairs for a car that is 16 years old but she had just normal wear and tear without engine nor transmission issues. I was relieved for lower cost repairs after 13 years as the owner of the car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

OB
gravatar
Oscar B.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/17/2018
Verified Review

Good vehicle, great mpg

Is a good vehicle, when is working properly, the moment when something fails, it can be a nightmare because parts and labor are very expensive, just expensive to service, hard to find a trusted mechanic or shop
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JA
gravatar
JOHNATHAN A.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/13/2018
Verified Review

VW jetta

This is a great car. I don’t care what anyone has to say about be jettas. Every single car my have their issues but I trust this car, it is a solid build and reliable. If you take care of your car it will last you.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RC
gravatar
Ralph C.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/24/2017
Verified Review

Solid and comfortable

I purchased this vehicle used at 85,000 miles. Good, strong 2.0 engine with just the right amount of pep. Withstood a 7200 mile, cross country road trip. It handles beautifully. Have experienced minor electrical issues and I'm currently experiencing a hard shift between 3rd and 4th. Overall, it's a great car with a roomy front cab. Average fuel mileage, 20-22mpg. Just need to keep up on the maintenance.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BB
gravatar
BILL B.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/05/2017
Verified Review

03 Jetta repairhad

Kept me informed with the repairs and did everything Ron promised good job
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MS
gravatar
Mike S.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/20/2017
Verified Review

Used Jetta, don't buy from a Friend

Thought it was a mutual supporting win-win, but so far nearly everything that could go wrong has on this used car. Guess a decade plus old car has some things that will begin to wear or need replacement, however wondering if VW Jetta has taken Ford Escort reverse engineering of wear out timing into their design. Fun car, good on gas mileage and intended for starter car for our new driver in the house. Unfortunately, been more in the shop and more in repair$ than original buying price. Could just be bad luck on my part, and not angry with the friend... but it is one thing after another - more than any other used vehicle I'd had... ever!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DH
gravatar
Dawn H.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/14/2017
Verified Review

Love it

Runs great best safety features
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BB
gravatar
BETTE B.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/17/2017
Verified Review

Enjoy driving my 2003 VW Jetta...5 speed at that :-)

Have only owned VW's...my dear Dad taught me to drive standard car, my sisters yellow bug...I eventually bought that care....have driven standard shift all my life....will continue to drive the 5speed VW Jetta until parts are available or gets too pricey to fix/run
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BB
gravatar
BETTE B.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/16/2017

Driving a 2003 5 speed VW Jetta

Have only owned VW, starting with a yellow bug....Dad taught all 4 of us kids to drive a shift...thus...I've never owned a automatic...shifting is effortless ...I am truly a Volkswagen driver...Delta keeps my aging Jetta in GREAT driving condition...
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
John S.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/06/2017

2003 VW Jetta GL

Best little car I ever bought. 145K and just turned 14 years old and almost everything is original without breakdown!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CH
gravatar
CHARLES H.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2016

This is my first Volkswagen

Although I am the third owner and have enjoyed driving 74,000 miles in a car I plan to be the last owner. Very reliable, handles well, nice sound system, comfortable seats. It is a 5 speed wagon, a diesel, and I really enjoy the 50 mpg it gets. This Jetta is the GLS with all the whistles and bells so having my first car with heated seats while living in Alaska is a real treat. Heated mirrors, a very thorough owners manual, sunroof never leaks. That is crucial where I live with a yearly average of 150" of rain. My grumble is the car is so low I scrape the front bumper cover and have had it tear off a couple of times. The other minor beef is the engine is so low the oil pan is very vulnerable. Just a heads up warning, I live in Alaska and have cracked one. These slights would not stop me from buying another Jetta. At 112,000 miles it is still running on the original clutch, on its second set of tires, changed one set of glow plugs. This Jetta diesel will keep going after I cannot drive anymore.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EC
gravatar
Erika C.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/01/2016

Too expensive

This car it's like a woman, needs lot of money to be maintain.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RW
gravatar
RYAN W.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/24/2016

Great car

I bought this car off my sister because she got a bigger family van and there were a few maintenance issue with the car. It was very easy and turned out quite fun and gratifying to be able to diagnose the issues and fix them myself Then to see that the check engine light went off that was the best. I use this car for work and taking my family places and it is fantastic.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MM
gravatar
MIKE M.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/17/2015

My tough Jetta Wagon - still going after all these years!

Love my Jetta Wagon! Purchased new so I could haul my big collie - still going 10 years and 250K miles later. (Manual Trans/2.0L) Great to drive - even my 4 cylinder can climb the mountain roads! Gas mileage still above 20mpg - city. Good in snow and foul weather. AC continues to work well in summer. Negatives - expensive catalytic converter needs replacing about every 50K-70K miles (poor design). Converting the interior from seating to wagon needs a design rethink - takes way too long - requires removing second row headrests (with no place to store once removed), readjusting front seats in order to lower second row seats, and endless running from side-to-side to complete conversion. Come on VW you can do better! Positives - for economy, driving, spaciousness and durability - the Jetta Wagon can't be beat!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EB
gravatar
ERIC B.
2003 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/15/2015

2003 VW Jetta TDI Sportwagen

A high mpg cargo hauler if you're willing to live with its quirks and maintenance.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 17 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Audi Dealer
  • VW Dealer
Migeli's Foreign Car Service
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(200 Reviews)

  • European Auto Repair
  • VW Dealer
  • Audi Dealer
Volks Auto Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(213 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
Towne Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(784 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Auburn Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(3485 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Auburn Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(372 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
4.0
(1) ReScores